Hanyou no Yashahime: Sengoku Otogizoushi


Yashahime: Princess Half-Demon

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Yashahime: Princess Half-Demon
Japanese: 半妖の夜叉姫 -戦国御伽草子-

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2020 to Mar 20, 2021
Premiered: Fall 2020
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: VIZ Media
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, DemonsDemons, SupernaturalSupernatural, MagicMagic, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.741 (scored by 1489614,896 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #47422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1664
Members: 84,605
Favorites: 591
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 17, 2020
LadyAxeFace (All reviews)
Preliminary
There's 7 episodes out now of Yashahime, the nostalgia driven sequel to Inuyasha. At first, I thought it was turning out better than a sequel of this type had any right to be. The new protagonists, are quite likable, and Moraha in particular, will surely be a fan favorite. And they really made this show an ode to the original. Same voice actors, same style eye catches, same music, same spoilerific previews. Though twenty years have past since Inuyasha's debut, Yashahime feels just the same, as if no time had passed since the Final Act's last episode. But then... as the show started getting into read more
Mar 20, 2021
KANLen09 (All reviews)
I'm not gonna mince my words: if you're a fan of Inuyasha, please STOP at The Final Act and don't pursue Yashahime thereafter, and this is coming from a hardcore fan who has grown up with Inuyasha since its inception. Call me biased, but this was to be expected.

It's been more than a decade since Sunrise gave us quite the finale to one of the most beloved series of legendary mangaka Rumiko Takahashi's works, but the resurgence with Hanyou no Yashahime: Princess Half-Demon, only proves that both the production staff team (the original Inuyasha staff for that matter, minus the original creator herself) behind this read more
Dec 5, 2020
Alamojak (All reviews)
Preliminary
Y'all this show is cringe incarnate.

The most frustrating thing about it is that it has genuinely good moments in there. Spots where you can see a good idea, an interesting possible character exploration, etc and it just doesnt follow through on any of those. This series has only nostalgia going for it, and for someone who really only cared about the original was tbh, because of this ships, this show has none of that. You might think that maybe the original cast popping up here and there could fix things with a burst of nostalgia, but no. The original cast has all but disappeared read more
Mar 20, 2021
aarrin (All reviews)
I typically don't write reviews but I'll do it for this since a lot of people want to throw their hate and bland biscuit excuses of critiques in here to tear it down, and it's simply undeserved, especially considering all the people hating have missed the point entirely, not only of this series, but of the originals before it as well.

This show is great, I will go so far as to say it's even better than Inuyasha, all in all. Its greatest point of criticism so far would be the pacing, which in the grand scheme of things verges on odd, with the plot being read more
Mar 20, 2021
Aikeji (All reviews)
Hanyou no Yashahime was a mistake. There I said it.

I never was a huge fan of Inuyasha but I did like that series, it was a big part of my childhood and I just liked all the variety of characters there! If you miss Inuyasha, don't watch this serier, go and rewatch original one, I promise you, you will have way more fun than watching 24 episodes of Yashahime.

Although the main 3 characters aren't exactly terrible, they are not very entertaining either, somehow their interactions aren't enjoyable to watch, they are just plain boring. Something really is lacking. I don't know if it's because it's read more
Jan 11, 2021
RavenWhisperer (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm giving Yashahime a harsh review, call it biased, I don't care. This review will contain spoilers.

Yashahime went back and forth from being decent. I love the girls and their dynamic, which is very different from what I expected it to be. Moroha is charming and feral. Towa is earnest and soft, which is the opposite vibe I got from her design. Setsuna is straight laced and serious like her father, which wasn't the vibe from her design, but I actually liked being surprised.

The cameos from other characters were fun and I liked how even not knowing their parents, the girls are intertwined read more
Mar 20, 2021
Hayuume (All reviews)
Okay, this is my first time doing a Review and I'm doing it because I think I need to support people who, like me, enjoyed this show A LOT. The needless negativity about this show is scary.

Let me state some things first:

Inuyasha is my favorite anime/manga of all times and I waited for a sequel or at least something new about it for more than 10 years. And honestly? It delivered.

Do I really think this show deserves a 10?
No. I would say it is an overall solid 8. But damn I enjoyed this show ways more than I ever thought I would. So I'll keep read more
Jan 17, 2021
DriedHopeSpring (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is really terrible.

The relationship between Sesshomaru and his so-called wife is very SUS. It appears to be a very disgusting, disturbing dynamic being portrayed, especially in a show aimed at young teens.

The wife appears to be a child, a young teen herself while giving birth. It is very unsettling.

Other then that, the writing is abysmal. The characters are mocks of what they were in the original show. Too much baiting. Also, the show contradicts itself and make characters act stupid and OOC in order to keep answers from being answered. The character designs are also wonky.

The main character, Towa, has no read more
Dec 16, 2020
orpheusbreeze (All reviews)
Preliminary
What could have been a great show...but wasn't. I wasn't even expecting it to be better than the original Inuyasha, but god this sequel is terrible.

** Note for new viewers: If you haven't figured it out, this is a SEQUEL to Inuyasha, so yes, you'd have to watch Inuyasha to know who the original characters are. **

That being said, as I've just finished watching Episode 11, my disappointment in this show has grown tremendously. If anything, this sequel feels more like someone's failed fanfiction. I will go over a few things below.

