Koukaku Kidoutai 2.0


Ghost in the Shell 2.0

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ghost in the Shell 2.0
Synonyms: GitS 2.0, Ghost in the Shell 2.0
Japanese: 攻殻機動隊2.0

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 12, 2008
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Manga Entertainment
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, PolicePolice, PsychologicalPsychological, MechaMecha, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 1 hr. 23 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.021 (scored by 3509035,090 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1670
Members: 77,273
Favorites: 275
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 31, 2008
dtshyk (All reviews)
They introduced a topnotch 3D CGI tech to the legendary anime, so there's no question about its quality. But viewers may feel uncomfortable with the discontinuity between the new full 3D CG and the original 2D scenes.

Story
It's basically the same as the original one, but the change of Puppet Master's sex brought about slight changes in the voice actings and the atmosphere. Batou didn't show so much jealousy over the relationship between Motoko and the Puppet Master, and the fusion of the two gave a pure impression rather than a sexual association.

Art
There are two full read more
Sep 9, 2009
Spunkie (All reviews)
I'll only go into revisional details assuming you haven't ever watched GITS and checking out which version to watch.

The major difference in 2.0 is the un-matrix-isation of it. GITS was a green movie, in revision it is shifted to a red hue. This makes it way more colorful than intented and a bit disrespectful to Oshii. The introduction sequence is mostly redesigned with 3D additions, it's quite good and gives the impression this will be a complete revision of the original (which is not the case). The credits Matrix copied over is completely taken out.

Lack of transition between newly introduced 3D with the old read more
Dec 15, 2018
megafat (All reviews)
WRITER’S NOTE: This review assumes that you’ve seen Ghost In the Shell (1995), as it simply focuses on the changes between the original film and this version.

Ghost in the Shell 2.0 is to Ghost in the Shell what the Special Editions are to Star Wars, and while GitS 2.0 is nowhere nearly as egregious as the Special Editions, it still feels like a pointless exercise in updating a previous work.

GitS 2.0 was released in 2008 in celebration for the release of The Sky Crawlers in theatres that same year, as a way for it’s director, Memoru Oshii, and studio Production I.G. to cross promote both read more
Jun 22, 2013
kuity (All reviews)
As the second time watching GITS 2.0 after a period of about 3 years, I was pleasantly surprised to find that while I still remember most of the plot, the enjoyment has been in no way diminished.

The familiar feeling of having to keep up with the at-times blazingly fast action, while having to run individual characters' lines a few times through my head in order to process the intrigues that Section 9 was caught up with in the unfamiliar futuristic cyborg-dominated landscape described by Shirow Masamune, assailed me throughout the show, making me glad that I had the leisure of being able to replay scenes read more
Mar 1, 2011
chris97308 (All reviews)
This film is one of the great influencers of the neo-noir/cyber genera that's been gaining steam since its release. What I find astonishing about this film is just how much of a spiritual successor it is to Blade Runner. I saw Gits about 10 years ago for the first time and it was okay...I had seen the first season of Stand Alone Complex and thought it was far superior aesthetically and in regards to content. Recently, however, I saw Blade Runner for the first time and watching it I was struck by how much commonality Gits shared with this film. So, I watched 2.0 online read more
Oct 13, 2013
angelsreview (All reviews)
This story was… well confusing. The problem was that they had a ‘puppeteer’ who was changing people’s thoughts and memories in order to use it for his own purpose to hack into official’s heads. I won’t lie, I don’t normally understand all that political stuff. The fact that this was so heavy in that made it more of a chore to try and figure stuff out. If I missed something that someone said, to bad, I couldn’t really go back and check it out because I wouldn’t know where to find it again.

When we get to the characters, the only ones we really get read more
Sep 28, 2020
Mr_Yaz (All reviews)
Reviewer's note: This is my 1st entry into the G.I.T.S. franchise unless you count the live-action film of 2017, starring Scarlett Johansson.


✪ Genre: action, detective, science fiction (artificial intelligence, cyberpunk, cyborgs/human enhancement) seinen, along with some other themes: law and order (police, special squads), nudity, virtual world



✔Positive Aspects✔

◧ Soundtrack: a couple of Japanese folk music pieces and a certain, quite intriguing track of Japanese/Bulgarian influenced ambient music with some very ominous chorals.

◧ Concept/Plot: the film is set in a futuristic, cyberpunk Japanese society where a clandestine law-enforcement/quasi-military unit is trying to track and apprehend a hacker of cyborgs who's constantly engaging in criminal schemes. Meanwhile, read more