Maou Gakuin no Futekigousha: Shijou Saikyou no Maou no Shiso, Tensei shite Shison-tachi no Gakkou e


The Misfit of Demon King Academy

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: The Misfit of Demon King Academy
Synonyms: The Misfit of Demon King Academy: History's Strongest Demon King Reincarnates and Goes to School with His Descendants
Japanese: 魔王学院の不適合者 ~史上最強の魔王の始祖、転生して子孫たちの学校へ通う~

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 4, 2020 to Sep 26, 2020
Premiered: Summer 2020
Broadcast: Saturdays at 23:30 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Kadokawa
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: SILVER LINK.
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, DemonsDemons, MagicMagic, FantasyFantasy, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 262504262,504 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #22112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #336
Members: 471,126
Favorites: 3,422

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2020
RebelPanda (All reviews)
How often do you get a good night's sleep?

I never get the sleep I deserve. After watching so many bad anime, I stay up all night tossing and turning in bed. A lack of sleep can cause depression, anxiety, weight gain, etc. No sleep medication has helped me. Melatonin, Benadryl, Trazadone, even horse-tranquilizers. Nothing worked... until now. I finally found the cure for insomnia, and its name is The Misfit of Demon King Academy.

Hi, I'm RebelPanda and I've made it my job to ensure YOU get the good night's sleep you deserve.

Just turn on an episode of The Misfit of Demon King read more
Sep 26, 2020
DannyTheDonkey (All reviews)
The Misfit of Demon King Academy is yet another seasonal dose of uninspiring wish fulfillment series that we get every single season, you should not be surprised, therefore, to learn that this is an adaptation of a light novel series. You know, what if there aren’t even actual writers behind these stories generic? What if there’s just a very clever ad lib program cranking these novels out? It’s full of modern tropes and an algorithm to arrange said tropes into all the derivative dreck we know and love. Why, all you’d really have to do is fill in the names!.

Anyway, this is one of read more
Jul 25, 2020
snubnosed (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fuck this show. Spoiler warning.

This show is absolute ass and not in a good way.

The Misfit at Demon King Academy is the epitome of the average isekai/fantasy show we get every season. The definition of insanity is repeating the same dreadful mistakes but expecting change each time. Repetitiveness is a common theme in the Fantasy and Isekai genre. We see a handful of bad fantasy/isekai shows based off of light novels each year, but none can compare to this new horror-fantasy show: Misfit at Demon King Academy. The fact that this show gets away with pushing every fantasy stereotype but to the extreme and read more
Jul 25, 2020
Hikki_Senpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first i thought this will be shit but surprisingly it's fun watching this even though the plot is not very interesting (at least for me but i think it's worth a rating of at least 7). I gave it 10 though because of great animation/art. It's not your so called extraordinary anime so don't expect something like that from this. You can say it's just for fun. Because the story/plot is pretty much simple so you think it might be boring but surprisingly it's fun watching it.
Some people who read manga are disappointed in it due to the skips read more
Jul 27, 2020
mastervel (All reviews)
Preliminary
As many may suffer and will involuntarily cause self-harm while watching this trash. I have transcended and have fully embraced the mediocrity and found hilarity in this tragic show. I mean this is so shockingly bad I look forward every week to see how stinky this garage burns every week.

The characters are like poorly programmed NPC in a generic arse fantasy game, which you would usually skip over the dialogue to get to the action. Sadly, the action is hilariously anti-climatic and borderline comedy. The motives of the MC, Anos, makes no sense to me and yet I can tell actually what he will read more
Jul 25, 2020
Koumazoku (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do I recommend this anime to other people? Well yes but actually no.

Imagine a mediocre generic fantasy/isekai anime with an extremely OP main character. Well, Maou Gakuin no Futekigousha is exactly that. Cute girls, annoying a-holes, random OP powers, lost magic, demon lords, different races, nobles, yea your generic fantasy anime.

