Boku no Hero Academia 5th Season


My Hero Academia Season 5

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: My Hero Academia 5
Japanese: 僕のヒーローアカデミア
English: My Hero Academia Season 5
German: My Hero Academia Staffel 5
Spanish: My Hero Academia Temporada 5
French: My Hero Academia Saison 5
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Mar 27, 2021 to Sep 25, 2021
Premiered: Spring 2021
Broadcast: Saturdays at 17:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy
Themes: SchoolSchool, Super PowerSuper Power
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.471 (scored by 269643269,643 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #17052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #156
Members: 780,393
Favorites: 9,353

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 1, 2021
MrDongPrime (All reviews)
Preliminary
I did enjoy the plot idea of the first couple of episodes of this show, especially with all the different and unique quirks used in the battles between classmates of 1a and 1b. It's nice how they bring back the fights from season 2 and make them even better with their new special moves and all that. However, in my opinion, the battles were just so boring, and it was the only reason why I gave up watching the show and started to speed read the manga. I knew that the fights between both classes are only a couple of chapters long, and after that, read more
Sep 25, 2021
SingleH (All reviews)
This show got worse? I’m sorry, but what the fuck are you talking about? How is this any different than it has ever been?

Ever since working from home became a thing, my alcoholism has gotten exponentially worse, and I think I’m dying. Sometimes I’ll stand up, and then just find myself on the floor. Other times I can’t tell if I’m hungover, legitimately ill, or if I simply laid down funny and part of my body fell asleep. I’ve been an insomniac for years, but now my circadian rhythm is completely fucked. But the biggest issue is my memory. I’d rather eat nails than read more
May 1, 2021
OscarBosscar (All reviews)
Preliminary
***THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS***

The pros of Boku no Hero Academia s5 are pretty obvious. The characters are still fun, well developed quirks, worldbuilding, etc. Storywise there's not so much so far. The art and sound are still fine to me. Whatever.

I just want to focus on the bad parts of s5 mostly. The class A vs B story arc sounds pretty fun in concept. Here's my problems with it though. (The first fight has less problems than the second in my opinion).
1. Everyone is still describing everything to the viewer as if everyone watching is a toddler. We can see the action on screen and read more
Sep 25, 2021
LordSozin (All reviews)
To say I was going into the 5th season of My Hero Academia with high expectations would be an understatement. Even though I’m not a My Hero Academia enthusiast or even a fan for that matter, I can wholeheartedly say that this season of My Hero Academia was supposed to be the series game-changer and tone shifter. The 5th season was supposed to set My Hero Academia in a new and more compelling direction. A direction that would’ve brought My Hero Academia’s writing to a new height because of the fascinating and enchanting thematic value that it has to offer. As the egregious season has read more
Sep 25, 2021
Stark700 (All reviews)
It's 2021 and we can call My Hero Academia a major franchise among Shounen Jump's IPs. While it may not be the single biggest hit of the decade, it does challenge the Big Three with its cult following. That doesn't mean MHA is a masterpiece franchise just because it's popular. In fact, MHA may be one of more controversial anime this year.

My Hero Academia is a franchise that needs no introduction at this point. It's been an established franchise for years and we all came to know the heroes and villains that makes up its roster. For any long time fan, MHA has also explored read more
Jun 24, 2021
jigglymig (All reviews)
Preliminary
This season starts off well, but leaves you in a spot of feeling like this is going to be a filler based on other long term anime. I was tricked too and picked it back up after 2 months. This season is getting really juicy and goes further into details in regards to "One for All" as well as some soon to be big fights. Stick around through the initial match ups for Deku's fight. TRUST me! It gets good and the whole story is starting to unravel.... You could technically skip a few episodes, but I don't want to spoil anything.
May 1, 2021
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Season five of MHA is here, and while I do personally enjoy the series, I do have to say that it might be within your best interests to wait for the series to either be finished, or wait until a few episodes have come out in order to progress with it. Not to say it's bad, but more that it at current stage, may take weeks to really go somewhere. Even if you understand the plot, understand what it's doing. Even then, it can be quite tiresome.

I normally don't fully agree with the idea that 'Read the manga it's better' type of deal, as read more
Sep 25, 2021
terrence_ (All reviews)
The fifth season of Boku No Pico Academia is finally here. Welp, I guess it's now time for me to review this thing.

This review will have some spoilers BUT THERE WON'T BE ANY BIG SPOILERS SO NO WORRIES :D.

I don't even know why I called them spoilers; the stuff I'll be mentioning are so little I can really just say this review is spoiler free.

Before we start, for those people who are too lazy to read I made a very short version at the end. Just scroll all the way to the end for it.

All right let's get straight to it !

!!! Here's a recap read more
May 1, 2021
iishoxyii (All reviews)
Preliminary
A late bloomer like me got into this show when the show was at its peak when the show had already had 3 seasons, and I started the manga and the anime at the same time and I was amazed. I thought there wasn’t even going to be a show that stands up against the like of Naruto but this show proved its worth and stole the hearts of teenagers of this era. From people calling it the future of the shounen genre and the bringer of the succeeding age group, “Boku No Hero Academia” or most commonly known as “My Hero Academia”. Written and read more
Jul 24, 2021
GG_Allin (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's just a big 25 episodes long filler

Story: Almost nothing happens here. First half of the season is just a sparring session to remind you that some characters actually exist. In the second hald we are getting some backstories and rushed way of expandance of the "bad guys" group.

