Clannad: Mou Hitotsu no Sekai, Tomoyo-hen


Clannad: Another World, Tomoyo Chapter

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Clannad: Another World, Tomoyo Chapter
Synonyms: Clannad OVA
Japanese: -クラナド- もうひとつの世界 智代編

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 16, 2008
Producers: Pony Canyon
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Visual novel
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Theme: SchoolSchool
Duration: 25 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.961 (scored by 184437184,437 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #621
Members: 276,675
Favorites: 811

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 22, 2008
KholdStare88 (All reviews)
This one episode Clannad OVA is to me one that is filled with emotions. Aside from that, it manages to do three things to the Clannad series: One, it provides the romance that was mostly minimal in Clannad. Two, it provides the drama that gradually fell from the plot after Fuko and and Kotomi's arc. And three, it allows satisfaction to Tomoyo supporters, since not everyone was a Nagisa fan. Many people expected Clannad to be a series with significant romantic struggles and a high level of drama, but it instead turned into a slice-of-life comedy after the first one or two arcs. But with read more
Jul 21, 2008
Chag (All reviews)
Set in an alternate Clannad universe, Another World presents viewers with a love story between Okazaki Tomoya and Sakagami Tomoyo. Though it suffers from a number of problems, Another World nevertheless still achieves the emotional drama viewers would expect from an extension of the Clannad series.

With the run time of an ordinary episode, Another World inevitably suffers from a shortage of story development. The usual buffer time for viewers to get attached to the characters is heavily truncated -- the process of Tomoyo and Tomoya falling in love is not included in the episode, for obvious reasons concerning time. However, the fact that it detracts read more
Sep 14, 2010
kekekeKaj (All reviews)
Despite being a just a short, half 25 minute OVA, "Clannad: Another World, Tomoyo Chapter" managed to capture most of the essence of the original series - just like the original series, it's guilty of being over manipulative, of having contrived scenarios that strives to squeeze a tear or two out of the audience by whatever means necessary. In other words, it's guilty of being complete bullsh*t... just like the original series.

In this alternative playthrough... er, I mean, alternative universe, Tomoya is dating Grey Haired Girl instead of Brown Haired Girl, and Grey Haired Girl gets elected as the Student Council President. The gist of read more
Mar 19, 2014
ssdcgaddq (All reviews)
I was watching the anime and playing the VN simultaneously. When I proceeded into Tomoyo arc in VN, I wanted to smash my computer because of Tomoya's action. But quickly I found consolation in the anime. I was deeply touched by it (probably because of my similar experience) and I rewatched multiple times. Well, the feeling has faded now (unlike the After Story) but I still think it a good story.
Tomoyo chapter is the first time when our main character firmly encounter the harshness in reality. The whole story is like a drama, and a well-made one, including its story development, building on conflicts, read more
Jul 18, 2008
verayo (All reviews)
A nice alternate story of Clannad. Definitely a MUST WATCH for people who watched the series.

The provided explanation for Tomoya and Tomoyo's love history is unsatisfactory (could have been better with visual narration). Still, the story runs well and it ends really great. Good drama as expected. Great thoughts and ideas can be learned from this edition.

The backgrounds are excellent. All the characters look good as always but they don't seem to be animated at their best. The drawings for the background people were decided to be just decent enough. Art is not at its best, but it still looks great.

The sounds are great. Kind read more
Sep 26, 2008
animefan4life (All reviews)
I like Tomoyo as a character a lot but not with Tomoya. I feel that his character needs to be the person to support someone which gives him strength and reason to do better. Tomoyo is already a very strong character which in turn would make him feel more vulnerable. The chemistry between them wasn't there as it was with Nagisa. It was just awkward to watch. Eventhough Nagisa can become dependent and annoying at times, her gentle and innocent side compliments Tomoya.
Oct 15, 2020
Ragio (All reviews)
"We were close with someone really amazing, weren´t we?"



We´re here to celebrate Sakagami Tomoyo.



After Clannad 1st season ended, the team decided that people should see more of what the game offered. This time around, Nagisa is pratically non-existant and Tomoya ends up having a relashionship with Tomoyo. This, is the Tomoyo route.




Per usual, Clannad shows its best aspects here. Despite being one episode, it shows everything people love about this show: the "feels"/drama. However, its not perfect. Some scenes don´t make sense*(SPOILERS, you have been aware.) and i belive this OVA needed a follow up; it wasn´t really that developed in my opinion. Nonetheless, its read more
Oct 16, 2012
Caleb_Marvell (All reviews)
Ok, those of us who have watched Clannad and feel as strongly as I do can safely say, it's one of the greatest animes of all time. I'm sure it's changed some of our lives, and for those of you who haven't seen the OVA, you'll be feeling exactly that if you're a true fan of the series. Even if you gave the series like a 7 or 8, I'm sure you'll find this OVA more then satisfying. In all reality, this was probably in my top 3 episodes from Season 1.

The story was really good. At first, when I started watching, I was all read more
Jun 6, 2020
NextUniverse (All reviews)
TL;DR Review:

Story - 8: Story based on sacrifices due to pressures of society. Well executed which made for an intriguing story.
Art - 8: Pretty good animations for its time. It was somewhat fluid and pleasing to look at. I expected less, but it was surprisingly well done.
Sound - 10: This may be biased. But I have always enjoyed Clannad's OSTs. Always placed well and sounds amazing. Also memorable for the subsequent times.
Character - 8: Solid characters, there wasn't the greatest amount of development which would make sense for a special of this length.
Enjoyment - 8: Very good watch.
Overall - 8.4 (8)


Full Review (Spoilers):
I have watched read more
Sep 8, 2008
Smithy (All reviews)
The “Clannad ~ Another World, Tomoyo Chapter” OVA brings us an alternate reality story focused entirely on Tomoyo and Tomoya. While I enjoyed the “Clannad” series, I was a bit disappointed that some of the female characters such as Kyou and Tomoyo did not get as much screen time or story arcs that span multiple episodes. This OVA resolves this largely for Tomoyo's case as it deals only with her and Tomoya's relationship, none of the other “Clannad” characters save for Sunohara appear.

