Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Koukaku Kidoutai


Alternative Titles

English: Ghost in the Shell
Synonyms: Ghost in the Shell
Japanese: GHOST IN THE SHELL(攻殻機動隊)

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 18, 1995
Producers: Bandai Visual, Kodansha
Licensors: Manga Entertainment
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 22 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 8.341 (scored by 211,791 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #193
Members: 390,461
Favorites: 8,941

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 6, 2008
Firestorm2117 (All reviews)
I just want to start off by saying that "Ghost In The Shell" loves to asks it's audience questions. What is it that makes us human? Is it the soul (refered to as 'ghosts' in this film)? Or is it flesh and bone? What happens when your memories can be erased and replaced like music on your iPod? If your body is entirely mechanical, can you still call yourself human? If your consciousness is active, yet your body is nowhere to be found, do you still exist?

Okay, I'm giving myself a headache. Let's get to the review.

Story
Cyborg cops battle an anonymous super-hacker who takes control read more
Jan 31, 2015
ModeratelyHuman (All reviews)
I didn't read any manga or anything about the Ghost in the Shell world prior to watching, so that may have influenced my enjoyment. I'm aware of the fact that this is an intellectual and philosophical movie, and not one that focuses on bombastic explosions and violence. No, this is a movie driven by concept, a concept that is shown, not told, in a slow, vague approach that requires attention, thought, and patience. Yet, despite the effort needed to fully understand the film, it offers a surprisingly simple and disappointing payoff.

This is a movie that did not provoke thinking or cause me to question my read more
Nov 17, 2007
Phill-z (All reviews)
Ah...Ghost In The Shell. I'm writing this JUST after finishing it. If you watched the original Matrix and went "Holy Jesus this is the most amazing movie i've ever seen IN MY LIFE" then Ghost in the Shell will dropkick you in the face. Seriously.

Story: This is the kind of stuff that university essay could be written about. I'm going to have to watch this again just to completely understand everything about this movie. Now, just so you understand, the storyline isn't amazing. But the science and the mythology this anime is based on is so incredible. I believe, read more
Apr 19, 2015
karlstein12 (All reviews)
I took the time watching the highly acclaimed Ghost in the Shell, which is pretty famous for its philosophical and thought-provoking themes.

The story is set in a futuristic world where cyber-hacking exists, and one can control a person's actions through hacking their brains with an element known as "ghost". The film moves on a very slow pace almost throughout, alas a key factor in one deciding to drop it midway.

The script is the weak point of the movie. It it too short and it fails to explain just what is going on in this movie. It starts well, it has great pacing and it builds read more
Dec 1, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
So I finally saw this movie. I've seen both seasons of Stand Alone Complex, Solid State Society, and Innocence, but I hadn't seen the original until now. And you know what? I'm kind of disappointed.

STORY - The central plot and concept is fine. As a cyberpunk fan, I think the human/machine divide is a fascinating topic that should be touched on more often and that Ghost in the Shell treats the subject well for the most part. Unfortunately, the storytelling and pacing in the movie is downright terrible. Sure, the movie's more than a decade old by now, but storytelling isn't really something that changes read more
Dec 20, 2013
KingFlabadingdon (All reviews)
Story- 9/10

Puppet Master: ‘’And can you offer me proof of your existence? How can you, when neither modern science nor philosophy can explain what life is?’’

The story and themes present in Ghost in the Shell (GitS) are both striking and very relevant. GitS takes place in a more than possible future world where cybernetics and AI have become a social norm. The amazing detail given to the universe and the true to life reflection of today’s society makes the themes in question incredibly applicable. The different opinions in GitS are argued with a certain potency and precision. The maturity and skill of the characters in read more
Apr 13, 2014
iSuckAtWriting (All reviews)
“If you don’t know where you’re from, then you don’t know where you are, and you don’t know where you’re going.” It’s a clichéd if truthful saying, especially for this film. Well, sort of. This film knows where it’s going, but it doesn’t know how to get there, it doesn’t know where it is, and it doesn’t know where it’s from. This film is a voice pining to speak, but it studders at every word.

So where does this leave Ghost in the Shell? Read on to find out.

In the year 2029, cybernetic technology has strengthened the human body and connected the human mind. Barriers have read more
Aug 14, 2012
FoxOp (All reviews)
This movie is great, if you want to watch fucking nothing happen for over an hour. I kept thinking, "when does the action start?", but it never did. The plot is a trainwreck; trying to connect a series of non sequiturs does not make for something interesting. The art was -OK- for a film from the 90s but I personally did not like the style. Music plays an important role in setting the mood for any presentation but you do not get that with this movie. Instead, you get a bunch of wailing that you're expected to enjoy. Other than that, sound effects were nothing read more
May 1, 2017
AndoCommando (All reviews)
‘’And can you offer me proof of your existence? How can you, when neither modern science nor philosophy can explain what life is?’’

Ghost in the Shell is an anime film adaptation of the cyberpunk manga of the same name by Masamune Shiro. Both the anime and manga have received critical praise for decades now and have built a strong fan base in Japan and the West alike. But while the manga is more comedic and light-hearted overall, the anime is much more serious and mature, with the film’s tone making it feel completely different from Shiro’s original work. Part of this is probably due read more
Jun 25, 2012
_Rika (All reviews)
Based on the manga of the same name by Masamune Shirow, Ghost in the Shell is an account of a not-so-distant future when it’s not uncommon for you to walk on a busy street and bump into cyborgs— humans who have been ‘cyberized’ to such an extent that every aspect of their functioning is taken care of by high-tech equipment within their ‘shell’, the prosthetic body, and ‘ghost’ which is the slang term for consciousness. So what was it that you really bumped into? What is it that differentiates a human from a cyborg? What makes us human— the biological matter, the consciousness or the read more
Apr 17, 2018
Julius_Light (All reviews)
When it comes down to it, all of narrative-based media can be summed up by one unifying arc: the search for mankind’s identity. What it means to be human as opposed to the animal or AI or god. Whether our short lives can have meaning in this incomprehensibly vast universe. Whether or not the reality we experience with the senses is verifiably real.

