Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hametsu no Mars


Alternative Titles

English: Mars of Destruction
Japanese: 破滅のマルス

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2005
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: WAO World
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Horror
Duration: 19 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 2.341 (scored by 27,156 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #108822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2082
Members: 38,833
Favorites: 220

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 30, 2009
Foggle (All reviews)
This is by far the anime medium's magnum opus. Mars of Destruction is the best animated movie I've seen in years, if not ever. In terms of science-fiction related media, this blows other greats such as Heinlein's works, Battlestar Galactica, and Neon Genesis Evangelion out of the water. Truly an experience I will never forget, and oh, what an experience it was!

Story: 10/10
This film is highly philosophical. I actually felt regret when the Big Bad Ancient Guy told Random Armored Cop Dude that the humans were the true invaders of Earth. This plot twist was stunning and, on the whole, thought-provoking. It was like something read more
Jan 21, 2009
zStorm_Dukez (All reviews)
After watching this, I just felt that I simply HAVE to write a review for this masterpiece. Why is this a masterpiece, you ask? Simple, because it's the only Sci-fi/Horror anime which ever made me laugh so hard.

Story:
The story... Wait, what was the story again? Apart from whatever that was said in the synopsis, there is pratically no storyline at all, it's just about a bunch of girls working for the police fighting off the 'Ancients' alongside a guy who was forced to wear a suit developed by his father to fight the 'Ancients', and how much killings they saw on the way while delivering read more
Jun 10, 2015
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[Death of an Anime Viewer]

Ivan was your average, everyday, normal viewer, he had just finished his latest anime series, and was searching for a new one to watch. While, reading the reviews of several shows on MAL, he came across the infamous Mars of Destruction.

He had heard many horrible stories, regarding this particular animation. He read the reviews and noticed that many people called it "the worst anime ever.”

He thought to himself, “This can’t possibly be true. Even the worst anime has one redeeming feature. I have to see this for myself.”

He immediately typed in the words “Mars of Destruction” in Google and read more
Nov 3, 2014
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Today I had the sudden inspiration to write a review on the unfathomably glorious and unparalleled masterpiece that is mars of destruction. Here is a breakdown of why mars of destruction is THE most epic anime ever created.

Plot
The story is one of the best I have ever seen. Martians invading the Earth for absolutely no properly explained reason? Wonderful! The main protagonist, Takeru, having to fight these creatures and endure the pain brought about by the mars suit which he wears? So dramatic! And the female characters are part of a well designed special alien fighting group called the AAST with Takeru, and they read more
Jan 27, 2009
5layer (All reviews)
This anime is...not very good. In fact...it's sculpted out of shit. The only reason somebody could ever watch this show is because it is the most lowest rated peice of trash on MAL. Heck, that was actually the reason I watched it.

Story: Well, I've seen powerpoint presentations that had more plot than this anime. Even a video of someone playing tetris may very well have more plot. Unfortunately for this anime, its "plot" was the best thing about it.

Art: Seems as though the developers took every single opportunity they had to NOT move the characters...not move anything in fact. The beginning credits seem good as read more
Feb 6, 2009
KaminaKai (All reviews)
"Give me back my precious 19 minutes that I've wasted!"

Wow, talk about low quality production. I hate to rate a show badly but I feel the scores I gave it is justified. Actually, this OVA does not even deserve to be reviewed (I end up wasting a lot more minutes typing this than the 19 minutes for the show). However, just so that hopefully no one else will suffer what I suffered, I'll write down my sincere thoughts about this anime only known as Mars of Destruction.

At first, the synopsis reminded me of the epic PC game series known as "Doom". Monsters from Mars... invasion read more
Jul 10, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
This anime seems very bad on the surface. Blood shows up as a solid red substance that explodes into a pillar out of a character’s neckhole. This anime has that dumb shaky camera thing that was used in the movie Cloverfield, except nobody is filming this, so what the fuck? It’s not just the camera thing, characters look like they’re vibrating whenever they try to walk or move any part of their body. One possible explanation that I came up with is this: in the futuristic world of this anime everyone has seizures when they try to move. This is probably due to inbreeding that read more
Aug 29, 2009
realadultman (All reviews)
Mars of Destruction was one of the most insightful OVAs I've ever come across. Everything in it felt meaningful and deep. All the various unique and clever metaphors were astonishing.

With a well constructed, thought-provoking story, interesting characters, and incredible animation, Mars of Destruction is one of the most worthwhile pieces ever in the history of anything.

Story!
The story follows a guy that is forced, by his dad, to fight evil creatures from Mars with a powerful suit - completely unaware of a complex conspiracy. It's really original and intriguing.
What stands out the most about Mars of Destruction is how thoroughly it examined all angles of read more
Feb 21, 2009
MoMo-Da-Gr8 (All reviews)
I decided to watch this because of many people were saying it was bad. I actually had no other intention. While I was watching this, the only thought I had was: "Why the fuck was this even aired?" It was THAT horrible.

Story: 1/10 (Because I cant give it a zero)
There isnt a story. What the hell were they thinking even writing a synopsis? There isnt a plot. Zero. None! NOTHING. Ok. Aliens attack earth, its so cliche, but they never even explain why, who the 3 random girls fighting the aliens are, and who the friggin kid in the suit is. The OVA read more
Oct 19, 2013
Takuya_Kanbara04 (All reviews)
Presenting a Phantomhive review of [Mars of Destruction] for your reading pleasure.

Story (1): The Story is short and concise yet packs a powerful punch to the gut, quite literally one feels like they were punched by a horse after watching it. It is so simple to understand that even a 3 year old child can magically learn the phrase: "Stop torturing me!"; perhaps the greatest means to control a child in the modern age where it is now socially frown upon to whip a child.

