Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shoujo Kakumei Utena: Adolescence Mokushiroku


Alternative Titles

English: Revolutionary Girl Utena: The Adolescence of Utena
Synonyms: Revolutionary Girl Utena: Adolescence Apocalypse
Japanese: 少女革命ウテナ アドゥレセンス黙示録

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 14, 1999
Producers: Audio Tanaka
Licensors: Central Park Media
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 30 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.601 (scored by 16,456 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14012
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2356
Members: 31,145
Favorites: 355

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 26, 2008
iamjoe (All reviews)
Honestly, I had to watch this like three times before I had an inkling of a clue what this anime was about. I was not familiar with the Utena series before, and I ended up watching the movie because I was informed that it wasn't the same as the series.

So I watched it and wondered what sort of crack I had smoked before popping the DVD in. Apparently, I had not smoked any crack, and it was just Utena that was messing with my head.

The story is...I don't know. Up to now, I hardly know what happened. It's long, convoluted, and they don't read more
Jun 7, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Adolescence of Utena is a feature-length movie that was produced and directed by the same persons who were responsible for the TV series. It premiered in 1999, and has been licensed Stateside by Central Park Media, which is now defunct. Let's just say it's been out for a long time Stateside.

Adolescence of Utena is best described as the TV series retold in two hours or less with different plot elements bought up or discarded, with some characters absent, and lots and lots of symbolism and, some would argue, a heavy dose of crack.

I would highly suggest watching the series going into read more
Apr 14, 2009
darkmac (All reviews)
There's one thing you should keep in mind when watching Adolescence Apocalypse: absolutely EVERYTHING is a metaphor, usually for some part of adolescence. This is a movie that was made to be analyzed. Usually I don't analyze the symbolism of anything I watch, but Adolescence Apocalypse makes analyzing symbolism fun, crazy as that may sound. As for as anime symbolism goes, Adolescence Apocalypse can't be beat, even by the series.

That's not to say the symbolism's the only thing worth watching the movie for. Every moment of screentime is purely entertaining, whether symbolism is the focus or not. The only real complaint I had with the read more
Feb 7, 2008
Twickers (All reviews)
Knowing the TV series isn't required to watch this movie, but it definitely helps a lot to catch some references and to understand part of the relationships better, even though, there are lots of changes in characteristics. If you haven't seen the series, be prepared to be blown away by some of the most bizarre moments in anime history.

The basic storyline doesn't give too much hints of what tragedies will be revealed. Utena is at first believed to be a boy, a little glimpse on the problematic gender roles. Don't just watch this, because somebody told you there'd be girl kissage, there's so much more read more
Jun 8, 2011
ktulu007 (All reviews)
As someone who finds it fun to read books and explore their themes and symbols, I love this movie. It's probably my favourite movie of all time. This movie is a perfect example of how to do symbolism so that it's rich and complex but isn't inaccessible and doesn't make the audience do all the work.

The story revolves around the protagonist, Utena, entering a High school where she inadvertently finds herself involved in duels to become engaged to the rose bride, Anthy, which will grant her the power to revolutionise the world. So if you've seen the anime the basic plot is the same. The read more
Aug 8, 2017
prosthesis_ (All reviews)
the art is real purdy and the music is jammin and the direction is dope and when a chauvinist gets rekt verbally or physically i go 'eyyy' and when same-sex characters bond in a manner thats significantly more respectful towards same-sex relationships than other anime im like 'yooo' and when the art/direction broke its overall victorian-ish aesthetic to include more modern elements i was at first like 'eh?' until it lead to narrative surrealism to which i always go 'eyy' and the film format is a more succinct platform for the world-building in comparison to the anime which started to feel stale after almost 40 read more
Jan 12, 2011
LadyReina (All reviews)
“Do you know what today is?”
“No, what?”
“Today is tomorrow. It happened.”

-- Groundhog day


Adolescence Apocalypse is more than a stand-alone re-telling of the Revolutionary Girl Utena Saga. Suppose that the events of the TV series were allowed to play out repeatedly; suppose that Anthy somehow managed to hold on to the insight she gained each time. Things might just turn out like this: Watch the television series starting with episode 37 all the way through to the first 17 minutes of the final episode. Turn on Adolescence Apocalypse. It’s Groundhog Day, animated.

