Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Heart no Kuni no Alice: Wonderful Wonder World


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Gekijouban Heart no Kuni no Alice: Wonderful Wonder World, Alice in the Country of Hearts
Japanese: 劇場版ハートの国のアリス~Wonderful Wonder World~

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 30, 2011
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Asahi Production
Source: Visual novel
Genres: FantasyFantasy, HaremHarem, RomanceRomance, ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 1 hr. 24 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.181 (scored by 86448,644 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #76732
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2816
Members: 25,773
Favorites: 136

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 28, 2012
pink-lemonade (All reviews)
I am a big fan of just about anything Alice in Wonderland related. I throughly enjoyed reading the Heart no Kuni no Alice magna, and was very excited to watch the movie adaptation. However, I was throughly disappointed.

There is essentially no plot whatsoever throughout the course of this film. The scenes jump quickly and offer little explanation to the events going on. There is also absolutely no character development, so if someone unfamiliar with the series were to watch, they would be utterly lost.

Also, the film wastes a lot of time on pointless scenes. For example, in the opening, they continually showed cards read more
Jun 27, 2012
Hoshino_Masayume (All reviews)
Heart no Kuni no Alice or Alice in the Country of Hearts originally began as a
series of Otomegames, a manga and most recently the movie this rewiew covers.

As you already might or might not have guessed, the source material of the story is Lewis Carroll´s famous novel Alice´s Adventures in Wonderland, a fact which is rather unimportant as the shared points can be counted with one hand.

But now to the actual movie and be warned [SPOILERS AHEAD].

It starts out with Alice (obviously) getting thrown into wonderland, but that´s
where the flick decides that a chronological approach of telling the story is way to simple read more
Jun 8, 2012
KuroYume-96 (All reviews)
We all know the original story: Alice falls into a bunny hole and finds herself in Wonderland...
There are hundreds of stories based on 'Alice in Wonderland', but from what I've seen, Heart no Kuni no Alice (together with Pandora Hearts) is one of the better ones. That was what I thought while reading the manga. I was pretty exited when I found out that they're making an movie. But perhaps my enthusiasm caused my disappointment.

Let me say this: if you didn't read the manga or didn't play the game you're not going to understand the movie. There's almost no story at all in it. read more
Feb 26, 2015
Erysa (All reviews)
Heart no Kuni no Alice... Where do I start.

So, techniquely we have.. Alice, this Kingdom of hearts (whatever it's called –her dream world), absurdity (a lot of it) and yes a bunch of handsome men and rabbits surrounding the girl. Pretty funny for start.
Funny and crazy.. There is, I think, ONE phrase in the film that probably describes it perfectly. "This is a circus", a faceless says. A circus indeed.
If you are already familiar with the concept of Alice in Wonderland, then you already know that the story Lewis Carol fantasized, is quite ABSURD. Having read the original script and seen the read more
Nov 24, 2012
crystalroses210 (All reviews)
I adore the manga. But is it too much to ask for a basic plot and satisfying ending? For those of us who have read the manga, it's enjoyable to see it in action, but it's obviously confusing and jumps around the timeline constantly. If you want to watch it I suggest reading the manga first. It will still leave a lot of questions, but the character development is much better and the plot is a bit more clear. Watching the movie afterwards might even give the blurry parts of the manga more of an explanation.
Art: it was basic animation but well done. 6
Sound: read more
Nov 3, 2019
RookieQueenOtaku (All reviews)
I loved Alice and Wonderland since I was a kid, because getting lost in a world of fantasy is something I love to do. By chance I got hold of the manga when a library was giving away books. I fell in love with it right away. The personified characters were amazing, and the twists and changes and more realistic spin-off right away hooked me. When I found out there was a movie for this, I was really excited. However, the movie was rather dissapointing compared to the manga. Their is pretty much zero plot and it jumps scenes without any explanation and left me read more
Jul 26, 2012
Miss-x-larie (All reviews)
"Say, did you know... that every game has rules?'"
This is the main point of the movie, a constant game with rules that aren't even explained.
I've seen flashbacks, flash- forwards, dreams and hallucinations but there was one thing it didn't have: common sense.

When the producers made this I'm sure the whole way through they thought the same thing: "What just happened?" and honestly,... I'm still thinking that.

Story: 2
Like I said before, this story doesn't make any sense, there simply is no story, my advice is to read the manga first, because the base isn't even given in this movie.
(Although the manga and the movie read more
Aug 26, 2015
Sundistaan (All reviews)
I LOVED the Heart no Kuni no Alice manga and games. When I found this, I was super excited to see my favorite characters come to life. Well, it failed. For one thing, it had almost nothing to do with the manga or games. They don't even explain that THE TERRITORIES HATE EACH OTHER AND ARE AT WAR! Seriously, how could you leave that out? And anyway, there are a ton of pointless scenes that make no sense and the plot is non-existent. This movie had sooo much potential, but sadly failed at what it was trying to do. It's nearly impossible to follow this read more
Jul 17, 2012
Weby113 (All reviews)
I never read the manga and according to other reviews it was better, but I have to say I really liked it. It's a twist on the actual Alice in wonderland, they use guns here : ) and at the end make sure you watch after the credits there's an important scene after the end theme
The story moves really fast but as long as you're closely paying attention, it gets explained so you know what's going on but it's easy to miss something if you don't watch during the whole thing
Overall it was a great movie and I'd recommend it to anyone who likes Alice read more
Jan 24, 2016
Weeboo_Forever (All reviews)
story: 3/10
Pathetic. there was literally no plot to it. it was girl gets thrown into a dream land (i think. i don't actually know cause it never made that very clear) with hot guys that either want to hurt her or want her.