Story - 5/10
Nothing new or unique. Seems like every other generic anime out there seems a lot like Kenji no mango. Obviously, the plot is kind of bland. I guess the demon lord coming back is kinda cool I guess? Well, overall the story is average. It's not a complete mess like other series so read more
Jul 26, 2020
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
The demon king sacrifices himself to allow for a better world to be formed. Eventually the time for him to reincarnate comes, and he finally sees the consequences of his choice.

While we say reincarnate, it is more accurate to say he got a new body. In other words, he is as strong as he was in his previous life, with all the memories.

More importantly, when he comes back he decides to go to school and learn about this new world. Also, he wishes to reclaim his place as the demon king. Actually that's the real goal, the school is kinda needed for that.

(Btw because read more
Sep 26, 2020
Stark700 (All reviews)
Well, I’ll be damned. In 2020, it seems overpowered fantasy tropes still finds its time to take up TV screen time. Because in this anime known as ‘The Misfit of Demon Academy’, main protagonist Anos Voldigoad adheres to everything you can describe about a character with too much power. And if you’re hoping to see a well-developed show with likable cast or creative story, then buckle your belts. Spoiler: you won’t.

Adapted from the light novel of the same name, it doesn’t take long for the audience to discover why Anos exist in the present timeline. He has been reincarnated after 2000 years and is now read more
Sep 26, 2020
Watame (All reviews)
Once upon a time, there was a man, who obliterated whole countries, burned the forest of spirits to ashes and even killed Gods as if it were nothing. The man was feared as the Demon Lord. However, even a Demon Lord gets tired of the horrors of wars and proposes the heroes, who come to negotiate with him, to kill him, split the world into four: the human world, the demon world, the spirits world, the world of the Gods, to build walls between the worlds, and to seal their gates for 1000 years. After 1000 years, the grudges between demons and humans should disappear. read more
Jul 31, 2020
Special-Tan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is not for you if you're looking for a shounen show with an MC that the universe conveniently shelters from higher danger until they can power up or activate some hidden power they're born with that reveals itself when their life is in danger.

Anos has figured everything out. He is at the peak, he is OP. He understands his magic and others'. He knows himself and the enemy, he's in control.

This show is not for you if you're looking for a unique twist with suspenseful power reveals or tactics.

Anos can brute force his way out of any situation. Still, he promotes other people read more
Jul 28, 2020
OnceAndAgain (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you like trashy fantasy shows with mediocre/poor plot, and cliche characters? I mean, I don't think anyone does but The God of High School is averaging an 8. So, why else would you watch this?

Because you're bored, you want to turn off your brain and enjoy an arrogant prick of an OP MC go around and assert his dominance as the Demon King. I mean, when you can literally destroy your opponent with just your heartbeat, and taunt them about it, I'd say he has cause for his arrogance. Once in a while, he'll throw out a joke and it's pretty amusing.

The two read more
Sep 26, 2020
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Maou Gakuin no Futekigousha (The Misfit of Demon King Academy): THE SECOND COMING of Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei (The Irregular of Magic High School)? I hope to believe so, because like the latter, to which the same ol' gimmick of elitists proclaiming: "Oh, ANOTHER "power fantasy LN" with the same OP MC likeness? Get the F*** outta here!" is kinda tiresome at this point (and I honestly DON'T F***ING CARE). But in actuality, this show is AMAZING and AWESOME AS HECK.

Do you love power fantasy stories, with the lore of the actual MC not being a fuccboi and doesn't take a shit or 2 about read more
Sep 26, 2020
HBVO2 (All reviews)
If I said I didn't enjoy the hell out of this series then I'd be a liar. This is one of those anime where the main character cheeses the most absurdly impossible things in the most impossibly dumb ways. The story and characters aren't the best and it may seem generic at first but somehow it just got a hold of me and wouldn't let go.

This was a 6/10 for me and deserves it fully, looking at it it's really good at being entertaining and that's all you should expect from a fantasy anime with a mc who can yeet castles like they're legos.

