Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Iria: Zeiram The Animation


Alternative Titles

English: Iria: Zeiram The Animation
Japanese: イ・リ・ア ゼイラム The Animation

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 23, 1994 to Nov 21, 1994
Producers: Bandai Visual
Studios: Ashi Production
Source: Original
Duration: 27 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.151 (scored by 6,348 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #31562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3534
Members: 15,186
Favorites: 78

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 19, 2008
Patty_chan (All reviews)
First of all: Iria- Zeiram the Animation fits the sci-fi and adventure genres. If you are interested in watching this title, get prepared to watch some nice fighting scenes!

Story: Iria is a bounty hunter, and follows her brother´s footsteps.
She goes along with Gren (her brother) to a mission...and since that she won´t get satisfied until she destroys Zeiram...an alien lifeform created to kill and destroy.
The plot is fantastic! 10/10

Art: Even though the artwork isn´t recent, I think it is wonderful...the colors well chosen, the graphics well made and lets admit: Iria is a gorgeous bounty hunter!
10/10

Sound: The background music is very good! It is old read more
Apr 12, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Iria: Zeiram the animation is a six episode OVA from Ashi Productions and Bandai Visual. If you've been following my reviews for a while you may recall Ashi as the ones behind Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Superman Legend. The OVA is actually set up as a prequel to a live action film from '91 called Zeiram. To be completely honest, I haven't seen the film in question and I'm not going to know how well it follows it. Basically, I'll be judging the OVA entirely as its own thing, is what I'm saying.

Story:

We open with our heroine using her Shine Aqua Illusion to bring read more
Aug 13, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
"Iria: Zeiram the Animation" is a pretty good action oriented OVA spanning across 6 half hour episodes. It tells the story of a young bounty hunter Iria's hunting of Zeiram, the most dangerous life form in the galaxy.

The weird opening theme, which sounds like some Sharon Apple song from "Macross Plus", feels out of place and put me off the anime initially. And not being the fastest anime off the block despite its short length, it took "Iria" a couple of episodes to catch my interest, but to its credit it gains more and more momentum as it goes on.

The action, though slightly sluggish at read more
Jun 10, 2014
jyagan0 (All reviews)
Another anime classic that I caught on the Sci-Fi channel about 10 years ago. (C'mon, Sci-Fi, start showing anime again!) Iria: Zeiram the Animation is a 6 episode mini-series that actually be likened to a 3-hour action flick. Iria shines becuase of the world and chracters that are created. The characters themselves are well-done are show a good amount of depth and personality for a mini-series. Escpecially the titular character, Iria. Iria is a tough-as-nails bounty hunter who is just starting out, but her character is still that of a young woman. Strong but feminine. Iria is a great role-model for young women, and a read more
Apr 1, 2009
Fayelee_Darkclaw (All reviews)
This has to be one of my fav to this day. ITs got a great story line about a young female bounter hunter trying to make it in a man's world and follow in her brothers footsteps til the unthinkable happens and she's all alone. Now she has to Zeiram the alien who she thinks killed her brother.
Feb 8, 2016
Sara_Isayama (All reviews)
Iria: Zeiram is a rare Gem of an anime. It features some things found in almost no other anime. The world design in particular is very unique. The houses, props, vehicles, and general setting are very unique to this anime, and you don't see anything like that in most other anime. The closest similarities I can think of would be Outlaw Star or Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. It definitely stands out in terms of prop and world design.

Story wise, Iria is a unique and classic sci-fi anime. It takes place in a universe where there are many established planets that people read more
Mar 13, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
Coming from a somewhat unknown studio, Ashi Productions, and an unknown director, Tetsuro Amino, there was much to speculate how decent this could be. An action story about a rookie bounty hunter named Iria, comes into a battle conflict against an unstoppable killing lifeform called a Zeiram.

With a plot straight to the point, live and get rid of the Zeiram, this anime knows what it is. Spanning as a 6 episode OVA series, each episode is different, yet a continuation on each other. Time continues between each episode until Iria must have another life and death battle between her and the Zeiram.

Even though the anime read more
Aug 6, 2008
evilelect (All reviews)
This is amoung the best, classic goodness. Great sci fi story great charecters especialy the zeiram and good animation for its time. I give it a 9 and would have given it a 10 if it werent for the bad english dub over.
Apr 14, 2012
rlayer (All reviews)
Iria: Zeiram the Animation is an OVA prequel to the Zeiram movie series. Between the movies and the animation, the animation is the clear better of the bunch.

Starting with the good, the world in this is certainly very unique. It has its own world, with everything similar to ours, yet different. From the buildings, to the vehicles, to the weapons, it really gives an excellent sense of a planet similar enough to feel welcoming, yet different enough to feel alien and foreign. The plot is good, too. Nothing too new, but it's set up well. (Because of how much I liked these, I added an read more