Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Batman: Gotham Knight


Alternative Titles

English: Batman: Gotham Knight
Synonyms: Batman Anime
Japanese: バットマン ゴッサムナイト

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 6
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 8, 2008
Producers: Cyclone Graphics
Licensors: Warner Bros. Japan
Source: Other
Duration: 12 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.041 (scored by 13,110 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #36212
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3021
Members: 21,844
Favorites: 60

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 8, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
As a big fan of Batman and an obvious fan of anime, Gotham Knight was definitely something I had been looking forward to. While fun to watch though, this series of shorts kind of left more to be desired... then again, considering it's to lead into The Dark Knight, that may be a good thing.

STORY - It's kind of hard to review six standalone works all at once while simultaneously trying to be succinct, but I don't think I have the attention span right now to detail each one individually (and I'm long-winded enough as it is). The shorts collected within Gotham Knight are supposed read more
Jun 29, 2008
renegade (All reviews)
Gotham Knight is the best North American and Japanese collaboration in the production of an animation. It is neither an anime nor a cartoon, but a perfect blend of the two. After watching this it created even more anticipation for The Dark Knight live action film that will soon continue the story. The DVD has Japanese directors, American writers, Japanese and American Artists (who are also writers and directors, but also do animation and character design), and American Producers. One cool note that I found was that Emma Thomas one of the producers is Christopher Nolan's wife, and she produces most of the films that read more
Jul 4, 2008
Chag (All reviews)
So, the much-anticipated series of animated batman shorts are finally upon us, and if you think it's just merely an excuse of the animators to flex their muscles while riding on the upcoming film's popularity, don't -- Batman: Gotham Knight is a great synthesis between visual artistry and storytelling, making it spectacle not to be missed.

The story of the six shorts follow the life of Bruce Wayne after he takes up the task of Gotham city's shadowy protector. Some of the them are closely connected chronologically, while others are temporally isolated from the events of the other shorts. While our hero still has to stop read more
Aug 29, 2016
Romantic18 (All reviews)
If you have ever wanted to see anime-esque Batman, you'll get your wish with Batman: Gotham Knight. Produced as a combination-collaborative project between Japanese and American animation studios, Batman: Gotham Knight is collection of six short animated segments/stories each with their own unique art style and interpretation on the caped crusader. The film is extremely similar in comparison and format to The Animatrix (2003).

Might I also add that this film once again features Kevin Conroy as Batman. He is known as the man who has been coined the character's most iconic and long-lasting voice. He has been playing the caped crusader read more
Jun 30, 2008
futuresex (All reviews)
It's the goddamn Batmanime!

Just some quick comments here -- the first episode is probably the weakest of the lot, the art style is a 50/50 gamble. It's either gonna make it or break it for you. This is especially true you watch it with friends who don't see much anime.

Anyways, if you DO hate it, just keep watching -- you won't be dissapointed. It gets much better the more you watch. Each episode runs for about 12 minutes, done by a different art studio. My fave episode was probably the 5th one - "Working Through the Pain". Most of you will probably think the same. read more
May 7, 2017
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
What can I say? I'm a Batman fan. Though the "real" fans might run me over the coals for saying so. I like the movies, the animations, and have read my fair share of the more popular graphic novel compilations, but I don't have the gall to dedicate myself to the entire mythos. Regardless, Batman is runner-up to Spider-Man for my favorite western superhero, and the important thing is he maintains that status through the sheer great concept that's kept him going. More so a modern take - the gritty neo-noir detective stories set in a city as black and grimy as tar. I'm sure read more
Nov 15, 2016
ProfaneValkyrie (All reviews)
No spoilers (or only very minor)

Batman: Gotham Knight, seems like a very western cartoon but if you look closely and feel, you will quickly realize why this one is still an anime (besides the fact it is created by Japanese staff).
3 major things has to be taken in consideration when deciding to watch this one no matter of big or how little fan you are of batman.
- It is only 6 episodes and every episodes is 12 minutes long which is going to affect the series at whole (lesser frametime, lesser time for plot)
- This anime is somewhat a promotion for the movie Dark knight read more
Jun 29, 2009
yumi15kl (All reviews)
okay when i first heard about this I was really looking forward to it. I mean I love batman but i have to say this really let me down. I mean these are some of the best writers of our time (or at least thats what they kept telling us) and this was the best tehy could come up with
Mar 16, 2014
metalotakuknight (All reviews)
This anime gives a better portrayal of batman,not just as a crime fighting knight but also the very essence of bruce wayne. The awesome thing about this anime is that,the looks of batman changes and so his mentality.some of it's episodes reveals the beginning of batman and how he managed to become the greatest hero of all time .the story is great and so is it's animation.for an avid otaku Gotham knight is a must watch because it changes the perspective of what we call anime.it has potryed batman as the most badassed hero of all time.no other anime character could ever reach read more
Aug 17, 2016
The_Defended (All reviews)
Speaking as a Batman Fan, this is horrid. Speaking as an anime fan then this is brilliant. Batman animated movies and anime are worlds I personally would appreciate to be kept away from each other. So I am going to review the parts which an Anime would normally cover.

The art works were different amongst each section of the movie but overall well drawn for each. A personal favourite would be the second section of this.
The sounds were well placed and well covered for each situation in between the fights and action scenes.

I'd strongly recommend staying away if you are a very strong fan of the read more
Jun 16, 2015
shehrozeameen (All reviews)
It wasn't the best anime of Batman which I've seen to date, but I think that this anime was far better than the Chris Nolan Batman movies in comparison. The stories were all independent in my opinion. While the overall character development in this anime was interesting to watch, it didn't really hold that much value for me because I just felt in a transition.
The artwork was passable, if not average. On the whole, I think it was just able to keep my attention, but not such that I would watch it a second time.
Jul 26, 2016
eminemcome2syria (All reviews)
I went in with an open mind due to the mixed feedback and I can say this little mini-series was pretty good.

The story for each episode varies in quality but overall there was nothing overtly bad, completely serviceable Batman stories.

The cast was pretty standard Batman stuff. You had Batman, Alfred, Lucius Fox, the works. You also had some underappreciated Batman villains like Deadshot and Scarecrow mixed in there. The characterizations were pretty accurate and a fair chunk of the episodes had nice little character bits.

The art was pretty well done overall although I wish more of the bits were as visually interesting as the 1st read more
Jun 3, 2016
Suti_Tooti (All reviews)
Ayy, Go watch: Batman Gotham Knight

Batman Gotham Knight is a 6 part OVA produced with the collaboration of 3 household names: Production IG, Madhouse, and Studio 4C.

I'm not going to spend time summarizing the show, you can find that on Myanimelist or on someone else's blog, but I am going to tell you why I believe Gotham Knight is indeed worth the watch.

Due to the show being made by 3 different studios, there's an insane amount of budget and artistic style put into each story. The animation specifically of episodes 1 and 4 are absolutely phenomenal, and are almost on movie levels of fidelity. The read more