Super Cub

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: スーパーカブ
English: Super Cub
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2021 to Jun 23, 2021
Premiered: Spring 2021
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Producers: Bandai Namco Arts
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Kai
Source: Light novel
Genre: Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Theme: SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.451 (scored by 2865928,659 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1892
Members: 81,897
Favorites: 668

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 23, 2021
Punkuin (All reviews)
Esoteric ideologies on the jubilation of owning a Honda Super Cub: Embrace materialism and the consumerist worldview to derive happiness and escape our amalgamated depression. Evocating tranquillity through enthralling artistic direction, incorporating subtle visual prompts, coupled with reserved use of melancholic classical works. Affable characters and eloquent dialogue depicts personal growth through sincere adversity; modest in theming. Predominantly pastel palette landscapes are home to consistently detailed designs and graceful animation, particularly in the CGI. Gleaming with artistic integrity and nuanced prose, Super Cub stands at the forefront of modern Iyashikei. Thank you, Honda and Studio Kai, for sponsoring this short review.
Jun 23, 2021
IrrelevantGuy (All reviews)
Watching Super Cub kind of feels like taking a bath. It's a bit plain and simple, yet never fails to soothe you even when you are having a bad time.

Super Cub revolves around high school student Koguma, a timid and lonely girl who has never had anything that she could cherish. As Koguma herself describes, she has nothing—no parents, no hobbies, no friends, and no goals. However, after buying a pre-used Super Cub, she finally finds something that even she could enjoy. The anime chronicles the now adventurous days of Koguma's life, showcasing how vastly she has changed and continues to change.

Super Cub seems like read more
Apr 28, 2021
DimitrovN (All reviews)
Preliminary
I’m a fan of most genres of anime, and love myself a slow paced, wholesome, slice of life anime every once in a while, just to take my mind off of things… And wow has Super Cub surprised me, it exceeded all my expectations, it was love at first episode!

Story - 8
The story is about a second year high school student named Koguma, she doesn't lead a very interesting life. She has no parents, no friends and no hobbies to keep her daily life interesting. One day, she acquires a second-hand Honda Super Cub motorcycle and rides it to school. As time goes by, not read more
Jun 23, 2021
Alfredo_Elric (All reviews)
Mild Spoilers in a marked section

"I have no parents. No money either. Nor do I have any hobbies, friends, or goals for the future. But, where I didn't have anything in my life before.... now I have a cub."

I have always considered myself as a Slice-of-Life enthusiast. I have hardly rated any Slice-of-Life anime lowly but Super CGI has done it. It has broken my streak and that isn't a good thing.

I’m just going to begin with the art. Wow, the character designs are ugly. Just take a look at how Studio Kai draws lines. The lines on Koguma's face makes me think that read more
Jun 23, 2021
Luubie (All reviews)
What's a bike for you? Well, it's a strange question, but at the same time, Super Cub questions this during his episodes. It is peculiar that for some people is just another type of vehicle, which can be used for work or simply take us faster anywhere we want. But is it just that?

Koguma has an experience with a Super Cub, a kind of common motorcycle in Japan, which at the same time would not be such a great achievement for us, but that for her, it is a unique and incredible achievement. She lives in a region right away from the rest of the read more
Apr 28, 2021
yoman21a (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, I have had enough of this crap. I am tired of sitting on this gosh darn masterpiece of an anime.

Those of us watching are currently wrapped up in this absolute gemstone of an anime in a season where it is so easy to be covered up. I am here to unravel this wonderful anime about cute girls scooting.

Before we get into the categories, let me address my first thoughts that made me wary. With all I'm about to say, you may ask "well, who is this being done by?" Well well well, funny you should ask. It's none other than.... *checks notes* Studio read more
Apr 28, 2021
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is just. Something real beautiful about Super Cub. Like you need to understand, that this show, isn't something over the top, it isn't something with tons of action. But what it is, is something that's brilliantly done, and really takes you to a zone, you may have never been before. It's that good to me. I've never felt so more interested then I have within a few episodes then I have with Super Cub. Before I even say any more, honestly go watch it, pick it up and start watching it now.

Story and characters
Both of these fit together. As we follow a poor girl read more
Jun 23, 2021
Stark700 (All reviews)
There are many anime these days telling stories about self-discoveries. I'm talking about a type of show where a protagonist would undergo a dramatic change after meeting new people, experiencing new events, and changes themselves. Super Cub's main protagonist Koguma is one such character, a lonely girl who takes up a Honda Super Cub and begins her own journey.

Watching Super Cub is much more than just following a girl's life and her bike. Let's remember that Koguma is very lonely and starts out the show friendless with no income, friends, or even a future. A person like this would need to set a serious path read more
Jun 23, 2021
ACasualViewer (All reviews)
With various relaxed slice of life series coming to their end I was worried I would not be able to find something to properly replace slow paced shows I watch for relaxation purposes. Thankfully Supercub brings us a warm story of a girl and how a motorbike changed her life. Its worth bringing to your attention that this show is episodic and you should not expect anything significant in terms of plot or overarching story, the show is simply a glimpse into the life of a girl and her friends who bond over their hobby. This review will cover various aspects of the show including read more
May 3, 2021
duskyboris (All reviews)
Preliminary
Had to revise my review because I dropped this show. It's not bad, it's just dull to me. There aren't really any characters. They exist, but they have no actual character, our protagonist is about as interesting as wood, and the fact that the show is just product placement is wearying after a while.