Art: 10/10
to be honest its art was beautiful and the effects were done so well especially with a movie with lots of random transitioning. It was my favourite type of art style and the male characters were very well animated *cough cough.

Sound: 10/10 nice voice acting and sound effect. no complaints

Character: 3/10
Apart from the *cough cough well animated male characters, they had very read more
May 11, 2018
Hime-han (All reviews)
The overall storyline was good, but I believe that it could had more to it than it did. Even though it kept true, to the manga series, I feel like this could have done better as an anime. That way, it would provide more in depth story telling, and expand more on each of the characters, such as Blood and Boris. Overall, I enjoyed it but like already mentioned, it could have been much more. Unlike the manga, it skips too much in between each scene. One minute you find Alice with Peter Rabbit, the next minute she's with Blood or someone else. It has read more
Jun 27, 2012
Yugima (All reviews)
I am a fan of Heart no Kuni no Alice: Wonderful Wonder World manga. I have been looking forward to the anime adaptation since I caught wind of its making....

....and I am thoroughly disappointed with the outcome.

The storyline and character/story development in the manga was solid and enjoyable. The anime is a total spastic, rushed mess of chaos. It starts off in the middle of a scene. Now, thats not a bad thing in itself, BUT in this case, it was. Even thought I have read the manga, I was totally confused. Where was it? What was happening? Why were Alice and the Twins being read more
Aug 2, 2014
-Panda_Hero- (All reviews)
(may contain minor spoilers)
Oh well, I found this movie by chance and although the rating wasn't very high I decided to give it a shot so I came here with no idea what it would be about (excetp that, well, it had something to do with Alice in Wonderland).
To be fair it wasn't bad but could be much better if it was maybe a TV series?
Anyway, I'll explain in the topics so let's get started.

Story:
Hm... we start with a tough one for the movie. I found the story hard to follow because they didn't really set up a plot besides Alice trying to leave Heartland read more
Dec 13, 2014
BlueMoonSamurai (All reviews)
I read the manga and loved it. When I saw that there was a movie adaptation, I was ecstatic. After reading some reviews, I figured it was a movie that fans would enjoy, but understand why people who haven't read the manga (or played the games maybe) wouldn't enjoy it. But, no. I was wrong. Horribly wrong.
*Note: I'm using 1 as the minimum.

Story: 1/10
The story was...non-existent. No, I take that back, it was just all over the place. I feel like, whoever made this film, tried to piece in a bit of all of the spin-off mangas to "Alice in the Country of Hearts".

Art: 4/10
I read more
Sep 18, 2017
kunoichi_rocks (All reviews)
I feel like Heart no Kuni no Alice is the epitome of what being on drugs feels like. I've never read the manga (though I am curious to check it out), so I can only speak for this movie, but good god, what a mess.

Now, don't get me wrong, I enjoyed a lot of different parts of this, but the general feeling you get is that you find yourself constantly murmuring "what the fuck" under your breath as time passes and you feel like you've made no progress, nor have you learned anything. The beginning itself messes up your concept of time altogether, because it read more
May 9, 2016
jinxinglynx (All reviews)
Story Rating : 4/10

I'm sorry to say this but the story is pretty fucked up to be honest.. I mean what the hell is even the main conflict of this story?! That Alice doesn't know how to come back home?! Heck she didn't even do that much to find a way to go back home!! Plus it's not even stated who the hell is the main 'villain' in this fucked up story. They didn't even explain the first few minutes about how Alice is running from a random reason. The scenes keeps on freaking skipping scene per scene! Heck! I don't even know what's happening read more
Feb 5, 2015
krosemcgowan (All reviews)
I love the Heart No Kuni No Alice games and the manga, so when I heard the movie was coming out, I was incredibly excited. However, I was incredibly disappointed. The movie jumps forwards and backwards a lot, so it is very confusing to follow. Also, there is basically no plot at all-I just watched the movie and I really can't tell you what the point of it all was.
Overall, the most disappointing thing about this movie was how it had so much potential and fell flat on its face. This movie wasted all of the amazing, funny, interesting characters from the manga and read more
Aug 2, 2013
Jiuling (All reviews)
I've never read the manga series before (heard it was awesome btw; might give it a try) Therefore I didn't feel any disappointment when watching the movie. It was actually pretty fun! And if anything, it made me want to find out more.

If you simply love 'Alice in Wonderland', you could try to watch 'Heart no Kuni no Alice: Wonderful Wonder World' 'before' reading the manga, like I did.

The movie does leaves many questions left unanswered and I do believe that in some ways it is better to read the manga first. (If you want to make more sense out of the plot)

With it's colourful read more
Aug 15, 2012
MomoAiomuzu (All reviews)
Like everyone else is saying this movie really has no plot at all, if anything Please read the Manga version of this before you even try to watch this movie. the story in the movie skips around way to much, and there is no character development. The manga is nothing like this it flows so much better.

Story gets a 3 because you can't understand what the heck is going on unless you have read the manga before

Art gets a 10 because the style actually is really good.

Sound 10 you can't complain about the sound it's good.

Characters 10 because they are all the same from the read more
Nov 19, 2012
rturner (All reviews)
This whole movie was confusing. if you want to watch the movie, at least read the manga frist, if i had not read the manga i would be lost. The movie overall is a 5 at best.