Kageki Shoujo!!


Opera Girl!

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Curtain Rises
Japanese: かげきしょうじょ!!
English: Opera Girl!
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2021 to Sep 26, 2021
Premiered: Summer 2021
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Producers: Hakusensha, King Records
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Pine Jam
Source: Manga
Genre: DramaDrama
Theme: SchoolSchool
Demographic: ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 1479714,797 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7952
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2453
Members: 52,872
Favorites: 325

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 25, 2021
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Kageki Shojo took me by pleasant surprise. As a huge Love Live and idol stan, I was obviously going to give it a watch. What I was not expecting was such a competent story about the darker aspects of show-business and the pressure that many girls are under to succeed in the industry. By week two, it was by far my most anticipated show of the week and I loved it so much I couldn’t help but go out and by every volume of the manga.

So, firstly, Kageki Shojo isn’t an idol show per se, it’s more of an acting show and follows girls from read more
Sep 26, 2021
Edenharley (All reviews)
Kageki Shoujo was such an incredible depiction of the acting world and really gave me a lot to think about regarding it, I can safely say it had some of the most realistic and modern drama I've ever seen in an animated show all based within a great setting with some fantastic characters to embody it. I really don't have any issues with this show, it did everything I wanted and was so captivating in doing it.

The story focuses on this prestigious drama school and our main cast who are admitted to it. From the opening episode the viewer is shown how elite Kouka academy read more
Sep 25, 2021
G1llette (All reviews)
It’s rare to see an anime that handles its themes as tactfully and down-to-earth as Kageki Shoujo does. I’ll be honest, going into this anime I had originally dismissed it as another shoujo that was targeted towards a different audience to me. The tall, energetic girl and the short, reserved girl contrast never stood out to me early on, and the setting of a prestigious theatrical school never grabbed my attention either. But then each episode would tackle some new theme or explore some new character, and before I knew it I was drawn in by everything this anime had to offer.

While the anime does read more
Sep 25, 2021
Gween_Gween (All reviews)
Kageki Shoujo is one of those dramas that attacks directly to your heart through a beautiful sequence of impactful memories and a deep love towards its setting and motive. Through a ride into the backgrounds of accomplished characters there is a consequential presentation of all the struggles that are involved in the pressure of performing, a conscious and meaningful intent to develop a critique to the toxicity presented in the current era and a vivid intention to develop the concept of developing a sense of who we are in order to create something unique and beautiful.

The set of characters are in a perfect symbiosis, almost read more
Jul 24, 2021
PecoTheHero (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kageki Shoujo!! is one of the most well rounded anime that I've seen. Real issues people face and interesting dynamics. It's a true pleasure watching everything unfold.

Story: With a setting of an ultra competitive theatrical school, there's a lot of potential. Thankfully Kageki Shoujo nails this aspect. You feel the division, competitiveness, and edge that every girl attending is trying to get over the others. There's very little down time in an episode, every second felt important and captivating. The story is simple yet delicate as it touches on some very important issues and handles them carefully (e.g.: trauma). There is comedy occasionally that I read more
Sep 25, 2021
Pyro81300 (All reviews)
WARNING: If you’re uncomfortable with the topic of eating disorders, sexual assault, stalking, and potential other issues that face young girls pursuing an acting career, consider not watching this show. However, if you want to see a show that handles and addresses these topics maturely and in a well written manner, then this is a show for you. Also NO MAJOR SPOILERS here

Kageki Shoujo! Is an excellent show. Potentially, even my anime of the season as wild as that maybe sounds. In a mere 3-4 eps it handles themes exceptionally that several dozen anime either make a joke of, or do try to say something read more
Sep 25, 2021
Kuvie28 (All reviews)
Kageki Shoujo! is truly a hidden gem of the summer season and I would recommend this in a heartbeat with one caveat (see below).

I was truly surprised by the fact that out of all of the series I started this season, this was the one I looked forward to watching every single week. In fact, it was my favorite series this season by far. I literally got chills at times and couldn't help but root for the main characters as they took one step forward towards realizing their dreams. It almost gives me Skip Beat and Act Age vibes at times as the central focus read more
Sep 27, 2021
i-like-this (All reviews)
Summer 2021 Tall Girl Supremacy.

I try to be as non-bias as possible when I write a review, but Kageki Shoujo/Opera Girl is factually top tier, is one of the best shows of the summer season and has definitely cracked the top 10 anime of 2021 list for right now, so you're just going to have to forgive me whilst I indulge myself this one time.

The story follows Sarasa Watanabe a tall, happy go lucky cinnamon roll and Ai Narata an emotionless, cold, former J-pop idol as they enter into an all female opera school producing some of the finest Musical and Theatrical Artists Japan read more
Sep 28, 2021
Matheusmiranda96 (All reviews)
Kageki Shoujo, the anime that most surprised and won me over this season.

This show is not just the everyday life of girls craving stardom at a theater arts school. It's about dreams, overcomings, disappointments, traumas, and hopes.

The anime shows a very realistic vision, with several foundations, and cruel life, and often brutal, that a young woman can have when searching for fame and success.

Yes, brutal. Kageki addresses topics such as sexual abuse and persecutors, eating disorders, resentments left by hurt and hatred, problems in a destabilized family nucleus, family abandonment, ideals imposed on him by others...