The reason fans were excited about this sequel was because of seeing our beloved read more
Dec 8, 2020
SweetieSquad (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yashahime is an absolute insult to Inuyasha fans and an exact delineation to a fan fiction rather than a post-Inuyasha work. This depiction of an Inuyasha universe expansion is sullied and artificial compared to its predecessor. It copies and literally attempts to replace Inuyasha and Sesshomaru's personas via their children. In all likelihood, this is Takahashi Rumiko's subjective perception of having grandchildren instead of writing an Inuyasha work. I'm grateful for her contribution to the industry but since Rin-ne it's been nothing but disappointment. There comes a time to retire these ideas and pass the torch on, she simply has refused to do this and read more
Jan 12, 2021
Kaichou1010 (All reviews)
Preliminary
No one has that half demon vibe. Why does everyone feel so human to me?

These questions are left hanging in the air after every episode of Yashahime in my eyes. They have powers they do not earn, they don't really do much with them, and there is no plot to comment on. I cannot recommend watching it unless you are very curious as to how much worse it can get, as I am.

As other reviews have stated, it feels like poorly written fanfiction that should have just stayed as that. We still don't know why we should care about these dang pearls, why their journey read more
Jan 21, 2021
Amooneth (All reviews)
Preliminary
PLEASE READ!
This anime was the best thing/news from 2020 for me!

People need to understand a few things:

-This anime is NOT Inuyasha. People need to stop complaining that you don't see the original cast in every damn episode.

-People that complain about the story leaving you wondering, don't actually wait for things to unfold and to see WHY something is the way it is. There are so many good animes that at first make no sense, like Ghost in The Shell, yet at the end everything makes sense and you realise how good the anime is.By no way am I saying that Yashahime rises to the level read more
Feb 7, 2021
ryu_uzaki (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review does include spoiler.

As a big InuYasha lover I was excited for this sequel, I was excited to see their kids and what troubles they are facing, but oh boy was I disappointed.
Let us go through the categories: Story, Character, Art&Sound and Overall

Story (4):
So, in the first few episodes there is already so much happening it just seems that they want the three girls in the old times just asap and the rest of the new era cast doesn't matter. It all just feels too perfectly fitting with the time travel. And they barely have troubles to go back and forth, even though it read more
Dec 1, 2020
ValkyrieRandgris (All reviews)
Preliminary
I like the new characters but the plot is stale, the fight scenes are lack luster, the atmosphere is bad, the demons look like teddy bears and the characters are way too strong.
All the things I liked Inuyasha for are not in this series it feels very Baruto like.

I will change this review once the show is completed if things change but as for now I do not recommend anyone to watch this show unless they are bored there are better things to watch this season.

It seems that Rumiko Takahashi has lost her passion the past 10 years and is just pumping out read more
Jan 26, 2021
arianna_blanche (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoilers below.
This sequel is aimed at young girls, yet it normalizes pedophilia and grooming. In a recent episode they showed a 15 year old girl giving birth to the kids of the adult man who’s always had authority over her after he took her in and cared for her when she was 8 in the original series. It’s disgusting how in episode one they show her at age 11 worshipping the adult man she trusts, only to portray her 4 years later having his children. This show is aimed at a modern audience, it’s not a historically accurate period drama, nor a documentary and it read more
Mar 20, 2021
gintoqs (All reviews)
So, I finished Yashahime and finally I can say, with an open heart: this was a terrible experience. You know, I'm a huge Inuyasha fan since my 11 years old and when the notice of Yashahime came I was super happy, I put a lot of expectations because I like Sunrise works and the previous series. Well, right now I'm terribly disappointed. Let me explain some points about this (IT CONTAIN SPOILERS):

1. Even the art and sound are pretty good, they're nothing amazing. You can easily enjoy what you see but when it comes to the story and when you think about it deeper... read more
Nov 22, 2020
Some1ridiculous (All reviews)
Preliminary
Right so I'm probably gonna get craped on by fans of this series but I felt disappointed by it after watching 7 episodes. I just felt the story could've been better because there was just so many plot holes that it kept me questioning non stop with any conclusion to close that part of that particular scene. I don't want to say too much because of giving away spoilers. Anyhow we don't ever find out what happened to the original gang like there's literally no clues whatsoever on where they went. They might as well be forgotten about lol!

Now don't get me wrong, the read more
Mar 20, 2021
Quincent (All reviews)
As many fans who watched this show, I grew up watching Inuyasha and loved it so much that my imaginary characters were Inuyasha and the gang. When I heard about it getting a sequel I admit that I was worried that it would be trash...and boy was I right.

1) Yashahime relied a bit too heavily on nostalgia and that's the only ship that kept it sailing, I'll tell you that. We have Moroha who is the daughter of Kagome & Inuyasha, she has a nice balance of their personality and could have been extremely interesting but sadly gets treated as the butt of the joke. read more
Mar 17, 2021
LynMannia (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is good, and people should ignore the bad reviews because there was a campaign to mass downvote this organized in Tumblr. The reason? There's 2 reasons: one is that their ship sunk, and Sesshomaru married a character that is not the one they wanted. And because that they scream pedophilia and grooming, which is not true at all. Rin and Sesshomaru have the same age when they had kids than Sango and Miroku in Inuyasha, and no one complained then. (Yes, 17 and 19. Sesshomaru has 19 years in human years, just like Inuyasha is 15 years old even if he lived more read more
Feb 8, 2021
MMayonaka (All reviews)
Preliminary
SPOILER-FREE REVIEW:

The character designs for the supporting casts and villains are miles better than for the main/recurring cast. Kirinmaru, Yawaragi, Konton and Lady Kyuki are my personal favorites.

Animation quality is pretty inconsistent and looks pretty rushed, but a lot of anime seems to be this way when currently airing. I also had a high expectation for the series OP/ED since InuYasha gave us a legendary soundtrack, but its been pretty lukewarm (season 1 ED was good).


SPOILER REVIEW:

One thing that has really annoyed me is how there seems to be no character development, only story progression [example below]. The fillers in this series do not really read more