Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Movie 2: Lagann-hen


Gurren Lagann The Movie: The Lights in the Sky are Stars

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Gurren Lagann The Movie: The Lights in the Sky are Stars
Synonyms: Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann Movie 2
Japanese: 天元突破グレンラガン 螺巌篇

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 22, 2009
Producers: Aniplex
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Gainax
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SpaceSpace, Super PowerSuper Power, MechaMecha
Duration: 2 hr. 5 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.571 (scored by 8233082,330 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #802
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #924
Members: 177,450
Favorites: 781
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 12, 2009
puddingmilk (All reviews)
This movie was INCREDIBLE. It was definitely worth spending 1500 yen at Akihabara's sunshine theatre.
The movie included much more different scenes than the first movie Gurren-hen, and the last battle was so intense, one couldn't blink to miss anything. The background music for this movie was as well different than from the series, and very fitting with each scene of the movie.

Very enjoyable and brilliant.
Jan 29, 2010
Detective (All reviews)
If you're being shaken by the physics in this anime and feel the need to argue with them, you're missing the point. The second recap movie that introduces loads of new mechs to the Gurren Lagann multiverse is just as stunning as the original series was. Be warned as this review contains spoilers to the original Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann and the first movie. *The reason I purposely left out individual scores is because I can safely say that I was biased during watching this film, and I will thus be biased towards writing this review. Note: I am pro-Gurren Lagann and all for manly read more
Feb 7, 2010
Touka (All reviews)
Lagann-hen is an exhilarating production with a setting of monumental proportions, though not without its flaws, which - in some cases - are unfortunately more apparent than in the first installment.

The movie picks up right where Gurren-hen left off, though the opening sequences have been hugely condensed in order to quickly drive the plot into the second arc of the story. The setting expands in Lagann-hen, we travel from Earths surface into interstellar territory, in line with the TV show, although small sections of the story have diverged from the series, some understandably and others disappointingly. Certain new ideas seem extremely rushed, dragging what was read more
Jan 31, 2010
sylvanelite (All reviews)
To write a spoiler-free review of lagann-hen is difficult, especially since there is quite some variation from the show. However, I will write this review on the basis that I don't want to spoil TTGL or Lagann-hen.

First things to say would be, Lagann-hen is a must watch.

To review Lagann-hen I think I should sum up some of the premonitions I had before watching it. I had seen Gurren-hen, and although I enjoyed it, I actually didn't like it as much as the series. Gurren-hen seemed a bit rushed to cover the first part of the series, and was chopped and changed here and read more
Feb 2, 2010
Anybody (All reviews)
Lagann hen was a huge dissapointment for me.
They simply couldn't blend the new and old footage, for example, why Nia's hair is short again?
In Gurren-hen she didn't get her hair shot out by Yoko.
The pace was a mess too, everything felt so rushed and some favorite scenes were gone(I'm looking to you Rossiu) and the final battle was a fucking joke, too stupid(yes, even for TTGL standards), I remember when the tengen toppa gurren lagann showed up in the TV series i was like "fuck yeah row row fight the powah!" in lagann-hen every mecha felt so bland and didn't last more than 5 read more
Mar 13, 2010
UltySo (All reviews)
This movie wasn't that great at some parts but I must say the ending was more epic then it needed to be then in the anime. They went over epically insane that I thought it would never end. The story wasn't that bad unlike the 1st movie and the music was still great and I wasn't as disappointed as I was the first.
Dec 31, 2010
Hydrazine (All reviews)
*I'm writing this review for people mainly who have already seen Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann, and will hopefully be worded in such a way that there aren't spoilers for the show for those who haven't seen TTGL. I HIGHLY encourage those who haven't seen TTGL, to see it FIRST.*


This is a companion movie, a sequel to the previous Gurren-hen. Both are movie adaptations to the TV series, Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann. This movie picks up at the end of the first, (wow, really?) somewhere between episode 13 and 15 of the TV show. Since this is an adaptation, some read more
May 14, 2020
HugeBerserkFan05 (All reviews)
Oh my god. This might just be the best thing I've ever seen. When you thought you couldn't see anything not even close as epic as Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann's anime, the only thing that can top Gurren Lagann... is Gurren Lagann itself.

Story: Do the impossible!/10

Gurren-hen was nothing more than a rushed recap of the show's first 14 episodes. I was worried that the second film would be more or less the same thing, but I was so wrong. Opposed to it's predecessor, Lagann-hen perfectly re-imagines and re-tells the second half of the series at the same time in 2 hours. Every single read more
Jun 19, 2010
LordFrumpus (All reviews)
I'm not the type of person to watch anime films that re-cap an already completed series. However, being the huge Gurren Lagann fan that I am, I had to make an exception for this. By the time I finished these two films, I thought it was well worth it.


