Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kumo no Mukou, Yakusoku no Basho


Alternative Titles

English: The Place Promised in Our Early Days
Synonyms: Beyond the Clouds, The Promised Place
Japanese: 雲のむこう、約束の場所

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 20, 2004
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: CoMix Wave Films
Source: Original
Duration: 1 hr. 30 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.741 (scored by 63,637 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10192
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #631
Members: 137,762
Favorites: 667

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 25, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
The Place Promised starts out with a very tranquil slice of life setting, but don't get fooled by first appearances. It soon takes on a more dramatic tone, with a sense of sci.fi. over it too, depending on which of the two male leads' story it's currently following. With the dreams of the female lead poppign in here and there, you have three fantastic story which grabs you on a deep, emotional level, and it all ends with blending the three together in one splendid end scene, which I'll remember a long time.

The characters in The Place Promised are fantastic, deep and lifelike. Note the read more
Mar 17, 2007
Faust721 (All reviews)
Makoto Shinkai's first feature-lengthed work - The Place Promised in Our Early Days.

Story: Just like Voices in a Distant Star and 5 Centimeters Per Second, this is a story about 2 people and their distances. Unlike Voices where their distance is that of time and space, Place Promised is about their distance across dimensions/dreams/reality. What I like about this concept is how well Shinkai presented it. Sayuri (our heroine) is physically in the world, but spiritually trapped in another. It is very touching to see Hiroki (our hero) search for Sayuri knowing that she is very close yet at the same time very far away read more
Apr 4, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
I watched Makoto Shinkai’s first major work, Hoshi no Koe (Voices of a Distant Star) a year before watching this. Hoshi no Koe was nothing short of breathtaking. The animation, pacing, and plot were all top notch and even more surprising, it was essentially done by one person. After way too many delays, The Place of Promise in Our Early Days was finally released.

My initial impression was, ohh pretty. The animation was fantastic; everything was clean, crisp, and vivid. Although, sometimes a bit too clean, crisp, and vivid. This is especially true for the interior read more
Nov 4, 2007
Hiromi (All reviews)
It should be noted that first of all, I’m writing reviews for both The Place Promised in Our Early Days and 5 Centimeters per Second at the same time (and as such, I’ll be including the same opening paragraph). Both of these series, feature films, animes, whatever you want to call them hold a special place in my heart/head, again your call. Not because they’re overly interesting or because they’re extremely entertaining but because they make me sad. Strange, right? Well, I’m willing to bet that any anime lover will instantly favorite (no, not add to their favorite list or anything grand) any anime (or read more
Jun 9, 2011
Fangz (All reviews)
This film gets 5/10, because it's almost exactly one half of a perfect film.

Let's start with the good parts and get them over and done with. The artistry is outstanding. Sound design is great. Character animation is only average, but that's plainly not the creator's focus so that doesn't matter. You can write pages and pages on how painterly Shinkai's work is, how any single frame of the film can be picked out and put on the wall as a work of genuine art.

But.

A film needs more than that to be an actual film. It needs a story, and believable characters, and this is where read more
Jan 3, 2016
Madness17 (All reviews)
I have very mixed feelings about Shinkai Makoto's work. On one hand, he really impressed me with Garden of Words, but on the other hand he really disappointed me with 5 centimeters per second, so i didn't know what to expect from this movie. So after sitting throught the longest 1 hour and a half of my life, i concluded that this movie is even WORSE than 5 centimeters per second. Before you start posting mean stuff on my accound, just try and read my review. It should be less painful than watching the actual movie.

Story: 2/10
I can't even begin to explain how bad the read more
Mar 14, 2013
NonOtaku (All reviews)
Living alone, the nights seemed to last forever. When I couldn't pass the time effectively, I went to a nearby train station and pretended to wait for someone.

