Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Koukaku Kidoutai: Stand Alone Complex


Alternative Titles

English: Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex
Synonyms: Ghost in the Shell SAC, Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex
Japanese: 攻殻機動隊 STAND ALONE COMPLEX

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 1, 2002 to Oct 1, 2003
Premiered: Fall 2002
Broadcast: Unknown
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.451 (scored by 122,416 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1272
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #322
Members: 287,308
Favorites: 7,447

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
Many anime fans consider the 1995 movie "Ghost in the Shell" to be a classic of the first order so when the Stand Alone Complex series was released six years later, many were sceptical as to how good it would actually be (and I will admit to being one of those people). Production I.G. managed to put everyone's fears to rest though, just not in the way we all expected (I'll explain in a bit).

Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex is a series that really doesn't need any introduction. The original movie proposed a disturbingly plausible future for mankind that is akin to the read more
Dec 9, 2014
Fleure (All reviews)
The relationship between man and machine is one often fantasized by artistes in diverse mediums. It’s a subject matter that fully intrigues and it's not hard to deduce why: it parallels heavily with our own society. The unwavering quench to advance collective technologies and the relative dependency on machines has drastically grown with the ages. Authors, artists, social critics, and scholars from all walks of life have adopted this framework and produced some of the most imaginative works that not only entertain, but step beyond the fictional realm to perhaps foreshadow a similar tomorrow not too far away…

One such examination is the Ghost in the read more
Aug 19, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Science Fiction has come a long way from stories involving the unknown reaches of space by the works of Jules Verne and H.G. Wells to stories that draw social implications of our society from famed authors George Orwell and Phillip K. Dick. There is little doubt that anime productions have tackled a lot beneath the limits of the genre ranging from Space Opera to Cyberpunk. One series that is often considered one of the most popular in the anime Sci-fi genre is Ghost in the Shell. After the success of the movie, directed by celebrated director Mamoru Oshii, we now have Ghost in the Shell: read more
Apr 22, 2007
amaity (All reviews)
The 'Ghost in the Shell' movie was already a ground-breaking anime, inspiring such works as 'The Matrix' and 'Animatrix'; the TV series just takes it one step further.

Unlike the movie, the TV series focuses on Section 9 and their exploits rather than the deep philosophical quandaries presented in the movie. The over-arching storyline of "The Laughing Man" leaves you flabbergasted as it unfolds like a cherry blossom. Conspiracy and intrigue are the main strengths of the story where nothing is quite as it seems. Perhaps the only flaw are some of the convoluted dialogue that might put off someone who's read more
Apr 27, 2008
klemon_qhap (All reviews)
I haven't written any reviews for any anime so this may be a bit rocky. -.-

Story:
Stand Alone Complex is definetly not your normal anime. Just the name should give away the fact that this is a different kind of anime. What i have to say about the story of Ghost in the Shell is that it is really confusing. If you are looking for an anime that you can sleep through then keep looking because even if you are able to read the subs (i like to watch only subbed anime =) then there is still a high possibility that you won't get what's going read more
Feb 12, 2014
RakiRaki (All reviews)
My view of anime, broadly speaking, might be called hopeless. I don't expect great things from the medium, and I am rarely given any reason to. Despite the insistence of the Anime News Network types, I don't think anime is particularly exceptional in the scope of its content, thematically or otherwise, and so the notion that these abstract forces ("moe," "loli," "otaku pandering," etc.) could ruin the entire medium borders on the absurd. Much of anime is very much genre fiction, and replacing one set of generic conventions and tropes with another is progress, if anything. With that said, I have no problem with good read more
May 28, 2014
bellellis (All reviews)
Previous to watching this, I had seen the famous Ghost in the Shell film from the 90s, as well as its sequel, several times. Not because I liked them though. Rather, due to my lack of willingness to accept that I truly did not like a lauded combination of philosophy, anime and cyberpunk; three things which I'm very fond of. It didn't make any sense. Despite some interesting, and obviously influential visuals, as well as some nice actions scenes, it seemed to me too much like the worst of European art films. It was unnecessarily slowly paced, and constantly making meaningless references to literature and read more
Jan 20, 2008
Qwerkzy (All reviews)
The first season of Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex is absolutely brilliant. For those who are not familiar with this series, it's a spinoff of the 1995 movie Ghost in the Shell, which has influenced many directors, not least of which are the Wachowski brothers who later created The Matrix.

Cyberpunk anime is relatively rare, and in this chest of obscure goods, Stand Alone Complex arguably shines the brightest.

The main storyline, which follows The Laughing Man incident (per the Review Guidelines, I'm not going to elaborate on the plot details, if you really want them, see Wikipedia), is a gripping thrill read more
Dec 3, 2014
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I've talked about Ghost in the Shell before. Both the first and second films. Now, it's time to look at the television installments, or at least one of them. Stand Alone Complex ran for a full year, from October 2002 to October 2003. So, it was released after the first film but before the second. Like the films, it was handled by Production I.G. It was written and directed by Kamiyama Kenji, who was not involved with either the first film or Innocence. What's his take on the material? Let's take a look and find out.

Story:

Our tale opens with a hostage situation in an android read more
May 19, 2010
no_forehead (All reviews)
There are several things I don't appreciate in Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex.

