Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kuroshitsuji


Alternative Titles

English: Black Butler
Synonyms: Kuro Shitsuji, Kuroshitsuzi
Japanese: 黒執事

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2008 to Mar 27, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.021 (scored by 272,031 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #54
Members: 509,017
Favorites: 18,768

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 30, 2009
-Naami- (All reviews)
So, Kuroshitsuji is an anime that is labelled “shounen” but I don’t really know why - it’s filled with bishounens, pretty clothes and the fancy Victorian age backdrop with massive shounen ai and shota undertones. Oh, and the obvious gay shinigami who keeps trying to kiss the butler.

The story starts off with an eerie atmosphere, showing a 10 year old child who exchanges his soul for a demon butler to help exact his revenge against the people who killed his parents and humiliated him. Two-three years later they are still together; Ciel Phantomhive the 12 (later 13) year old Earl also the head of read more
Mar 28, 2009
duonoaikouka (All reviews)
Holy flippin' A!!! Where to even begin with this anime?! There is so much here that I look for in an anime; I even added it to my favorites list before I was even done watching. It's got beautiful and THICK plot, hidden meanings, a GORGEOUS musical score, wonderful and zany characters, and enough emotional hitting power to make me keep a tissue box handy for those sad and happy tears. This would be my first review to be an absolute 10 in score if there weren't just a few unanswered questions and assumed understanding after everything was said and done. Even with read more
Aug 11, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
As of late, Kuroshitsuji is essentially the poster-boy for thinly-veiled fangirl bait. Kuroshitsuji (or Black Butler, whatever floats your boat) has tons of yaoi tropes, and has the word bishie plastered all over it, so you may think that being somebody who does not like these things, that I hate it because of that. So let's make this clear now: No. That has nothing to do with it. There are plenty of legitimate reasons not to like Kuroshitsuji besides that, so before you reach for the Not Helpful button, please think for a second: are you doing that because my review is badly written, or read more
Oct 10, 2014
phs_togusa (All reviews)
When it comes down to programmes that I enjoy but have a hard time defending, few can come anywhere close to the position that Kuroshitsuji has on my list. There really is a lot that I enjoy about the programme, but there's also a good deal of stuff about it that just gets under my skin. Considering the fact that this is a show that receives no shortage of praise and criticism, I feel that someone should try and give a semi-impartial review of the series and explain why they like it in the first place. With that said, let's get on with it.

The biggest read more
Oct 26, 2013
jzmcdaisy (All reviews)
So after some trial, tribulation, and mulling it over in my brain, I finally finished this show but wasn't fully sure what to think of it. Black Butler is a confusing show that I personally think has some pretty major identity issues going on. It's overall not that bad for a semi-shonen type show. The setting of Victorian England adds a unique setting and at times I found the supernatural element that gets added to the show enjoyably reminiscent to horror books I've read from the Gothic Victorian era such as Dracula and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Black Butler is read more
Jan 10, 2009
SilentMuse (All reviews)
Preliminary
A butler is commonly defined as a male servant who takes charge of providing service to his master and keeping everything proper and organized in the household. Yana Toboso presents a devious twist to the meaning of a Butler, giving the audience on hell of a good show. Excuse the pun.

~[S T O R Y]~ [9]
Viewers have seen it all: servants and masters working as partners in crime, so to speak. The master is devious, and the servant is obedient in general Japanimation. We've seen older men be served by seniors or young children. Yet there is a sense of originality captured in Kuroshitsuji. Never read more
Apr 22, 2011
name93 (All reviews)
Usually I wouldn't waste any energy on reviewing such a bad product of entertainment industry, but I, like all people, sometimes just need to let myself go and get the burden of my back. Let me apologise beforehand for such an obnoxiously long review. So let's go.

If there is one sentence that could perfectly describe this series it would be: "What an utter waste of potential!"
The premise is a boy selling his soul to a demon and then solving mysteries related to the underground society in Victorian-era London. What an epic anime it could have been; a mix of Death Note, Hellsing and Sherlock Holmes read more
Mar 12, 2013
MrDoe (All reviews)
If this was a one-line review, it would be "A great premise but sadly a bad execution." This anime struggles to find a balance between it's serious overarching story and the less serious comedy of it, a comedy that's often immature and just plain unfunny. Around every turn the anime is clearly struggling between being serious and being immature, resulting in a weird mix of the two that's just not appealing at all.

