Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ga-Rei: Zero


Alternative Titles

English: Ga-Rei-Zero
Synonyms: Garei: Zero
Japanese: 喰霊–零–

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2008 to Dec 22, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: AIC Spirits, Asread
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.691 (scored by 77,853 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #536
Members: 184,265
Favorites: 2,019

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*Powerful opening episode plus a strong ending makes Ga-Rei Zero a definite must see for action fans.*

“Will you kill someone you love because of love?”

Those who have already seen Ga-Rei Zero (GRZ) are probably sick of reading the quote above, but it is nonetheless an effective quote to advertise for GRZ. I still remember what initially caught my interest in GRZ, it was the amazing trailer. Boy, how misleading it was …

Don’t get me wrong, Ga-Rei Zero is quite fabulous indeed. The synopsis may sound generic, but the technique used to present the story that will eventually lead into Ga-Rei (manga) is what makes read more
Jan 3, 2009
rabbitpoets (All reviews)
This review is technically spoiler free, but if the names, Yomi or Kagura, are unfamiliar to you, I would suggest watching the first two episodes before reading any of the reviews.

Admittedly, when I first read the show's description (which purposely reads generic), I didn't think the show was going to be that good. So when I gave it a shot, the first episode certainly drew my attention, but I expected once the shocking cliffhangers wore off it’d be a pretty generic, demon-hunting, hero-coming-of-age shounen.

Man, I was dead wrong. GRZ turned out to be biggest surprise of the fall season, and one of the best read more
Dec 29, 2008
neutralizer (All reviews)
Ga-Rei -Zero- is set as the prequel to Ga-Rei the manga. The manga, itself, is a supernatural action shounen so Ga-Rei -Zero- is set in the same way. While knowing the setting of the manga helps to understand the anime better, it is definitely not required to read the manga beforehand to enjoy Ga-Rei -Zero-. This viewer had never heard of Ga-Rei before the anime, yet was still able to enjoy the Ga-Rei -Zero-.

For those not familiar with the Ga-Rei setting, it is essentially about an agency that hunts rogue spirits using exorcists. A Ga-Rei is a spirit beast that exorcists use in addition to read more
Jul 15, 2014
deadsoul336 (All reviews)
~Note~
- This will be my first anime review.
- Might contain spoilers.

Ga-Rei: Zero, is one of those anime that blew my expectations away; truly an anime I wished I discovered sooner. This anime is so underrated, I hope this review does some good.

"Will you kill someone you love, because of love?"

That quote was what got me interested, and I watched to find the answer.

-Story: Basically two girls, Yomi and Kagura, that has experienced deaths of loved ones by demons. They both belong to families that are destined to be exorcists. They do their best to live up to their family names. One day they read more
May 25, 2010
Kuro4735 (All reviews)
After rewatching this series for the third time, I thought it was only fair to give Ga rei zero a proper review. Note that I’ll try to keep this as spoiler free as possible.

Ga rei zero was a pleasant surprise, defying my expectations of it based on its generic trailer and description. The first episode, in particular, was a “wtfwhathappenediwanttowatchmore!” attention grabber.

One of the better shows that aired in fall of 2008, Ga rei zero tells a tale of two young girls, Kagura and Yomi, their lives as they grow older, and the resulting tragedy that ensues.

Ga rei zero stands out for it’s well read more
Oct 7, 2011
lisnoire (All reviews)
Most folk were hooked by Ga-Rei: Zero's extreme action first episode, I was bored. Demon hunting, poorly done CG monster of the week, zombie like creatures, guro blood splatter and flying limbs, crazy fan-boy weapons, comedy. yuri girls in school uniforms, and run of the mill music. Meh. Seen it all a zillion times. Watched a few eps, discovered nothing new and engaging and dropped it.

Picked it up again in dub for something to have on in the background while I multi-tasked and was totally unimpressed until somewhere around episode 6 or 7. THEN IT GOT GOOD. Make read more
May 10, 2017
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
What changes you? How does it change you? Who is the one to bring you to your breaking point? How attached can you be to make such a change necessary?

SPOILERS AHEAD FOR THE FIRST EPISODE

Ga-Rei Zero is a story of change, bonds, corruption, and in the end, finding your place amongst class and expectations. It's not a perfect show, it's sometimes lacking in proper context, but it manages to work in such a way to keep me engaged to say "yeah, I had a great time and felt immense satisfaction for something I wasn't the most hopeful for".

Throughout my time watching anime, I've begun to read more
Aug 16, 2014
thyran (All reviews)
Wow, that was a special experience. Let`s start by saying this is a GOOD show. Surprising, even to myself after watching the beginning of Ga-Rei: Zero. Why is that? Well never have i seen a show that was of to such a bad start. The first episode is just horrible, it looks like a mediocre demon hunting show with absolutely no depth in it at all. Watching the second episode won`t even change your mind about that... But if you for some reason keep watching a true gem of a show starts to unfold. What really ruined the read more
Jan 25, 2009
gdavge2003 (All reviews)
First of all, I have not read the manga, but I am told that this is a prequel to it. Makes sense, since it is titled Ga-Rei "-Zero-."

Ga-Rei -Zero- is a series with many surprises. The first two episodes misled me into thinking that this was an action-packed anime with little drama or deep themes. But the entire series as a whole was deeply touching, focusing more on the friendship and love between two protagonists, Tsuchimiya Kagura and Isayama Yomi, as they go through thick and thin down a path that eventually splits into two.

