Tatoeba Last Dungeon Mae no Mura no Shounen ga Joban no Machi de Kurasu Youna Monogatari


Suppose a Kid from the Last Dungeon Boonies moved to a starter town?

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Suppose a Kid from the Last Dungeon Boonies moved to a starter town?
Japanese: たとえばラストダンジョン前の村の少年が序盤の街で暮らすような物語

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 4, 2021 to Mar 22, 2021
Premiered: Winter 2021
Broadcast: Mondays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: LIDENFILMS
Source: Light novel
Genres: AdventureAdventure, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.361 (scored by 5590155,901 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #66242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1057
Members: 146,704
Favorites: 880
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 22, 2021
debochca (All reviews)
Did you want another fantasy with a main character that is perfect, and with a comedy that relies on people screaming and getting hit all the time and girls falling in love with this MC in two seconds? Well, my friend, this is your chance! If you didn’t, run away.

Tatoeba Last Dungeon Mae no Mura no Shounen ga Joban no Machi de Kurasu Youna Monogatari (yes, I had to copy-paste the name because I don’t even know it, lmao, why do they make names like these) is a fantasy anime that is mediocre and poor, but not THAT bad. The story is the same fantasy read more
Jan 25, 2021
AnimeGsus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hearing the synopsis of this anime, I was excited. It sounded like an interesting premise that I have always wondered about in videogames. The issue was the story and character design.

If you want to turn your brain off and watch anime fighting I guess you could, but if you want an interesting story with characters that develop over time and change, this isn't for you.

The crux of the issue is that the story is committed to keeping the protagonist Lloyd ignorant of his strength. I can tell without finishing, each episode will be him doing something "spectacular" while staying completely unaware of his superiority. If read more
Mar 22, 2021
SBL73 (All reviews)
This show is bad. Why you ask, one of the most important things in an anime is the characters and the mc obviously, good animation and sounds are nothing without characters that you will be happy to see, not like this pathetic garbage excuse of an mc Lloyd.
I understand the idea of an op mc who is oblivious about how strong he is and the harem around him (not that I like it too much) but in this show, they took it on a whole new level I am pretty sure that the mc doesn't think that he was in a read more
Mar 22, 2021
flare2127 (All reviews)
Tatoeba Last Dungeon as I'll call it since I can't bother to write the entire name, is an absolute dumpster-fire of an anime.

Lets start off with the story.
First few episodes were decent, it wasn't incredibly fast paced nor was it downright slow. It was doing good. Then after episode 4, everything goes downhill rapidly. The plot was incredibly confusing, fast paced, and overall, shit. In terms of comedy and jokes, they're just nonexistent.

Art and Sound:
Decent, I guess?? There's really nothing to say about them, they're both mediocre and middle-of-the-pack.

The Characters.
Oh boy. I don't know what to tell you besides them being utterly shitty and unlikeable read more
Mar 22, 2021
provenom1 (All reviews)
honestly this anime is the same thing over and over again, OP mc is OP and doesnt know it, this gag is repeated over and over and i get sick of it, it was funny the first 2 times after that every time it happened i wanted to just ditch the anime.

i dont usually drop animes and i was determined to watch this through to the end because i had nothing else to watch on a monday afternoon. the charcters are boring and just a massive cliche with every single cliche haram girl you can imagine, it wasnt even a good cliche because we didnt read more
Jan 25, 2021
DestaLord (All reviews)
Preliminary
After seeing 4 chapters of this anime, I can say that he exceeded my expectations, a protagonist with abilities that surpass anyone who thinks he is weak, an unenthusiastive waifus conqueror. The supporting characters are just as entertaining, they know above all the potential of the protagonist and the kind. The mood of the anime is quite good compared to that of Konosuba or Priccone. The development of these first 4 chapters leaves us with the aspirations of the protagonist, we also find unexpected situations throughout this story, in short a great anime of the best of the season at the moment. Waiting for it read more
Feb 2, 2021
Josh_Bong (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is awful. This is my first review so bear with me, but I just feel like I should warn everyone who is considering watching this show, and explain how dreadful it is.

There are many ways I could describe it but awful is the most generous. Now I enjoy an overpowered MC as much as the next guy but holy cow this show is so boring. From the characters to the monsters, everything just feels lazy. For goodness sake throughout the first 4 episodes, the only monsters we get to see are giant grasshoppers.

Not only are the characters and monsters boring, but read more
Mar 22, 2021
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Comedy is Subjective. And the short answer is simple: Of course it is, don’t be ridiculous. Except when it isn’t. Clear? No? Oh...I thought this was going so well.

Comedy is subjective because different people laugh at different things. That doesn’t mean it isn’t, nor does it mean there’s something wrong with our own sense of humor – it just means it’s not for us. Some people don’t find ‘Monty Python’ or ‘The Hitch-Hikers’ Guide to the Galaxy' funny. They are, of course, wrong because they disagree and that will never do. What’s that? I’m not the centre of the universe nor the arbiter of what read more
Mar 22, 2021
ren0080 (All reviews)
I'll get to it straight away. This is not worth your time.
It's best if you just watch some small clips on youtube or something.

The story follows a boy who believes that he is weak just because everyone else between him is strong. To put it in perspective, he is level 99, while all the others around him are level 100. But because he has low self-confidence, his level gets reduced by 20. (btw, there are no level concepts in the series itself, I was just making an example. Don't misunderstand.)
It's a great and unique concept... but the story itself is just a pile of cliche read more
Jan 25, 2021
CallMeSkid (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright the fourth episode dropped today and if we are lucky, next week that won't happen. I figured that I must be looking at this too harshly and that maybe it was just a light hearted comedy. But even the attempts at satire are cliche and painful. Four episode is really my bottom line and after cringing so hard at the end of this arc, I just have to give it up.

