Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Golgo 13 (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: Golgo 13
Japanese: ゴルゴ13

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 12, 2008 to Mar 28, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.581 (scored by 6,503 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #14222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2457
Members: 25,526
Favorites: 162

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 18, 2008
Verdict (All reviews)
As I finally came across the entire subtitled series, it is time to update the review I posted quite some time ago.

To start with, this is an anime that gives off an oldschool-ish feeling and that is to be expected, since the manga started publishing about 40 years ago. The drawing style clearly shows it: all characters have very serious and rough faces, showing each and every wrinkle. The scenery is quite good. Even though it might lack detail, it clearly isn't the type you would shove off as a picture-based-and-streched-over-the-horizon background.

There are no major problems with the sound either. At first it might read more
Nov 13, 2010
Paski (All reviews)
Well the Final Episode has finally been subbed, so it feels like time for a full review. Welcome to Golgo 13, The epitome of anime manliness. A masterful sniper who can take out any target, from nearly any distance with a single shot.

Story: 6

Each episode is non-sequential, and has no bearing on future or previous episodes so you can essentially watch the episodes in no particular order and have more or less the same enjoyment. Each episode begins with Duke Togo aka Golgo 13, receiving a request to kill a target, and the rest of the episode usually involves Golgo 13 undertaking some read more
Aug 27, 2018
Karhu (All reviews)
The name is 13. Golgo 13. Our main dude happens when James Bond meets terminator and then everything gets turned more Japan and more manly.

Golgo is an elite sniper. Man with a mission. All you need is 3 million USD and he will make any of your wishes happen. Need to embarrass a violist during his play? No worries! Golgo can shoot the string of a moving instrument from 500 feet away, eyes closed while parrying flying katanas. Here's a meme. Who would win? Bulletproof, 30 inch thick class wall or one big boy with a toy gun? There is literally nothing this dude read more
Apr 8, 2014
THEAnimeHERO (All reviews)
If you don't mind a MANLY episodic anime then it should be a badass experience. Golgo 13 follows the many assignments of the assassin Golgo 13 aka Duke Togo. This series is "character heavy" meaning don't expect any huge arcs or some sort of masterpiece but instead we have episodes where we learn about the lead character. Much of the appeal of this show is Golgo & his mysterious motives. While his origin remains a secret to this day we do learn a bit about him as he is committed to his employment; displaying various traits on what it means to be a coldhearted assassin. read more
Jun 2, 2008
Gatsu36 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Based off the Motion Picture and OVA, this series is a great stand alone series to watch. I really liked the Movie and OVA of Golgo 13 so the series is quite entertaining to watch. I have only watched 4 episodes so far, so the storyline and character development hasn't really begun yet. Each episode or "Target" is a seperate story each week so nothing too serious has begun in terms of a dedicated storyline as of yet. It's a great series to pick up, great animation, music and action. I hope it picks up more with a storyline and more development, but for now read more
Jul 6, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Golgo 13 is an ongoing manga written by Saito Takao. A really long running manga at that. It started in 1968. It wasn't until 2008-2009 that it finally got a proper anime adaptation, although it got an OVA in 1998 and an anime film in 1983. The fifty episode series was handled by The Answer Studio, which I don't believe I've ever seen anything else by them. So, after a forty year wait is this anime any good?

Story:

Golgo 13 is one of those series without a major narrative. It's episodic with none of the episodes really affecting what comes after. You could actually watch them read more
Nov 3, 2015
VaasMontenegro (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Cyka Bylat!" -Russian CS:GO Players

If you face this guy in CS:GO, well good luck killing him, whether you're afar from him, doing some sneaky attacks to him, gangbanging him (#NoHomo), and other tactics that you considered to be good but in Golgo 13's case, you're actually dead wrong.

Golgo 13 is an seinen anime about a man name Duke Togo who is a former agent now a lone wolf who likes to play cosplay and stealth like Agent 47 and his main agenda, headshotting those persons who are in Golgo 13's contract.

Golgo 13 is one of the most feared sniper of all time according to some read more
May 23, 2018
Paigeturner (All reviews)
Really crappy, unrealistic, and lame show. It was my guilt watch that I saw while doing other stuff. The character of Golgo is straight up from a 6 year old's imagination of badass. He is a Mary Sue who can never fail and often uses stupid reasons.

The series is so bad that it's good. Other than that, I can't fathom how someone with an IQ of even double digits would genuinely like it.

This is enough of a review, I don't know why MAL would want an unnecessary longer and convoluted review when a short passage can adequately describe and critique a show. So I'll read more
Dec 15, 2014
land161 (All reviews)
After finishing all of the episodes of Golgo 13, and since no one has reviewed the show in a while, I thought it's time to for me to give a review on this show.