I was deeply impressed with the presentation of Ga-Rei -Zero-. The read more
Oct 8, 2008
yarvenclog (All reviews)
Preliminary
I dont usually write reviews for brand new shows, but this one blew my mind. though keep in mind that I have only seen the first episode. but as far as I could tell this is an action packed show that I had to force my self to blink because I didnt want to miss a second of the action.

story- from the first episode, it follows a group of super natural hunters that go and stop the apparitions from reaking havoc on the town. like I said before this show is almost non stop action that keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Art- read more
Jan 1, 2009
PBz0r (All reviews)
Ga-Rei Zero (directed by Ei Aoki of Kara no Kyoukai and Girls Bravo fame), is a prequel to Hajime Segawa's Ga-Rei, a manga in which two teenagers fight evil, may or may not fall in love, and mostly have a good time. Zero was obviously made to introduce more people to the series and get them to read the run-off-the-mill source material, but in the end, it entirely outclasses the manga itself.

Those are my thoughts on the entire Ga-Rei franchise in a nutshell. Like most viewers, I had never heard of the series before this animated prequel aired, but I tried reading some manga chapters read more
Jan 13, 2009
Mister_Thor (All reviews)
Preliminary
This story introduces a group of characters that start to kick butt. As soon as you start thinking this might be something you might watch, the bad guys brutally kill them all. Depressing !!! The story then introduces a new main character. Almost as soon as you start to forgive the story for the first lot dieing so badly, the new main character is also killed. Doubly Depressing !!! The story the explains why this happens, but at this point you don't care any more. Your disappointed, you've got a bad taste in your mouth and you start thinking the author must have had a read more
Jun 4, 2009
HarryTram (All reviews)
One of the better animes I've ever seen. Top notch stuff. Everything about this anime was just really well done. I loved the characters, (even if most of them were portrayed differently from the manga). There was action, there was comedy, and there was sorrow. Everything really was put together beautifully.

Story- Very interesting story. I didn't read the manga so even when I started watching it, it wasn't outrageously hard to understand. I actually didn't know this was a prequel till later, so that's a good sign at how easy the story was to follow.What I have to say about it thought was about how read more
Dec 28, 2008
DarknessAngel (All reviews)
My first review so ... here it goes :

Story

The story of Ga-Rei -Zero- is focused around Tsuchimiya Kagura , Isayama Yomi and a little on the Supernatural Disaster Prevention Office where they work as exorcists who " exterminate those who spread the taint of death to the human world " . You get to see during this anime some interesting and good fights, a slice of Kagura and Yomi’s sisters-like life their having with a little touch of shoujo-ai here and there and the conflicts that lead to how the manga’s story started ( from what I heard since I have yet to read Ga-Rei read more
Oct 8, 2008
legacy3233old (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoilers Ahoy!

Ga-rei… where to begin… Apparently this is based of a manga with the same (or similar title). I have to admit that I was fairly confused by the first episode, which almost never happens to me… this might be because I never read the original source material. I think, for this one, I’ll start with the production value. Overall, the PV was amazing. The animation was fluid and precise, the artwork never suffered many flaws, and the few tiny flaws that it did suffer from are really of no concern. The characters have a decent range of emotional expression, which one really doesn’t see read more
Mar 25, 2009
Fullmetal-Locke (All reviews)
I wasn't going to watch this, I can't remember why, but then one day I did...for some reason...and I'm so glad I did!

I don't think there really is much story...I mean it's like a generic friend story and one friend goes to the dark side and then the light side has to bite the bullet and defeat the dark side and defeat their friend, ya know, Naruto like crap. Queue a shit load of build up trying to make the relationship between the two characters seem more believable and to try and make their final showdown more epic. Not that this series needs its read more
Oct 30, 2009
SamFury (All reviews)

Ga Rei: Zero’s high octane first episode introduces us to a troupe of interesting characters, filled with spirited action, a dark storyline and… death. Within twenty-two minutes, it offers a plot twist to shock the viewer. As a result, the quick pacing is disorienting, foreshadowing a show in love with combat and slacking on story.

Ga Rei: Zero is anything but that. From episode two, the narrative takes a decidedly steady stride after forcing our heads underwater. Letting us come up for air, its easy to take in the world. Set in an alternate version of Japan, the government is engaged in a secret war read more
Apr 5, 2015
addiescloset (All reviews)
Action, romance, comedy, drama, supernatural - those would be the tags I'd put this anime under. Ga Rei Zero exceeded my expectations, and I definitelyyy am going to be reading the manga for it too after watching this anime.

It's been awhile since I felt like I found an anime I enjoyed an anime this much. Ga Rei Zero's description here on Myanimelist is quite brief, and it really doesn't tell you very much about the show, so you have to watch it to really find out what it's about. And it's actually quite fitting for this particular anime, because this anime tells has such an read more
Jan 10, 2010
CommanderOfDeath (All reviews)
Ga-Rei:Zero
"Will you kill someone you love, because of love?" just seeing the tagline used in the anime, Ga-Rei definitely caught my attention, and it REALLY suit the anime. I was like WOW. Just from the tagline you can know what the main conflict will be. Despite that you will still feel eager to watch each episode.

I gave this anime a 10 cause basically, I loved everything about it. From the pilot episode until the ending episode, I had my eyes glued on the screen, sitting at the edge of my chair, anxious about the what will happen in the next episode. I actually watched this read more
Mar 13, 2014
Rawrzz03 (All reviews)
When I started watchin Ga-Rei Zero, I never thought I would enjoy it so much. If in the beggining of the first episode I was surprised to see how full of action it was, at the end of the same episode I was like "what the hell.. everybody dies. anime ends. go home". (If you watched it you know what I'm taking about). And then in the second episode other characters die so I was kind of confused and said to myself "No, no. Something is wrong here". Well, the actual story starts with episode 3 so basically, the first 2 episodes have nothing to read more