Spoilers included by necessity:

I found it really disappointig that the final solutions to the main mysteries didn't actually have anything to do with the technology of GITS's world like would have expected. Why not explore the chance that, for example, the EXACT replicability of things electronic input/output to brain allows could result in different minds processing the raw thoughts to a same conclusion as the results of human minds being at some level identical? Instead the "copies without original" were explained through memetics, despite the fact that the concept of memes read more
Feb 6, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
There is an abundance of American procedural cop shows nowadays in which most basically develop, or proceed, in the same manner with no real change either structural-wise or its characters, which may leave some viewers with no real impact. Then there is Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex, which manages to create a much more intriguing story by having its setting in a cyberpunk future where complete mechanization of the human body has become a reality, and associated with it, crimes. Furthermore, world building is done magnificently through the numerous stand alone episodes. However, as I am no fan of this type of show, read more
Oct 28, 2013
NotenSMSK (All reviews)
Everyone has their choice which are to be respected but to critique or review means to consider from an unbiased and logical point of view. Thus, due to my affiliation with the original movies and the characters, I would give it a 10 but if considered technically, there are things to be mentioned. Slight as they are, they will be mentioned. This review contains some spoilers.

Story:
GiTS is a combination of a major plot complimented by what seem like sub plots but they combine - not all of them - to produce a grand finale. This is an interesting but risky approach - fillers appearing read more
Feb 24, 2015
brynolf (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hope is the mother of all disappointment, right?

So... where did the cyberpunk go? All the yummy mood and atmosphere that the GitS movie brought is gone and replaced by a bright, clean and shiny world where it never rains. I get that a TV series rarely can stand up to a movie in terms of graphics, but the difference here is not technical, it's a design choice. This combined with the extremely episodic "mission of the week" format makes you think you're actually watching sci-fi CSI.

The main overarching plot is great, but it's spread out too thin in a tedious mess of one-shot episodes that read more
Jul 20, 2009
motoko09 (All reviews)
Being myself a fan of this masterpiece made by Shirow Masamune, I can't find the words to tell you how much I enjoyed watching this wonderful series.

The story revolve primarily on the human obsession with technology and the changes he has made to be able to fight against diseases and how this resolution made him a slave of the technology itself.

The art design is extremely well done, and the mecha design is beyond excellent.

What was a surprise for me, was the characters, I don't know how, but the mangaka gave them a strange a strong personality especially the major Motoko Kusanagi ... it's like they read more
May 23, 2014
Nachteule (All reviews)
I once read that war is supposedly the most efficient way of pushing technology on a higher level. This doesn't seem to be too untrue in the universe of Ghost in the Shell since it already has four world wars in total behind itself - one being a nuclear one; hence the technology within itself has sky-rocketed to incredible dimensions.
The line between man and machine gets blurrier with each day and if Ghost in the Shell is popular for something that is not being a stellar piece of cyber-punk it is for the question what even makes us human. Broken body-parts can be just read more
Nov 28, 2008
Borjoyzee (All reviews)
Preliminary
Considered one of the must see works of Anime, Ghost in the Shell is a pretty successful series, i mean how can millions of drooling Otaku be wrong? And they arnt wrong either, Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex captivated me, from the first episode to the last.

Visually GiTS:SAC is nothing short of stunning for a televisied series, from the computer generated introduction down to the stills. Characters emote well enough and whatever may be happening at the background during the show isnt forgotten either. Musically GiTS:SAC is beautiful, scored by none other than Yoko Kanno, (Cowboy Bebop, Wolf's Rain, RahXephon) the introduction read more
Jul 26, 2015
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: In the year 2030 cyborgs as well as the use of prosthetic bodies are common and humanity has become integrated in ways it has never been before. In this technological world, Section 9, a secretive special-ops force, works to solve various crimes. Headed by Chief Aramaki Daisuke (Saka, Osamu) and Major Kusanagi Motoko (Tanaka, Atsuko) the team investigates a variety of cases as well as the mysterious Laughing Man incident involving a renowned hacker of formidable skill and possible government corruption. The show invests itself in a myriad of different cases throughout and divides the episodes read more
Oct 15, 2009
GR3YF0X (All reviews)
What? Ghost in the Shell.... only 6 reviews? Indeed?
We're speaking of the anime of the most famous movie that was ever created since humanity.

First of all, the anime looks like a typical plot: The future with robots and technologie. It may be a mainstream story that was used in other anime. This time we're in Tokio. Thing's didn't change. There are just robots and people with cyberbrains. There are no galaxys with aliens etc.

As you can read, the story is about a group called 'Sction 9'. They do their job but later, they have to deal with a hacker. Not a normal hacker, a read more
Dec 27, 2018
RyanSpring (All reviews)
Watching this for the very first time mere weeks away from 2019- well over a decade and a half removed from its original release- this anime had several things working against it in my mind before I even inserted the DVD. Dated (by today's standards) graphics, a viewer who has never cared for episodic anime and a story concept that was probably way more fresh/mind blowing/cool back in 2002 than it is now since we've seen a million movies and works of fiction about artificial intelligence, cyborgs, cyberpunk futures, etc between now and then. So, obviously, I was going to watch this anime and find read more
Jun 29, 2012
UncannyDoom (All reviews)
Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex had long been one of those anime I always heard about and knew about. It seems the reception is nothing but varying positives and even though it came out years ago, I never got around to it when I really should have. But now that the time finally came and went, I have to say, better late than never.

Stand Alone Complex, despite being nearly a decade old, still holds up as a fantastic anime today. It follows an episode structure that I find to be masterful when done correctly, which is involving a main plot combined with not read more