Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ginban Kaleidoscope


Alternative Titles

English: Skating Rink Kaleidoscope
Japanese: 銀盤カレイドスコープ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2005 to Dec 25, 2005
Premiered: Fall 2005
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:40 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Karaku
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.421 (scored by 17,841 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #19782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2105
Members: 37,738
Favorites: 163

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 29, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
Being from a cold weather climate winter sports have always been a part of my life, and that includes figure skating. What little girl from my generation didn’t admire the grace and beauty of Katarina Witt and not want to emulate her? Ice skating anime is pretty rare and to my knowledge this is the only one I know of. It’s quite good and should appeal to almost anyone, even if you don’t know a double axel from a triple toe loop.

Ginban Kaleidoscope revolves around a young Japanese skater, Tazusa Sakurano whose dream is to make it to the 2006 Winter read more
Dec 29, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
For every anime where a plucky amateur becomes the star of the competition, for every anime where love and peace makes the hero or heroine new friends, and for every anime where dreams come true, there is Ginban Kaleidoscope; a bittersweet tale about reaching for your dreams and finding that winning isn't everything.

The strongest aspect of Ginban is easily story. Though the premise is hokey, the execution is flawless and handled exceptionally. Most tales of this nature often fail by lending themselves to comedy. Ironically, Ginban does that, but the jokes are just pointed enough that they sell. Not every joke, such as the running read more
Jul 28, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
For a sports anime, it wasn’t that bad. I’m not really a fan of sports-themed anime, but Ginban Kaleidoscope had another aspect to it that I liked. Comedy.

Comedy is probably Ginban Kaleidoscope strongest asset. Every episode had something you can laugh about. Some gags were repetitive, such as Tazusa’s inability to restrain herself from talking to Pete in public. It’s either people think she’s crazy (cause she looks like she’s talking to herself) or when she says something mean to Pete, people around her think that they’re talking to them and in turn they get hurt (Specially Tazusa’s coach and her friend Mika). Tazusa’s read more
Nov 16, 2007
underMebius (All reviews)
The Story isn't really much interesting, because I didn't even know that she should win the Turino Cup olympics, It kinda revolve around the 100 Days till later in the story, I give it 8/10

The Art is pretty much, well it's very good, but then...In some episodes, Tazusa's Arms are longer than it should be before! So I'll give it 7/10

The Sound, is actually, OUTSTANDING! The opening and the ending theme song is really what gave Ginban Kaleidoscope, its name. The opening song is Focused on the Ginban (literally meaning: Figure Skating) part, we see in the opening theme: 'Dual', Tazusa and Pete Skating, while read more
Jan 8, 2008
Ceray (All reviews)
Ginban Kaleidoscope is a sports anime series about Tazusa Sakurano, a sixteen year old Japanese figure skater with an attitude problem and Pete Pumps, a Canadian stunt pilot of the same age. Since they're both from other sides of the earth, how are these two related? They share the same body, that's how. Well, not exactly. Concidentally, at the beginning Tazusa and Pete have a competition in the same place, at the same time, and, at the same time they both mess up. While Tazusa's mistake was minor, Pete's cost him his life. However, due to unknown circumstances, Pete is unable to go to heaven read more
Aug 16, 2008
Lord_Lee2 (All reviews)
This anime scores good points all round from my perspective. The story is good and the characters are pretty well connected with each other.
The chosen sport of skating is very well done by the animation studio and they have got the correct "feel" for the sport, it feels elegant and smooth as if the viewer was actually on ice him/her self which gave the series a slight edge to other sports anime.
The characters support each other well in this series and brings out the struggle the main characters feel to achieve the best they can on the rink with the added pressure of being a read more
Mar 21, 2015
iPeppermintOz (All reviews)
Ginban Kaleidoscope is a light-hearted with some serious undertones anime that has a long enough length to make it end on a higher note.