The main character of the show, Duke Togo aka Golgo 13, is portrayed as a mysterious and intimidating figure throughout the show. Not much is know about his past, and he rarely says anything or shows any emotion. Golgo's emotionless and non-existent personality adds a different and interesting touch to the show compared to other anime shows, and one is easily able to draw speculations and theories about Golgo's origin.

Each episode read more
Sep 3, 2009
Longxinus (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is without a doubt the anime's Chuck Norris. Hands down.

The anime world already have plenty of series that involve assassins. Golgo 13 is one of them and stands out. The story consists of a new arc per episode, which can be a good or a bad thing: The good thing is that you get variation, in terms of new interesting characters and new settings. Golgo can use everything from a pistol to more badass weapons which I will let you experience yourself. It's pretty nice going from environments such as cities to jungles, watching Golgo smack some real pwnage into his targets. The bad read more
Jan 11, 2015
DonPatch (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you like character development? Do you like tension? Do you like two equal forces clashing off in an epic battle of ideals and feelings? Do you like the sweet feel of romance? Do you like realism? Go watch something else. Golgo 13 isn't all that good, but it's still fun to watch. Crazy, huh?

I'd like to think this show works out better in manga form. Golgo 13, or Duke Togo, the main character, is incredibly bland. Did you know hes badass? You do know he's badass, don't you? Just for the record, he's badass. The show will constantly force this message down your throat read more
Dec 26, 2014
TheAzureSky (All reviews)
An action show that takes itself too seriously. It’s so bad it’s good.

★★☆☆

Golgo 13 is a rare show I will stop thinking for. To take it seriously would be a mistake. It’s not how you watch it. It’s a show that’s so bad that it’s good. There’s a campiness I don’t see in other shows. To describe Golgo 13: it’s a Japanese person’s interpretation of American action movies. The plots all involve fresh, exciting ideas like the mafia, the CIA, the military, assassins, politicians, beautiful women, exotic places. It’s the James Bond of anime.

The main character is Golgo 13. His real name is Duke Togo. read more
Mar 18, 2017
Lolsebca (All reviews)
Golgo 13 (TV) represents an adaptation from same name's manga. Every arc lasts one or so episodes, in the professional hitman field where "Golgo 13" sounds as legendary nickname, of an hitman who never failed at bringing down his target. This fly through fifty episodes and more movies to enjoy might please you as much as it did for me.
This is your typical seinen anime, stand-alone series you binge before every sleeps. Might it be this anime settle another level in japanese animation to your eyes? It definitely did for me.

Story (8) :

Every episodes are standalones, though sometimes it will take on two episodes. It read more
Mar 13, 2013
AlecTaylor (All reviews)
You've all seen series where the protagonist kills someone; and then you follow their emotional trauma supervening? — Well this isn't one of those anime.

Duke Togo (a.k.a.: Golgo 13) is an assassin-for-hire. He continually pulls off incredible manoeuvres to kill his target(s) and anyone who gets in his way.

★★★★★
Oct 6, 2018
LunaUri (All reviews)
Golgo 13 is THE PROFESSIONAL at seinen-flavored, satirical camp; much like Kazuo Koike’s Wounded Man and Crying Freeman. An extreme portrayal of masculinity that is meant to revel in as it unveils its strange sincerity. Whether he’s in the bedroom with a woman or sniping an enemy, Golgo’s mask of an expression is stuck in a frozen ennui of eternal botox. This series probably wouldn’t have received any sort of cult following if it hadn’t been for Golgo’s face!

• Golgo is similar to Daisuke Jigen from Lupin III, in the way that he’s the best hitman who ever lived and whatnot―while Jigen is praised as the read more
Jul 21, 2018
SCLFI (All reviews)
Golgo 13 tells the story of the titular character, Golgo 13, who often goes by the alias of Duke Togo. Golgo is a highly skilled mercenary, who travels the world killing for money. He has no moral alignment, but he will follow his jobs through to the end, even if his client dies. Of course, he has conducted so many jobs that he could very easily move away and live a peaceful life and never work again, especially as his identity seems to remain unknown by international intelligence agencies, but I personally feel as though Golgo continues his endeavours because he enjoys the thrill of read more
Jan 3, 2018
k-nain (All reviews)
Golgo 13? Did you meant the Japanese Chuck Norris?
Duke Togo is the best hitman in the world but not only that. During the anime we understand that he is also the strongest man on the planet.He goes through all different types of missions and manages to complete them.
Story (7/10)
Every episode consist different story which has nothing in common with the one before and don't follow any route.However in every episode Golgo proves himself in every aspect of killing.If in one episode he kills someone from 2 km using a rifle, in the next episode at night he will kill 5 trained soldiers using no read more