Art (1): The art is on a whole new level, it gives us all an appreciation of how difficult it is read more
Aug 27, 2010
versx (All reviews)
This is the best title I've ever seen. The second 10 score in my rating since Rebuild 2.22.
Neophytes and schoolchildren won't understand, so I'll explain sense of this show-for-all-times.

Obviously it is none other than delicate parody on 95% of anime series. Mars of Destruction includes most of anime cliches, and all of them are made in 20 minutes.
I'll try to recall some of those moments, which drove me into ecstasies.

First of all, bunch of nameless multicolored-hair girls as the Super Defending Power of Earth. In other titles their names are generated via randomizer ans nobody remembers them, but here this problem is solved.
Then, the greatest read more
Oct 17, 2012
Stellio (All reviews)
"A catastrophic success"

Brought to us with deeply enchanting thoughts of science fiction and a twist of quirky humor, Mars of Destruction demonstrates exactly what the animation industry lacks these days: a sense of sarcastic Japanese comedy. Why do I say Mars of Destruction exemplifies the epitome of funniness? Everything about it is so terrible that you are chuckling, frustrated, or amused at the overly large level of appalling abominations.

Just looking at the premise and seeing how several teenager females and a high school male managed to progress into supers soldiers fighting big, bad, giant alien monster; the audience is prostrated with a highly conceptual read more
Feb 19, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
I simply could not resist writing a short review for what is truly a one-of-a-kind anime. Mars of Destruction is unlike any anime you have ever seen before; it is an indescribable experience that is hard to put into words, but I will do my best.

Why does this anime receive a 1/10? Because we are not allowed to give 0/10 ratings. Mars of Destruction isn't just bad, it is hypnotically bad. Fascinatingly awful. Spectacularly dreadful. Not a single imaginable aspect of this 20 minute OVA was done even remotely right. The fact that something this laughably stupid exists is an absolute anomaly.

The plot? There read more
Oct 1, 2012
SeibaaHomu (All reviews)
Mars of Destruction is the lowest rated anime on this website. People are constantly talking about how terrible it was so I had to check it out. I thought that it couldn't be as bad as they were saying. Now that I've finally seen it, I was pleasantly surprised. I now know that it is exactly as bad as they say. Make no mistake, this is hands down the worst anime I have ever seen. But at the same time, I recommend it highly. Why you ask? Let's go in and find out.

The story is about aliens attacking. And then a some guy tries to read more
Jan 5, 2014
romansparta (All reviews)
Before I begin, I should say that this is my 1st anime review. Of course, you've probably read countless reviews praising this anime's beauty. Mine is probably no different, as it simply states the truth. No anime that I've watched previously has evoked such strong emotions as Mars of Destruction, except maybe Tenkuu Danzato Skelter Heaven, which was made by the same amazing people as Mars of Destruction. I would give this amazing show a 11, but unfortunately MyAnimeList limits the score at 10. This anime is truly the pinnacle of Japanese animation.

Story: 10/10
Where should I begin? Mars of Destruction has probably the most interesting read more
Oct 31, 2013
Area51 (All reviews)
This is a review compiled by the many members of the VIA (Value In Anime) Graveyard Division. All members who have worked on this review are mentioned at the bottom. In addition, this review will also contain a “Value in the Anime” section detailing life lessons and values that make this anime worth watching.
-------------------
Mars of Destruction is an anime often said to be the worst anime ever made, an opinion backed up by it's abysmally low score. Despite its many flaws, however, there are still reasons to take the time to watch it.

Story: This is one of the best parts of Mars of Destruction, though read more
May 26, 2010
hentaiwarl0rd (All reviews)
Let me start off by saying that I do not regret spending any of the 19 minutes that I spent on this show. In just less than half an hour, I was taken on an unforgettable journey that compelled me to think about humanity as a whole as well as individual responsibility. I can clearly say that Mars of Destruction has made me a better person and a happier one too.

Story 10/10- Very thought-provoking and metaphorical. I would name a handful of the plethora of symbolism prevalent in this masterpiece, but I can't think of any at the moment. When it was revealed that humans read more
Jul 29, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
By now, I think it's fair to say that Mars of Destruction is one of the most incompetently put together anime of this current millennium, if not of all time. As a result, it has become somewhat of a meme in its own right; A punchline of sorts. Whenever a friend asks you for a quick and probably painless bad anime that they can laugh at for a bit, this is probably your go-to choice from gut instinct alone. As such, it's been widely mocked and brutally analyzed to kingdom come. So, why make a review of it? Simple; because if you know me, you read more
Feb 28, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
I beseech my readers, please; bear with me and finish reading this review, so that you too can take part of this experience.

"The wisest man is he who understands that he understands nothing".

I have embarked on a journey. A journey of understanding, set upon by all sides by the naysayers and those who seek to cause me to stray from my path. I stand firm to the end though; it is I who choose my own fate, and entangle myself in this intricately and masterfully crafted web of deceit, betrayal, and the meaning of life itself.
The story kept me mystified and engaged up read more
May 21, 2015
el_cecece (All reviews)
The only thing I give it credit to this "anime" it's for the highly philosophical content. This really makes me question myself "what the fuck i'm doing with my life? why i'm watching this?".
Well, after that I realized the "director" of this "anime" it's the same of Skelter-Heaven, another ode to garbage, I refuse to believe that this wasn't made intentionally bad. It can't get any worse because seriously, IT CAN'T.
Forgive them, Beethoven...