One summer’s day, three middle school students, Fujisawa Hiroki, Shirakawa Takuya, and Sawatari Sayuri made a promise to one day fly across the Tsugaru Strait and investigate the mysterious tower built in Hokkaido by the Union. Since that day, Sayuri has disappeared and as a result Hiroki and Takuya gave up on building an airplane to fulfill the promise. Years later, when Hiroki learns that Sayuri is in a coma, he tries to convince Takuya to resume read more
May 9, 2009
chrysalis (All reviews)
If Jim Jarmusch directed anime, this is the type of movie he'd make. To it's benefit it cuts to the heart of the characters much like a Jarmusch film with slow, long deliberate takes, with a good deal of silence and sadness. I think one of my favorite scenes was when Takuya and Sayuri are riding the train together for the first time and the just sort of stand there, with each other in one of the best and most realistic depictions of thirteen year-old's I've ever seen on screen. The animations is beautiful, and even the framing, catching them off center, read more
Jan 30, 2008
Cinnamonsylph (All reviews)
Of Makoto Shinkai's three best-known pieces, "The Place Promised in Our Early Days" possesses the most pronouncedly plot-oriented narrative: An ambiguous love triangle, a symbolic separation of worlds, and characteristic to Makoto, an open-ended and beautifully depressing conclusion.

Makoto is renowned for his narrative simplicity and stylistic detail: the viewer should expect a gently-delivered and largely "unexciting" story (until the final quarter of the film). Die-hard action-adventure fans are advised to keep their distance. What battles and mecha are absent from Makoto's work are wonderfully compensated with perfect art. Makoto's colors are something else: brave, original, unpretentious, and strongly conducive to speechlessness. More so than read more
Dec 25, 2010
kiriska (All reviews)
For all its post-WWII and science fiction elements, The Place Promised in Our Early Days is basically another story about lasting friendship and keeping promises, and I must admit that I'm a little tired of them.

Hiroki Fujisawa and Takuya Shirakawa are a pair of very capable ninth graders. They spend their time after school working a part-time job in order to buy parts for this airplane they're building. They hope to fly it across the Tsugaru Strait to Hokkaido, where a mysterious tower stands, dominating the sky. The tower is an enigma. It is a part of their landscape, their world, and they see it read more
Nov 19, 2012
xbobx (All reviews)
~Beyond the Clouds, The Promised Place~
-"A complicated love story told in a complex way."

This week I've been rewatching everything from Makoto Shinkai, and I still get impressed with the visuals of his movies and most of all with the complexity of the stories.
I better stop now... otherwise I'm probably leading to depression or a mental breakdown D:

Who's already familiar with Shinkai movies can doubtless tell this movie is about a love story.
However, the atmosphere created for this one is so impressive that can easily drive you away from the romantic side of the movie. That is why a lot of people and reviews read more
Feb 27, 2011
GoodEnoughForMe (All reviews)
The Place Promised in our Early Days remains, after my 8th viewing today, a crowning achievement, to me, not just in anime, but in cinema, or even art, as a whole. For 90 minutes, Shinkai sucks us in to a world where emotions and characters matter, as they grapple with each other and show the ways in which they all can affect us.

The movie is Shinkai's first full length feature, after the success of his promising, but ultimately a bit cheesy, 30 minute short debut titled Voices of a Distant Star. Like Voices, The Place Promised in our Early Days (henceforth I will shorten as read more
Jul 15, 2018
Tenderizer17 (All reviews)
The Place Promised in Our Early Days. The first, and almost certainly last, anime I'd score a 0/10.

I'm of the impression that I'm missing something important. Specifically, I am lacking what would allow me to "get" Shinkai's works. I could tolerate Garden of Words, and I loved 5 Centimetres per Second but everything else he's even tangentially involved in is trash in my eyes.

When watching this movie I was fully prepared not to understand the appeal, however what I wasn't prepared for was an experience that couldn't even compete with data entry. Watching this movie was beyond insufferable, it was so boring as to read more
Feb 3, 2017
Rising_Sun (All reviews)
A slice of life with a dose of fiction and a somewhat epic ending. It shows us a truncated romance and the story of three friends whose friendship has a peculiar connection with that tower.