Art: Nothing speacial. Even worse than previous seasons.

Sound: It's fine.

Character: "Good" characters are trying to kind of improve and learn new techniques but there is nothing interesting tbh. There is only one mildly interesting improvement from MC.
Main "bad guy" will become overpowered towards the end of the season without any actual reason.

Enjoyment: This anime is getting read more
May 22, 2021
Bronos23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Since i see a lot of comments and rewievs about this show being childish and getting boring and stuff i just want to adress something in my review of SEASON 5.


Almost all the shonen shows you like don't go where My Hero Academia goes to: INTRODUCING EVERY CHARACTER AND SHOWING THEM GROW BOTH IN MIND AND BODY!

This arc of the 5th season may be NOT AS ENTARTAINING AS some very high stakes arcs BUT it's essential to the STORY OF MY HERO ACADEMIA! It's showing how all the characters are improving their line of thinking and how they are honing their skills. The writer of read more
Sep 8, 2021
lacrymariaolor (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a big fan of bnha manga I'm just disappointed. The artstyle in the manga is always progressing and is accurate to the things that are happening in the story, it's not longer so cutesy like before. The anime artstyle is still stuck in the mood of season 1, the colors are too bright, everything seem so weird, I can't feel anything when sad or important things are happening, it just seems like a caricature. Or maybe I FEEL smth but then it's cringe. If they animate the now latest chapters in this style I think I might just die of laughter. Please don't.
Jun 8, 2021
Ma_E (All reviews)
Preliminary
Class A vs Class IdontcareB should have been skipped. Doesn't do anything to move the plot forward, the entire thing seems like a filler arc. As a Boku no hero fan who only watches the anime I'm very disappointed because this feels pretty much like a wasted season and I'll have to wait a lot for the next one.

They have gone through much better training arcs in past seasons, not everything has to be high stakes but going with no stakes for an entire arc is just mind-boggling to me.

And as a wise man once said: If you don't like my opinion about this show, read more
Jun 6, 2021
LukeKubisch (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Writing after seeing up to episode 11 of the 5th season*

I've seen a lot of people debate over this season. I started watching My Hero when it was about halfway through the second season. I've been following it as much as I could since then; I love it. From what I've read, a lot of people are torn on this season. Some say it's boring and bad, and others say it's far from the worst arc of the series. I believe that this season does what MHA does best, and that is character development. This arc shows so many characters and how hard they've worked read more
May 18, 2021
gingermemequeen (All reviews)
Preliminary
I originally intended this season to be my "test season" of whether or not I would finally gather the courage to drop My Hero Academia, and I couldn't even make it 7 episodes before finally recognizing that this show was always going to be a burden to watch and if I hadn't found joy in it since Season 3 then there was no way that it was going to improve for me. I finally feel free after all these years.

I never understood the hype of My Hero Academia. I thought the first two seasons were standard, and the third I got a little more interested read more
Jun 4, 2021
Kamikazaky (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am here to give a patient review on the latest season of MHA. In my opinion, verdicts need to be kept until a season's completion, so let this be a 10-episode-in update that lets you know that, dammit, they've done it again. Just as you think the plot is cooling and taking a slower pace on as the anime matures, they hit you with some ridiculously hype episode that puts a whole new layer over this anime. This latest episode was groundbreaking. If anything, watch the first 9 episodes just so that you can enjoy the pure bliss that follows.

Sure, we could argue that read more
May 1, 2021
philKage-Sama (All reviews)
Preliminary
As of right now MHA is at its peak of dryness. I binged the first 4 seasons before season 5 started so I could enjoy the hype, but I was very disappointed. Other than introducing us to characters we've known for 4 seasons; the season started of strong with the first 2 episodes...then it was all downhill after that. There's still 19 episodes to go so I'm hoping that it gets better because I had high expectations and I've heard a lot of good things about the manga. But to be honest I expect this season to be a 7 at best.
Sep 25, 2021
bulkyhog (All reviews)
MHA always has, and always will be, mid (at best). As a show that plays its cards incredibly safe and doesn’t try to subvert anything in the shounen genre, it’s pretty clear what MHA hopes to achieve in its lifetime (that’s selling movies if you haven’t realized already). But this season just goes to show that when you aim for mediocrity, you end up with subpar results. Drill that lesson into your hearts kids: aim for the moon so you can land amongst the stars, don’t be like MHA and aim for the stratosphere and end up 2m from where you started.

If you have any read more
Aug 7, 2021
HarimasGoatee (All reviews)
Preliminary
The 5th season of MHA is quite possibly the biggest waste of time I've ever had to endure as an anime fan, and I watched all of the 2nd season of Promised Neverland. I made this account just to review this awful season, I have truly had enough of this shit but I know that I'll somehow be sucked back into watching every new episode despite the fact this show has nothing going for it. It's terrible what this anime has done to me, even though I know it's a waste of time and that everything I've seen so far in this show doesn't take read more
Jun 15, 2021
Senator_Phillips (All reviews)
Preliminary
Four season and five years ago, studio Bones brought forth on this world a new anime, My Hero Academia, conceived with good animation, fun fights, and an enjoyable premise. Unfortunately, the intrigue has worn thin with the arrival of MHA season 5.

For my reviews, I will dissect my opinion into 5 crucial sections, henceforth known as napkins.

Napkin #1
Story (2/10)
Sadly, the internet has made the story and first third of the season not necessary. The training arc beginning the season and running nearly 10 episodes can best be described by the word pointless. We will see where the season goes from here, read more