I read more
Jul 25, 2020
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
So far this series has been pretty good. Normally I'm not the sort for super OP characters. But this show does it right, it really does it right, with how our MC is, and here is why!

Like I just mentioned, our MC is confident, arrogant, cocky, all of the above. I mean why wouldn't he? He's the damn demon lord, he can do what he wants. This is why I do feel the super OPness is done in a good way, but with the story it presents too, it makes it even more interesting, and it all fits well together.

As for the other characters? You'll read more
Jul 30, 2020
__Mephistopheles (All reviews)
Preliminary
Update 09/10/2020: Upon reaching episode 10, I stand by everything I've said below. This series really doesn't deserve the hate it's been getting. Seriously, give it a try before you listen to all the negative reviewers!

First off, I honestly don't know why I see a decent proportion of negative reviews. Yes, this is a typical yearly type of "OP MC basic story" anime, but you shouldn't blatantly review it based upon that. Watch it until the end of episode 3 to build a decent idea of the series.

(9/10) STORY: So far, yes, the story is very similar to other types of anime. BUT, I think read more
Sep 26, 2020
nightshadekait (All reviews)
The Misfit of Demon King Academy is kind of like the Bible but someone else is pretending to be Jesus and the real Jesus gets harem members instead of disciples.

Story: 2
The story has a pretty simple premise: Demon king gets reincarnated 2000 years after his death, but everyone has forgotten about all the things he’s done and won’t believe that he’s the demon king despite how unbelievably powerful he is. One thing I liked was how each episode contained a small piece of the overarching story. This helped with both plot build up and world building. However, the smaller stories in each of the episodes read more
Sep 26, 2020
KomradeB (All reviews)
My ape brain can't comprehend how bad the ending was so I'm just not gonna.

Character: Generic isekai op protag bs. Imagine if my little pony had an OP protag with a Justice donger and the biggest Friendship and Love balls you can imagine and you get whatever this is

Story: your usual isekai op protag stuff, after a week i probably wont even know what differs this one from the others

Sound: It sounds like every isekai ever, you know, your usual psshew bang pow type effects

Art. The CGI looks like some of the explosion greenscreen memes on youtube,

Enjoyment: no.

Conclusion: dont do it.


Sep 26, 2020
HellLyter (All reviews)
The Misfit of Demon King Academy: History's Strongest Demon King Reincarnates and Goes to School with His Descendants wins the award for the most unnecessarily over the top title of the year. But then again, it fits perfectly with the actual content of the show itself, which can be described as nothing short of absolutely ridiculous. And that’s thanks to the inclusion of one particular being of immeasurable power and prestige. *drum roll*

Anos Voldigoad

That’s right, Anos deservers an entire line dedicated to his name alone, he’s just that omnipotent. This anime was literally a hair's breadth away from becoming a generic isekai. Which Maou Gakuin read more
Jul 26, 2020
Senpaika (All reviews)
Preliminary
From the first episode of anime, I can say that it is simply amazing. Anime is holding to his manga version hand to hand. I was very excited when I read the first chapter of the manga in 2018. And now we finally have an anime adaptation.
For all that is reading this review, I can highly recommend the manga version you will enjoy it as same as anime.
Character 8/10
The big thing for me was seeing my favourite characters for the first time. The
main thing was that they look older than in the manga read more
Aug 23, 2020
Aquafarian (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime suffers from generic demon lord self insert wish fulfilment who's somehow playing on god mode from GTA5. The fact that MB is not recommending you to watch this means this is an instant WIN!

Story: The only thing carrying this anime is seemingly the "whodunnit" plot-line/ mystery thread which the answer to is 100% totally inconspicuous and cannot be seen from a mile away, I am actually intrigued to what happens to the MC, the only letdown was the out of place plot twist with absolutely no build up or catharsis of Episode 4, which is where many individuals have probably dropped this read more