Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aria The Animation


Alternative Titles

English: Aria The Animation
Japanese: ARIA The ANIMATION

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2005 to Dec 29, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2005
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:30 (JST)
Studios: Hal Film Maker
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 33,580 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10542
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #973
Members: 107,709
Favorites: 1,671

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 3, 2008
Archaeon (All reviews)
I'm quite surprised that no one's actually written a review for this yet.

I have to admit that I wasn't sure what to expect from this show. The synopsis didn't really give any clues as to what I should expect, and that is probably the best thing about it - it isn't quite what you expect.

The story takes place on what used to be Mars (the first thing I didn't expect), in a place called Neo-Venzia (New Venice), and is about a girl training to be an Undine (the story uses the term to refer to a female gondolier rather than a water spirit). The read more
Apr 24, 2010
Moonlith (All reviews)
I stumbled upon Aria years ago when reading a review about the manga and made a mental note to check it out later. Positively drawn in by Kozue Amano's original work, I soon picked up the anime as well. For a reason I still can't recall I dropped the show nearly three years ago, and it wasn't until just recently that I finished what I started back then. And though not much had changed for either better or worse from what I remembered, I'm glad I did so.

Aria the Animation is not for you, who prefers a clear cut and classically constructed storyline that moves read more
Feb 12, 2009
outlaw98 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'M SORRY TO ALL YOU FANS OF ARIA BUT I FELT SOMEONE NEEDED TO GIVE TO OPPOSING PERSPECTIVE.

I know a lot of people love this anime, but I just couldn't bring myself to like it. I gave it about 6 episodes to get good but nothing.

Story - Um... what story? This show is a show about nothing, and not in the funny Seinfeld way. Nothing really happens from what I saw. Each episode has some type of strife occur, but there is no antagonist or villain of the sort. I'm kind of confused as to why it is so beloved. But to be fair you read more
Nov 29, 2008
Arcangel92 (All reviews)
Well I have to say the reason why I gave Aria a 5 it's mainly because I expected something way better than what I've just seen, the first episodes were slow which I thought it was cool but even at the end it was even SLOWER, i felt like it wasn't making any progress I had no initiative to continue watching, I felt like I've been wasting my time with this one.

The good things about it would be the art and sound which were outstanding but that doesn't change my view on it neither.

In conclusion: it's BORING
Mar 9, 2013
xbobx (All reviews)
"May this town's kindness reach the hearts of many people..."

From what I saw, I'm sure it will.
The first idea I wanted to share in this review is that Aria is a series that speaks for itself. What I'm doing here is merely trying to explain a complex story within a few lines. I would never be able to summarize all the pros/cons of Aria, first because each person will see it in a deferent way, and second because you would need to watch it in order to understand all the comparisons, metaphores and symbolism I would mention.
That said, I'm reviewing it with the read more
May 10, 2010
randomvoice (All reviews)
Preliminary
Is Aria a good series? Probably. Does it deserve to be held up as a masterpiece? I doubt it.

Aria tends to be hyped up as *the* epitome of slice-of-life, so I expected an anime with all the strong points of the genre, including fleshed-out, relatable characters. Aria fails in that respect, and that compromises the amount of enjoyment I can derive from this series as a slice-of-life fan who has no specific interest in cute girls doing cute things.

What I object to isn't the fact that the cast is female-dominated, though more gender balance would have been nice. [The first half of Haibane Renmei, read more
Nov 24, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
Slice of life anime are difficult to represent to audiences in an entertaining manner without being a boring spectacle; that's why most of these have dramatic or romantic elements, or a lot of fanservice in them in order to be appealing to the viewer. But then there is Aria: The Animation, a slice of life in its purest form, that proves that such type of anime doesn't need any of the above to be succesful. Having dived in without any expectations whatsoever, I was pleasantly surprised: it was proven how wonderful and relaxing such a simple anime can be.

~Story~

The premise of Aria: The Animation is read more
Nov 29, 2013
drearyrain (All reviews)
Aria the Animation is not an anime for everybody. It's perceived as boring to many people, which is understandable. There is little action here and the plot is somewhat slow and aimless. There's also little moe compared to other slice-of-life anime. I should also mention as this IS set in a utopian society, there won’t be nearly as many sad emotions as happy ones, so those looking for a realistic anime should also not expect to find it here; Aria is blissful if nothing else. However, if you are in the mood to watch something relaxing and heartwarming, Aria the Animation would be a perfect read more
Feb 27, 2008
martusf (All reviews)
Story
The story is unique, in my book. I mean, who thinks of making a slice of life on Mars. That's just really original and awesome. The episodes are slowpaced and deal with the daily lives of the undines, small discoveries, new friends and so on, all of it executed in a fine manner. Still, it was a little too slow sometimes.