The idea isn't a new one but there is always a possibility that it can be good. Every season of anime has a couple of fantasy titles from small books or manga that pop read more
Mar 22, 2021
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Tatoeba is one of the hidden gems of the season, plain and simple. It’s nothing revolutionary or mind blowing, but it’s fun, and at the end of the day, that’s what anime is about.

What I like most about this series is the fact that it doesn’t take itself too seriously. Tatoeba knows it has an OP protag with a harem and all the generic fantasy tropes that we’ve come to expect from this genre, yet it pulls them off in a satisfying way. The effective use of comedy and banter throughout the series creates a really fun and light atmosphere that makes every episode read more
Jan 25, 2021
lord_of_mangoes (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tatoeba... is for me the hidden gem of this season. For a while now I have tried to find another show that is similar to Konosuba in both it's comedic style and my own enjoyment and I think I have found this series.

The makers of this series are quite knowledgeable about comedy and that is shown how much better the timing and spacing of the jokes is compared to most other comedic series and even the manga this anime is based on. As someone who has performed as a stand-up comedian for more than 5 years, I can truely admire the craft in this read more
Feb 19, 2021
HunterNXJ (All reviews)
Preliminary
First things first. This is a light-hearted comedy. Don't go in expecting deep storytelling and grand adventures. The tags on MAL don't do it justice.

The show is focused on what it wants to tell; the life of this village boy who goes to city. It doesn't pretend to be an epic adventure and it does not have to be. There are bad anime, average ones, decent ones and great ones. This is a decent anime. Nothing more and most definitely nothing less.

The story is about a boy from a village who goes to a city to fulfill his dream of becoming a soldier. He is read more
Feb 7, 2021
veanofficial (All reviews)
Preliminary
Tatoeba Last Dungeon is your not typical isekai type anime. Instead, it adds an interesting twist by also being a gag anime, but this also means that there is no real plot to it.

That's okay since it presents itself as slapstick comedy more than anything else. The jokes are pretty hilarious (in my opinion) but definitely not for everyone. If you are looking for a shonen style anime or an anime with depth, this ain't it.

The characters are very one dimensional but have ridiculous and hilarious backstories which is what drives the show forward. I love the art and animation. The background art is read more
Feb 4, 2021
Mofankri (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, first and foremost. This is not your typical adventurous, thrilling, story rich, etc isekai-like anime. In fact, it weighs more to the comedy aspect. This is not danmachi or such.

From the reviews, everyone can see that they just simply hate it for not meeting their liking requirements.

Okay, back to the series. This series brilliantly combines the typical fantasy story but with many eccentric comedy twists, so don't expect huge action happening. You can imagine konosuba? This one definitely not konosuba, but you can expect the comedy but much more eccentric.

You're disagree with me? Itsokay. It is kinda hard for comedy shows to be accepted read more
Mar 26, 2021
KyleRiley (All reviews)
This anime was one of the most frustrating things I have ever watched. The only reason I watched it all the way through is because I wanted to make sure I got all the terrible-ness for this review, and so that my review actually has some merit.

Let me just start off by saying that the form of "comedy" I hate more than anything is "comedy" that stems from misunderstandings and miscommunications. It infuriates me when a show of any kind draws comedy during scenes or scenarios from misunderstandings… and this anime is literally 90% that form of comedy.

Story: Honestly garbage. It's about a boy who read more
Mar 22, 2021
SanaeK10 (All reviews)
You know, there are two shows with "Dungeon" in the title this season, and I very nearly stayed away from this show due to its stupidly long title and terrible-sounding premise. I never liked the idea of having an overpowered MC be the core of an entire series and I generally dislike harems in the first place. Thankfully, Tatoeba Dungeon is a standout comedy on all fronts and a fun experience all around.

Let's get this out of the way first, yes, the premise of Lloyd being ridiculously overpowered yet unaware is unfunny and the joke is incredibly stale and repetitive. However, unlike most other comedies read more
Mar 2, 2021
CaptureRide (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's a bit difficult to write an accurate review for this one. The reason is that despite how much cringe there is, there are genuinely comical moments. It's like there were two different authors working on the script and one had a great sense of humor while the other had a horrible sense of humor. It's almost as if two different writers were coming up with jokes and gags.

The story seems like there is something there, but possibly just nothing. It's quite bland on it's own and very cliche. OP mc and naive is a horrible combination. I never thought I could enjoy a show read more
Mar 23, 2021
cheetzu (All reviews)
This is a show I had high expectations for going into the season, and with the show done, I can say with utmost certainty that this show is not good. Quick plot summary: Lloyd Belladonna is a kid from the village of Kunlun, the village right next to the last dungeon, the place with the most dangerous monsters known to man (and the place that the heroes who killed the demon lord settled down). Since it's the equivalent of being the last place in an RPG, the people from Kunlun are absolute abominations that treat massive grasshoppers as mere insects. Lloyd, being the weakest by read more
Mar 23, 2021
PoorMe (All reviews)
1. Story was below average. Worldbuilding was near to zero, even tho there are monsters, knights and magic, we know nothing about and it felt like they has no purpose.
2. Art was colorful and nice. Animations was decent and there is not much to complain about. Nothing epic, but decent.
3. Sound was't bad, but it was forgetable. It didn't disturb any scenes tho so I'll say it's fair enough
4. Characters are not that bad and some of them are pretty good, but sadly, they wont compensate other characters, that are not that good. Main character is specialy bad and it really feels like he read more