Wonder Egg Priority

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: ワンダーエッグ・プライオリティ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 13, 2021 to Mar 31, 2021
Premiered: Winter 2021
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 01:29 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: CloverWorks
Source: Original
Genres: DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy
Theme: PsychologicalPsychological
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.871 (scored by 217427217,427 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #287
Members: 547,900
Favorites: 7,784

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 30, 2021
RebelPanda (All reviews)
*This review contains spoilers*

I had such high hopes for Wonder Egg Priority. I praised its first few episodes like it would be the best anime of the year. If only I could go back in time and prepare myself for a massive disappointment.

Before someone tells me, "You didn't understand the symbolism and metaphors." I understood it, but I don't think it's as deep as people say. The symbolism is either so blatant you barely need to do any thinking or so vague that it becomes pretentious. It's like watching a movie while the director is breathing down your neck, telling you what every symbol, line read more
Feb 2, 2021
AstralBread (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime reminds me of an art-house film. One very specific art-house film - Garden State. The one about which a classic said, “If cancer were pretentious, it would be Garden State.” Wonder Egg Priority with its bumbling attempts to be profound invokes the same familiar feeling of a student movie way over its head.

“The MC’s name is Ohto Ai because she has an Odd Eye, did you get it?”
“What could this giant close-up of a lily flower possibly mean in an anime about teen girls, wink, wink?”
“These monsters that look like faceless schoolgirls that throw axes at another schoolgirl and scribble ‘die’ on her read more
Feb 2, 2021
Kalo_Dawg (All reviews)
Preliminary
IN SUMMARY: gorgeous visuals, incredible animation, good OST, spot-on voice acting, a compelling interesting story, no senseless fan service - so far, this show has been really good 9/10


-Gorgeous visuals which are almost on the same level as anime movies (my only complain is the 3d knife-wielding leprechauns, which, to be honest, still look good)

-Incredible super fluid sakuga (that episode 2 fight animation was simply godlike; even outside of fights, the animation is so freaking beautiful and fluid). Probably the best thing about this anime

-Good fitting OST and sound usage

-The voice acting is spot on - it's not your usual super high pitched animesque girl read more
Mar 30, 2021
nightshadekait (All reviews)
This review mentions sexual assault, self-harm, and suicide.

I have rewatched Wonder Egg Priority multiple times in an effort to organize my conflicting feelings towards it. On one hand, it has beautiful visuals, an intriguing aura, and a great first couple episodes. On the other hand, it has shallow concepts, a messy narrative, a lack in direction, problematic messages, poor character development, exploitation of sensitive themes, and a failed execution of ideas. Yeah, the cons definitely outweigh the pros with this one.

Wonder Egg markets itself as an odd yet beautiful dream of self-acceptance full of imagery and symbolism. The first scene of the anime introduces us read more
Mar 30, 2021
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
It has been a long time since an original anime truly pushed the bounds of the medium and really diverged from standard cookie cutter series. Wonder Egg Priority is not only original in that it has no source material, its original in that its concept has rarely been done before in any other anime series. If you have long been awaiting an anime with a dark magical girl atmosphere similar to that of Madoka or Flip Flappers, along with Mawaru Penguindrum style character designs and color pallets, with all the symbolism included of course, then this is a must check anime from the 2021 winter read more
Mar 30, 2021
SingleH (All reviews)
Wonder Egg Priority is baby’s first anti-suicide propaganda. It’s just the next, trendiest puberty anime on the block, and the egg symbolizes bad writing. It’s a teen drama filled to the brim with metaphorical imagery and action which screams their exact meaning so loudly and with so little nuance, they’re nearly literal, and as a result of this, anyone with even the slightest modicum of emotional maturity or life experience will find themselves knowing everything this show is going to say as soon as its subject matter is made so clumsily clear. Minor spoilers ahead.

I once said about Nijigahara Holograph, a great thing about crushing read more
Feb 2, 2021
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wonder Egg has come, and it's hit so many marks and boundaries, it's unreal. No matter where I go, no matter who I talk to when it comes to WE, it's always in a positive tone. Even I recommended it to a friend, and they enjoyed it too. That's the quality of Wonder Egg. Really top notch stuff, but let me explain why this is the case within this review.

Story and characters
It's story mainly concerns our lead in Ooto Ai. Whom doesn't have the best life, from being awkward around others, shy, but always self conscious when it comes to her looks. As she's suddenly read more
Feb 2, 2021
Shaream (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review might be what I understood and what I believe it would be or could be about this anime. Before anything I want to say that don't get scammed by just the slice of life tag... it more than that, I can assure.

First I will say about the overall concept of WEP (Wonder Egg Priority). Its a show which deals with some of the not so normal circumstances that one might face when we are brought up. Some of us were blessed with good friends right from the start but some had some problems in making good friends or I should say some more read more
Feb 22, 2021
12saints (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wonder Egg Priority is a pretentious mess that tries to sell itself as a deep and complicated story, but remains in the end another waifubait show. It brings to the table a lot of "hot topics" such as school bullying, teen suicide, sexism and sexual harassment, but never explores them in depth, it just throws more and more OMG SO DARK twists without any attempt to give them a meaningful context or resolution.

Worse than that, this show tries to deal with heavy themes while pandering to horny male audiences. I just find it ridiculous when a series with such a massive focus on a read more
Apr 5, 2021
pheosatmre (All reviews)
Beautiful girls, colorful world, shocking theme and entangled with a few drops of melodrama, psychological sexual exploitation of minors and girls suffering all the time. I'm not talking about Madoka Magica or Flip Flappers, but rather a well-known Wonder Egg Priority that started with the maximum expectations of the audience as the best anime of the year and ended up as an uncontrolled, messy and poorly written train.

