Obsolete

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Obsolete
Japanese: OBSOLETE

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 3, 2019 to Dec 1, 2020
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Buemon
Source: Original
Genres: MechaMecha
Duration: 13 min. per ep.
Rating: None

Statistics

Score: 5.761 (scored by 948948 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #89922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #7082
Members: 4,069
Favorites: 5
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 6, 2019
Treizeci (All reviews)
How much did they beg Urobuchi to put his name on this? Did he even write for this? This was a 8/10 premise with a 4/10 execution.
He also wrote Rakuen Tsuihou which was ok even if it was 3DCG so how did this one end up like this?
Do not waste your time on this awful series.

His name is the only reason someone would ever turn their eyes to this mess that supposedly tries to capture the atmosphere and style in Gyakusatsu Kikan. A very flawed movie but with a very interesting setup that simply didn't get enough time to express itself.

The moment you read more
Dec 5, 2019
AstralBread (All reviews)
What a weird project.

First things first - it’s a full 3DCG series that half the time (the humans/downtime) has like 8 fps, I can tolerate it, but I won’t be surprised if some people would literally have their eyes bleed from this. However, the parts that matter (mecha fight scenes) run much smoother, have very impressive choreography and the level of detail that simply isn’t possible for the traditional animation (hundreds of accurately portrayed shell casings flying around with realistic physics).

With that out of the way, I imagine 9 out of 10 people would know this exists because of the Gen Urobuchi’s name in the read more
Dec 5, 2019
MoeBlargus (All reviews)
CG in anime has always been a bit of a contentious issue, and even a meme, since there have been so many shows that have miss-handled it to the detriment of the story they're trying to tell. I personally have seen very few shows that were fully, or mostly CG that I thought were enhanced by the addition of CG, but fortunately that is beginning to change.

Obsolete is one of the first fully CG shows that I have not only enjoyed, but felt was enhanced by the use of CG. True, if the right style and quality of 2d animation were used, an read more
Dec 5, 2019
nyugvo6 (All reviews)
Exo suits? check.
Urobuchi? check.
Let's go.

Obsolete is your standard war story full of sarcasm and indifference.
What's different here however is the format. 6x12 minutes.
It doesn't leave you with much space to tell a grand story or express ideologies.
Anyone who's hoping for character depth or such will be let down.
The staff did everything in their power to make this a coherent piece of work but they were heavily restricted by the episode count and it shows.
Limestone? Aliens? It doesn't matter to us humans according to Mr. Urobuchi, and there's really no time to explain them anyway.
The core of this product seems to be "Give a man a read more
Dec 29, 2019
Aragusuku (All reviews)
Well, I was at first uneasy, but after reading the synopsis and listening to the OP, I decided to watch the series. The anime is on full CGI, which ended up creating an interesting style that fits the purpose of establishing a good environment for a sci-fi, at the cost of the frame rate (eventually you get used to it). The sound effects are neat, the robots are physically coherent and all fighting scenes are entertaining. Its clear that some effort was put on themes like militarism, geopolitics and general science fiction, as the show has a somewhat didactic aspect about these subjects. I personally read more
Dec 10, 2019
Anishaman (All reviews)
Don't listen to all the cynics complaining about this series. It was awesome. If you like mechs and/or sci fi then you will eat this up and be hungry for more. It's only downside is that there are only 6 episodes (currently).

The writing was mature and intelligent. I love that the story gets right in to it. They don't explain anything about the aliens, and instead focus on the characters, some tech, and the effects of the mechs on the planet.

Some of the combat scenes were great, some were just ok, but well within tolerance as they were not necessarily the main focus. read more
Dec 6, 2019
HKSFMinerva (All reviews)
A very short experimental 3CG anime by Gen and Co. that does not waste time yapping about the lore of the aliens and the science of the EXOs.

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic."

The first episode is a tad bit jarring, starting at the middle/height of the entire EXO war, but reels you in with the technology used. Episodes 2 to 6 explain how both sides got there, and the progression of the tech used in Mechs and treaties that limited their usage slowly becoming ignored; arms race.

Character development is flat, but I think that's the point. No single one person in this show read more
Dec 8, 2019
josh_dd (All reviews)
This story is very basic : aliens come to Earth and trade blocks of rocks for Exosekeleton robot suits. Humans soon use them for war.

The story never goes much deeper. We get glimpses of different countries and the conflicts depicted here and there.

I enjoyed the series for what it was : a combat, action-packed short series of 12 min for each episode. The weapons were cool, same for how the machines were animated. I liked it a lot because that's what I wanted.

But the human characters aren't moving naturally at all and the frame per second is quite low. You don't see them outside of read more
Apr 30, 2020
drugut (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all this is not an anime, this is a commercial to sell some model kits. It act like very serious, know all about world politics anime but its just extremely one sided, 80's b movie type anime where our hero can shot down all of his enemies from his mecha without dying and he just learn to use mecha 10 minutes ago I am not kidding. And they try to show anime is very realistic but it is not, you will feel like you are watching rambo with a mecha. Such a disapointment for me I thought this would be the best Real read more
Dec 28, 2020
weirdy8 (All reviews)
Pt 1:

So Gen Urobuchi came back to anime for a YouTube anime and it's one of the laziest things I've seen from a show this year. Maybe that's why he named it "Obsolete".

What if in Kado, Aldnoah Zero or the netflix godzilla, the aliens just dropped off Knightmares for some MGS4 PMCs and war refugees from Jormungand, FMP or the Psycho Pass movie to run through half rendered Expelled from Paradise fights with an 08th MS Team theme? All while preaching about the profit of war in a way that feels like both an anti-war PSA and a recruitment video?

Forget characters. Forget story. Just straight-up read more