Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sekirei


Alternative Titles

English: Sekirei
Synonyms: Wagtail
Japanese: セキレイ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 2, 2008 to Sep 17, 2008
Premiered: Summer 2008
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 23:30 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Movic
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Seven Arcs
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.261 (scored by 144,708 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #27102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #346
Members: 277,504
Favorites: 1,623

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 31, 2008
KaminaKai (All reviews)
Sekirei is targeted at male audience, viewers who dislike ecchi/harem anime should look elsewhere. Likewise, those who love fan service should give Sekirei a try. It contains all the "ripped up clothes" scenes, "censored panty" shots, "semi-bare breasts", etc. You will not be disappointed.

It should be noted that while the show does follow the manga quite closely for the most part, the ending of the anime does deviate from the manga a bit.

Story:
Are you familiar with Fate/stay Night? If you are please continue reading this paragraph, if not skip to the next. Upon reading the synopsis, you may find Sekirei's plot to be very similar. read more
Oct 2, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
It doesn’t take a genius to look at the anime page for Sekirei and have a pretty good idea what you are getting yourself into. But I have a weakness for such shows regardless how silly, played out, and clichéd they usually are. I have to say though that with Sekirei I was pleasantly surprised with the results.

The basic premise for Sekirei was interesting to me. In a lot of ways it reminded me of the action movie Highlander, only with tits and asses. The setting is a town in Japan controlled by the massive MBI cooperation. They are administering read more
Jul 18, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Sekirei is an anime that has never been a critical darling! However, my good buddy convinced me to ignore all the critics and give this series a shot. Unfortunately...I kind of have to agree with the popular consensus on this one. Sekirei has enough problems to make it very hard for me to recommend.

Plot and characters:

The plot of Sekirei is that some hot alien chicks crash landed on Earth and an evil corporation is forcing them to pair up with bland males to act as their “masters” and fight each other to the death in a Battle Royale tournament with the winners getting to ascend read more
Sep 11, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
I don't know why people ask me to review harem anime. Yes, I've found a few that I liked, but most of them are heavily misogynistic and treat the women like prizes to be won or vapid automatons that have been programmed to chase after this one very ordinary guy regardless of how he treats them or how obviously he rejects them. Who knows, maybe my general distaste for the genre makes people want reviews to see if their particular one will be one of the exceptions or maybe it's a case of people wanting to see me tear an anime a new one and read more
Nov 27, 2011
artist-retired (All reviews)
Preliminary
Can you believe what they're doing with the pokemon franchise these days? I mean I know the games are getting stale but jeez Nintendo, I didn't think they would go down the fanservice road by turning the pokemon into big boobie bouncing girls that blindly follow their masters... Oh, hold on, this isn't pokemon, it's just another generic harem ecchi show.

STORY: College drop out boy meets a cute boobilicious girl and proceeds to move into a dorm with other girls of different shapes and sizes, and also begins his quest after catching his first Sekirei to become a master or something... Okay that's all I read more
Sep 14, 2008
Grimmm (All reviews)
Sekirei starts out with your typical pathetic male---couldn't get into college, no close friends, no girlfriend, or any hope at all for anything good to happen in the near future l...until that one fateful day. :P

Story - Pretty generic, yet unique at the same time if that makes any sense whatsoever. Like I said, you've got your typical "down in the dumps" male, Minato, who feels like all is lost after not making it into college, but then he meets this girl who instantly connects with him. The girl turns out to be what is called a Sekirei and now Minato is involved in a read more
Aug 12, 2009
animetyphoon88 (All reviews)
Sekirei is a great anime if u love ecchi first of all.It doesnt get much better then this. Almost all of the girls in the show have giant boobs that hang out or show major cleavage. Also they almost all have really short skirts that show panties in action scenes, or panties flash out of the blue. The male main character gets alot of attention from his Sekirei(really hot girls) that make this hot too. The thing that I think makes Sekirei awesome, though is that unlike most ecchi anime, it actuall has an awesome plot and it has awesome action and fighting. Each girl read more
Jul 21, 2009
Duskrados (All reviews)
Important: Forgive my english please. As a french person it's not very easy for me.

Wow!! I'm surprise. I'm not a "harem with overload of fanservice" fan, having be introduce to a lot of crappy show in that context by friends *cough*rosario-vampire*cough**cough*to-love-Ru*cough*. I watch this anime cauze I heard a lot of good comment about it. So here's my review...

Story: You have twelve episodes to tell a good serie and sekirei had done this part almost perfectly. Cauze in that kind of show, usually, you don't have a big original story. The stories are classic being concentrated to provide what I call "overload of fanservice in read more
Apr 22, 2010
Nixzilla (All reviews)
Sekirei is a pretty simple straight foward love-romance ecchie harem anime if you like that stuff then you will love this show if you dont then you will hate it.
I like it because im all for the 4 women likeing 1 dude and trying to out do each other for his love. I also like how the story is simple and easly understood and the fact that all the women are really hot with big brest and short skirts doesnt hurt.

Ok i know this review might not be the best but this was the first time I have ever done a review so please read more
Feb 9, 2009
vault2049 (All reviews)
This is the other type of animes (besides gory and bloody animes) that I often most likely feel like watching. This is an action-echi-comedy anime. It's like any other you've watched (for instance Tenjou Tenge, Ikkitousen) but this one has a more "pokemon-cath 'em style" theme if you know what I mean. I will include full descriptions in this review because I feel that even if I spoil the story or other stuff you will enjoy this anime not because of the story specifically. Also this anime has, halfway through, explicit content, specifically: nudity. So it's not suitable for underage audiences.

