Taisou Zamurai


Taiso Samurai

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Taiso Samurai
Synonyms: Gymnastics Samurai
Japanese: 体操ザムライ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 11
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2020 to Dec 20, 2020
Premiered: Fall 2020
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: MAPPA
Source: Original
Genre: SportsSports
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.251 (scored by 1468414,684 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #26202
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2578
Members: 46,187
Favorites: 119

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 1, 2020
Kizurk (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sport, a pair of father and daughter and a NINJA - you will get probably the best cult anime in making.

Taisou Zamurai isn't only about sports, there are a lot of Slice of Life moments that you can't help but connect.



Story : 8/10

Still early in 4th episode, Taisou Zamurai already laid down a good foundation for a good ORGINAL anime. A struggling athlete (Jotaro) with his daughter (Rei) and a Mysterious ninja (Leo) who just want to see Jotaro in gymnastic court again certainly grabbed my full attention.

A nice story in making and I can say even closing my eyes that Taisou Zamurai is a read more
Dec 19, 2020
Ghostflame2153 (All reviews)
Taisou Samurai has a very unrealistic start, but dont let that put you off. It never devolves into unrealistic gag antics, but ends up being a great show that never treats itself too seriously but still treats its characters with respect.

The Characters are probably the most important part of Taisou Samurai and the show very heavily centers on their struggles. Each character starts out very stereotypically but ends up growing into their own. My biggest concern was the overuse of certain characters due to trying to add extra useless gags or something, but this did not end up happening.

The Sound was good, every single read more
Nov 1, 2020
Owzok (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ugh ... Taisou Zamurai
When I saw the trailer for the first time, I thought the idea of ​​a sports anime about gymnastics was interesting, the trailer was not bad at all but I had my qualms about the CGI. Since it is from MAPPA, I expected decent production quality from it.

Story: 4
The premise here is not bad, a gymnast named Aragaki had an injury or something and now he can't perform as expected, so he decides to retire from gymnastics, but his destiny changed when he had a certain encounter...
Nothing new or intriguing, but definitely horribly done.

Art: 5
The art isn't bad at all, MAPPA has read more
Dec 19, 2020
KincaidP (All reviews)
For fall 2020...this was the biggest let down to be honest.

Story and characters had so much potential but the 11 ep run just caused the series to never really flesh out out what really needed to be there. This was a 24 ep character drama forced into 11 ep with the finale literally cutting into multiple character arcs without any clear resolution for 2 of the 3.

Art was solid...outside of the really mediocre 3DCG. Even if the back drop was gymnastics the CGI was bad especially for MAPPA standards. It was PS1/Cyberpunk 2077 on a ps4/xbox one levels of bad. The read more
Dec 19, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
“Nothing else will show your true character than how you lose.”

Taisou Zamurai is an anime that centers around gymnastics. Correct me if I am wrong, but this is something the industry has not seen yet. And it is also worth mentioning that Japan was considered the leader in this sport. Anyways, the plot revolves around a middle-aged athlete Joutarou Aragaki, who despite all the efforts and hard training, failed to justify the hopes placed on him. But after being defeated, he is not going to give up, although even the coach strongly advises him to leave the sport and do something else. Well, you know read more
Nov 2, 2020
Manga18 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a strange beast.

They promoted this anime (look at the cover image, or the synopsis) as a spokon abouit gymnastic that would be really cool.
But in 4 episodes the gymnastic was the weakest part with bad animation of the hig bar exercises and lack of screentime.

The actual story seems to focus on the struggles of the MC, a former olympic medalist, and the people around him that have to deal with a career on the decline and some incredibely (the triple summersoult was never done in reality at the high bar) talented youngster.

If they manage to stick actual sport in this the series amy read more
Nov 1, 2020
Bao_GG (All reviews)
Preliminary
I actually find the show to be mediocre. Even though it's premise is a meh and it's trailer made me think I might get some ping pong the animation vibes but honest just watching the first episode gave me a little bit of a disappointment for how it started.

I liked how it was about a gymnast who was at the brink of retiring and would later on spring back to become the champion he once was, but literally the anime just kinda blows a bunch of holes onto you and makes you feel empty.

I PERSONALLY read more
Dec 19, 2020
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Picture this scene (at MAPPA's headquarters):
Higher-ups: "Hey, we're already very stretched for both Jujutsu Kaisen and Attack on Titan: Final Season. Is there anything that we can do to crunch our remaining people with something to do on the side?"
Shigeru Murakoshi (series composer): *raises hand* "You mean the few of us? We can do something different other than the Shounen-heavy titles and make an original show of our own! Not to worry if this show isn't noticeable, because we're your secondary staff."
*proceeds to rip-off Barakamon (and other similar settings like Usagi Drop / Kakushigoto)*

Let's be honest: Barakamon was amazing, both back when it aired, and read more
Dec 27, 2020
Luubie (All reviews)
Original animes always bring a little fear to the audience, as there is no way to trace an expectation only with a cold synopsis and without many details. Taisou Zamurai is another show that arrived without original material and this time it worked very well. The anime overcame all criticism regarding its production and established itself as one of the biggest surprises of 2020.

Taisou Zamurai tells a simple story, but functional and comical. Jotaro (or Joe) is a gymnast on the verge of retirement. He is known throughout Japan as Samurai and for taking his country high in the biggest competitions in the world. However, read more
Dec 22, 2020
CaptainKenshiro (All reviews)
Taisou Zamurai is definitely and oddball, it’s one of the most unique shows of the year and also one of the weirdest slice of life anime I’ve ever seen. The first two episodes are the divisive type that either hook you or alienate you to the point of dropping the show, which suffers from a serious identity crisis.