Story - 8
Since the synopsis tells you the story I won't bother typing it all out...However, I will say that what I do like about the story is that there are some twists and turns. There is competition, rightfully so, but it isn't overdramatic. That stuck out as it is superior to most teenage anime in this regard. I will say some of the drama with Pete is pointless...but it can pass ;P

Art - 7
I can't be too tough at the time read more
Jul 15, 2009
iETHAN (All reviews)
*Goddamn it. It has been a year since I watched this anime for the first time, and I still can't get over it... So I had to watch it all over again to re-live such a beautiful story that didn't let me sleep the night I finished it, and even now, I still I can't get over it...!! This is one of those animes that make you wish you were a multi-millionaire so you could sponsor animes you really love! I wish a could sponsor this one for a second season... :(

*Put shortly: watch the first episode, and you will instantly fall in-love with this read more
Jun 5, 2008
xkawaii_s2 (All reviews)
i thought, for a sports anime, that it was pretty good. the ending was kind of loose and it could have been better (but i haven't relly seen an ending i like yet). personally, i LOVE ice skating so that's probably what attracted me to this anime, plus the front cover looked cute.

i like how the guy relates ice skating to the flying plane thing (can't remember what it's called) and i would have cried at the end, if i wasn't at my friend's house =]

overall, it's a pretty good anime, and i do recommend it to people who want to watch a read more
Feb 17, 2018
The_Walker (All reviews)
If you are looking for a decent Winter themed anime to go along with the PyeongChang event, congratulations! You found one.

Ginban Kaleidoscope was a rewatch for me. Once when it was airing and now many years later as a full marathon. The simplest way to describe it is as one of those shows that is definitely good enough to watch, but just wasn't quite good enough to enter the hall of anime fame. Thus as the years go by, Kaleidoscope fades into obscurity. A shame really, because in terms of actual story line this was one of the best shows of its season.

For read more
Jul 17, 2012
EtaHeunDeon (All reviews)
If you asked me to describe Ginban Kaleidoscope in one word, I'd say, "Fantastic and unique," because one word really isn't enough to describe GK. It sets itself apart with a deep and complex story and setting, and while the unusual relationship between the two main characters lends itself more easily to comedy than romance, it ultimately makes the romance that much more meaningful.

The story focuses on Sakurano Tazusa, a top female ice skater from Japan, and Pete Pumps, the ghost of a Canadian stunt pilot who involuntarily ends up possessing her after crashing his plane during an exhibition. Hilarity ensues as Tazusa unsuccessfully attempts read more
Mar 23, 2015
Flawfinder (All reviews)
(Author's Note: This is an old review that I would have written differently now, but I might as well post it on here just because)

One thing you’ll learn upon leaving high school is that everything that happened during that time is utterly meaningless in the adult world. And unless you’re one of those heathens who married his highschool sweetheart without divorcing her in two years time, your first love is one of those things. Pretty soon, you’ll realize that it was nothing special other than being another small experience in your youth, move on, and then date that college chick that’s as smart as she read more
Mar 28, 2011
HeavenAvery (All reviews)
Recently I've been really desperate to watch an anime; because it's been a long time since i watched one. I look here and there just to find the right anime i could really enjoy. These few days I've been watching 'Ginban Kaleidoscope' and i was satisfied. I watched these for 2 day because it only got 12 episodes but honestly i really hoped there was more.

The story was about romance, comedy but more on sports. The reason why i like these anime because it teaches moral lessons; about having a fighting spirit, having our own principle in life, having good sportsmanship, and learning read more
Jul 12, 2013
DinosaurJoe (All reviews)
After the first few episodes of this anime, I couldn't help but be incredibly annoyed at Tazusa. She was incredibly irritating, and the way she dealt with having a ghost possess her was so ridiculously stupid I couldn't help but think "God, why is she doing such a thing?" Here's what she did that pissed me off.

Constantly talking out loud to Pete while in a public place.

No one would ever do this. One reason being the fear of being treated like a schizophrenic, and two, because it's really, reeaally dumb. At one point she gets him to help her out with a test, and she read more
Oct 1, 2009
rockman_blues (All reviews)
This is one refreshing one...It was the first one i watched based on rink skaters so the idea was quite appealing to me. The sports culture is aptly portrayed in this one most of the time. The story is touching..comical scenes are downright funny especially the sequence at the end of the second episode. The music is average but the show doesnt really need to depend on it.

This is a cute one...do watch it..warms you up really.