Truly, this is Anthy’s adolescence. She unfolds and blossoms like the white rose she is. read more
Jan 16, 2014
Xybirk (All reviews)
Now, I absolutely LOVED Revolutionary Girl Utena. The story was enthralling and well-written, the characters were extremely likable and had an amazing amount of depth, the music was beautiful, and the artwork was jaw-droppingly spectacular, with the heavy use of symbolism really adding a special hint of individuality. Almost immediately after finishing it, I eagerly set out to watch the movie adaptation. But when reviewing a movie adaptation, it's important to treat it as a separate entity from whatever it's based on. I expected to see a condensed version of what I saw in the show. Instead, all I got was a continuous flash of read more
Jul 21, 2008
Wintermane (All reviews)
While Revolutionary Girl Utena: Adolescence Apocalypse is decent in plot, what really stands out in this movie is the design of the Ohtori Academy. The overall design of the school is technically brilliant, thought there are some definite continuity errors. Beyond that the use of panning shots through the movie are well placed and the idea behind it places the campus and events that occur there into a surreal environment that is lost in the original series. There are also several repetitions of shots that are used well, the constant movement of normally stationary items adds an element of interest. I saw this movie read more
Mar 16, 2018
chrissy_poo_too (All reviews)
A strange, wonderful film that simultaneously acts as an R-rated, fun house mirror summery of the series, and a parallel universe, End of Evangelion-esque sequel.

The art and animation is excellent, with unexpected, dynamic uses of colour splashed all over the place. Adolescence of Utena also features some of the most amazing background art ever, courtesy of Shichiro Kobayashi.

The aspect of the film that throws most people (even fans of the show) for a loop is the narrative. The basic plot beats of the series are there to be sure, but condensed, amplified, and warped. Scene transitions occur at random, traditional linear storytelling is thrown out read more
Jan 18, 2018
0MAN0 (All reviews)
Revolutionary Girl Utena: Adolescence Apocalypse. After what I can imagine was a great critical/commercial success of the original series (which I can say is rather well-deserved), the board thought it a good idea to create a movie that's... kind of a retelling, kind of an alternate universe... whatever. Cool! In theory. This Utena:AA deals with the same sort of spiritual themes as its predecessor, and maybe even does it in a more digestible way. I can see how others reviewers would give it a lot of mileage for its use of themes, symbolism, and generally good art and music. I tend to agree that these read more
Mar 18, 2012
genma-kai (All reviews)
There is one major downside to this film which i will point out before anything else is said; it is confusing. Whereas the TV series was quite easy to follow, this is not so easy to follow, unless you understand that the entire film is one large, unending metaphore filled with smaller metaphores. even then it can be confusing at times, with confusion on the part of the audience as to why certain scenes and elements were included. It is for this reason that i have ot marked it as highly as i otherwise might have done. However multiple viewings of this series-turned-film can reduce read more
Nov 6, 2017
RevoPotato (All reviews)
I feel like this movie is meant to be watched for those who have already either seen the anime or read the manga, but even then, it feels lacking. Seeing as it's trying to pack all the intricacies of Shoujo Kakumei Utena into a single 2 hour movie, there's bound to be difficulty in exploring all the plot elements thoroughly. Combined with how much symbolism there is, it's a challenge to get a grasp on what exactly is going on. One could say that it might be meant to be left to interpretation, but personally speaking, I'm not a fan when things are too vague. read more
Sep 22, 2013
YamaMayaa (All reviews)
If you think this is a retelling of the original Utena, think again!! While some aspects are the same, some are wildly different, including some key things

1) Anthy and Utena's relationship. In this version, it is more overtly romantic, and it seems that Anthy outwardly shows her affections a lot more than in the series.

2) The duels are seriously underplayed. Their is very little time of actual dueling, and the student council is hardly mentioned at all except in passing. Their main character points are brought up briefly and then most are not mentioned again. The story's main focus is very much on Utena and read more