The premise make it seem like it’s just a sports anime but no, it’s also a drama about a man who has to take care of his daughter all alone by himself because his wife died, it’s also a comedy that keeps throwing random things at screen, from read more
Dec 21, 2020
Zerockman (All reviews)
This anime is great. It was a huge surprise for the season, specially knowing how MAPPA was animating Jujutsu Kaisen and later Attack on Titan final season, so it ends up making sense Taisou Samurai is but an 11 episode anime.

Taisou Samurai is a light family/character drama focusing on gymnastics. It was very interesting to see several different characters interact and engage in various types of drama but having the gymnastics in the background as a "distraction" was interesting because it kept an added variety to the show. This reminds me a lot of Hoshiai no Sora, which came out in Fall last year, except read more
Dec 20, 2020
Poppy123 (All reviews)
"If you're broken, then we'll stay with you until you're not broken anymore!"


Dear anime fans, I do not frequently leave anime reviews even to the ones I love but in this case I just have to write something. This anime is not some super fantasy one, neither is an action one or highly dramatic. Some people might say it is just another sports anime but TO ME "Taisou Zamurai" has been a bliss. It depicts some of the struggles athletes have and what they can accomplish when they have good people around them to support their dreams! It shows the power of human will even read more
Dec 20, 2020
issa_labshat (All reviews)
I wrote a review before (5 episodes were released) and here I am making a new one BECAUSE GUESS WHAT PEOPLE, THIS ANIME BECAME ONE OF MY FAVORITES!

First of all, I'd like to thank MAPPA for successfully finishing this show despite having a bunch load of projects this year. This anime is so good. It sucks not everyone knows this. One of the underrated shows this year.

I fell in love with this show. Honestly, it looked like a slice-of-life show with wholesome moments. Well, there were some wholesome moments. Art is so beautiful! Although in my previous review, I said that they could've chosen another read more
Nov 6, 2020
chicken521 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Point your toes, and let's get gymnasty!

Gymnastics is a sport very dear to me. I started during my freshman year of high school and did it for all four years with private lessons on the side. I loved it to death. So, for an anime to focus on the sport is simply a dream come true. While it's been a few years since then, I still feel as though I possess some more insight than the average viewer regarding this anime and its handling of the sport. So is this sports anime everything I wished for? For the most part, yes.

The Gymnastics Samurai oozes style. read more
Dec 23, 2020
Rudy125520 (All reviews)
In 2020, this type of topic in an anime take a lot of risk... but this one clearly overcome it and managed to make a unforgettable story with memorable characters.

For the story itself it isn't too difficult, it just tried take basic settings for the characters situation at the beginning, a famous & sportive father with a daughter and a deceased wife.
But the most interesting part in this anime is that it managed to develop the situation in 11 episodes only and made us actually feel emotions towards the characters and make them endearing.

Jotaro's situation is like what you can see in most of the read more
Dec 21, 2020
wolfgangpauli (All reviews)
My experience on this is similar to Steins gate--- The starting was a little boring. But how the story progresses and the characters go forward really keeps you going for it. This is one of those plot anime where you want to keep rooting for the MC to go forward. The anime felt slow-paced at the start, so it felt like just sticking to it to see what happens next. This negativity faded as the anime progressed, and must say, the ending was worth a rewind and replay for me lol.

The art was good , as good as any average anime coming out nowadays, though read more
Dec 20, 2020
Helena_Batista (All reviews)
I don't know why this show doesn't get the recognition it deserves. This season was pretty full of nice shows, but this one is catching and heartwarming.

Story:
You can feel like there's a lot of fantasy at first and things do not seem to be in the right place. Ignore it and keep on watching, because everything will be explained. The ninja stuff, I mean. It seems a little bit off in the beginning, but after a few episodes you can tell: yeah, this is a story about family and self-discovery.

Art:
This is probably the worst point about the show, mainly because of the use read more
Dec 19, 2020
NG_Chloe (All reviews)
Taiso Samurai is easily a 9.4, so I rounded up, Gozaru.

This series was definitely an underrated Gem this season. It has a fun, and distinct cast of characters, amazing music, a good story, and is able to do so much in only 11 episodes.

The main story is simple and straight forward, as most sports series are. What differentiates this series from other sports anime is that rather than being about a young, teenage athlete that's new to the sport, it's about a veteran of the sport trying to make a comeback. That's still not new, but in the realm of anime, we don't get that read more
Nov 21, 2020
awesok_Lynxes (All reviews)
Preliminary
Great anime for the family to watch highly recommend watching this.
I think this anime will be underrated because it's a sport based anime and a lot of people
will mistake it for competition and everything. This story shows how important sport is
in a different yet power well. This anime has great character development cute daughter by the way... cough... UMM unexpected things happening and amazing animation of acrobatic abilities put in. A lot of hard work put into this anime. This also shows the hardships which families go through and what they encounter and struggle with sport involved families or famous family members. When they read more
Nov 18, 2020
zhinryu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think this anime is indeed a very good original anime. It has a lot of potential to be better or to be great. It just needs more warmth for the main character to attack the viewers' hearts and be more relatable. This is an anime that you need to give patience and a chance.

So far, for each episode, I gave the ratings below.

EP. 1 - 7
EP. 2 - 8
EP. 3 - 8
EP. 4 - 9
EP. 5 - 8
EP. 6 - 8


> STORY: 8
As I have said, Taiso has a great potential. It needs more boost or build up on the story as the read more