Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

World Destruction: Sekai Bokumetsu no Rokunin


Alternative Titles

English: Sands of Destruction
Japanese: ワールド・デストラクション ~世界撲滅の六人~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2008 to Sep 30, 2008
Premiered: Summer 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Sega
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Game
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.041 (scored by 19,664 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #36192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1986
Members: 42,785
Favorites: 111

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 19, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)

The biggest problem with adapting a game is that all too often the reason for doing it has come from the marketing department rather than any desire to truly retell the game's story. Because of this, no effort is made to improve on the source material, and the whole thing becomes nothing more than a glorified advertisement for a game that probably isn't selling as well as the producers had hoped.

Part of the problem stems from the fact that the original storyline is normally standard RPG fare, the kind of generic sword and sorcery tale that seems all too common in the games market and read more
Oct 19, 2008
bjtdevera (All reviews)
THE REAL PREMISE:
In a world where oceans are made of sand, and beastmen have rule over humans, a woman seeks to unlock the secrets of the "destruct code" in order to destroy the world. Her motivation: her brother was killed by beastmen. She involves 2 others who engage in some antics until episode 9, when they finally start to unravel the truth behind the "destruct code."

THE GOOD:
- The standard action/adventure plot has a nice twist at the end.
- The characters are likeable, though not immediately so (it took me 8 episodes to warm up to them).

THE BAD:
- The character designs for beastmen read more
Feb 11, 2010
bokenhiebing (All reviews)
“Sands of Destruction” turns things around. Instead of being the guys who are saving the world, the main cast are the one trying to destroy it. This might lead you to believe that this is going to be a dark show, after all they are the “bad guys” this time. That couldn't be further from the truth. Almost nothing in the show is taken seriously, making the show a very carefree experience.

The premise plays out like this. A group of 3 people are trying to destroy the world, these 3 people are appropriately call “The World Destruction Committee”. The plan to destroy the world is read more
Aug 4, 2011
RosyXkid (All reviews)
Sands of Destruction also known as World Destruction Commitee!!(WDC)
My overall score is 9!!!
A WORLD WERE BEAST MEN LIVE WITH MEN AND WHERE MEN ARE RULED BY BEAST MEN.

Overall the story could of been better,Why? becuase during this whole show the Characters Morte,Kyrie and Toppy travel and help people out.Mostly through out the show they have enemies A.K.A. World Salvation Commitee(WSC).

The action is awesome did I tell you there's a lot of action!!!?,the enjoyment is worth it but will you be able to watch the whole show? I did becuase I wanted to see if my predictions were or are going to be correct.Seems to read more
Feb 6, 2010
arashi-chan12 (All reviews)
Story:

A predictable storyline with lots of mini-stories in between. Even though I say that, I quite enjoyed myself in this one. It was funny in some parts, action-y in others and it left me with a good feeling inside after I completes it. The way the story goes may be a bit strange, but remember this was based off of a rpg game.

Art:

I really liked the art. I gave off the whole rpg game character feeling and the characters looked nice. The beast men could have been worked on a little more creatively though. They were all pretty humanoid and their style were pretty simple. read more
Jan 19, 2009
Bluthut (All reviews)
World Destruction

This anime is not too long and it doesn't take too long to watch it.
It's not a real serious anime, but it's quite funny and the characters are fun.
The story is good, but it couldn't go on forever because it would become boring.
I can only say that I like it, because it's funny, it has a good story and it's not too long.
A lot of people, including me, don't want to watch a enormous long anime like one piece.
I think anime like those are better because they are shorter, so it doesn't take too long, but the story of longer animes is better read more
Apr 30, 2010
Torii-chan (All reviews)
It took me until about episode 8 or 9 to really warm up to the series, just as others had mentioned. The minor characters were not thought of thoroughly and neither were the WDC/WSC names- some of the beastmen were unoriginal and cheesy, which is comical to an extent. In fact, one of my most favorite characters was #28 the robot..
I liked the music in it, great intro song. The animation was good. It was enjoyable, but nothing to write home about.
May 23, 2018
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
In the distant future, with the concept of recorded time itself having become irrelevant, the world as we know it has changed. The land is a vast desert, society has been pushed to the brink of existence, and mankind is no longer the dominant species. As the result of a great war, the world has been taken over by beastmen, a race of humanoid creatures that range from beings who look like normal humans with random animal features, to full-bodied anthropomorphic bipedal animals of varying heights. As wacky as that idea may sound, the oppression of the human race is anything but, read more
Jan 17, 2013
JerickBakara (All reviews)
In 2008, Sega published a "good, but not great" game called Sands of Destruction. Just as had happened with Sonic the Hedgehog, Panzer Dragoon and Shining Hearts, they felt that what it needed to promote the game was --- an anime adaptation.

This anime, entitled "World Destruction: The Six People That Will Destroy the World", is set on a planet where the seas are made of sand and humanity is inferior to the Beastmen. How either species keep hydrated is never touched upon.

STORY (3/10) --- Now, an average boy named Kyrie Illunis is forced to go on a journey with the enigmatic Morte Urshela after she read more
Sep 1, 2011
InvalidMidnight (All reviews)
The very cute looking Kyrie Illnis travling with the World Destructuion commitie leader, Morte.....
First of all I have to say that the anime made me obsessed with the game! Havn't gotten far in the game, but I'm already hooked.
Sega did a wonderfull job creating this anime, and I'm quite impressed.
The story gragged me in by the 1st 5 min of the 1st episode! The intro was amazing and I had the song stuck in my head for days!
2 of the characters seemed to remind me of to singing twins, loving twins. Lia looked almost exacly likt Vocaloid's Rin Kagamine. And Kyrie had Lens gravity read more
Jan 16, 2016
Duckielover151 (All reviews)
I honestly wished I could have enjoyed this more... It was recommended by a friend who absolutely loved it. Unfortunately, like so many other adaptations, this show can be summed up very simply: The game was better.

And the game was very well done. So seeing an attempt to cram the whole thing into just 13 episodes... Let's just say it was quite underwhelming.

None of the show's components on their own were BAD, per se... It was mostly just... Much like my views on Fruits Basket, already having seen the same story presented in a much better format, it was a little hard to enjoy read more
Jul 7, 2014
Seffir (All reviews)
Spoiler free review.
Intro:

I have not played the game this is based on. I picked the series up only cause I am a lover of the action/adventure/RPG anime.

The anime is based on the Nintendo DS RPG game by SEGA, released in Japan July, 2008.

The world is split between beastman and humans, with beastman being the stronger ones and humans being afraid of them. The 2 races obviously don't get along well.

The story follows a young boy named Kyrie who wants to become a hero but by an accident gets recruited to join the "World Destruction Committee"by a girl named Morte. Joined by a small bear type read more
Jul 20, 2012
rikkachu-230 (All reviews)
Sands of Destruction, (World Destruction: Sekai Bokumetsu no Rokunin) is an anime based on a role-playing game in the nintendo DS. I enjoyed this sort of, but some parts the anime goes by pretty fast and doesn't really let you feel story. I played the game so I can say that.
The story, as it goes in the game, is about the end the world. Kyrie, the male protagonist, is the one who holds the whole story together. He's, like, the key to end the world but he's a coward but can be brave (sometimes). Morte, the female protagonist, is the one who wants the read more