Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kaleido Star


Alternative Titles

English: Kaleido Star
Synonyms: Kaleido Star: New Wings
Japanese: カレイドスター

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2003 to Mar 27, 2004
Premiered: Spring 2003
Broadcast: Saturdays at 09:30 (JST)
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Gonzo, Production I.G
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.021 (scored by 24,734 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #5552
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1616
Members: 58,714
Favorites: 1,274

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 1, 2007
ZJun (All reviews)
Kaleido Star was a big surprise for me as I expected it to be a typical shoujo with probably many cheesy moments...
I was proven wrong..

Animation:
Overall, it was beautiful, bright colours and flowing movements that even appeared graceful, a very colorful setting that didn\'t appear too flashy....it totally captured the brilliance of a circus and the lovely performances that I just had to rewatch again. However it had its flaws, I noticed that several episodes had seemingly worse animation compared to the rest in which the characters looked distorted, thankfully this was hardly significant during the performances which kept their high standard throughout the whole read more
Mar 22, 2010
Splitter (All reviews)
You have a dream don't you? Of course you do. Everyone has one. A dream to do something that no one else has ever done, or maybe someone else has done it and you want nothing more than to follow in their footsteps. It could have started when you were a child, maybe even recently, but no matter what, your heart doesn't let it rest. It's something you want more than anything, even more than you think you want it.

Kaleido Star is the story of our dreams. How they all start from tiny things. Memories from days gone by that we think are insignificant, read more
Mar 21, 2008
Washi (All reviews)
A certain expectation arises for an anime series such as this, which takes the effort to build a unique premise and story. Without the telltale signs of pervasive cliché, like a harem or giant piloted robot, I had good hopes for Kaleido Star. The show wasn’t even approaching flawless or astonishing on any technical level, or even in the way its story was written and reared, but what I found is that it had an intoxicating charm and that it was far more vibrant and ‘energetic’ than most anime. When I say energetic, I don’t mean just a cast of genki characters relentlessly talking quickly, read more
Apr 11, 2017
Skittles (All reviews)
The graceful motions of the swings, the dazzling lights of the stage, the crowd cheering with delight. These are some of the spectacular imageries of Kaleido Star, a phenomenal story about a young acrobat who reaches her dream through sheer dedication and practice. Facing countless challenges only to overcome them all, she rises higher and higher until the circus tents—no, the sky itself—could no longer limit her reach.

The premise of Kaleido Star will probably be one of the most down-to-earth synopsis you’ll ever read, but such familiarity is what gives the show its peculiar charm. Aliens, ninjas, and fifty-feet kaiju are lacking here; instead, the story read more
Sep 22, 2017
WithMyCigs (All reviews)
Kaleido Star’s acrobatic performances are pure exhilaration as the characters spin and fly through the air with special effects that are often a little too real and stakes a little too high. The most significant parts of these productions are often kept hidden from the viewer until performance day, with the only hints of their content given through maneuvers that the performers must master in practice, which makes for some very exciting buildup. The characters often have yet to perform a stunt perfectly multiple times or even once before performance day, and while it stretches belief that they would even be permitted on stage at read more
Oct 11, 2017
RebelPanda (All reviews)
What defines a masterpiece? Well, for me it isn’t something that is objectively perfect, it’s something that I find enough personal significance in point that I could consider it subjectively perfect.

Kaleido Star may not have the prettiest dress at the ball, it might not appear or sound unique, but the way it pulls together all of its elements makes it so much more than the sum of its parts. Perhaps some people may not get the same experience that I got from Kaleido Star, but it does have undeniable strengths that captivated me through 51 fulfilling episodes.

Passionate people worked on this and created read more
Mar 21, 2019
AwesomeAlfie27 (All reviews)
Real Score:8\10
What are dreams? Why do you need a precise goal in your life? Are you sure that the path you’re walking is really yours? Does innate talent exist? Does fear for the sudden changes of life stop you or motivate you?
These are not retorical questions, these are what this show is all about: The show is a tale of growth, of success, of failures and of self-acceptance, it’s able to mix everything life can throw at you in a beautiful cake made of comedy, happiness, hard work, tears and a bit of satisfaction, everything in order to give a satisfactory experience that, life itself, read more
Jun 29, 2014
Fellika (All reviews)
Due to the fact that this is a 2003 and 2004 anime, I would most definitely give it a 10. haha for some reason older animes have better plot lines (just found out recently). To be quite honest at first the anime didn't seem interesting... and i'm not really into an anime that has quite a lot of episodes... though when I kept watching it, there was no doubt that I couldn't stop.

Story: Amazing, by far the most detailed and well planned out story i've seen. Everything had a moment, a conflict, a climax. It's exactly how an actual story is suppose to be read more
Jan 4, 2019
Garma (All reviews)
Cheerful, optimistic, vibrant, colorful, heartwarming - these are some words to describe Kaleido Star. It would be a lie to say that Kaleido Star is perfect, but every episode leaves you with a smile on your face, wanting to see more. It is the journey of Sora Naegino, an optimistic, energetic and down-to-earth young girl, who aspires to become a star on the Kaleido Stage - a world-famous american artistic theater.

