One Piece Movie 6: Omatsuri Danshaku to Himitsu no Shima


One Piece: Baron Omatsuri and the Secret Island

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: One Piece: Baron Omatsuri and the Secret Island
Japanese: ワンピース オマツリ男爵と秘密の島

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 5, 2005
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, ShounenShounen
Duration: 1 hr. 31 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.691 (scored by 3676836,768 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1842
Members: 63,669
Favorites: 197
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 13, 2009
KawaiiObsessive (All reviews)


Omatsuri Danshaku to Himitsu no Shima (Baron Omatsuri and the Secret Island) is the sixth One Piece movie and differs in many aspects to the series in terms of animation, sound and character. I have to say now – if you like One Piece for it’s fighting – look elsewhere, this film is all about adding depth to the emotional bonds of the crew, which is picked upon during major arcs in the series, and how important nakama are to everyone.



Story.
Whilst sailing the Grand Line the Mugiwara pirates come upon a message in a bottle, advertising Omatsuri Island (Festival Island), a pirate paradise. But read more
May 8, 2009
shintai88 (All reviews)
At first when I saw this I was suprised, mainly because the art style was so different, it was anyhting but original one piece style, it was really different, the animators mixed in CG and 2d together into this movie, and I felt they did a brilliant job,.

The story and the setting and even the personality of the characters really help to set in the art style. and it really does help to show how the characters reactions and feelings begin to shift in the story.

The story was weird at first, but it almost immediately begins to make sense.

the action in this movie was decent read more
Feb 20, 2015
bimbambusse (All reviews)
Hungry for some One Piece with a little twist? Look no further, because here it is.

On one hand I quite liked the story. The Strawhats, as always, are out on an adventure. It is wacky, funny with some slapstick and the good old jokes.
On the other hand the story is different from the usual One Piece we know, this is both good and bad as the story becomes interesting, but I will try to write them in a list.

Good points:
- You do not know what exactly to expect to happen, so the plot twist is more satisfying
- The usual deal about a bad guy read more
Feb 25, 2016
One (All reviews)
Please read further at your own risk since this review contains SPOILERS.
Also. my memory’s a bit hazy since watched this movie a little over 2 weeks ago, so please correct me if I’m mistaken in any part.

At the time of writing this review, I have not watched the top 2 rated One Piece Movies (One Piece Strong World and Film Z). Hence I’ll claim this movie to be my favorite movie amongst the One Piece movies so far because others have their eyes on adventure as the main theme, which for me is average. When I first saw the cover of this movie on MAL, read more
Nov 21, 2011
Jetman2021 (All reviews)
Forgive me for I have not caught up far enough in the anime to watch Strong World, but for a moment lets imagine that I'm a person watching this movie when it was released to the public. Up to this point there have only been 5 One Piece movies. The first 3 are good for the most part, and then once Nico Robin joined the Straw Hats the qualities of the movie went up significantly. You then hear that the sixth One Piece movie will be different and under a new team. The die hard purist are screaming, "WHAT!? HOW DARE THEY!? THEY CAN'T JUST read more
Jan 29, 2016
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
One Piece Movie 6: Omatsuri Danshaku to Himitsu no Shima Review


Story (7/10)
More Specifically (7.5/10)

The story for the 6th movie of One Piece is definitely different as the first half is probably the most light hearted environment you'll see in any of the One Piece movies and the second half is probably one of the IF NOT THE darkest environment/setting you'll see in all of One Piece (Anime/Manga/Movie). It's different which is interesting the first half was enjoying for a while and right around the time where you would start to feel this is getting old that's when it switches on you and shows you read more
Jun 25, 2015
WarlockAppa (All reviews)
One Piece has always been known for its festive atmosphere, its wacky characters and the strong bonds that tie the main cast, the Straw Hats, together: the bonds of "nakama." Even in all of its non-canon OVAs and movies, these qualities are present and what mold the story in every title belonging to the franchise. There is one movie however that flips over these elements. Yes, I hated and never enjoyed this movie the first time I watched it just because it was not the typical One Piece and I felt stressed about the events in it. It took me courage just to rewatch it read more
Dec 18, 2012
Seigeengine (All reviews)
I saw this movie expecting it to be great. It's often considered the second best One Piece movie, and that left expectations of greatness. What I found was a disappointing mess.

Art - The different style of this movie was refreshing, and interesting, but at points felt static, rather than dynamic. At many points, rather than looking like a world with depth, the scenes felt like cut outs, the characters were only pretending to interact with. Still, this was a decent, and interesting play around, and it certainly wasn't bad.

Sound - Decent. Not my area.

Character - The characters are, more or less, those we've come read more
Jul 25, 2015
lou-from-belgium (All reviews)
I just finished watching this movie for the first time a few minutes ago... And I believed it was important to write this review with the feelings it just left me... I loved it. For the sake of the future viewers I won't write any spoilers other than this: "One piece meets the first fullmetal alchemist series". It has it all: laughs,tears,adventure,animation (and the 3d was quite well used IMO), nice sound and so much more. I was really surprised because it was different from any one piece related material I've ever seen before. And in its own way gave a different look and tone read more
May 21, 2017
lieznerf (All reviews)
I never thought that One Piece could be so dark and beautiful. Overall rating [9.2/10]


Story [9/10] - The story continues with Luffy and the crew visiting the Omatsuri Island where despite its happy and joyful name hides a very dark secret. Quite different from the usual One Piece story with hype and everything. This movie shows the bond of the crew in a special and different way.


