Dragon Quest: Dai no Daibouken (2020)


Dragon Quest: The Adventure of Dai

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Dragon Quest: Dai's Great Adventure
Japanese: ドラゴンクエスト ダイの大冒険
English: Dragon Quest: The Adventure of Dai
German: Dragon Quest: The Adventure of Dai
Spanish: Dragon Quest: La Aventura de Dai
French: Dragon Quest: The Adventure of Dai
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: Unknown
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2020 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2020
Broadcast: Saturdays at 09:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.161 (scored by 1753317,533 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #31832
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2421
Members: 59,545
Favorites: 383

External Links


Streaming Platforms

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 30, 2020
seiyaknight (All reviews)
A classic relived with mastery.
A nostalgic heroic storyline with exciting and well-built characters. It served as a school for most of the shonen who came after him, managing to capture all the magic and rhythm that the plot of the franchise's games have.

The animation and the soundtrack are cool and made with a lot of love. This is the maximum that Toei Animation can offer. The script is faithful to the manga, with some minor adaptations of humor and violence, but nothing to spoil the show.

If you are a novice, take advantage of the raw material that has shaped generations.
Dec 31, 2020
SomeOne456 (All reviews)
This is the story of Dai a young boy who dreams of becoming a hero. This anime chronicles his adventures, the bonds he makes along the way and the struggles he must overcome in order to become the hero he always dreamed of being.
In this journey he learns about the world around him and he learns more about himself, he grows as an individual and becomes stronger as well. He cares deeply for his friends and those important to him, he is a disciple of a man called Avan who’s also the teacher of some of Dai’s friends.
Dragon Quest: Dai no Daibouken (2020) read more
Oct 31, 2020
Kizurk (All reviews)
As a newbie in Dragon Quest universe, I can undoubtedly say that even if this series run for 100+ weeks, I will stick with it.

Dragon Quest (2020) is your typical shounen action anime, but this reboot is absolutely beautiful. This one is also amazing treat for eyes for its clever and well executed cg.



Story : 7/10

The anime has slow first arc, but interesting one. Dragon Quest's world building isn't very different from average shounen, but since it's source is old, no complain about that. But I can easily guess story will be good in future as early signs are showing.



Art : 9/10

As I mentioned before, read more
Jan 20, 2021
DiabloMask (All reviews)
This show is both a reboot, a manga adaptation, and a videogame adaptation at the same time, and I don't mean that in a good way.

Dragon Quest Dai no Daibouken (2020) is a reboot of an anime that was cancelled decades ago and was adapted from a long running manga, why's that important? Because since it's been animated before the people working on this project won't bother putting any effort into re-animating the same thing, so it was expected that they were gonna rush the pacing.

I've made a comparison between the two versions, and so far this reboot managed to fit 30 episodes worth of read more
Jan 6, 2022
King_Of_Heaven (All reviews)
Hello all,
Before I start my review on this series and before you have an idea about this work, if you start reading the comments. My advice to you is to look carefully at the comments that dont evaluate this work well, and you will see that most of them didnt exceed 12 episodes at most! then you have the choice to complete the criticism or not.
For me, I have followed this work since its begining, and to sum it up for you: it is a creativity and a wonderful masterpiece!
Perhaps you witnessed the adventures of Dai when you were young, but this new series came read more
Nov 9, 2021
PhantomTom (All reviews)
This is a classic remade for a new generation that was banking on audiences being a lot smarter than they actually are. This review contains heavy spoilers so read at your own risk.

Dragon Quest: Dai is a classic 80s manga that was one of the most successful mangas of Weekly Shounen Jump at the time, alongside Dragon Ball, which is saying A LOT because the 80s and 90s of Jump was when the magazine almost went bankrupt and a few outstanding series like Dragon Ball, Yu Yu Hakusho, Slam Dunk and, of course, Dai, saved them from that fate to become the titan it is read more
Sep 20, 2021
amostafa (All reviews)
This anime is amazing. The new 3D graphics are wonderull. Although the old music was great, but the new music is epic too. It is not a music but a symphony.

Although the story itself is objected for guys over 13 years old, but we - the generation who have grwon up in 90s watching it - are curious to complete it. The story is exactly the same as what presented before in the old anime in 46 episodes but with a faster rate until we reached ep. 25 which is about 25% from the whole story. Then they started to complete the story.

I read more
Dec 19, 2020
3N437 (All reviews)
I watched this Anime when I was a Kid and it was my Favorite Anime of all time

The story at the first was boring but then it become more interesting so I give it 8/10 for Story

I really Like how they improve the art of this Anime since it's a old anime but when you watch it you gonna feel like it's a new Anime so for Art 9/10

Outstanding Sound 10/10 I really Love Sound Actors and Effects of this Anime this anime got best voice actors for Shounen Anime

I loved Every Characters in this Anime and we Probably miss this characters in New read more
Jun 20, 2021
Fyrefawx (All reviews)
This anime was a hidden gem for me. I grew up in the 90s with Dragon Ball and Sailor Moon. This anime brought those same emotions back. The plot isn't overly deep but it keeps you invested. Dai the protagonist is strong but not absolutely broken like we see a lot lately. In fact, through 37 episodes I've watched so far it's safe to say that you never know if he is going to pull through. Every week I look forward to the next episode and it never feels like a chore to watch. Filler doesn't exist here. Every episode progresses the story in some read more
Dec 20, 2021
Nathann34 (All reviews)
Dude come on, this series is so fucking slept on. Toei is spazzing with the animation and it has a great shonen plot. For a manga written in the 80s, I think it does a great job subverting shonen tropes even if some of the things feel a tad generic. It's a traditional "hunting the Demon king" type story but has so much more, especially when it comes to antagonists. Dai has some of my favorite shonen antagonists to come out of Jump. Especially Hadlar, his development is nuts and will leave you craving more and more badass scenes with him. I'm too lazy to read more
Jun 6, 2021
KubReacts (All reviews)
Dragon Quest Dai is a great anime. It is an adaptation from an old series. It's a shounen at heart and it does it's job well. It's got that classic feeling where you just want to root for the protagonist and see how they're going to win against the next enemy. There's a lot of action and it doesn't use a ton of filler to take up time. It can be predictable at times, but this show is also good at throwing in a twist here and there. If I were a first time anime watcher this would be a wonderful anime to start with. read more
Dec 25, 2020
Terence_7 (All reviews)
I feel like this anime in terms of art and sound is amazing, But in terms of story and character, it's not the same thing let me explain. Let's start with the character: Dai is like other anime character example: save the world be a great hero blah blah so the originality is not at its best But in term of development this anime only has one character that's developed and it's Popp. In the beginning, Popp was scared but now he's the one that's the one that is showing Dai what the way but for the development, I think that Hyunkel will be read more