The animation I really liked, beautifully designed landscapes giving a magical atmosphere to certain parts of the story.

The characters are fine, Hiroki and Takuya are two friends with a dream that together with Sayuri (who looks like Akari of 5 Centimeters per Second) form a friendship based on a promise that time, distance and the tower can not separate.

Tenmon and Ai Kawashima give us an incredible Soundtrack offering one of the read more
Aug 10, 2015
Cludensyo (All reviews)
When a guy like Makoto Shinkai (a person who has a distinctive style in his works) comes into your life, you'd promptly watch his other movies, even commercials, to see more of him (of course, assuming you like his movies).

So you watch the second one...

And then the third one...

And by the time you watch the fourth one, you would have known all of his troupes already. And in knowing these troupes mean that when you see his next work, you're bringing something that was not there before when you've watched that first movie: Expectations (or for some, higher expectations). Would it meet or surpass the read more
Nov 9, 2008
stormchasar (All reviews)
Unlike 5CM Per Second, this did not leave me feeling like I was going to cry out my entire soul. Also unlike 5CM Per Second, I didn't spend half the movie thinking, "this isn't that good." (See my review: http://myanimelist.net/anime/1689/5_Centimeters_per_Second/reviews) Rather, it's great, but not a deeply moving tearjerker like most of Shinkai's other work. Allow me to elaborate.

STORY:
While it's somewhat slow to develop and a little confusing at first, it's very innovative and quite touching in many parts. Very well executed, too. Unlike some animes, it's interesting enough on its own that you could write a book with it.

ART:
Probably the best thing about this read more
Sep 13, 2016
Ali_Q (All reviews)
Another anime movie and surprisingly for me when I checked the details later by same person Makoto Shinkai.

Promise. Its just a word for us but when feelings and honesty is attached to it then it turns into something which you will experience watching this anime movie.

A nice anime movie to watch as the story build is slow but heavy and ends up pretty strong with feelings and emotions.

I liked this anime because it has a build from friendship to un explainable relationship to love to void of feelings but deep affection. The way story begins to where it meets to where it concludes and read more
Aug 5, 2010
Seabury (All reviews)
An amazingly good yet deeply flawed movie, is more or less how I would describe it. This blows Makoto Shinkai's previous work, Voices From a Distant Star, out of the water, though it lacks the levels of baseless emotional melodrama that made Voices so popular. So, briefly, this is the opposite of Voices. Voices was about two lovers drifting apart, and Place is about three friends coming back together. It includes a romance between two of the friends. What gives this show emo credentials is that they surmount all sorts of odds to reunite and fulfill a childhood promise. Power of friendship, rah rah, someone read more
Apr 1, 2013
Marow (All reviews)
Originally published on Anime Viking: http://animeviking.wordpress.com/
----------
What marks Shinkai’s first full-length movie also remains as his best work to this date. Unlike Voices of a Distant Star’s rather simplistic production, The Place Promised in Our Early Days instead features gorgeous visuals, a breathtaking soundtrack and a much stronger directing overall. Personally, this is the movie by Makoto Shinkai.

What makes The Place Promised in Our Early Days such a success is how it is built up; divided into four distinct parts, yet flowing into each other naturally. This way of telling the story strengthens it, since we see the main characters interact with each other and grow read more
Mar 9, 2009
Takarian (All reviews)
I finished watching The Place Promised in Our Early Days and simply had to write something about how I perceive and feel about the movie.
I think a lot of different animes stimulate a lot of different feelings. Some are funny, some are sad, some are mysterious and confusing, but The Place Promised in Our Early Days made me feel a lot of different emotions all at once. I felt joy, sadness and relief in a way I’ve never experienced before. The movie is one of Shinkai Makoto three dominant works Voices of a Distant Star, 5 Centimeters Per Second and of cause The Place Promised… read more