Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu (2009)


Alternative Titles

English: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya Season 2
Synonyms: Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu (2009), Endless Eight, The Sigh of Haruhi Suzumiya
Japanese: 涼宮ハルヒの憂鬱

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 14
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 22, 2009 to Sep 11, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:40 (JST)
Producers: Kadokawa Shoten
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.261 (scored by 205,722 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #27062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #239
Members: 353,405
Favorites: 1,823

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 11, 2009
brass2themax (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mod Edit: This review contains spoilers.

I usually try to give a fair, as unbiased a review as I possibly can. But not this time. This is the 0.01% of the time where I'm going to purposefully express my hate for a show. And today that show is The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya 2. Or as I like to call it, "The Melancholy of The Fans of Haruhi Suzumiya".

In case you didn't know, "melancholy" refers to sadness or depression. Only instead of Haruhi being the sad and depressed one (as the show is about those around her trying to keep her spirits up), this time around read more
Sep 15, 2009
LoliConArtist (All reviews)
There have been a lot of negative reviews on this site, which I can agree with to an extent. However, most of them focus entirely on the Endless Eight arc, while disregarding the rest entirely.

I can't say I disagree that the Endless Eight arc sucked; Having to sit through so many episodes of what was, for the most part, the same thing was somewhat annoying. The first time it happened, I had to check to make sure I didn't accidentally rewatch an episode. The changes are subtle enough to miss if you don't watch the episodes back to back.

However, I do like the fact that read more
Dec 3, 2011
Bringerof_D (All reviews)
Endless Eight Arc - Enough Said?

The entirety of the season can be summed up almost in much the same way as the first season, so i am going to focus my attention on the Endless Eight arc of this season. This arc seems to be the part most mentioned in reviews and in most cases negatively so. It is also the most prominent memory we have of the season when you mention the 2nd season.

Eight episodes of the same events, over, and over again. Everyone can agree that this was not a cheap measure to save money. since the animation, clothing, and scene of every read more
Jul 16, 2009
Devdisigdu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah Endless Eight, how I loathe thee. With the exception of the first episode, this entire season has been the same one done over and over.
First episode of Endless Eight was good.
Second was okay, and introduced the time loop.
Third was basically a repeat of 2 with a few changes in dialogue and clothing. Disappointed at KyoAni.
Fourth as above, starting to annoy me.
Fifth also as above, and gives conclusive evidence that KyoAni is trolling.

Really, if you pick this up when the season is finished, skip all but the first and last Endless Eight episodes. Save yourself some time and boredom of seeing the same thing 5 read more
Jul 10, 2009
FFandMMfan (All reviews)
Preliminary
As of writing this review, we are currently stuck in a seemingly infinite loop of "Endless Eight". The first episode of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya 2 is based on the Bamboo Leaf Rhapsody story, which was good, however, the next episode is based on the Endless Eight story, a story revolving around the cast trapped in a time loop during August.

However, instead of resolving the incident in one or two episodes, Kyoto Animation has decided to put the viewer through the same time loop, and as of writing, 4 of the 5 released episodes have been almost exactly the same thing. There have read more
May 21, 2009
Unregistered00 (All reviews)
Preliminary
MOD EDIT: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya is posted in the more info tab.

As expected not a lot has changed. The animation hasn't changed much but it is evident that there were some budget skimping. There's also the new ED which is pretty lackluster. Music wasn't the biggest selling point of Haruhi so let's just keep it at that.

I wasn't expecting anything story-wise since this is an insert episode. Like the 1st season, there are a number of pseudo-physics explanations. Even though this episode is an insert, I didn't see the need to rewatch the previous episodes but it doesn't mean that it's fully self-contained. read more
Sep 9, 2013
tehnominator (All reviews)
How terrifying is it to know that tomorrow, you won't remember today? Or that you don't actually have a tomorrow... because tomorrow is last week. And that this week is last week as much as it is next week. It's enough to make modern Western philosophy implode. Didn't T.S. Eliot have a poem or four about this?

This is one of the issues that comes up in Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu (2009). Assuming you didn't just throw a remote at the TV/mouse at the monitor in frustration and said "To hell with this shit."

Retrospect is quite a thing, especially when fans are left to compare read more
Jul 17, 2009
Haruki-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
It is my belief that a terrible plot can be pushed up if the exposition is good. Inversely, a good plot can be ruined by terrible exposition. The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya 2 could be considered a story with a fairly good plot and possibly the worst exposition I have ever seen in my entire life.

KyoAni has apparently reached the point where they realized people loved the show so much they'll sit through anything if it has Haruhi in it, and so decided to play a cruel joke on us by forcing us to watch the same episode over and over again. I call this read more
Jul 13, 2009
Kalxandore (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, now to break it down The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya 2nd, has hit a ditch in the road, or is being written on a treadmill. (First and most probably last review)
I admit I did quite enjoy the first season, simply because of the torrent of ideas which seem to flood me after I've seen an episode. (I myself am a writer, though this is quite unnecessary information)

The first two episodes stated out fine, bringing us back into Haruhi's world, and linking back to previous episodes, but when we got two the "Endless Eight" Arc (of which I'm dreading might actually be eight episodes, fingers read more
Sep 13, 2009
innerchihiro (All reviews)
Alrighty, let's cheer up Haruhi Fans.

The second season of Haruhi has been seen as a failure by a lot of anime fans.

But frankly I don't understand it.

