Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

White Album


Alternative Titles

English: White Album
Synonyms: W.A.
Japanese: ホワイトアルバム

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2009 to Mar 29, 2009
Premiered: Winter 2009
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:00 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Seven Arcs
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Drama, Harem, Music, Romance
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.631 (scored by 25,092 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #54702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1325
Members: 79,651
Favorites: 162

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 31, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
*An underrated series with plenty of potential for its second season.*

“The beginning has ended.” - White Album

1986
A year where internet does not exist.
A year where cassette tapes still dominates in the media industry.
A year where cell phone, the size of a brick, has just emerged in the market.
A year where the story of White Album takes place.

White Album often presents viewers with these muddy views of reality. There is often no clear distinction from right or wrong, good or evil. There is, however, often grief and suffering caused by various circumstances and misunderstandings. More often than not, people simply turn their head and walk away read more
May 4, 2009
iamjoe (All reviews)
Cheaters never win. They just end up banging a lot of chicks.

White Album is a true life story about what it means to be a guy in the real world. In fact, a lot of people will say that this anime is fake and that there is no way that, how many were there, three, no, SIX girls would want to jump the bones of Joe Average, but you know what?? It's real, kids! In fact, it helps a lot when said loser in question is a big tool. Girls like that stuff. What success that the main character of this anime is a read more
Feb 21, 2009
lonehunter88 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're seriously thinking of watching this, I would advice you to think twice.
The first thing you have to put in mind when watching this series is that the setting is 1986, when handphones were still not that common, and national idols still existed.

Story (5/10)
The story starts out very nicely, with very well-done introductions of the characters. We have the main guy who is dating the supposedly main girl, who is doing her best to be an artist. That's where everything goes down in an avalanche. It's a very plain romance drama with very little comedy and it drags along like a log. read more
Sep 9, 2010
RedSuisei (All reviews)
I really feel I need to make a review of this anime. This is purely based on the first season, since I haven't watched the second season yet. I've watched and read a lot of harem anime/manga, some are good, but most are just shallow, comedy-filled, mindless ecchi fanservices anime that I can't stand watching and decided to drop. But this one is clearly different, I'd say that this is the best harem story I've ever watched/read to date.

Whilte Album's story is very good, it's more deep than most harem anime. This story is very realistic for a harem anime (then again, harem itself read more
Mar 30, 2009
Rankblotch (All reviews)
White Album was just one of the more awesome shows this past season (Winter 2009), just because of what they've done with their take on the whole "harem" anime genre.

Now I haven't played the game or anything on which I can base a claim on it being a good adaptation, but from an uninformed view on it, they handled the whole story in a pretty good way.
Elements from harem anime are still present, but they added a whole lot of realism to the whole thing as well in their situations and how they lived and reacted through it.

The whole season was just chock read more
Jan 14, 2014
Zelot (All reviews)
When we think of the word harem, we think of a oblivious male character along with slapstick humor and filled with perverted scenes that don't really fit in with the story.. White Album takes the harem genre and applies it to a very serious tone. This is a more realistic version of how a harem situation would be.

Story: 6
Touya Fuiji is a college student whose girlfriend has started her path on becoming an idol. The series follows his interactions with his friends as well as the people who work in the same agency as his girlfriend. Keep in mind that communication read more
Jan 13, 2009
AnimeFarmer25 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you enjoy pure Romantic-Dramas then this is for you, plain and simple. White Album has next to no comedic elements and focuses primaraly the main characters' relationship with his Girlfriend, which has reasently become strained as she has become an Idol and is growing in popularity.
The story itself seems rather dull at first thought but you quickly learn there is much more then meets the eye. The animation is out of this world in that at times your consufed as to if your watching a TV show or a Movie in how seemless and beautiful the charachers move about their enviroment and how detailed read more
Jul 4, 2009
dante_90 (All reviews)
What is this story's all about?
The story is all about the life of the two main characters whom separated from each other on the cause of the one of them has become the idol.

What is the conflict of the story?
The protagonist was difficult to contact his girlfriend whom has became the idol. Many circumstances among the other characters who has became his ideal person or what he called "goddess" or "every day(the person who has been worth for him)" person.

What is the point of the story?
The protagonist has been told that he's a hindrance for his girlfriend's future, that she has been more popular. One read more
Aug 2, 2009
Tanta (All reviews)
I had to let my thoughts sit for a few days before I could write a review on this anime called "White Album". This is season 1 of what I would like to describe as a very strong and very realistic anime. I have not seen one like this since Maison Ikkoku. (Refer to that review to get more of my mind frame for this anime or if u need more of a reference.)

I will not go into detail of this anime but I will go into the mindset of why I think this anime is so damned good. The story takes read more
Oct 30, 2014
MeowPower (All reviews)
*Review based on only the first season*

STORY
Drama is something that can be beautiful and heart breaking, if done right. White Album is one anime that had the potential to be both of these things, but unfortunately it doesn't live up to that potential. (In my opinion, of course) Well, I have to admit. The idea of the show is pretty good. I mean the premise showed a lot of potential to show the effects and results in a relationship where work might get in the way. Though, that's where the good things end. First problem that plagued the show from the read more
Aug 11, 2009
gosp07 (All reviews)
Acctually I wanted to write a review because I found this anime amazing but after seeing it's overall score it was somewhat disapointing...