They are girls fighting for a read more
Sep 25, 2021
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
It’s time for a change of pace, there are definitely countless series involving sparkly idol girls who overcome every challenge easily through the power of friendship and put on expert level performances with a little bit of practice, but there aren’t enough series that are focused on how difficult it is to actually excel at performance arts. Sometimes it’s simply more entertaining to watch a brutally realistic depiction of a highly competitive industry, in this case live opera performances. Kageki Shoujo is a down to earth show about teenage girls struggling to break into a competitive industry and it is also a fairly well executed read more
Sep 25, 2021
KANLen09 (All reviews)
To lift off a page of ANN's article on the history of the Takarazuka Revue (you should defintely read that fantastic article BTW):
Shall I tell a modern tale of girls and a stage? Curtains unraveled to their far reaches, a grand staircase positioned in the back, the spotlight basks on two figures: a sweeping-dress maiden played by a woman, and an epaulettes-coat hero played by another woman. Both are from the Takarazuka Revue.

The Takarazuka Revue is such a historical and important milestone in the history of Japan's theatre scene, one that caters only to the women, and is the female version of the Kabuki, where read more
Sep 25, 2021
jiroutachi (All reviews)
※ Contains light spoilers, as well as mentions of heavy topics such as sexual assault and eating disorders.
※ I have not read the manga, so this review covers only the anime.

Being a young girl is tempestuous and complicated. This is something that Kageki Shoujo!! (or Opera Girl!!) understands fairly well; almost as well, though, as it only barely understands entertainment value and emotional payoffs.

Don't get me wrong, Kageki Shoujo is not a bad anime. I honestly understand why most of the scores are on the higher side. Seeing a show that treats the traumatic issues young girls go through in a sensible and reasonable manner read more
Oct 24, 2021
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
I pretty much knew nothing about this series until someone posted a review of the first part of the manga on Anime News Network, and that review pretty much made me want to buy it. I mean, hello? In this recent sea of bland isekai, bad ecchi, or generic media, when was the last time we had a genuine shoujo manga that actually had an intriguing story that harkened back to a lot of classics like Rose of Versailles and Glass Mask? Yeah, the whole idea of girls going to a specialized performing arts school has been done to death in other places, but my read more
Oct 2, 2021
brillante (All reviews)
Wow, what a surprise this was! Kageki Shoujo is probably my dark horse of Summer 2021. Even though this isn’t a perfect anime for me, it drew me in and I couldn’t look away. It did exactly what musical theatre is supposed to do - grab your attention, keep it, and then dazzle you with shimmering lights and emotions. This is an anime full of heart and love for acting, and it is delivered through some of the best character writing of the year.

Kageki Shoujo is more of a school slice-of-life than anything else, but it’s one of the most realistic slice-of-lifes I’ve seen. All read more
Oct 10, 2021
luvgds (All reviews)
Looking forward for a possible 2nd season of Kageki Shoujo!! The world of Kouka was completely new for me, so it was refreshing to see a school where things are a little bit different than the usual schools in anime. I had my doubts at first, but, after the story developed, I truly became interested in knowing more about the characters (even Hijiri, who's purposefully a hateful character). I've watched a lot of animes, but can't really remember on the spot of ones that dealt with sensible topics in the way Kageki Shoujo!! did... it felt like a punch on the stomach sometimes.

And, of course, read more
Oct 7, 2021
CinaGinger (All reviews)
Did you love 'Rose of Versailles' and 'Glass Mask'? If you don't know any of them I'd recommend watching those (Glass Mask has a remake, by the way) and if you love the classics as much as I did, you'll totally love this series. This has been one of my favorite anime of the year.

It's difficult to tag what genre is this but something is certain: it's a mixture of shoujo and josei (some students are from high school and others are already 19-year-olds) and a mixture of shoujo ai and sorority. Everyone is complex and has their own situation and trauma. It has that read more
Jul 24, 2021
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Are men, truly creeps?
Are men truly bad guys?

I do apologize for starting this review like this, and I won't dive too much onto the topic, Among other things that this anime covers, as it's pretty heavy, but it's done in serious tone, as it's not the place for sure. But it is one of the main themes of this entire show. Being that it is centered around our main in Narata, Ai, whom trough a series of unfortunate happenings, that can be very heavy subject wise. Have lead her to dislike men in general. Which later has impacted her life a ton. As she read more
Nov 11, 2021
LukesYGO_WSonYT (All reviews)
10/10 My new favourite anime and manga.

I didn't know about the Takarazuka Revue until now, but this show has made me a fan of it.

It told a great story for each of the main characters of the 99th class.

They all got their moment to shine and showed great personality's and storytelling.

It made you want to cheer for many of them after seeing their past, hardships and how much they are trying to become better.

I really hope it gets a 2nd season.

I have all the manga so far and where they are currently up to is really exciting.
Jul 27, 2021
Alice0006 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I intend to watch this to help me get rid of my hatred toward women. It's because I need to constantly remind myself to stay objective and see the good side in those female characters. I actually hear a lot of praise from Japanese audience so I know this anime from personal ranking Japanese make on twitter. Never did I know the first problem this anime try to convey is hatred toward certain gender, the same problem I am struggling for so many years.

Story:
This anime most likely inspired/based on real all-female theater company, Takarazuka. Until this point in story we already learn how competitive this read more
Nov 12, 2021
VivavideoUser2x (All reviews)
Kageki Shoujo is a show that just gives me so much happiness and satisfaction. This show is really great, I can't really say more than that, so this review is going to be as brief as I can. And this is mostly going to be me gushing about it as much as I can.

STORY
The pacing felt very satisfying and its tone was very soothing mostly. Also, I can’t act for shit, but the way the show explains stageplays and the audience that watches it was interesting for sure. The show gave me an interesting teaching lesson about “otokoyaku”.I think my one and only flaw was read more