Even in SoL and CGDCT shows, I think it's important to have, at the very least, characters whose personalities can interact with each other in an interesting way. These types of shows usually have stock characters, but they can often get away with it by being charming in the scenarios it read more
May 22, 2021
Cinti1130 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Where can I start? First of all, i know this is not an action anime, there won't be murders, evils, etc., I knew this when I started it.
The graphic is honestly beautiful, i like the animation and the art style.. but for me, the story is very boring. It's a chill anime, and I saw plenty of slice of life anime that were interesting, but this one didn’t pique my interest.
The dialogues are monotonous and for some reason I don’t like our protagonist either. I will finish the anime tho, because i don't really like to stop watching an anime in the middle read more
Jun 23, 2021
GakutoDeathGlare (All reviews)
*This review contains some spoilers*

For the first time ever, I felt compelled to write a review for an anime that has just finished airing. For somebody like myself who just doesn't do this sort of thing, it speaks volumes to how either brilliant and memorable the experience was or the exact opposite, an incredibly off-putting and/or insulting viewing . Unfortunately, I am of the latter for this series. Super Cub. What I was initially hyped for turned out to be one of the most soulless watches I've had, coupled with shameful advertisements of a product throughout the show.

For a slice of life anime to really read more
Jun 23, 2021
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Looking for something to fill that Yuru Camp/Non-non Biyori sized hole in your heart? Look no further, Super Cub is your answer.

Super Cub is not only arguably the best motor scooter ad ever made, it’s a damn good anime and is one of the hidden gems of a loaded season. I watch everything every season, so despite having no expectations for Super Cub, I went in with an open mind. From episode one, I was blown away by just how mesmerising this series is. It’s such a simple concept. Girl with no friends or family going through depression decides to try out a Super Cub read more
Jun 23, 2021
Gween_Gween (All reviews)
Super Cub is an Honda advertisement effort to sell those shiny and useless motorcycles, and it does a good job about it! First of all, I'm not being paid from Honda for this review, so I'm going to be completely impartial about it. Honda is a great company and I have the most respect out of their employees, so if you work for Honda I tell you, have a good life.

Now, going into the review, Super Cub features a glooming teenager called Koguma, whose life is as boring and middle of the pack as it can be. Koguma have no parents, money or friends at read more
May 3, 2021
ZeppeliGo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wow I didn't expect this anime could be this interesting, but I'm really pleasantly surprised, it's very calm and relaxing especially when Koguma smile, you really feel that she is very happy. Her background is kinda sad and strange (she's horphan and lives alone in a house, she says that she has no money, but this doesn't seems so real XD, or anyway not so precise)

By the way I'm really liking also the art, considering that this studio is kinda new, but frames are always full of details and this is something to consider.
I also enjoyed a lot the fact that the grey tone is read more
Aug 2, 2021
Pixeldrum (All reviews)
Super Cub is an attempt at a coming of age story, but places too much damn emphasis on scooters.
Before you come on my profile and say "well dumb dumb, this show IS about scooters." Yes, true. but I really would like to know the main character a bit. Similar to Yuru Camp, there is a lot of emphasis on the "activity" being done, while characters get little to no development other than their base personality traits.
In this case, I really would like to talk about Koguma, our protagonist. While it is true that she does change, make friends, and becomes more cheerful throughout the read more
Jul 7, 2021
bprap (All reviews)
Just like the motorcycle from which it takes the name, Super Cub is many things. It's a slice of life animation, a series of short stories, an advertisement for Honda's iconic Scooter, it's cute girls riding cute motorcycles. But above all else, Super Cub is a love letter to motorcycling, and a truly heart warming work of art.

Devoid of companionship and inner meaning, one's outlook on life is as grey as a winter day. This is where the story picks up with our protagonist Koguma. If you sit back and do nothing, a Cub won't help you. You probably have to have a desire read more
Jun 24, 2021
cheeengm (All reviews)
"No parents. No money, either. Nor any friends, hobbies, or future goals." describe a life of a lonesome young girl. Everything changed when she found a Honda Super Cub.

Personally, I am a huge fan of slice of life anime, especially those which are very slow paced and music genre anime. This anime combined both of my favorites. The scenery - magnificent, the music - nostalgic, the story - masterpiece. The anime is wholesome af, extremely relaxing and throws away all of my stress. Sometimes, it even makes me feel like I am on a journey at the rural areas of Japan.

The anime describe a read more
Jun 23, 2021
Haru_Kobuchizawa (All reviews)
"For every motorcycle, there is a story."

Man, Slice of Life runs through my veins. What's more wonderful than following the daily adventures of cute little girls and their Cubs?
Each episode is fun to watch, the characters are too captivating. My favorite character is Reiko. In addition to being wonderful and cute (like all the main characters), she looks a lot like Mariya Takeuchi, so much so that there is a scene that seems a lot to be referenced to Plastic Love. But the most enjoyable thing to watch is to see Koguma's grayish perspective of everything around you, becoming colorful. The girl who had read more
Jun 23, 2021
RPWPA (All reviews)
I have never seen an anime protagonist with no concrete goal to achieve. Usually, we see ones who have big dreams like becoming the pirate king, a hokage or even a simple one like trying to live peacefully. But never really did an anime present its mc as someone devoid of everything. Someone living her monotonic everyday life with no reason to try and do anything. Super Cub is the story of Koguma, a very simple girl trying to break out of her shell and add more color in her life.

Koguma is a very timid girl. She is the type to eat cold food read more