Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Lucky☆Star: Original na Visual to Animation


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Lucky Star OVA
Japanese: らき☆すた OVA(オリジナルなビジュアルとアニメーション)

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 26, 2008
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 42 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.881 (scored by 61,743 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7532
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #999
Members: 101,588
Favorites: 219

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 27, 2008
Smithy (All reviews)
The “Lucky Star” OVA is made up of several short stories or chapters. A coherent plot or over spanning arc is hence not present, but this is not uncommon for “Lucky Star” and the different short stories ensure the OVA will have something enjoyable for everyone. From a slice of life story, to a full blown comedy or parody story to a heart warming tale, the OVA touches upon all of the types that were featured in the series.

Being all about Konata, Kagami, Tsukasa and Miyuki, it's a bit of a shame the other characters were featured less. Yutaka, Minami, Patricia and Tamura only read more
Jan 13, 2009
Uushie (All reviews)
The Lucky Star OVA was very well done. It brings fans back to the series of lucky star and includes all the characters that you have gotten to know and love... excluding a few characters... Lucky Star generally never has a real story to it but the small episodes in it seemed to flow very nicely. Since there really is no true story, I had to rate the story as a 7/10. To people who are unfamiliar with Lucky Star, watching the OVA might make you confused because you don't know what is going on. However, if you watched the series then the OVA should read more
Oct 23, 2010
lovelyphantom (All reviews)
For an OVA that is suppose to be for Lucky Star... it wasn't very good.

The ova consists of a couple of mini-episodes that were suppose to be for the amusement of fans. Where was that amusement, might I ask.

The first story that began had more to do with the dog than with the characters themselves. Basically, it was more of the dog sleeping, with a few glimpses and actions from the characters. Not the best to start out with. Shortly after, we have an RPG game.. and though it is nice to see some 3-D type action.. it was rather annoying that all they read more
Oct 6, 2008
ukonkivi (All reviews)
Well the thing about this review is it's directly compared to the other series, favorably or unfavorably. And after just writing a Lucky Star review, I thought it was only right that I write a Lucky Star OVA review. In fact, I only got up the energy to write a Lucky Star review to the community.

So, now that I've filled out the preface, it's time to get to the individual qualities of the short movie. Or actually, just medium as an OVA.

1. Story
Well how does one comment on one story, that's slice of life episodic comedy?
Well, you rate it on being an episodic, slice of read more
Oct 4, 2008
TweetleCake (All reviews)
As a fan of the Lucky Star series, the oav was a dissapointment.
i was hoping for a progression after the graduation, either the summer before university/ great konata- adventure of somesort or even the advent of a boyfriend for Kagamin :p [ooooooh]
All the oav seemed like xtra less-funny-crap-scenes they couldnt fit into
the series anywhere...so lets make an oav to waste the fans time X__x
There are a few funny moments and classic lucky star humor; im sure everyone is curious as to why Kagamin is "cosplaying"as Hatsune Miku. Its sad, but the oav was pretty short
and lacked the charm of the series. read more
Apr 10, 2012
Amikke (All reviews)
This is overkill. This one episode is probably one of the most hilarious anime episodes I've watched so far. It's like a one really big point to whole Lucky Star series. There are jokes about: Azumanga Daioh, Bakemonogatari, of course Haruhi, Hatsune Miku, and many more. I was laughing my ass off for quite a while watching it. This is why I gave it 10/10, better score than Lucky Star itself.
May 3, 2009
Fantasiaanzu1 (All reviews)
Lucky Star was a very good series, and this OVA just continues the madness. It's not very funny to start with, with only one or two jokes, but as it moves on to the random story lines, it gets funnier. I think that this is a must watch for any enthusiasts of the Lucky Star anime. It continued the 'Legendary Girl A' gag and helped develop things between Kagami and her sister. The only thing I found disappointing was the lack of Haruhi references, but that is trivial compared to Konata's 'Heaven has abandoned us' scene. All in all, Lucky Star OVA is a anime read more
Nov 20, 2014
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
Unfortunately, This extended OVA didn't really bring about anything new, the whole production felt a bit chaotic, i feel.

Obviously, as a fan of the original series, i was looking forward to seeing our beloved characters in a feature length title. To an extent, this OVA delivered as well... The art, sound, and character interactions were on par with the main show. Particularly at the start, i was able to enjoy once again the comedic, casual, SoL genius that i remember a while back.

My favorite part has got to be the game visualizations, it really was an awesome idea to factor these in. The overall read more
Apr 10, 2009
XxCyberPunKyxX (All reviews)
Ahh the Lucky Star OVA. While it didn't fully capture the spirit of the anime series, it's still great that we are fortunate to even see the clan again after the anime was finish, so I can't really complain too much. The only saving grace *for me at lease* was that Konata was funnier and otaku as ever and I liked Tsukasa more in the movie then in the anime series because she was "cuter" I didn't like that the Lucky Channal was live action it was not funny almost unwatchable and it was much shorter then I expected to be only around 43 read more
Dec 29, 2012
isumi-chan (All reviews)
Lucky Star OVA
The Story was a 5. There was no main story really. Again on my lucky star TV review the story had no specialty. But I kinda enjoyed it but to be honest I had seen better.
The Art was a 7. I quite enjoyed the character design. To be honest the background art was poor. There was nothing great about it. It just let me down really.
The Sound was a 3. The same OST plays over and over and over again. It gets really annoying. The Voice Acting was fair but not the best.
The Character's was a 6. I liked Konata's personality. She read more
Nov 11, 2010
HatchetGirl (All reviews)
Story: It was basically just abunch of short Lucky Star stories. Not great, not bad.

Art: I like the art style.

Sound: I guess it was okay.

Characters: The same characters from the main Lucky Star series. Good, but not amazingly amazing.

Enjoyment and overall: I guess it was okay. Watch it if your a Lucky Star fan or if your bored, but it's not like an amazing OVA.

Thanks for reading this short review.
Jun 19, 2018
Tris_Otaking (All reviews)
(Originally written for Anilist)

Warning: this review was made for people that already watched the Lucky Star anime ill probably do a review of that too

Its safe to say that Lucky Star is now considered an anime classic of the late 2000s, along side series like Gurren Laggan, Death Note, Haruhi, Higurashi, Black Lagoon, Code Geass ect... but I don't hear that much people talking about its OVA special, realeased a year after the show concluded (on a very high note in my honest opinion).

Its now commonplace for an anime to have an OVA special episode, either as a Blu-Ray exclusive or as a bundle with read more