Aya to Majo


Earwig and the Witch

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Earwig and the Witch
Japanese: アーヤと魔女

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 30, 2020
Producers: NHK, NHK Enterprises
Licensors: GKIDS
Studios: Studio Ghibli
Source: Novel
Genres: MagicMagic
Duration: 1 hr. 22 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 5.701 (scored by 18671,867 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #92702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #6647
Members: 4,956
Favorites: 9
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 16, 2021
MakingAList (All reviews)
I share the same sentiment as many others who've watched this movie: it was disappointing. But stay with me here, that doesn't mean it's not worth watching!
This movie is based off of an incomplete book that the author died before finishing. Why make a movie like that in the first place? I dunno... the film seems to remain around the same amount of incomplete as the source material, so there isn't much of a plot or main conflict. (There is a set-up for what the plot was supposed to be, but once you get half-way through the movie and there isn't any word on it read more
Jan 16, 2021
Sahil_K_Chandio (All reviews)
I already had low expectations from this movie since it was being directed by Goro Miyazaki and mainly because it abandoned the old incredible Ghibli art style but this movie was way worse then what I was expecting. The trailers had given me a bit of hope and I thought that maybe this movie might turn out to be decent but no!

Art(6/10): I was very disappointed and lowkey pissed when I saw they were not doing this movie in the original art style but I ended up thinking they did a pretty ok job with the CGI, it looks like the characters and some read more
Jan 17, 2021
Keitaro004 (All reviews)
This movie is receiving a whole lot of backlash for the CGI-animation (it's a TV movie with a limited budget, guys, not a cinema release) and the "dissappointing" plot, but I thought the movie was fun. Not as good as other Ghibli movies, but still entertaining the whole way through.

The movie is basically about Aya (or Earwig) getting adopted by a witch, and the witch wants to use her as a slave. Earwig has to figure out how to escape or make things better for herself, or live in torment forever.

Earwig herself is very different compared to most Ghibli protagonists. Even though she's taken advantage read more
Feb 1, 2021
Luubie (All reviews)
Do you know Studio Ghibli? He is one of the best known names when it comes to animation, filmography and respectable staff. It is a studio that has gained notoriety with many important films for the industry and has fans all over the world. Children, youth, adults and the elderly ... Everyone who accompanies animes at some point is faced with some of his feature films produced. And of course, this is more than just merit. It was an achievement, the popularity of making animations in film format, something little seen before its creation. Today, Ghibli is known as the "best studio" by many people. read more
Mar 5, 2021
IchikuRyodai (All reviews)
When you have a product with a differential, whatever it may be, something that makes it unique and places it above competitors, you don't just throw it away, you don't waste it. I know Ghibli was never one to think in terms of profit (they make movies at a rate of 5 mins per month), but why? Simply why? Was it for the sake of experimentation? Was it because the times are changing and the studio needed an upgrade? How many of us, as its more or less loyal audience, think that computer animation is, in whatever form, good or bad, an upgrade for the read more
Feb 10, 2021
ExorcistGold (All reviews)
I went into this movie knowing about the low reviews and went in with very low expectations. The least i can say is that im dumbfounded. I genuinely don't understand why people don't enjoy this film.
Earwig is a wholesome and fun movie that, while being alot smaller scale with it world then other Ghibli movies, still has all of the charm that made me fall in love with Ghibli movies at a young age. The whole film had me either laughing or awing as the character all have a strong dynamic that makes up the meat of the film. The film's plot is very read more
Feb 5, 2021
muca12 (All reviews)
A fun movie that unfortunately ends too soon. The story is straight forward and is mainly "slice of life." Unfortunately, due to the length of the film, some plot points that are introduced aren't addressed which does feel incomplete but I didn't think it detracted from the rest of the movie. The cg is great, my only complaint is that the background was a little static near the beginning but everything else is good, especially all the jars and textures, you can tell alot of work was put into the film. I think the people that dislike it only think so because they're comparing it read more
Feb 12, 2021
tapeify (All reviews)
This was baaad! I mean, this is like a Pixar film that is trying to include the usual Studio Ghibli trademarks... I'm quite mixed on the technical side, since they nailed some of the details in the background, but overall, it was still eh...

I haven't read the actual novel by Diana Wynne Jones, but my main problem with the film was the story... The first 15 minutes were actually quite enjoyable, but I can't believe I had to connect with a manipulative protagonist, who was the real witch!

In my opinion, this film was a great business deal for studio executives to bank off of people read more
Feb 7, 2021
darkjonuchiha (All reviews)
As many other movies from Ghibli, Aya to Majo is also inspired in a story written by Diana Wynne Jones. And to better understand the problem with the story, the original author sadly died before being able to finish her book. So in a way this could be a tribute to her by the studio after how much she has given and inspired them in so many decades.

People seems to be extremely harsh on the movie just because Ghibli's animation trademark has been left behind in this occassion, it doesn't mean that beautiful classic animation we all know and love will dissapear forever. Actually for read more
Feb 6, 2021
Neil1998 (All reviews)
32

“It’s good that he made one movie. With that, he should stop" - Hayao Miyazaki after watching Tales From Earthsea

God, I wished Gorō had listened to his dear old dad. Why Gorō? Why do you insist on making it difficult for me to root for you? I want him to succeed and prove his father wrong but so far, as much as I hate to say this, he has been consistently failing to upheld his father's incredible legacy. With Earwig and the Witch, Studio Ghibli returns after a 6 year hiatus for a TV production and their latest offering turned out to achieve a new read more
Jan 15, 2021
Unalina (All reviews)
Anyone below the age of 8 would enjoy this and give the movie probably 7.6/10

This is a spoiler free review!