It is without a doubt the strong cast that holds this Anime together. Soras magnetic personality and her ability to not only change herself but also her surroundings (her friends, her parents, her co-workers, read more
Jun 20, 2013
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Took me a while to work up the nerve to finish this. Kaleido Star appeared to be aimed for a younger audience with its "doing your best" style story focused on Sora's rise to fame with the Kaleido Stage troupe. The story itself is a decent one as Sora struggles throughout the course of the series to gain the trust of those involved with Kaleido Stage, rise to become the troupe's main star and having a number of dilemmas come along that challenge her bright and optimistic outlook on experiencing the joys of performing with Kaleido Stage. There is a good amount of focus on read more
Dec 31, 2008
Suzuhana (All reviews)
If your in for a heartwarming, growing experience than Kaleido Star is for you.

Kaleido Star is probably the best show I have seen thus far. And I've watched my fair share of anime. And I don't particularly like all kinds of anime. I'm a very selective person. But Kaleido Star captured my heart from the first episode. Each new development and challenge that Sora faces, kept my heart racing, hoping that she would succeed. And her trials were so realistic I was moved by each new experience that she had gained. Every time she succeeded and failed, it moved her forward and she learned read more
Apr 2, 2013
Aimii0 (All reviews)
"I'm gonna do it! Do it! Do it!" is Sora's motto.

The first time I watched Kaleido Star I was nine, it was the first anime I have ever seen. I was always outside with my friends but when Kaleido Star was starting, I would always run back home to see every episode. I often got into fights with my best friends because I left them like that, but I didn't care. When I was watching Kaleido Star, I had the best feeling. Even now, when I'm watching the show 3rd time I have the same feelings, though I already know how it is gonna read more
Jun 4, 2009
SimpleCandy (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first heard about Kaleido Star (which was quite long ago due to how long this has been out) I didn't find much interest in it and dismissed it as another lame girl-who-gets-everything-and-helps-everyone cliche.

By the time I finally watched the first episode, I understood why this was popular. Sora not your average I'm the best and I can save everyone heroine. She fights hard and gives it her all which is quite inspiring to watch! It also goes to show that hard work pays off and there are good sides to many people, etc, etc. She also wasn't perfect and constantly failing at read more
Jul 18, 2008
HiGHFLYiN9 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review is based on the first 26 episodes. Kaleido Star is about a girl and how she joins a stage in America and performs. Kaleido Stage is about performance, so the trials and tribulations of the character were centered around how she struggles to pull off a series of acrobatic maneuvers and interfaces with the audience. The series took this very seriously, which can feel slightly strange at times, reminiscent of Yakitate Japan which is incredibly serious about breadmaking, but I found that disconnect a bit more entertaining.

Kaleido Star falls into the comedy/drama genre, however it's mostly drama. There are a few humorous read more
Jul 28, 2017
Edwardo97 (All reviews)
This is my first review, as time goes I will learn new things and of course I will update this review.I will talk about the different aspects that the series has and how it uses them.

Kaleido Star is a series made by Gonzo in 2003, basically a slice of life with a famous circus as a setting, this scenario makes Kaleido Star something unique because there are not many series with a scenario like this in this medium, but that's not the main reason why this is a good series,what makes it a good series then? Let's find out.

Characters / History:

What Kaleido Star wants to read more
Apr 23, 2009
yusuke_raz (All reviews)
When i saw the cover of kaleido star i thought "it's going to be a girly anime with sappy sh@#!" and like everyone else i said to it "the hell with you". anime network changed my mind big time(there was nothing else to watch) *bam*. this anime slapped me across the face telling me "hey btch this is greatness". i never seen an anime that makes you feel so much determination. the animation is so good on the eyes and the story pulls you in so strong that you feel everything the main character sora is going trough. it makes those dreamers out there question read more
Jan 16, 2011
Jety_Lefr (All reviews)
Holy crap this is an awesome anime. It somehow has the ability to force me to feel every emotion i can think of. It's amazingly adapt at giving emotional experience. In all honesty it should not be as good as it is... yet is IS as good as it is. My theory for the extra bit of awesome, is the music. It's really good background music.
The ending is so good too. I won't spoil it for you, but it is a really good ending.
Aug 31, 2008
Raisheru (All reviews)
this story is really good..
because it has a real life lesson, about faith, dreams and perseverance to follow your desires..
i also love its opening and ending songs especially Yakusoku no Basho e,
and Real Identity..
I really love it and recommend it to all^^
Oct 5, 2014
Yotsubafanfan (All reviews)
This anime is one of the most underrated and most under appreciated anime of all time. The story is wonderful, the character is an inspiration, and it's got some pretty amazing animation. The story is good and it inspires people to go for their dreams, while at the same time showing the harsh reality that you can't simply "wish" for your dream to come true, you've got to work, and suffer, and go through a lot but in the end it's worth while!
Jul 5, 2011
dancerocksmysox1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off...I LOVE THIS ANIME!!!

I started watching this because one of my friends recommended it to me saying that i remind her of the main character. Because of that i just had to see it and i'm glad i did.

For me this show gives alot of inspiration because it is about following your dreams and giving it your all. This show personally relates to me because i am a dancer and i dipped a little into the acrobatic world for some time using the trapeze but gave it up for dance and the main character gives up her life in her home country to become read more