The overarching story has amazing potential, when I read the premise I thought that this might be the not-so-famous cousin of Code Geass, but I was sorely disappointed. While the overall premise read more
Jul 1, 2016
ThatCrazyElitist (All reviews)
Black Butler is an odd mix of comedy, drama, fantasy and yaoi undertones. There are few anime out there that can combine comedy and drama without ruining one of these elements, sadly enough Black Butler is not one of these shows. The comedy totally ruins the drama and is often unfunny and immature, the bishies and yaoi tropes were unnecessary and the fantasy didn't make sense. But for some reason, this anime is in the top 50 most popular anime on MAL, why? Probably because it had bishies, a hot butler, nice music, pretty animation and a gay death god that tries to make senpai read more
Apr 7, 2009
eneri (All reviews)
This anime is one of the most breathtaking, gloriously beautiful masterpieces that I have ever seen. It manages to mix in character development, humour and action at the same time. They are all well balanced, so there isn't too much of comedy and such. Though it may not look like it, Kuroshitsuji is a dark series and thus there are lots of thought provoking themes and symbolism. The series is such that you could be crying with either happiness or sadness with the character. To be frank the show had me crying at times I thought I wouldn't. Though there are some questions left unanswered read more
Jul 9, 2009
Rampant (All reviews)
The real crux of why this anime fails to have any impact is the characters. Not a single one is capable of pulling off the swagger they purport to have, summed up by the incredibly terrible "catch phrase" of the butler being "one hell of a Butler," which is always said so apathetically that it makes it even more boring. The main shota-boy is the worst of all, as Ceil manages to pull off nothing at all. Ceil is constantly bratty without being really grating or especially irate because all he likes to do is complain. The series plays up his parents' death making him read more
Jun 24, 2015
NameWithheld (All reviews)
To be completely honest, this show sort of pisses me off.
The main problem I have with this show is the two main characters. Let's start out with Ciel. He sold his soul to a demon, which is bad enough, but it wasn't even to save a life, it was to get revenge. I can never look past it. I hated him from the first scene I saw him. Thankfully, this show is not stupid enough to frame the decision as a good one, or Ciel as a good person. But it's hard to ignore the center of the plot.
Then there is Sebastian. I read more
Oct 24, 2009
waterfalls (All reviews)
Preliminary
I normally wouldn't consider writing a review of something I had only seen 4/24 of, but for this, I'll make an exception, because it has a high rating but I found it about as enjoyable as a kick in the balls.

This series appears to be targeted at people who want lots of guys crossdressing with hints of yaoi. That's not me, but it explains the rating of this series to some extent. If that's what you want, you might like this show.

The plot and characters also bother me. The main character is all style and no substance. On the other hand, if you want to read more
Apr 19, 2014
guillaumec (All reviews)
Kuroshitsuji or black butler was one hell of an anime. the mix of mythical creatures such as shinigamis, demons, angels with the Britain history is well done. The story is based on some historical facts but of course 99% of the serie is fictive. One great example of a historical fact that they used is Jack The Ripper. The way that they explain those cases with those mythical creatures, is just as it could’ve happened in history without that anyone would’ve noticed it. So basicly they use those creatures to let those cases make a lot more sense.

Ciel Phantomhive is however he is still a read more
Oct 8, 2008
legacy3233old (All reviews)
Preliminary
This one was… interesting. I was originally going to avoid it because of the pedophile vibes that I was given. A show about a young boy and his creepy butler just sounded wrong… However, I decided to watch it, and grabbed the subbed version from Shinsen… The OP was pretty good… there are certainly better, but there are many worse ones this season. The ED doesn’t have a good song, but the mountains of chibi awesome-ness make up for it. The art is very nice, all the backgrounds are hand painted, and the character art is decently consistent. The CG (what little they use) tends read more
Apr 28, 2010
Rey00 (All reviews)
This is my first review and I choose to write it about the anime "Kuroshitsuji" Or "Black Butler". So let's get on with it, yes?

~STORY & CHARACTERS~ Both rating 8/10
The story itself was overall enjoyable, though it's not something "completely" unheard of before. The anime "Chrono Crusade" has a slightly similar plot. I think what makes Kuroshitsuji different was the characters. To me the characters were mostly all lovable, even Ciel was, though at times he was an annoying little brat. But that was part of his charm ^^;; I absolutely LOVED Sebastian. I mean, there's literally nothing he can't do xD. And he's always read more
Nov 2, 2008
Pensive-maybe (All reviews)
Preliminary
I wasn't really being picky when I chose this I just wanted something to watch, but instead of a dull carnival ride I got a rollar coaster through a haunted house. At first Sebatian (the butler) reminded me of Haji from Blood+, but then his sarcasm started showing as well as the way he acted towards the "young master" All in all it's a wonderful show great characters spectacular plot and I can't wait to see the rest.
Feb 13, 2015
Blazestar (All reviews)
Kuroshitsuji, or Black butler. What an interesting concept. Supernatural beings living in the 1800s London. Having a demon as your butler, living in a mansion, doing detective work for the queen her majesty.

I have not watched any of its sequel yet, so I'm reviewing this based purely on the first season.



STORY (Concept 4/5, Development 2/5)

Story is a fairly weird part of the show. The structure of the arcs reminds me of Darker than Black and Cowboy Bebop. Every episode or sometimes every two episodes concerns of a certain event that involves certain characters. The problem is, instead of leaving the arcs to read more
Jul 6, 2009
RazorBeamz (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was unfortunately forced to watch this abomination over a spread of three hours in a crowded cafeteria after final exams. I had brought my laptop and had forgotten to put any anime on it. "Luckily", one of the girls had a portable hard drive with this on it. This horrible show was on it. I actually enjoyed the first episode, as the homoerotic overtones and undertones were kept at a minimum, but as the series progressed, it became a shota-fest. I understand that girls really enjoy this show, and that's perfectly fine by me, but I wouldn't wish this show on anyone with a read more
Jun 14, 2015
dellymakesalist (All reviews)
I was debating on whether or not I would even venture into writing a review for this show. To get the general facts out of the way: this was one of the first animes I ever tried watching and the first anime I actually ended up dropping. I guess I gave in to the immense hype surrounding Black Butler and was ultimately disappointed by it. I would like to think I'm not alone.

Story- 6
Where do I begin? This story had so much potential. I loved the idea of a demon butler who caters to his master's every whim, I guess. As well as the writer's read more