Ghost in the Shell (GitS) examines this question thoroughly in its 82 minutes. By seeing the Major’s questioning of her existence, being a fully prosthetic human, we can ask ourselves the same question. What really makes us different from humanoid robots that can read more
Jan 21, 2015
AnimatedGuru (All reviews)
I find "Ghost in the Shell" just as a concept AMAZING. The combination of the this idea of what the world could be like in 2029 and the psychological game that this story plays as you move through the movie.

STORY:9/10
I'm not going to lie, but after reading the synopsis for this movie i felt that i would be a classic group of bad ass special forces soldiers that hunt down the villain "The Puppet Master". But it is so much more than that!! This movie goes further, they don't just set this movie in the future just to display some cool future military tech(but read more
Dec 16, 2013
mykk (All reviews)
I’ve seen Ghost in the Shell 6 years ago and I hated it.

Watching it 6 years later was amazing experience. One week after watching, I’m still haunted by the cold atmosphere it created and existential questions it raised.

The movie is very slow, there are few action scenes and they are really cool, but the strength of the movie is not action. In fact, if you expect action, ass kicking, fast cars and stuff like that, you will be greatly disappointed.

My favorite scenes are the slowest ones, accompanied with excellent music, they blew me away. They have something cold, atmospheric and even sad about them.

However Ghost read more
Jun 30, 2013
Lockensocke (All reviews)
Ghost in the Shell is one of the reasons(besides akira) animes became so populare in america and in europe, because it shows how anime are suppost to be. This isnt a commercial product full of clichees and overused artstlye-types, its a beautiful masterpiece of art. But this anime is not made for everyone. It is made to appeal to mature audience, since the majority of anime ( and nearly ever recent made anime) is for teenagers or children, i would suggest you think about it twice before you just randomly start watching this anime, else you will just get confused.

Ghost in the shell shows a read more
Mar 28, 2015
DanteMustDie8907 (All reviews)
Ghost In The Shell - 5/10

It's just shit really. I can understand what is it trying to do, and i appreaciate it but honestly it's way too direct. Shows that try to follow this whole "Show, don't tell" concept, which essentially means passing thought without saying it using visual means only and asking the audience questions are cool i know, i love them, but GiTS kinda just failed it overall, probably due to just being short with no bulid-up and the way it did the things it did, ugh it just didn't feel right.
Ok i agree it explored enough through the issues of a cyberpunk read more
Feb 2, 2018
Claudaujay (All reviews)
Reading through the reviews of this film is honestly staggering; I cannot believe people have managed to uncover so much "substance" in a film so utterly lacking in it. Ghost in the Shell is, without a doubt, one of the most disappointing and overrated animes, and indeed films, I've ever seen.

First of all, I'm going to say two words: Blade Runner. Ever heard of that film? It's an occasionally interesting, visually stunning but also very flawed sci-fi cult classic, and a source of obvious inspiration for the creators of Ghost in the Shell. And when I say inspiration, I really mean it. Everything from the read more
Mar 5, 2017
ThatRazorGuy (All reviews)
When many hear the word “anime”, they’ll often think of over the top battles, ridiculously muscle-bound men, unrealistically voluptuous women, and fantastical settings. They think of a medium which exists to provide escapism. However, while there is nothing fundamentally wrong with escapism or any of the things I just mentioned, this notion is a false one. Anime is a medium with as much diversity as film, literature, music and any other entertainment medium you can think of and, like those mediums, it is capable of more than just entertainment; it is capable of producing genuine art. Works that question the human condition, the meaning of read more
Apr 8, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Ghost in the Shell is a franchise that needs no introduction. Shirow Masamune's work has been adapted into several movies, video games, anime and even a line of toys. It's been one of the most influential cyberpunk franchises out there. Whether you like or dislike it, you have to respect how much it's influenced the genre. I remember liking this film okay when I first saw it. However, it has been quite a while since then. So it's time to re-watch the movie and see how it holds up.

The story opens in a futuristic city with an attempted defection being thwarted by a group read more
Feb 25, 2015
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

The wheel, the boat, the firearm, the car, the computer; technology has come quite the long way over a relatively short period of time. With the advent of the Internet and pocket-sized smartphones, it seems as if the gap between what is science-fiction and what is reality will eventually become nonexistent. One step along that path is the concept of cyborgs, or people who are half-man and half-machine. But what's most interesting isn't just the concept, but the questions it raises. For Ghost in the Shell, it brings about both action and answers.

STORY

Ghost in the Shell begins in read more
Nov 15, 2015
RoneSpeak (All reviews)
Ghost in the Shell is without doubt my favourite anime movie ever released.

Where to begin? This thing is dense, because there's so much that happens in it from machiavellian political subterfuge, to incredible gunplay and vicious combat, and a mystery that opens up one of the biggest can of worms there is.

This is probably what cemented cyberpunk as a genre in anime, hitting harder than anything before and that's followed. High tech low lives, Ghost in the Shell is drowning in them. That isn't the biggest pull in the film, what really gets me is the questions it leaves you with:
What are the differences between read more