Art [9/10] - Considering the year this was made, it's really impressive. The movements are very smooth you would think it was made around 2010 at least. Beautifully made.


Sound [8/10] - No OST left an impression on me but read more
Mar 6, 2014
DarkCloud1267 (All reviews)
Baron Omatsuri and the Secret Island is the sixth movie based off the One Piece Franchise and is by far the darkest ive ever seen one piece get. If your a one piece fan you should really give this movie a watch.

Story:
The story begins enough.
The Straw Hats are sailing around the ocean when they come across a flier for a resort island. once they see this they automatically decide to go for some much needed rest and relaxation.
it starts out with what seems to be a lighthearted story but as the movie goes on the tone almost completely changes.
If your looking for epic boss fights read more
Aug 22, 2018
ToonSword (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Turns out the one thing I really wanted from a One Piece film was some goddamn personality. As good as Dead End Adventure was, you could easily argue it was trying too hard to be like the series to really stand on its own. Baron Omatsuri and the Secret Island is one of a kind and does its own thing while staying just familiar enough to keep with the spirit of One Piece. Once you get used how different it looks from anything One Piece-related that had been made at that point, this is clearly the best One Piece film that had read more
Aug 17, 2019
kojinai (All reviews)
I'm writing this review from the perspective of someone who’s always been interested in - and wanted to get round to - watching One Piece, but has yet to do so. I came into this movie not knowing any of the characters, story, or even really what genre the original show was in. “Just pirates” is all I really thought of it, but watched the movie anyway because it’s a work by my favourite director: Hosoda Mamoru. I think the fact I liked it enough to breech my silence and write my first ever review on MAL after over a decade of using the site read more
Aug 9, 2011
Donwun (All reviews)
Firstly I would like to say I’m glad I waited for the Kaizoku-Fansubs version of this movie (K-F are the best hands down everyone knows that, even tho they are behind a little).

This was hands down IMO the best One Piece Movie to date; it was like a long version of a very good episode with a VERY DARK & DISGUSTING turn of events. I’ll try to keep this spoiler-free.

Animation

Animation was great, they seemed to have spent more money on it this time so the scenery was wonderfully designed and the action scenes where just straight forward and excellent ESPICALLY the ending parts.

Story

Story was great read more
Nov 23, 2016
Grizzly578 (All reviews)
When we think of "One Piece", we immediately assume this premise "'The Crew is sailing somewhere, cross roads and trade blows with the antagonist in the middle of their nefarious plans, the Crew decides to derail said plans by fighting him and his henchman with Luffy punching out the final villain'.

Story: In contrast to other films before or since then, it is willing to deconstruct things like Nakama and show how it can be easily broken apart.

Art: The looks of the characters may look below for the series, but it proves to be necessary in evoking how there is a dark and ugly read more
Aug 9, 2016
SimplyCosmo (All reviews)
These are my thoughts on:
One Piece Movie 6: Omatsuri Danshaku to Himitsu no Shima

The story is kind of like a short roller-coaster. In a sense where, you start off kinda slow and you're waiting for the thrill and then it all comes down on you in one fell swoop. The first half of this film is very laid back, familiar One Piece environment for sure, and then the second half becomes incredibly engaging with its darker setting and epic conclusion. I personally believe that the story of this movie was a lot better then previous One Piece standalone's due to its great writing, creativity and read more
Sep 23, 2017
HitaroYuma (All reviews)
I was watching One Piece movies one after another and I was bored so I decided that if Movie 6 was boring I will never watch a One Piece movie again so here is how it turned.

First, Story (9/10):
At the first of the movie you will remember the Foxy arc and will start scream "No! not the Foxy thing again!" but if you bear the first 30 minutes or so it will pay off. The story quickly changes and you will find this movie unique, I mean all I had in my mind was "This is not One Piece, This is not One Piece, This read more
Feb 23, 2020
RantaroAmamiV3 (All reviews)
This movie was very interesting. It did have the traits of One Piece, but the direction und scenery was very different, which was an excellent choice because it worked in this movie's favour.

As I mentioned the art is really different from the "usual" One Piece and it was at times imo really creepy at the other half of the movie.

What can I say, this is a must watch for any OP Fan and even for any that haven't watched/read OP yet. It shows One Piece at a different approach.

Had a fun evening with this film and because I personally haven't disliked anything about this movie read more
Oct 25, 2019
Tristero (All reviews)
Damn that final battle was Berserk tier horrifying
The art is great, most shots could make great wallpapers, the vilain goes from ok to absolutely terrifying and the side character are endearing
I like to keep my reviews short so the rest of the review is only so I pass the dumb review length rule

I cannot think or comprehend of anything more cucked than having a daughter. Honestly, think about it rationally. You are feeding, clothing, raising and rearing a girl for at least 18 years solely so she can go and get ravaged by another man. All the hard work you put into your beautiful read more
Apr 23, 2017
Verrato (All reviews)
This is my first Review so please dont judge me!!
One piece Movie 6:Omatsuri Danshaku to Himitsu Shima(Baron Omatsuri and the Secret Island) as you can see its the sixth movie of One Piece and i have to say that this movie is the most different and creepy(for me) of all the other movies of One Piece and the mostly part of the movie that is different and i have to say strange also is the animation.The animation may be good but it was so weird that i thought that maybe another studio instead of Toei Animation did the movie but if you forget the read more