Tonikaku Kawaii


TONIKAWA: Over the Moon For You

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: TONIKAWA: Over the Moon For You
Synonyms: Generally Cute, Fly Me to the Moon
Japanese: トニカクカワイイ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2020 to Dec 19, 2020
Premiered: Fall 2020
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Seven Arcs
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 235109235,109 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #6562
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #348
Members: 451,108
Favorites: 6,330

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 18, 2020
RebelPanda (All reviews)
If you have extreme opinions about Tonikawa: Over the Moon For You, I suggest you do not read this review; it may make you angry.

I will fully admit I am not the target audience of this anime. Even though it made me want to die, I finished it so you don't have to.

One cold winter night, a high school student named Nasa gets hit by a truck. Lucky for him, a girl intervenes and saves his life. It's love at first sight. He instantly confesses his love for her. The girl, Tsukasa, agrees to become his girlfriend, but only if they get married read more
Dec 18, 2020
Stark700 (All reviews)
This year, 2020, had a strange phenomenon of rom-coms. We had ‘Science Fell in Love, So I Tried to Prove It’ at the beginning of the year, where the idea of romance became an experiment as part of its storyteller. Spring dropped us into a fantasy world of reverse harem and otome tropes with My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Led to Doom. And of course, let’s not forget Summer 2020 that gave us ‘Kanojo, Okarishmasu’ a rom-com with relationships based on lies. Fall 2020 decided to give us a truthful romantic comedy of a married couple, and by marriage, I mean commitment read more
Oct 23, 2020
dadnaya (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tonikaku Kawaii is a masterpiece, and for a romance fan I believe it hits all the right buttons.

The problem that usual romance anime have is that they usually focus on the "chase" part, and the whole hook is "Will they won't they [get together]". As a result, we get a 1 cour anime with an ending that hopefully has them holding hands, and usually they're not even getting together. ("Go read the manga" ending)

Luckily for Tonikaku Kawaii, we're getting a married couple from the get go. Which means we're effectively eliminating the "chase" part that we have seen so many times and skip a few read more
Dec 18, 2020
Arin-san (All reviews)
"You don't get married because you've proven you're in love... You get married so you can prove it." - Yuzaki Nasa

First, one thing I want to make clear is that if you don't like simple romance with no drama, then you need to stay away from Tonikawa, because it's definitely not for you. Anime like OreGairu will suit you better.

The beauty of Tonikawa lies in it's simplicity. It's not just another wholesome fluffy rom-com, it's much more than that. What I think makes Tonikawa the perfect rom-com for me is that how the romance isn't dragged out, there is little to no drama, which read more
Dec 18, 2020
KANLen09 (All reviews)
"If you marry me, I'll go out with you." - The (Princess Kaguya-ish) waifu material, Tsukasa Tsukuyomi: The modern-day sequel story of "The Tale of the Bamboo-Cutter's Wife".
"Yes!! With pleasure!!" - The simp (that's not so simp) husbando material, Nasa Yuzaki: The man who'll achieve the speed of light faster than NASA!
That's the only story plot "full of love and dreams" you need to know, an overnight done deal, and truly "faster than the speed of light".

If you're wondering what Tonikaku Kawaii is all about, this is Hata Kenjirou (Hayate the Combat Butler!) flexing his marriage to Asano Mayumi (Sore ga Seiyuu!) in early 2018, read more
Oct 23, 2020
Mistrals_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Girls are this soft?! Human hands are this warm... and feel this good? This is marriage?! It's fantastic!"
-Nasa Yuzaki

Ladies and gentlemen, the year is 2020, and 'pandering to incels' is still a viable business strategy. I'm not gonna make any friends for this one but... Tonikawa is real bad.

This show popped on my radar while reading through the list of Fall 2020 seasonals. I thought to myself "I could go for a cute romance show -- I love those", and quickly threw it on my list. It would be fun to develop on two essential strangers living together and having to build a relationship from read more
Oct 23, 2020
xamantra (All reviews)
Preliminary
"I let my guard down and stumbled across the fate that awaited me. I didn't have words for it. Tonikaku Kawaii!"
~ National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 2020

TLDR: I like it overall. The comedy is quite enjoyable. I'm a sucker for romance so marriage from the start is absolutely a hit for me.

1. Most romance plot is like boy meets girl, boy likes her, a few episodes later, the girl started liking him and takes lots of episodes and character development to confess. Some don't even end up sailing.
2. But what if it's the reverse? Confess and marry first and character development comes after?

#2 Sounds fucked read more
Dec 18, 2020
Bloomberry (All reviews)
I don’t understand the praise for this.

Tonikaku tries to be different and yet it falls short. Actually, scratch that. It falls FAR from being any different from any rom-com that I’ve seen. It attempted to mix up the order of a cliche and yet it still is the cliche. The show doesn’t know what it wants to be itself and there is near to nothing redeemable about the show. I have plenty of reasons why, as well. Let's dive in, shall we?

TL;DR at the bottom

Story

One look at the plot reveals that there’s nothing special. In summary, the protagonist, Nasa, gets really smart and later sees read more
Oct 23, 2020
Ronsuma (All reviews)
Preliminary
:: This review is based on the first 4 episodes and has no major spoilers ::

Imagine you have your shit together in life, nothing can stop you. You have worked hard ever since you were a kid to make sure you’re successful. Until one day while walking back to your home, you see this beautiful girl, who just takes your breath away. You want to talk to her but get in an accident before you could. Thinking it is your last moments, you confess to her and she agrees to go out with you on one condition. You have to marry her.

I know right? Sounds read more
Oct 23, 2020
Snowstrife (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is a generic Rom Com...so what?