Story: 6
A girl gets adopted by a witch.....thats it really...
There isn't really anything much happening in this movie. It is like watching someone's normal life. There are no risky plot decisions which is really a bad move imo because you will be very underwhelmed when you realize there is no major conflict.
For a little kids, he/she will probably enjoy the protagonist's motives to make her adopted mom miserable and that is probably going to be the main enjoyment as well as the unknown character that appeared read more
Jan 15, 2021
Shrakna (All reviews)
This is my first time writing a review and I felt compelled too because this movie baffled me. I also looked up some info and want to explain a bit.

This film is based on the children's novel Earwig and the Witch, but sadly author Diana Wynne Jones passed away and this novel was released posthumously. It seems Studio Ghibli chose not to edit too much of the source material and as a result this novel and movie give the sense of an abrupt ending and personally no real substance.

Art: 6

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the CG was and how beautiful read more
Feb 6, 2021
SuperSquillid (All reviews)
I know everyone was complaining about the CGI when they first saw what this film looked like, but that ended up actually being one of its strong points. Considering the movie was made for TV, it had pretty good animation. Not Pixar quality or Lupin III: The First quality, but far better than CGI is most anime (and probably many western tv shows too). It can feel uncanny at times, but it isn’t enough to keep you from understand what is happening. The film is enjoyable to watch but the major problem with it is that it hardly has a plot at all. There’s nothing read more
Feb 8, 2021
konna_san (All reviews)
*This is my first review, please be kind with my faults*
To tell the truth I can not understand why most of the people are strict about this movie. I'm a fan of Ghibli studios and it has almost never disappointed me and once again it excites me with the work on this film

Story 9/10
-The story is about the daughter of a witch whose daughter is called Earwig. She grew up in an orphanage as a baby after her mother left her there to grow up safely. Around the age of ten, a strange couple, Bella Yaga and Mandrake, come and adopt her against her wishes. read more
Feb 16, 2021
AlephDaud (All reviews)
Well, I never thought there would be a day that I thought a Ghibli movie was not just bad but possible one of the worst films I’ve seen this year.

Earwig and The Witch is the latest film by acclaimed Japanese animation house Studio Ghibli but their first film to be done completely in CGI. It was directed by Goro Miyazaki, son of the legendary and infamously hard to please Hayao Miyazaki who’s track record has been sketchy at best. He previously directed ‘Tales of Earth sea’ which used to be considered Ghibli’s worst movie, but he also did ‘From Up on Poppy Hill’ which was read more
Feb 27, 2021
GreaseyNeckbeard (All reviews)
Ironically, the trailer of Earwig & the Witch gave me low expectations, but the actual movie itself is quite alright. The only thing missing is a huge chunk of plot.

As I finally reached the credits, I couldn't help but feel dumbfounded. Had a spell been casted that ended the movie halfway through? No, that's how it was intended to be. I get that Goro Miyazaki was drawing inspiration from a novel that wasn't even finished. But consequently, the movie takes a big punch in the face.

The writing was fair enough, & it felt fun; however, the lack of major conflict & character development really soils read more
Feb 16, 2021
Katsudon96 (All reviews)
I watched the Movie Today and I am a big fan when it comes to Studio Ghibli films. I'll Keep this review short.

To start off, I'll head Fly Straight into the Characters and CG of the Film. The Background art is almost Disney/Pixar quality, it is very Beautiful and Stunning. The Lighting of the scenes is well done, and the Rain is great. Foliage is almost life like but still fits into the world with the Characters. Special Effects are almost Disney quality and are well done.

I had a small gripe about Characters and how they looks and placed into the scenes... but that read more
Feb 14, 2021
daydreamer808 (All reviews)
It's a cute film, but unfortunately the ending feels incomplete.

I really enjoyed the art and the texture of the character CGI, but overall the backgrounds felt dark and flat. The character work was one of the best parts of this movie, and this fun clay style along with the great voice acting really made the characters charming. (I watched in Japanese but I'm sure the dub is good too).

The story was the most lacking part of this.The different threads just didn't really come together. While most Ghibli films tend to wander, they have a strong trough line that connect back to the emotions of the read more
Feb 9, 2021
Be_too_Jaeger (All reviews)
Let just put it this way. People called: "This movie have ok animation" is just dumb, GKIDS and Ghibli did a fantastic job transfer the magical felling from 2D form to 3D, also keeping what make the 2D Ghibli animation works on the first place. It's look mind blowing amazing to somebody who know how animation works like me.

I love this kind of experimental art style which Ghibli also got bad press in the old days for, the one called violent and too emotional for children is classic for us nowaday.

This movie didn't try to reach for greatness, it's a fun movie about a read more
Feb 13, 2021
mramirez101 (All reviews)
uuuuuughhhh *deep disappointing sigh* Angry fist at Goro AGAIN

It had potential but highly disappoints.

Let me just say that I admittedly went into this movie being already kind of disappointed because it's Goro and he decided to use CGI instead of the traditional artwork that Ghbli is known for. HOWEVER, I put that aside and decided to watch the movie and I have to say, at first I was pleasantly surprised! While I personally do not like Ghibli doing CGI (because it's very Disney and we have enough of that) it looked a lot better than I was expecting. So I admit I was wrong read more