Before I start writting about story or about another think I'd like to say this isn't an anime which would make you happy.I think it's the same reason why people's score this low.An anime can't be decided about if it's make you feel relieve or happy.An anime made for emotion not just the good ones even feeling for bad ones.So what about if it's make you feel bad?isn't this anime make you feel bad in a great and amazing way...

Story:
The story is about read more
Apr 1, 2016
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
Imagine being so close to someone you could feel the heat of their breath yet, at the same so distant. Relationships have a way deteriorating like a rose over time. The beginning is sweet and fragrant, yet the decay is gradual as the petals fall one by one. Now the rose is limped over; the aroma is gone, and there is only death where life used to take root. This is the essence of the white album.

White album is an anime adaptation of a visual novel released in the late 90s. It was relatively unknown then, and its anime adaptation a decade later still didn’t read more
Feb 27, 2016
Seppiroth32 (All reviews)
WHITE ALBUM (2009) SEASON 1 REVIEW :
Direction : The directing is great, the people knew exactly when to blend boredom with music and drama, the love drama is nicely done the characters know how to properly hold a conversation between each other and provide maximum boredom for you plebs who don't get the visual aesthetic over dialogue.

Presentation & Storytelling : Life has never been portrayed as dry as this. When you start to watch a show, you want to escape reality, not be thrown back in it damn it!
Why are the better shows so boring?
Because they are a representative of human consciousness, something this read more
Jul 17, 2009
setvenx (All reviews)
This is an anime just about anyone can relate to for we as people often face times where the situation rejects your desires and you realize that even though you wish for your happiness, you would be rejected from it and at times you could fall into a confused or desperate state of mind trying to grasp on to someone or something for comfort. Regardless of what genre you are into, if you begin to watch more then just the first or second episode, you will be reeled into an anime in which the theme is common everyday whereas the setting is however a bit read more
Aug 21, 2017
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
Preliminary
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.
------

Let me get first things straight, I came to watch this anime after "White Album 2". White album 2 was really personal, beautiful yet at the same time really depressing. I loved WA2, pretty much everything a bout it. Have even re-watched twice and even then managed to make me depressed and tear up, but in the end I enjoyed it. It's romance/love moral compass was a tad damaged but in a right direction, thus it ended up well.. thus why loved it.

Now, about this thing... read more
Aug 21, 2018
dyson14444 (All reviews)
A 2018 review of White Album, a Romantic Drama Harem show, it also involves idol and psychological themes.

The story follows a 20 year old named Touya Fuji, and his relationship with his high-school sweetheart, Yuki Morikawa.
Touya is a hardworking university student that has a strained relationship with his father, while Yuki worked hard to become an idol after high school.
Very little is shown of their relationship and past, but one thing is clear they are deeply in love.
However when Touya's financial and school situation along with Yuki's increasingly busier idol career start getting in the way how will they handle the strain on their read more
May 4, 2018
LM-Minalinsky (All reviews)
This is not your typical harem. There is no kawaii girls, ecchi moments, none. There is, however, a ton of drama that will either make you want to cry or punch the MC in the gut really, really hard.

In the center of it all we have Touya, a college student juggling work and relationships. He has been dating this girl named Yuki, who by the way is the best girlfriend you could possibly ask for. Then, Yuki becomes an idol and gets famous, and it all goes downhill from there.

I hate Touya so much. He's weak, cowardly, unloyal, and makes some terrible decisions read more
Apr 6, 2009
Zelnaga (All reviews)
*Zels short personal Review*

1986; the year this show was set in, and coincidentally also the year I was born in. These are my type of show, senien romances; no ecchi, no fanservice, drama packed and a slow maturing storyline. The story is about our main protagonist Toya who dates an upcoming idol star, as he has to deal with the obstacles, he has to face while dating a rising pop star; throw in a bunch of girls for distraction and that's our plot. But unlike most harems, this isn't for kids. As mentioned above, this is no panty flashing show.

The storyline was pretty read more
Sep 18, 2015
Jenangelx3 (All reviews)
Before you go on to read this review, make not that I have not watched the 2nd season and these were my initial impressions. I gave this anime a shot since all of the reviews rated it fairly well. I heard it'd be a harem anime with realistic events and drama, but truly, I wasn't prepared for what I actually experienced.
Let me be frank, I like harem anime: reverse or not, they're all fairly fun and I understand the flaws in harem anime. While this does not have the ridiculous situations of your usual harem anime, I don't exactly agree that all of these events read more
Feb 15, 2015
Fryz3 (All reviews)
I just felt like writing a review, it is my first one too.

but i wanted to werite one about an anime where i can put my thoughts in it.
And white album really was a special anime.

people might say that i'm wrong about giving this anime such a low scoe, because i think it deserves to be better, but the one and only problem i just can't let go is the protagonist.

The anime is basicaly a harem with a lot of drama in it. what this anime does is making the harem a bit more realistic, you might ask yourself now: what is wrong read more