Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Movie: Lagann-hen


Alternative Titles

English: Gurren Lagann The Movie: The Lights in the Sky are Stars
Synonyms: Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Movie 2
Japanese: 天元突破グレンラガン 螺巌篇

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 22, 2009
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Gainax
Source: Original
Duration: 2 hr. 5 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.621 (scored by 50,041 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #743
Members: 102,581
Favorites: 481

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 29, 2010
Detective (All reviews)
If you're being shaken by the physics in this anime and feel the need to argue with them, you're missing the point. The second recap movie that introduces loads of new mechs to the Gurren Lagann multiverse is just as stunning as the original series was. Be warned as this review contains spoilers to the original Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann and the first movie. *The reason I purposely left out individual scores is because I can safely say that I was biased during watching this film, and I will thus be biased towards writing this review. Note: I am pro-Gurren Lagann and all for manly read more
Aug 12, 2009
puddingmilk (All reviews)
This movie was INCREDIBLE. It was definitely worth spending 1500 yen at Akihabara's sunshine theatre.
The movie included much more different scenes than the first movie Gurren-hen, and the last battle was so intense, one couldn't blink to miss anything. The background music for this movie was as well different than from the series, and very fitting with each scene of the movie.

Very enjoyable and brilliant.
Feb 7, 2010
Touka (All reviews)
Lagann-hen is an exhilarating production with a setting of monumental proportions, though not without its flaws, which - in some cases - are unfortunately more apparent than in the first installment.

The movie picks up right where Gurren-hen left off, though the opening sequences have been hugely condensed in order to quickly drive the plot into the second arc of the story. The setting expands in Lagann-hen, we travel from Earths surface into interstellar territory, in line with the TV show, although small sections of the story have diverged from the series, some understandably and others disappointingly. Certain new ideas seem extremely rushed, dragging what was read more
Jan 31, 2010
sylvanelite (All reviews)
To write a spoiler-free review of lagann-hen is difficult, especially since there is quite some variation from the show. However, I will write this review on the basis that I don't want to spoil TTGL or Lagann-hen.

First things to say would be, Lagann-hen is a must watch.

To review Lagann-hen I think I should sum up some of the premonitions I had before watching it. I had seen Gurren-hen, and although I enjoyed it, I actually didn't like it as much as the series. Gurren-hen seemed a bit rushed to cover the first part of the series, and was chopped and changed here and read more
Feb 2, 2010
Anybody (All reviews)
Lagann hen was a huge dissapointment for me.
They simply couldn't blend the new and old footage, for example, why Nia's hair is short again?
In Gurren-hen she didn't get her hair shot out by Yoko.
The pace was a mess too, everything felt so rushed and some favorite scenes were gone(I'm looking to you Rossiu) and the final battle was a fucking joke, too stupid(yes, even for TTGL standards), I remember when the tengen toppa gurren lagann showed up in the TV series i was like "fuck yeah row row fight the powah!" in lagann-hen every mecha felt so bland and didn't last more than 5 read more
Nov 22, 2015
Dazweg (All reviews)
When you thought you couldn't see anything not even close as epic as TTGL series, when you wonder how the hell could enough Spiral energy could be reunited in order to create such a brilliant masterpiece of a series, is when you notice that only one thing can beat TTGL: TTGL itself.

Honestly, I was well deceived by the first film (Gurren-hen), as it was not more than a rushed overview of the series until Tepperin's battle. Furthermore, even while being willing to see more of the TTGL world, I was fondly worried read more
Mar 13, 2010
0oblivionsoul0 (All reviews)
This movie wasn't that great at some parts but I must say the ending was more epic then it needed to be then in the anime. They went over epically insane that I thought it would never end. The story wasn't that bad unlike the 1st movie and the music was still great and I wasn't as disappointed as I was the first.
Nov 6, 2015
Eberzelius (All reviews)
If you aren't a fan of the serie that wants a bit of a reminder, don't watch this movie. All it is a repackaging of bits and pieces of the original animes, with few extra scenes.

The result : a movie that completely loses his pace. It's almost all action from start to finish, with no crescendo. You don't get the time to get attached to the characters, or to feel their dread. As a result, it's no longer a movie about overcoming difficult obstacles, or about strong bonds between individuals. It's just action, action, action.

So, don't watch this movie if you're new to the serie, read more
Aug 10, 2017
skrn (All reviews)
The 2nd TTGL movie is a big improvement over the first one. More than half of the movie is based on new materials, making the story flows much better than the first movie.

With the new materials, they did a great job condensing most of the less important stories. There were a few exceptions, like Rossiu's story. But overall, they were able to preserve all of the epic scenes while maintaining a good story flow. However, there is one problem of non-stop actions. I felt the emotional impact is not nearly as much as the TV series. After all, there is only so much you read more
Sep 5, 2010
DreDog (All reviews)
In order to watch this film one must first complete the series. As the movie would become very confusing.

For those of you who have already seen the series, then you know how many people were extremely disappointed with the 2nd season. Throw common sense out the window. The movie, much like the 2nd season in the series, is over the top with its action.

The movie stays true to the series with a few changes and added bonuses. Overall, the movie kept me entertained and was a fun watch. Nothing special.

My rating: 7/10

Dec 31, 2010
Hydrazine (All reviews)
*I'm writing this review for people mainly who have already seen Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, and will hopefully be worded in such a way that there aren't spoilers for the show for those who haven't seen TTGL. I HIGHLY encourage those who haven't seen TTGL, to see it FIRST.*


This is a companion movie, a sequel to the previous Gurren-hen. Both are movie adaptations to the TV series, Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann. This movie picks up at the end of the first, (wow, really?) somewhere between episode 13 and 15 of the TV show. Since this is an adaptation, some read more
Jun 19, 2010
LordFrumpus (All reviews)
I'm not the type of person to watch anime films that re-cap an already completed series. However, being the huge Gurren Lagann fan that I am, I had to make an exception for this. By the time I finished these two films, I thought it was well worth it.


Both films are very well done. They hold true to the traditional storyline and yet change a fair amount of material as well as add some to give it a slightly different taste while still holding the same energized Gurren Lagann atmosphere. There were a few sequences that were greatly condensed or even removed from the original read more
Feb 3, 2014
Playcool (All reviews)
A great movie, for those that saw Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann anime, I have to reccomend it, most of the scenes of the are re-used were, it a couple of new ones for the final battle and others... I gave this a 9,because most of the stuff I have already experienced on the anime, even though, this movie made me relive everything I liked about the anime, which I finished a couple of weeks ago so I M was already aware of what I was going to get, it had impact, but not as much as the 27 episodes, what is perfectly fine. It consists read more