Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

To Heart


Alternative Titles

English: To Heart
Japanese: トゥハート

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 1999 to Jun 25, 1999
Premiered: Spring 1999
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:35 (JST)
Producers: KSS
Studios: OLM
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 6.671 (scored by 7,047 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #48242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2615
Members: 18,209
Favorites: 42

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 7, 2008
Archaeon (All reviews)
Nice. That's what this show is. Not thrilling or dramatic or bad, just.... nice.

I first found out about To Heart when I watched Comic Party, and I thought I'd give it a whirl. Unfortunately I watched To Heart 2 first so I wasn't expecting much when I eventually got around to watching this.

That said, I was pleasantly surprised at how different the atmosphere between the two shows actually is. Where the sequel feels quite forced, To Heart is far more natural in the way it progresses. The stories aren't that different between the two, and indeed the theme (harem highschool romance), is generally quite common read more
Dec 23, 2008
Retro8bit (All reviews)
It’s funny, when I first started "To Heart" I thought I was going to be in for another harem title, but to my surprise it was nothing like that. This school life anime is probably one of the more layed back and relaxing ones out there!

The main chunk of the story will be Hiro (main male lead) interacting with the female students. Now I know this may sound like a "harem" plot, it isn’t at all though. Whenever he meets one of them that needs help, instead of having a romantic view of them (you know, the whole damsel in distress thing?) he simply helps read more
Sep 21, 2009
PhantomLancelot (All reviews)
....no amount of numbers in the world could amount to how much Inloved this show. "To Heart" was amazing in both its story and its atmposphere. The story revolves around 2 high seniors, Akari and Hiroyuki, as they get ready for their final year of high school. Akari and Hiroyuki have been friends for years; ever since kindergarten, and Akari may have grown some certain feelings about her best friend after all these years.

...both the sound quality and the art are above par; the animation may look very old, but the anime's from the 1990's (...just the way I like 'em). The show has this read more
Dec 24, 2010
ExileOnAkiba (All reviews)
Ah, the harem genre.

One lovable loser who through some bizarre circumstances ends up surrounded by a group of gorgeous women who all proceed to fall in love with him somehow; and then our protagonist must make the difficult choice of picking the one female cast member to call his own.

While it was always a stupid and sexist premise, it proved to be a very popular format (for an almost entirely male audience). And so, many titles made use of the formula with little to no variation. While these titles lacked creativity, they were still profitable and that allowed the same basic story to be read more
Jun 5, 2011
cthulhuplush (All reviews)
To Heart is easily one of the blandest things I have ever had the misfortune of sitting through. It's complete lack of substance or anything interesting was very frustrating, especially considering that deep down it definitely had some potential that it just never bothered fostering. It was fundamentally boring and had very little to offer over all.
That isn't to say, though, that it did everything wrong. I am willing to give it some credit, as there were some things that I did like about it. The general ascetic of the series was rather nice, having a interesting art style that looked read more
Dec 7, 2017
Dionkeykong (All reviews)
Hi guys and gals..Do you wanna know how it is to sit inside someone's ear and spend the rest of your bloody life doing nothing but just that?Well luckily for ya there is an anime called To Heart.

Word of warning,this review contains excitement and swearing and some really really graphic sadistic descriptions.With that onto the review of this...I dare not call it s@it cause that would be an insult to good s@it or even bad s@it..This has taken the idea of endless boredom and went all the way to 11 or 789 by the looks of things.

Stupid name,stupid anime,stupid stupid me for watching this shit read more
Feb 6, 2015
brynolf (All reviews)
Overall
Ok, let's look at the genre tags on this one...

"Comedy"? No, not a single funny event in the whole series.
"Drama"? No, no, no. Not even a story.
"Game"? Probably. It would explain a lot.
"Harem"? Not really. More like an episodic "girl of the week" show, with very little coherence.
"Romance"? Not according to my experiences regarding the term.
"School life"? Check!

All in all, this was a waste of time. I was expecting a romantic comedy but all I got was a slow paced and futile "we are gonna throw as many wierd and shallow girls at you as possible" show.

Ok, some episodes actually read more
Jun 14, 2012
Romie-chan (All reviews)
Although To Heart is labeled as a romance series, it really didn't focus on that at all. This show mainly focuses on introducing new characters and giving them a little depth. The romance was put on the back-burner and left for the last two episodes.

~Character 6/10~
Since we were introduced to new characters so often it was hard to get to really know any of them. Akari, Shiho and Heroyuki were the main characters but I really didn't get the sense of really knowing them or knowing what they're thinking. Most of the characters seem very dense and unable to read body language.

~Art 8/10~
The art style read more
Feb 4, 2013
katlee8225 (All reviews)
story-8
i really did like to heart. i had just watched a long and dramatic show and then i watched to heart and it was like just a nice light and pretty cheerful show. super cute!
art-8
i think the art is realy nice on this anime. but sometimes the guys eyes were a bit weird.
sound-7
pretty good!
character-8
i found that there was something about most of the characters i didnt like all that much. but in general it was good.
enjoyment-7
like i said i liked it but to behonest it wasnt one of my favs.
overall-8
a really cute show, totally recomend watching it!