Animation
Overall I thought it was good. Nice colours, and good character designs. And the many shots of Aqua were nice. But I still got a feeling it wasn't perfect. I guess it could have been more detailed, specially the people and their faces. But it read more
Aug 15, 2013
OdysseusUlysses (All reviews)
The past has always been a concept of fascination and longing, sometimes even to the point of obsession. One only has to read Scot Fitzgerald's "The Great Gatsby" or J.D. Salinger's "The catcher in the Rye" to see wonderful examples of stories and characters obsessed with time and living in the ostensibly golden world of the past. Humans are very guilty of this crime, we constantly refer to the good old days, we flock to ruins and ancient cities as we believe them to have an almost magical quality, we invariably ignore the words of George Orwell who once said "contrary to popular belief the read more
Feb 11, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

There's a lot that goes on in a day-to-day basis that can easily elevate stress levels. Rushing to work due to oversleeping or caring for a crying child bring about more trouble than was initially had. Eventually, these separate events can pile together to the point of breaking. It's at this time that a reprieve is needed. A much-earned break, that brings simple serenity and peace of mind. And it's during this mellow moment that one discovers that the simple things in life are truly precious. Aria the Animation takes this to heart, marking the start of a read more
Nov 28, 2016
XanWasting (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yes, I think Aria the Animation is mediocre. I'm saying this with thrown chest, and proud gaze, that I watched as much as I could stomach, and finally shown myself mercy at 10 episodes mark.

Stories are just weak, and it's not the "there are no boobies and guns blazing, and no one is punching someone" weak, it's a "nobody gives a single fuck about this story, and it's not written well enough to be interesting" weak. I've seen my share of slice of life, no-drama anime, and it's my favorite, which is why I tried watching Aria, so don't shit me with your "hurr durr read more
Apr 25, 2015
PyraXadon (All reviews)
We all live in a very fast paced world. To us humans, time is everything, and every second used is a second that can be used to be more "productive" or "better". Because of this, we become creatures of habit, living cogs that let life fly by us without a moment's thought. We don't really take time to enjoy the smaller things in life, to just sit down, relax, and take in the finer things that can go unnoticed. It is here where we have Aria the Animation, a gem from 2005, and the beginning of the whole Aria series. read more
Dec 26, 2017
Dionkeykong (All reviews)
Danger Danger!Keep out if you can't handle strong language and sarcasm...And humour in general...And if you have some kind of allergy in different opinions..Basically sod off and read something else.

I don't know why i do this to myself..I really don't.I may be a masochist and not even know it.Cause i was hearing them little voices in my head screaming at the top of their imaginary lungs to not watch Aria.Did i listen?Of course not cause as it seems i may have a tendency towards the leather and gag ball end of things.If by any chance you are a goth mistress and on the look for read more
Mar 1, 2013
Valkqt (All reviews)
Aria the Animation is the first of three anime series adapted from the Aria manga and focuses mainly on introducing the main characters - Akari, Aika and Alice - and the world of Aqua and Neo-Venezia, without going into much depth and while keeping an extremely relaxing and soothing atmosphere.

For that reason the pacing of the first series can be a little off-putting to some viewers, as the new elements each episode adds are developed only to a limited scope (the introduction) and it might feel as though the whole series is nothing more than cute characters, chilly backgrounds, and relaxing BGM, especially to those read more
Aug 6, 2008
GrimaH (All reviews)
This is pure therapeutic bliss. Literally.

STORY
The story is simple and in execution turns out great. Taking into account the fact that this is a slice-of-life, the pacing is so wonderfully planned out, and the episodic stories so well-rounded in themselves, that one should never find oneself bored out of his wits from exploring the wonderful place that is Neo-Venezia.
And that is a real feat.

ART
Oh god the background is beautiful. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful.
And accurate (mostly) too, as some guy from Lonely Planet frequenting Animesuki and going on a (mostly business) trip to Venice found out.
Decent effort was also made for the characters. Only 1 obvious QUALITY read more
Apr 16, 2011
makoa69 (All reviews)
I have been told from many different internet sites that Aria is the greatest of all slice of life animes. While slice of life animes usually don't attract me, I decided to give Aria a try. I just finished the first season over about a week and still have the buzz of the last episode all over. It definitely was a unique watch.

Aria takes place far in the future. Mankind has successfully given Mars a habitable environment, complete with the same force of gravity as Earth's, an atmosphere that is equally capable of absorbing blue light, massive oceans rivaling Earth's, and a very diverse biolife, read more
Mar 18, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
If I were to describe this anime with a single word, the word would probably be "boring". Surprising perhaps, given that it lies in the "Good" region of my rating scales, but that's what this anime is. In this case, "boring" isn't used so much to label "Aria" as an unwatchably dull anime (though to some it probably is) as to describe what actually happens in it, which is absolutely nothing. For "Aria", in many ways, represents the very essence of a slice-of-life anime.

In "Aria", there are no evil villains to fight, no complicated plots to untangle, no philosophical conundrums to contemplate... just about the read more
Apr 18, 2015
DHKany (All reviews)
For starters, this anime has quite literally changed my outlook on life. Having gone through a fair amount of distress this past year, I was looking for something that could bring some tranquility to past few hectic months. Watching Aria brought me this, and so much more, and I'll explain later on.

The story takes place in the 24th century on a terraformed Mars (now called Aqua), where Akari (our MC) strives to be a top class Undine in Neo Venezia. Truly sticking to the nature of SoL, past the first 3-4 episodes Aria the Animation is almost entirely episodic, yet it never feels boring or read more
Dec 16, 2014
Shrabster (All reviews)
Aria has garnered one of the most interesting reputations I have seen. Put on such an impossibly high pedestal yet still as polarizing as any other slice of life series if not more so makes it an oddity that one can't help but be curious about. And, if nothing else, Aria is a very unique challenge and experience for just about anyone.

Aria is about a group of girls who want to become the best professional boat rowers possible. There is a lot of food and tea in between.

Aria, for better or worse, doesn't change much throughout the course of the series. For read more