The art work is very good. VERY VERY GOOD guys, the animation is fluid and the characters are nicely designed. While it is not the same as the first season and there are certain things I dislike compared to it, there are also quite a few things with the artwork in season two that I think have lived up to season one's creativity, and in some ways surpassed it. I noticed a more detailed animation as far as hair read more
Jun 27, 2009
tentacle_raep (All reviews)
Preliminary
The basic rule of anime is that if something is perfect the first go around, you will only fuck it up if you come back and make more of it. The second rule is that fans will watch it, regardless. The third rule is that message board fucktards will defend it like the honor of their dead mother who perished in a tragic incident involving a horse dong...

But I digress.

Clearly after the endless hype, the teasing, the disinformation, the creators of Haruhi have managed to shit out three stunningly mediocre episodes of a 'sequal' [sic] to the original show that managed to be somewhat quirky, read more
Sep 6, 2009
CherryHawk (All reviews)
Preliminary
I would like to focus mainly on the "Endless Eight" arc in hopes to provide an antidote for the overwhelming negative response this series has encountered by the community, as I myself genuinely enjoyed these episodes. I'm not saying everyone should like this story arc, and I'm definitely not saying it's a crime to hate it.

Though each of these episodes are physically the same, they are each unique in their own way with the use of subtle (but definitely noticeable) differences. I apologize for my lack of specifics, however I'm sure you understand why it would be difficult to remember which episode was read more
May 8, 2010
shuffleair (All reviews)
After three years (of what seemed to be a long time of waiting) the second season of Suzumiya finally came out. What we weren't expecting was a troll from Kyoto Animations. But hey the message boards were extremely fun to go on when this show premiered.

What made this Suzumiya season so "special" was that there was no announcement about it. One day I was surfing the web and people were screaming all over the message boards. "OMG NEW SUZUMIYA." I laughed and quickly scrolled down, until someone told me it was actually true. I was like, "WTF KYOTO ANIMATIONS WHAT." And behold a new season read more
Feb 4, 2010
AstuteOtaku (All reviews)
Story: 8
I'm writing this review with great fear and trepidation. In the end I'll either get shot by those who behead anyone who insults Haruhi, and on the other I'll get shot by the people who are simply overreacting giving this show a 1. Let me start off with the fact that the story was superb! The writing didn't drop at all in quality. The second season instead gave us far more insight into Haruhi's character and mysterious forces working behind her. Her powers were shown to a much greater extent as well. It is really quite amazing how read more
Oct 18, 2009
Wraith7153 (All reviews)
Let me say something up front here, I laugh at everyone who insists on griping like a child over Endless Eight. Also, my art and sound scores may be a bit high. That's because as long as it falls within reasonable parameters I don't really care.

That said, I found the series as a whole very enjoyable. The Endless Eight arc added to that for many reasons, not the least of which was my amusement at how badly everyone seemed to overreact to it. In addition to this, however, there were also the many minor variations made in each loop. In one case, they even granted read more
Jun 15, 2010
NinjaKirby1322 (All reviews)
T: Watching Haruhi, I see. The first season again?
NK: I'm trying to forget that the second season exists.
T: It couldn't have been that bad. What went wrong?
NK: They made a second season.

T: Come on. A little more detail would be nice.
NK: That is the true mistake, though. The first season of Suzumiya Haruhi was enough. The characters were designed well, the stories were all the right length and really helped show how the characters developed over the course of the series. It ended on a very good note and nothing needed to be added.
T: The ending was open, though. read more
Jul 19, 2009
papaSKROBE (All reviews)
Preliminary
Anyone who has seen this show is going to understand the irony here, but I'm going to repeat what everyone else has said here: The "Endless Eight" story arc is living up to its name. Kyon mentions that he can't imagine how Nagoto feels having to live through the same story for almost six hundred years, but I'm pretty sure we the viewers are really starting to get the picture. Worst of all, it's hard to call shenanigans on the most of the production team. Nearly all of the scenes (even the "repeated ones") are redrawn each episode, with different angles, costumes, montages, etc. The read more
Sep 15, 2009
-flow- (All reviews)
“I'm getting bored and just fed up watching something that doesn't seem to be changing at all.”
- Asakura Ryoko, chronological Episode IV of The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya

In 2006, Kyoto Animation made a simple little anime called The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. It was based on a popular series of light novels written by Nagaru Tanigawa. Even still, nobody expected it to be very big. Kyoto was not trying to make a popular anime. All they wanted to do was make a good anime.

And maybe that’s what went wrong with its 2009 sequel of sorts. That they forgot what Haruhi truly was. That they, rather read more
Aug 9, 2009
tacosoup (All reviews)
Preliminary
Quite frankly, I'm dissappointed. Not in the show, but in the "fans". I first started watching Haruhi about two months ago, and in that short time, I was impressed time and again. The art, the voices, even the concepts of alternate time and space were mixed together in a way I've rarely seen. After the first few episodes, I was completely enthralled. I just had to see the next episode. After finishing the series for the first time, I can honestly say I was satisfied with all I had just seen; something that no other series has read more
Feb 14, 2010
Kaymyu (All reviews)
I'm going to say right now that my general review for this will be negative. Don't like, don't read. Everyone's entitled to their own opinion.

Now as far as I'm concerned, people that reviewed this with an 8, I can only assume they reviewed each Endless Eight episode with a 1, totaling the entire review to an 8.

Well, that would be funny anyways.

Story 3/10: Like most people, I'm going to rate this very badly. There was no story as far as I'm concerned. Aside from the few episodes that were different, the repetition of Endless Eight had no good excuse for even happening. So what if read more