Every human being in his worst state has been in depression at some point in his life. Some have psychological scars, others try to get away with suicide, a very common theme in this community.

The path chosen by read more
Mar 30, 2021
IshigamiCrisis (All reviews)
*some spoilers ahead in a marked section; additionally, trigger warning for the topic of suicide and other sensitive themes being discussed in detail within this review as well as for viewers that watch episodes: 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12*

A quick thank you to Alfredo_Elric in helping write this review.

When I first heard about Wonder Egg Priority, I heard about how beautiful it was at positive character portrayal and at confronting the serious issues of suicide and victim trauma. Little did I know that it would make me feel nauseated enough to hold a trash can near my face by the second to last episode. read more
Mar 30, 2021
Cocoa_Hoto (All reviews)
When I first heard about this original anime of the season. I decide to watch it and discover the wonders of the anime. And I really love how gorgeous the visualisation in the anime. But expect some things you'll see behind this awesome animation.

The story starts with Ai Ohto carrying a mysterious egg. And then, this is where the supernatural begins. She now found herself in a very eerie school and was convinced to break the egg by a mysterious person. The egg hatches and a person appears from the egg. Now this is where the thrill begins.

Yes! A group of small minions with read more
Feb 2, 2021
justinbondc (All reviews)
Preliminary
*TRIGGER WARNING* (very slight spoilers too)

Started watching this show blind and WOW. Was hooked since episode 1. Not sure as to why exactly but it's just my gut telling me that "this shit's gonna be good." Writing this review 4 eps in and so far nothing's changed on how I feel about this show.

Story and Characters:
Really unique and very intriguing. The main theme tackled is suicide, a very difficult and serious topic, yet the show doesn't make it extremely hard nor heavy to watch. The characters' emotions are conveyed really well. The development of the central character is also satisfying to see. Her personality read more
Mar 30, 2021
Clement75 (All reviews)
So, Wonder Egg Priority.
Interesting show to say the least, it's up to interpretation either this show is good or a complete garbage.
Well I will explain to you why this is an outstanding show, the best of winter season 2021.

Story:
Story is pretty simple and you could get it from the premise, but basically it's a bunch of teens fighting against depression and suicidal thoughts in human form.
Every episode is a one week adventures, roughly connected with one another. An evil force is mostly metaphorical, rather than being a real thing, but as show goes on we uncover some stuff in reality also.
As a standalone read more
Mar 30, 2021
2life (All reviews)
Beautifully animated, a profound story and bubbling friendship. Wonder Egg Priority is one of the bangers of the winter season 2021 and one of my favorites. It’s a story about losing something close, fragile and extremely precious. Its about gaining something precious. It tells a tale while beautifully expressing itself visually and with figurative speech.

--- Minor spoilers ---

WEP is one of the anime which keeps me thinking about it after I’ve watched an episode. Form the get go it struck me that there was a lot of underlying messages and symbolism weaved through the beautiful animation. It’s main theme which is about suicide is the read more
Mar 30, 2021
Rachiba (All reviews)
"Accept your mistakes, overcome the past and live the present"

Wonder Egg Priority is about a girl with heterochromia named Ai Ooto who buys an egg to be cracked in the dream world. When the egg (or "Wonder Egg") breaks, a girl appears whom she must protect from creatures called "Seeno Evils" and from a monster called "Wonder Killer" that represents the trauma of the wonder egg character.

However, Ai will not be the only girl with this task. She will also accompany other girls throughout the world of dreams. Among them is Neiru Aonuma, a taciturn girl; Rika Kawaii, a somewhat bully girl and quite sincere read more
Mar 18, 2021
AgentBishop (All reviews)
Preliminary
***THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS***

The supposed hidden gem of 2021 turned out to be a total garbage

It's embarrassingly bad, i've got drawn into this anime after i watched a GIF, it was that GIF where the red hair girl is reaching her hands towards the audience and her hand is bloody and she is smiling
when i saw that GIF i though maybe this is a deep anime, i mean it has 8.33 score, it should be good right?

one of the major theme of this anime is bullying, and we know this because of a background sound that literally says:"if you see bullying pretend to not see read more
Feb 2, 2021
Criticiza (All reviews)
Preliminary
TL;DR
Wonder egg priority is basically a coming-of-age story about a gamer chick by the name of Ai Ooto- wordplay for heterochromia meaning odd eye in hirigana who finds a random egg in a random arcade she visits that tells her to break it. This egg is essentially Pandora's box. The entire anime from what I’ve seen is basically an allegorical story about mental health when it comes to being a misunderstood teen- from depression to anxiety. The art is brilliant, the soundscape is entrancing and the wacky cgi genocide is great when you consider that most of this may actually be in her head. For read more
Mar 31, 2021
Assmeet69 (All reviews)
A teenage girl is burdened with responsibility and a rekindled guilt the moment she encounters an otherworldly being that grants her the power, the power to change something, the power to be something, and the power to do something. The girl is not alone in her path and it is not only her story that's being told, as other girls her age also walk the same road due to regret, guilt and desires of their own.

From then on, a series of dark and gruesome events occur, those that have intricate philosophical concepts and ideas imbued in them, those that flow well as a narrative, read more
Mar 30, 2021
dlxuniuniu (All reviews)
How would you describe "Wonder Egg Priority" in one word? "UNIQUE" would be my first thought. What is it all about? Let’s be honest, it's really hard to put it into words. Bully, hate, love, friendship etc. all these important aspects of our life play a major role. “Wonder Egg Priority” isn't just an anime, it's a life lesson.

Bullying is one of the worst things that can happen to someone. It takes away all your “joie de vivre”, often leading to suicide in the end. The pain is extremely deep when this person was very important to you. How far would you go to save read more