The story is pretty read more
May 30, 2012
gettogaara (All reviews)
Sekirei truly suprised me. I started watching it just thinking it was going to be a pure fanservice show with a bad story (Like Queen's Blade lol) but instead I got a very enjoyable adventure. This is my first review here so I'll break each section down.

Story (8)
I was expecting poor plot but instead I got a story that actually really managed to get me involved. Sekirei are basically superpowered chicks and a couple of pretty boys. They select a human to form a bond with in order to bring out their full power. These humans are called Ashikabi's and for the most part seem read more
Feb 9, 2012
Jaften (All reviews)
Preliminary
Where to begin...

This is obviously a ecchi fanservice harem anime. That much is glaringly self-evident. I have no problem with that genre, honest, but this anime was not for me. I dropped it after seeing more than half of it, but I know the rest of the plot by reading spoilers.

I noticed that a reviewer named "Chasekun" compared Sekirei to Fate/stay night. All I have to say in response to that is...

"Are you nuts?! Have you actually SEEN Fate/stay night before, Chasekun?!"

The two couldn't be more different. While, yes, there is a very superficial similarity in the "Masters/Ashikabi with Servants/Sekirei" dynamic and that read more
Aug 13, 2014
Marthgun (All reviews)
Sekirei is actually a pretty generic show in terms of plot, characters, story, and art. The ecchi and harem aspect can immediately put people off. With those things in mind, this is by far one of my most favorite hidden gems in anime that i've found.

b-b-b-but you gave its a 7?? Yes i did, that's b/c the anime isn't finished; there are two seasons and many rumors about a third. This is also the first anime that has made me pick up the manga. If the story were complete, or at least if there were more episodes, this would get read more
Sep 18, 2008
RandomOugi (All reviews)
Sekirei has a very obvious harem premise, so caution is required by those who usually dislike this type of anime: 108 creatures, mostly female, spread all over town are to be either willingly or unwillingly "winged" by human masters through the exchange of bodily fluids, most commonly through a kiss, and engage in a battle royale to decide which pair will win and "ascend together unto heaven".


Story:
The plot is linear and simple, a few mysteries are contained as to the identities and motivations of some characters, as well as the true nature of the Sekirei Plan. An interesting aspect of it is the high degree read more
Dec 12, 2013
Shotaku (All reviews)
After seeing how so many people gave this a really high rating, I had to review.
First off, this show is one of the worst anime series I have ever seen (the other being Upotte!).

Story: The story is extremely lame, seeing as it is about a student who cannot get into college who cannot do anything at all (how original). One day, as he is walking through the city, a random girl just happens to land on him in midst of a battle. Thus, the start of a weird "adventure." One by one, he meets more of these weird girls that become known as Sekirei. read more
Dec 20, 2014
Romantic19 (All reviews)
Sekirei is considered by many to be an underrated gem of its genre. It is definitely a classic harem anime in the sense that we know the main character is not going to pick any of the girls due to his demeanor and the circumstances surrounding the plot. I personally dropped this anime after episode 3 the first time I attempted to watch it. However, after a couple months, I came back to it and it has grown on me, very much so.

For as infamous as this show is for it's very frequent nudity, big-breasted sex-appeal women, and emphasis on Ecchi, Seikirei does actually have read more
Oct 11, 2008
thelostspirit101 (All reviews)
I found this anime a great series. It will push people away from showing it in high school, but if you don't love full echhi this is a nice change from the manga. I loved the overall series because i am a huge elemental fan. If you love elemental animes watch this... it's a nice change not just seeing the basic ones of fire, water, wind and earth but getting into weapons and items not usually seen... over all just great anime and can't wait till sekirei 2
Nov 1, 2016
Mikame- (All reviews)
4 minutes in, the plot has already started and fan service is already happening.
If that's not a great start, I don't know what is.
People like making fun of Minato for failing the entrance exam, not once, but twice. And his luck just seems to get worse, or is it better? It's not real clear.

The Sekirei, mostly girls with abilities who fight each other in secret. Nobody else is allowed to know, besides their partners, called Ashikabi.
There is a lot of fan service, so if you aren't into that, this probably isn't for you. It all plays into the story though and meshes well, since read more
Feb 20, 2018
Castawayz (All reviews)
Review #5: Sekirei

Story 7/10 -- The Story is semi unique I suppose to most action harems. 108 Girls with a variety of skills and martial arts descend onto the city, not only to find each other, but to find compatible masters in which there are many. I think what makes season 1 a good story is that they make the action intense in a series that is life and death for these girls. However I felt that Minato and other masters roles are fairly underused, and the point of this battle royale seems underwhelming by the enemies claims. The dialogue was decent, but I prefer read more
Sep 18, 2008
mcjazzman32 (All reviews)
Fact Number 1: This is for guys, and it's for guys who either love or don't mind ecchi.
Fact Number 2: Sekirei's story is outlandish, absurd and just downright silly.
Fact Number 3: Sekerei is a TON of fun to watch!

I have to say, any anime that has me giggling for ten minutes at the end of the series gets a good score in my book. This anime is just rediculous by all counts, but as long as you don't take it seriously, every episode is so much fun and has tons of ecchi to boot. I can't WAIT for season 2!

That's pretty much it. You can't read more