Even with the single episode time constraint, this chapter nonetheless brings its story well paced and shows us Tomoyo and Tomoya's relationship over read more
Aug 9, 2011
zaharat (All reviews)
Ok this may be a little bias because personally Tomoyo is my favorite character inside the Clannad series. In this alternate universe, Tomoyo is dating Tomoya. And the whole episode just teaches us that there will always be difficulties in any kind of relationship. But if both really care for each other they will find a way through. This little alternate universe was just mind blowing in my opinion because like I stated before I just love Tomoyo! :D Anyways this another must watch episode of Clannad. It really is a sweet and somewhat sad, but happy story. Now go and watch it! Hope you read more
Dec 1, 2019
curisuchan (All reviews)
First of all i want to say that i save this OVA for the last(save the best for the last is what they say after all :D ) I watch it the last because tomoyo is my favorite heroine in the franchise/series. Secondly i want to say that this review might contain some spoiler but i'll make it less as much as possible and rephrase it.

Story: A question love or dreams? you might find yourself asking this question before but what will it be? upon watching this OVA it shows the importance of sacrifice in a relationship sometimes you need to go far away from read more
Aug 16, 2010
Shiro- (All reviews)
Well...considering this is an OVA i could say is one of the ebst OVA's I saw.
The story take's place ina different place where Okazaki Tomoya a deliqvent is together with Tomoyo...But the school don't see with good eyes their relationship and starts to tear apart their relationship...Tomoya decides to breake with his girlfriend Tomoyo hoping that way he won't stop Tomoyo achieving new places and dreams to go...time passes and both of them are making their way in life but those 2 they still love each other...both of them are still watching after them...and when finally Tomoyo manages to do what she wanted she meets read more
Jan 15, 2013
gin-and-horse (All reviews)
All I feel like I need to say is that this was a far greater love story between Tomoyo and Okazaki than in the series between Nagisa and Okazaki. This special gives watchers of Clannad what the series lacked in romance.

Aug 9, 2012
RIED14 (All reviews)
Note: When I say Clannad, I’m referring to the whole series, including season 1 and season 2 ‘After Story’ and the extras and OVAs as well. (This is why I've attached this review to each Clannad anime, as this is a review on the whole series. So don't be confused if you see this same review multiple times).


Clannad Review – By Riley D (RIED14):

A dramatically life changing and perception shifting 'slice of life' philosophical masterpiece of love, family, connection, gratitude and simplicity (WITHOUT the ingenuine and uncalled for 'cheesiness').

Clannad was not just a 'good show'. It was an unforgettable experience that drastically rekindled the read more
Dec 10, 2012
nuuvox (All reviews)
What the? How exactly did they get my eyes watery in one episode?!

This was a crazy amazing episode and I have to admit, I like the Tomoyo arc more than the Nagisa, even though Nagisa is crazy adorable. It seems like Tomoyo and Tomoya have something deeper than NagisaXTomoya.

SPOILERS AHEAD:

They both sacrificed so much for each other! When Tomoya broke up with her because he wanted her to have a better life. He said he was being selfish, but that is one of the most unselfish acts anyone could perform. When Tomoyo didn't care what people thought about read more
Mar 28, 2009
setvenx (All reviews)
If theres one thing Key can bring to you, its not only an amazing series but also amazing ova's and alternate arcs. I honestly think that OVAs are supposed to be like this in every way possible. In one single episode separate from the original series, Tomoyo's chapter brings to you a whole new plot and in this short OVA satisfies its viewers fully.

This OVA was able to refrain from rushing the development of the episode and in turn was like watching a mini series in itself and at the same time was extremely easy to enjoy. Because Tomoyo and Tomoya has already read more
Apr 21, 2015
highpriest2500 (All reviews)
This episode of Clannad takes place in an alternate world. I was very confused when I was watching this because I thought Tomoya was with Nagisa and now he's with Tomoyo?? So remember: this is in the alternate world!

The story is absolutely fantastic. In fact, if this was an actual episode (meaning that it is part of the Nagisa universe), it would have been the best one. The story focuses on the internal struggle that Tomoya has: he wants to be at Tomoyo's side but due to his track record, he would tarnish her reputation. Although the ending is predictable, the process by which the read more
Mar 21, 2020
zohruii (All reviews)
If Clannad was the very unrealistic romance story of Tomoya and Nagisa then this is a realistic take on the relationship of Tomoya and Tomoyo.

This OVA is a harsh but realistic look at life in high school. A time where you have to make decisions that would affect your life going forward. Here, we have the ambitionless slacker Tomoya conflicting with the interests of the ambitious overachiever Tomoyo. Often times, dreams and reality don't align and all kinds of things get in the way. At that place and point in time, their relationship couldn't work out and sacrifices had to be made. This perfectly describes read more
Jul 5, 2015
showandAG (All reviews)
I assume anyone planning to watch this has seen Clannad so I won't bother describing the characters, art, sound, things you wouldn't already know about.

The story is set in an alternate universe where Tomoya is dating Tomoyo. If you liked Clannad you will probably like this. Basically the point is just another perspective of what could have happened if Tomoya dated Tomoyo. I won't bother describing the plot...

If you watched Clannad and are looking for more Clannad then go ahead and watch it, I thought it was well done.