Both films are very well done. They hold true to the traditional storyline and yet change a fair amount of material as well as add some to give it a slightly different taste while still holding the same energized Gurren Lagann atmosphere. There were a few sequences that were greatly condensed or even removed from the original read more
Nov 2, 2019
Krav40 (All reviews)
"Listen, Simon. Don't Believe in yourself, Believe in ME! Believe in the Kamina who believes in you!"

Don't get me wrong here.

I fucking LOOOOVE Gurren Lagann! For the past 8 months, it's been my all-time favorite anime. Everything about TTGL is brilliant including the plot, characters, music, and art, in which Gainax had done an excellent job of making sure all of these factors were amazing. However, beyond that, I love the themes about evolution and ambition, two values which hold up very high to me. This show inspired and uplifted me, made me think about my life in a different way and made me realize read more
Nov 22, 2015
Dazweg (All reviews)
When you thought you couldn't see anything not even close as epic as TTGL series, when you wonder how the hell could enough Spiral energy could be reunited in order to create such a brilliant masterpiece of a series, is when you notice that only one thing can beat TTGL: TTGL itself.

Honestly, I was well deceived by the first film (Gurren-hen), as it was not more than a rushed overview of the series until Tepperin's battle. Furthermore, even while being willing to see more of the TTGL world, I was fondly worried read more
Jul 10, 2019
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
I didn't think it could get better than episode 25 and 26 of Gurren Lagann. My God, was I wrong. Not only is TTGL a worthy conclusion to the series, it completely blows the anime away. The redone animation, updated visuals, fightscenes and new scenes are just perfect. In the anime, I didn't really feel any connection to NIa nor sad when she died. This time around, I was legit crying. I'm glad they changed a few other character deaths around too. My one complaint is the Kamina scene from episode 26 is not quite as sad here. The music was perfect and I read more
Sep 5, 2010
DreDog (All reviews)
In order to watch this film one must first complete the series. As the movie would become very confusing.

For those of you who have already seen the series, then you know how many people were extremely disappointed with the 2nd season. Throw common sense out the window. The movie, much like the 2nd season in the series, is over the top with its action.

The movie stays true to the series with a few changes and added bonuses. Overall, the movie kept me entertained and was a fun watch. Nothing special.

My rating: 7/10

Jun 20, 2018
bdh1998 (All reviews)
"Get going, Simon. Don't let the what-ifs, maybes, and if-onlys distract you. The one thing that you choose yourself, that is the truth of your universe."

The Good:
Part two of the Gurren Lagann movie adaptations, this film covers the final act of the first and all of the second cour of the TV production, in a similar fashion to the previous part, although it includes more film unique scenes, with a revamped final showdown (if it's even possible to ramp the ending up even further). Lagann-hen succeeds in reminding us of all the successes of its predecessor, with the unique ability to always being able to read more
Aug 10, 2017
skrn (All reviews)
The 2nd TTGL movie is a big improvement over the first one. More than half of the movie is based on new materials, making the story flows much better than the first movie.

With the new materials, they did a great job condensing most of the less important stories. There were a few exceptions, like Rossiu's story. But overall, they were able to preserve all of the epic scenes while maintaining a good story flow. However, there is one problem of non-stop actions. I felt the emotional impact is not nearly as much as the TV series. After all, there is only so much you read more
Apr 10, 2021
Canlaoch_312 (All reviews)
I remember me and my classmates singing the intro in class with pride and we don't care if we get fun of because we enjoy it, I laugh, I cried, I got hyped with this movie.

Spoilers

Though it is a summary but it is a good summary because it has endings better than the anime like you didn't see Super TTGL in the anime but just TTGL and I love the change because it became the most largest hunk in the whole observable universe with the GIGA drill break. It gives a lot of Kill la Kill vibe, knowing kill la kill its a good read more
Feb 3, 2014
Playcool (All reviews)
A great movie, for those that saw Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann anime, I have to reccomend it, most of the scenes of the are re-used were, it a couple of new ones for the final battle and others... I gave this a 9,because most of the stuff I have already experienced on the anime, even though, this movie made me relive everything I liked about the anime, which I finished a couple of weeks ago so I M was already aware of what I was going to get, it had impact, but not as much as the 27 episodes, what is perfectly fine. It consists read more
Jun 22, 2020
RaymondVortex (All reviews)
SPOIELRS AHEAD

Only yesterday did I finish my first rewatch of the original TTGL series and with the series fresh in my mind I decided that it would be a good opportunity to watch this movie. I skipped out on the first movie after reading reviews that it was mostly a compilation movie.

Story: 7/10
This movie begins at the Battle for Teppelin, and the main majority of the show takes part after the time skip. I think the story is where I feel the most disappointed. The main plot points remain the same and from what I could tell many scenes were re-used. There were some read more