Shin Sakura Taisen the Animation


Sakura Wars the Animation

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sakura Wars the Animation
Synonyms: New Sakura Wars the Animation
Japanese: 新サクラ大戦 the Animation

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2020 to Jun 19, 2020
Premiered: Spring 2020
Broadcast: Fridays at 22:00 (JST)
Producers: Sega, Sammy, Tencent Japan
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: SANZIGEN
Source: Game
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, AdventureAdventure, MechaMecha, ShounenShounen
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.821 (scored by 23042,304 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #87442
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4350
Members: 13,114
Favorites: 25
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 4, 2020
punnyjr (All reviews)
Preliminary
i play the game and watch 1 ep of this

It seems that the anime is either spin off or sequel from the game

This series is actually a direct sequel to the OG but it's in the game version.

if you want full experience and more connection to the OG . either play the game or watch the playthru and probably watch this anime after that.



I dont think you can even watch the anime without watching/playing the game 1st

since they don't explain anything

however after u r done with the game i think this Animation is a nice cherry on top for sure
Apr 24, 2020
Zetophi (All reviews)
Preliminary
So in these 4 Episode I have been watching, I'll be sharing a piece of my mind on what I think of this new 2020 Sakura Wars, in a short but simple form, as I don't have fully enough information to go into full detail yet.

What I found to be good.
- Nostalgia, the Music is great, the opening music is FANTASTIC.
- Voices, reminds me of the original actor (For Sakura and their commander at least)
- The Premise of the story is GREAT, so far.
- The Characters personalities are great.

What I found to be Bad if not worse.
- The read more
Jun 20, 2020
That__Guy (All reviews)
As someone that has never seen any other form of this story, even the games or the previous anime, I will say that this show is average at best. If you have prior knowledge of the story and characters, you probably will enjoy it far more than I.

The story was average at best.

The sound was okay, but I think a big part of it was recognition.

The character development was poor, but again, I have never played the games, so I will give this a leg up assuming that I missed the bulk of character development.

Enjoyment was very spotty. The fights were so-so and the character read more
Jun 19, 2020
Syureria (All reviews)
This is the story about Imperial Combat Revue 's Flower Division in Tokyo, which consists of: Sakura Amamiya, Hatsuho Shinonome, Anastasia Palma, Azami Mochizuki, and Clarissa. The division once again faces a new demon invasion while trying to keep their home at the Imperial Theater open.

I have to admit that I first started watching New Sakura Wars because of two main reasons: Girls who always wear yukata and loli girl named Kurara "Clara". But once I began watching the show, I found more than what I wanted. New Sakura Wars is a promising show, the mecha fight against the demon is something that needs read more
May 16, 2020
botoy0917 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've watch the old version before way back early 2000 and got used to those cute characters and style but I tried watching this one because of nostalgia..... sadly it was a struggle watching and decided to drop it at episode 7. I couldn't handle the CGI anymore of the characters and it's style compared to the old sakura wars. Now from the 7 episodes that I've watched it got very boring already to the point I tend to fall asleep. I will just remember the old sakura wars and not think of the sequel. my Regret was having high expectation for this new season. read more
Sep 29, 2020
Juarez (All reviews)
Uhm.. I don't understand the low score. it's true that this anime is not fantastic or anything of the sort, but it's very enjoyable nonetheless. I don't even play the game (yet) nor watch the previous animation, but I feel nostalgic and drawn to the character and the world setting. These are the good things I can say about this anime:

-music
the opening and ending are fantastic and strangely give nostalgic feeling I could listening to them all day, another soundtrack or song also good. without these, the anime itself maybe only score 7 at most for me.

-character
it's not liking the characters because of the great read more
May 25, 2020
YokaSol (All reviews)
Preliminary
A bit of a PSA for people.

Having played the game. I have to warn people this anime isn't for you if you haven't played the recent PS4 release. The story is a sequel story and very clearly assumes you know the characters.

So if you go into this cold turkey, don't be shocked if you don't know what is going on. This isn't like the original Sakura Wars anime where they recount the events of the original game. As such please view it with that in mind and either play the game or accept that you're going into to this without a full background.

As read more