Black Lagoon: Roberta's Blood Trail
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Black Lagoon: Roberta's Blood Trail
Synonyms: Black Lagoon 3
Japanese: BLACK LAGOON Roberta's Blood Trail

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 5
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 27, 2010 to Jun 22, 2011
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 33 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 9721297,212 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #658
Members: 174,279
Favorites: 861

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 12, 2017
S1apSh0es (All reviews)
Video Review of Black Lagoon as a whole here: https://youtu.be/DS0V83HPIu4

Black Lagoon wrapped up its second season in 2006, but four years down the road they switched to an OVA format for the next arc and over the course of about a year put out five expertly crafted pieces of animation that acted as a brilliant end cap to the franchise.

The family from the Maid to Kill arc of the first season is back and things have gone tits-up back home in Columbia. Vowing revenge for her master’s death, Roberta’s read more
Dec 12, 2016
Geddon616 (All reviews)
This is the last season and what one might call the final climax between it all. This last Ova if you might call it takes everything you know and combines it into a perfect masterpiece gunfire , destruction , cloack and dagger , and a masterplan to end to it.

The story begins with our strong destructive maid who finally snaps and let loose a hell not seen in the last seasons. This story shows the mind of not only the snaped mind of a terrorist and maid but also the snapped mind of a mann who always thought that the twilight was such a read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
Having reviewed the two halves that comprise Black Lagoon’s main series I feel it’s not necessary to go all out to reiterate what I’ve already said. Roberta’s Blood Trail exemplifies all the positive traits of Black Lagoon, creating a fun story, developing established characters, and letting the bullets fly. Rock’s further development into a conniving psychopath after the death of a girl he cared deeply about in the second season brings out the character the audience wanted him, yet did not want him, to be. His becoming this monster and Revy’s subsequent hate of what he’s become and distaste with the person she’s come to read more
Oct 22, 2019
robert788 (All reviews)
Black Lagoon: Roberta's Blood Trail (2011)

This OVA format for a continuation was actually a level of violence more than previously and more than I was expecting. For what this series is, however, that is perfect.

This time following Roberta with a complete loss of reality we have her going after people due to the death of an important member of the family she works with.
Her grip on reality is just completely gone and she shows her true Bloodhound nature with crazy results.

We also get a good set of political states from within Roanapur and Rock trying his best to finally do what he read more
Jun 25, 2017
Tyrannicswine117 (All reviews)
Warning possible Spoilers

I think the thing that surprised me the most about this OVA series is that it was more intense and hectic compared to the first two seasons.

The story begins with the assassination of Garcia's father so Roberta goes on a mission to avenge his fathers death by finding the people who killed him which brings her to Roanapur, Garcia along with his new maid Fabiola asks the Lagoon crew for help to retrieve Roberta and bring her home.
What I really enjoyed with this part of the Black Lagoon series is that it starts off like another normal situation for the Lagoon crew, read more
May 10, 2017
Crashdumy16 (All reviews)
The plot is action packed. It is an interesting bonus to the Black Lagoon series. It explores two popular characters that were part of an arc in the original anime. The animation is beautiful and explores characters that are back by popular demand. Its a must watch for fans of action and adventure. The crime world is such an untouched subject that it leaves you wanting more. The episodes are longer so it has a good run time. It does not disappoint and keeps you at the edge of your seat. This is one of the most unique ova to ever be made. It is read more
Apr 6, 2014
pageprophet (All reviews)
BLACK LAGOON: ROBERTA’S BLOOD TRAIL

I really like the decision of the creators to bring back Roberta as a character, since she is one of the most iconic characters in the original series. But as much as I like this decision, I think the story is not well-made.

The story doesn’t really take off until episode three. That’s not a good sign, considering that this OVA has five episodes only. The pacing is obviously problematic. The story also gives the impression of premature complexity. It has certain elements that try to make it complex but end up making it pretentious.

Another thing I don’t like is how certain read more
Mar 24, 2016
TheMonkeyQueen (All reviews)
Ok listen listen, hear me out. Everything is scored as 10. That's true. Allow me to defend myself. Of course I'm going to try to avoid spoilers, so my reasoning may seem vague.

Art: This entire anime series has used facial expressions like nothing else I've watched. Particularly Revy in the actual series and Rock in this OVA. You can literally *see* his shifting character. Not to mention Roberta!
This features a lot of different scenes and each one is drawn to perfectly fit the emotions attached to it.
I guess what I'm saying is, the art style isn't anything you've never seen before but it's used read more