Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Blade of the Immortal


Alternative Titles

English: Blade of the Immortal
Synonyms: Mugen no Juunin
Japanese: 無限の住人

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 14, 2008 to Dec 29, 2008
Premiered: Summer 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Bee Train, Kodansha
Licensors: Media Blasters
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.881 (scored by 18,183 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41612
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1904
Members: 45,311
Favorites: 124

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 31, 2009
Ravenroth (All reviews)
I will start by saying that, having read the manga, I was very excited when I heard that there was going to be an anime adaptation, and I had high hopes/expectations for it. It is possible that my review will be biased in that regard. That being said, I'll begin my review.

Art: The art was, in my opinion, not bad. The character designs were true to the manga, I didn't notice any particularly huge problems with inappropriate scenery or just general sloppiness. However, this anime was based on a very violent, sword-fight laden manga, but there were few fights scenes read more
Jan 26, 2009
Qualtagh (All reviews)
Preliminary
I should start off by saying that this anime is great. It has involved characters, a solid plot, and wonderful art. But watching this show would be a horrible mistake. The manga surpasses it in every way, and watching Blade of the Immortal will do nothing but spoil the plot.

It's evident that a lot of time and effort was put into doing the manga justice. However, the nuances and subtleties which make Samura's work so great are simply not suited for anime. The mangaka himself was originally against animating Blade of the Immortal. I can't imagine why read more
Sep 14, 2012
Anyanka (All reviews)
I will assume you have read the Synopsis and you can assume this has nothing to do with the manga.
===

Story: W a l k. Talk. Hack. Slash. Splatter blood. Repeat.
Sound: huh?
Character: What can you expect from a guy with a sword? Read story.
Art: If you like red, you might like this.
Enjoyment: Does it look like I had a good time?
Aug 24, 2008
Moritsune (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yes, I have only just watched the first episode, I know that normally I would have no right in the least to write a review, but this is a special case. It is special because Blade of the Immortal is by far my favorite manga (sorry Berserk), period. When I first turned a friend onto the manga, he said to me, "Wow, thy could never make this into an anmie." He was right. From the wonderful sketched art (that has not been recreated in the anime) to the believable relationships amid complete madness (which I can already see are going to be screwed by the read more
Nov 1, 2008
Grimmm (All reviews)
Preliminary
Blade of the Immortal. By first glance at the title, you'd think that the show would be pretty cool, but unfortunately after 1 episode you would be immensely disappointed.

Blade of the Immortal follows the story of a guy named Manji. Manji is a samurai who is known to have killed over 100 men and lived to tell the tale. To put it simply, he's immortal. In the beginning, a girl named Rin hires Manji as her bodyguard as she travels to get revenge on the people who killed her family. The overall basis of the story isn't all that bad, but everything else makes it read more
Oct 20, 2008
Kaos_Okami23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ive watched 6 of the episodes so far and i can tell you that this is a must see anime. If you like anime like Rurouni kenshin then this will be your new obsession. Its got fighting, blood, great story, great music, its got it all. The main character Manji is so intriguing with his story of redemption. Very similar to rurouni kenshin in my opinion but its way better. I love during the fight scenes this really good but weird to some music comes on it really intensifies the fights.Seriously if you were hesitate to watch this one, dont be you will not regret read more
Aug 23, 2009
mokunica22 (All reviews)
Stroy:

About anime:

Violence!
Violent is not definite for the kids, but for an older audience.
Nicely developed historical drama, but the theme unfortunately I have to say that I saw in anime called Samurai Champloo. This anime is quite cold, and similarities with the Samurai Champloo (revenge) again has no similarity in the drawing, the main characters and the coarse of this anime.

The main character is a serious violator who is not good, even do some people may call it good because helped one girl and she seeks revenge.
For this young girl, he shows little of its goodness that is left in him.
But what is read more
Dec 17, 2008
ShadowBlazer3000 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I will say that this is based on one episode, however it is my firm belief that the first episode should be the absolute best of the series next to the final. If the first episode can't hold you, than a series has problems, and this was the case.