With what seems to be a great anime adaptation, we can expect great things from this anime moving forward just like a Truck-Kun. With an all-you-can-eat lovefest, I have already fallen in love with an MC that understands that scams don't matter if there is a cute girl involved. Our two happily married lovestruck protagonists are very different than your usual nice guy accidentally tripping face-first into a lewd position with tsundere girlfriend.

Story
I love romance, and I love romance when it's executed right. With a humorous and lovable approach, we see this anime quickly break the barrier of read more
Oct 26, 2020
co111s (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the ultimate wish-fulfillment fantasy garbage. I can't believe so many people have bought into this trash. This has got to be the cringiest most overrated series I've seen in a while.

I dont know, when you got two eccentric main characters getting together in the first episode, and little to no drama, it should make for a good slice-of-life romcom, right? Well...


Story: Yet another "Guy gets the girl" show. It should be obvious given the cover art and from one look at this show. The show centers around main characters Yuzaki Nasa and Tsukuyomi Tsukasa. After getting hit by a truck, Nasa is read more
Nov 5, 2020
debochca (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't know where to start with this, and I don't know what i'm going to do next. Oh, wait, now I can understand what these guys felt when they made this anime. Geez.

I have to state that I don't really like this type of anime. Not a huge fan of rom-com animes; I don't despise them though. But this series kind of made me feel like if I did. The premise is pretty original, I must say: a mysteryous girl comes right out of nowhere and saves a guy's life and he, in repay, talks to her and kind of fall in love in read more
Jan 8, 2021
literaturenerd (All reviews)
I was going to review Rose of Versailles, but I decided to binge this somewhat polarizing series on a whim. Most of the reviews I've read are either super positive and in the 8-10 range or super negative in the 2-3 range. I personally came down somewhere in the middle. I don't think this show is good by any means, but I also don't think it's offensively bad. It's just frustrating because it had so much untapped potential.

How many beloved anime couples are actually married? Really think about it. I guess Holo and Lawrence from Spice and Wolf get married in the last chapter of read more
Dec 18, 2020
IshigamiCrisis (All reviews)
Review: Minor spoilers ahead

Guess which quote is in this anime!! Is it:

A. "Your skin... is like an iPhone X.”
B. "Something awakened in the boy that day."
C. "He recalls the body warmth he felt yesterday."
D. "I managed to get lots of cute underwear thanks to you"

If you answered all of them, you are correct!!

Picture ‘Rocket Boy’ (Nasa) telling a story to his future children. It will be something along the lines of “This is the story of how I met your mother...I was holding my only talent in my hands when I saw a random woman. Then I got hit by a truck, went read more
Nov 1, 2020
That__Guy (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Truck-kun failed to isekai me, so I married a hot teenage girl I happened to see walking down the street that night." That should be the title of this anime; a literal summary of the story. (There's a TL;DR at the bottom for convenience.)

The story all happens in episode 1 and can be summed up in a paragraph:

The main character, Nasa, decides to work really hard and becomes the top student with a guaranteed excellent future. He sees a girl walking down the street in the middle of the night, decides to cross the street to talk to her, and gets hit by one of read more
Oct 31, 2020
serith101 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So for the positives the animation and sound are fine and are the high points for the show. The characters look like their source material, and the animation isn't berserk cgi, but the art isn't anything noteworthy and you'll see the same style just about everywhere else. Nothing from the sound really stood out as being good or bad.

I honestly find it hard to classify this anime as any particular genre. The comedy portion is generally very poor and is more a cringe factor than comedic. There is also the reliance it has on borrowing from other works, nothing wrong with well used parody but read more
Nov 23, 2020
Lolicon (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm going to.keep it short and simple, as that's how the anime is. This show is hot garbage and it's similar to watching little children play house in every way, shape and form. From the guy getting dragged around to the girl not knowing when to give it up. From falling in obsessive love so easily to then having zero character or relationship development. I could go on. It's an anime about adults playing the children's version of house. And it won't change because that's exactly how the manga is, episodic. The author of the manga, the same one that brought us Hayate Combat Butler, read more
Dec 18, 2020
Esmera (All reviews)
Author: Dude, I just thought of a completely original concept for a new anime/manga!! It’s going to be a super cute romcom with a genius male MC and a beautiful, perfect female MC that everyone would want as their waifu! You know how the audience would eat that up, just look at how popular Mikasa is cause she’s so hot and strong even though she has next to no personality besides occasionally screaming, “EREN!!”

Editor: Ok sure, that sounds decent so far…but what’s the “original concept” you’re thinking of?

Author: But wait, there’s more! Instead of having the MCs get together in the very end, I’ll give read more
Oct 27, 2020
SkyMercer00 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Didn't expect the story to be this good since they got married in the first episode. But now that I'm rethinking it, marriage is better than BF-GF relationship

the author left no room for us to breath...this Kawaii story can even make a man blush.....Sooooo gooooood

Unlike ANY(EVERY) other Anime, this one has a Reversed plot, where the MC gets married first then Character development, which leads to a good and enjoyable story

Unlike other Romance Anime, this one easily catches us(especially boys) off guard with its Romance theme and comedy. There's another thing that there are chances of breakup in a relationship but in this case, things read more
Dec 19, 2020
LordSozin (All reviews)
There are people out there that wish for an anime like this. An anime that disregards the fundamental notion of a relationship. These anime were written to appeal to people who have no idea or concept of romance between two characters and how they’re explored, developed, and executed. All they care about is the end goal that satisfies their inner fantasies. If you’re the type of person that’s mature and wants a fulfilling romance comedy anime, then please avoid this trite, and quite frankly, boring show. Exert all of your wills to suppress your desire to click and potentially watch this anime because read more