If you have read a certain amount of my other reviews by now, you will know that I am a huge BEE TRAIN fan, but I wasn't too excited over their acquiring of a new anime of this nature. I was expecting already from the start a bloody mesh of pointless violence and read more
Nov 4, 2008
kamy (All reviews)
Preliminary
the most poor adaptation which is, the worst of enliven which is, the opening is whole program. animation is very poor, the chara is ridiculous, flat narration, yes I detest this enliven and however I continue to look at it but I find nothing of definitely this poor man majin even (which is obliged to kill his adversaries in the back) the worst swordsman is who is it is void! veils my very personal opinion I recommend it to nobody, kurozuka am much better (I know this has got nothing to do but I wanted to write it....
May 3, 2013
khunter (All reviews)
Blade of the immortal is a short 13 episode anime about an immortal samurai who because of past evil deeds must kill 100 evil men to free himself of this curse. So he meets this girl, and the two form a sort of friendship/partnership as he helps kill these evil men for her. The art is pretty decent though it feels right for the anime. You get a whole kind of classic feel from it. It takes place during samurai times japan so i suppose anywhere before 1868. The story really is simple, but it has elements of good and evil and a story that read more
Oct 31, 2015
MonroeAnime (All reviews)
Story, 3/10: The story suffers from poor pacing, there are times when the show will cut to a random event or random people and never explain what's going on.
on top of that the story takes a long time in the beginning to get moving, only to rush to a disappointing end. A character out for revenge joins with another that's immortal because of a curse/spell, nothing new there.

Art, 5/10: The art, for me at least, was average. The main characters and villains were the most notable nothing else really caught my eye, my biggest gripe would be battle scenes....apparently they've decided to not read more
Nov 26, 2009
mathi4s (All reviews)
Preliminary
For start I got to say that Ive only seen the first episode so far, so take this as a review of the first episode.

Iv heared a lot of good about this anime so i thought Il check it out and it really looked promising at least at the beginning, there was a lot of blood with erotic elements in it. You cant go wrong with that or can you? If blade of the immortal proves something then that, that everything is possible.

The story takes place in feudal japan i got to say a i like that era a lot and normally also animes read more
Jul 15, 2012
WaifuStealer69 (All reviews)
I don't even know where to begin with this. Although I haven't read the manga, I do know that it is still on-going and is most likely way better than this pile of garbage was.

Basically this show is just bloodshed, ecchi scenes, a plot that is never finished or solved, and some badass looking characters all combined into one pile of shit.

I enjoyed watching the bloodshed, some of the ecchi scenes, and the storyline progress, but that all gets shoved under a rug once you see how it ends. Nothing explained, nothing happens, just ends completely idiotic and was a waste to watch.

I'm read more
Nov 3, 2012
qwertybob300 (All reviews)
The anime is good but we only get to see 13 episodes of this anime from a massive manga series that is around 30 volumes. It is essentially just the prologue of the story and doesn't get into the story, it just sets the premise for it. I don't recommend this series because from what I hear the Manga is amazing (And it does look amazing!) but the anime is only the first 6 volumes and the 7th volume is where an awesome villain is introduced and where the story really picks up. For me, I buy manga, not read it online and if I'm read more
Oct 3, 2011
TWM (All reviews)
Overall this is a pretty sad series. I don't mean sad emotionally, I mean it's pathetic. There isn't any real saving grace about it, it's not even an average action series because the actions scenes were pretty lame. It won't thrill you, but it won't kill you either. The story offers no real resolution, you're just cut off in the middle wondering what should have happened next. The music can be grating at times and ruin moments while you're watching, so that's a killer. The animation and art style is simply generic, it's typical of this type of series. If there were more action scenes read more
Apr 14, 2016
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Focusing on Manji and Rin's quest to slay members of a group of master swordsmen called the Itto-ryu out of atonement and revenge respectively, Blade of the Immortal attempts to explore the moral ramifications faced with killing and the ramifications of not being able to die, the latter being the case for Manji as his body is infested with a plague of bloodworms that grant him immortality. However for 13 episodes, the scope of this title's story is a bit too grand for only 13 episodes.

To make things short and sweet, Blade of the Immortal's manga source material offers up a good deal of fleshing read more