Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Slayers Revolution


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Slayers 4th Season, Slayers 4th Series, Slayers (TV 2008)
Japanese: スレイヤーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2008 to Sep 25, 2008
Premiered: Summer 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Funimation, NYAV Post
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.351 (scored by 14,405 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23052
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2456
Members: 28,810
Favorites: 46

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 5, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
Continuity is sometimes the most elusive aspect of any long running story, especially where multiple seasons, new storylines and characters, and real world breaks of several years are involved. Thankfully the studios behind the majority of anime titles try not to make more work for themselves (although some do take this ethos to the extreme - you know who you are), and these days the majority of shows that run for more than one season tend to have an average gap of about one year between each series..

If ever there was a truth in anime though, it's that you can always rely on Lina Inverse read more
Nov 8, 2008
Hayamin (All reviews)
Huge disappointment from someone who has seen all the Slayers seasons...

Story: Really poor compared to the story in Next and Try. It just gets way too predictable because none of the main characters do any training whatsoever so it's pretty much always the same spells. When will they learn that Fireball doesn't do anything to other magic users? The end is lame because of the cliche method used to win. If you read the series description, it says that Gourry needs a new sword, he doesn't really get one for keeps even though that was what they were doing in the first place. Along with read more
Oct 17, 2008
kumarei (All reviews)
Slayers Revolution is a show that isn't going to turn anyone who hates Slayers, but for Slayers fans it's a perfectly acceptable continuation of the series.

I have watched Slayers from the beginning. I have the previous collections, and even some of the movies (god knows why). I have fond memories of watching it in high school, and although it's nowhere near the best show I've watched, I have a lot of fun with it. This new Slayers show is bound very closely to the ones that came before it (somewhat surprising since they were so long ago), so I have a hard read more
Dec 2, 2010
Gigacorona (All reviews)
As a huge fan of the original 3 series I was excited when a new series of slayers came out, although not too expectant since inevitably it was much more likely to be an amusing expansion to the franchise rather than a hugely epic series. Still I expected I’d get some giggles and nostalgia and that would be fine.

Instead we got this hideous example of how to simultaneously milk your franchise while destroying it instead. It’s difficult to describe how sad this series made me after the ‘plot’ starts to take hold in the 3rd episode, and it only got worse until it finally read more
Jun 7, 2009
diamond9393anda (All reviews)
I know that everybody’s talking about the flaws of Slayers R [and they have a really good point, i saw them too] but i think there are things to like in this season as well as in the others.

Firstly, the animation was waaay better then the prequels and i really enjoyed that they managed to keep the character’s voices the same way; the soundtrack wasn’t that great, but i kinda liked the opening theme [in my opinion, it was really similar to the opening of TRY, which i absolutely adored]. It actually demonstrated a growth in the quality of this show, and proved that Slayers read more
Oct 17, 2009
Galactic_Kitten (All reviews)
I was very excited about a new season of slayers, but very disappointed by what I got. The animation changes, and makes the characters much more "cutesy" than they should be.
Next and Try were amazing, and Revolution/Evolution-R just didn't cut it.
The story is weak, and as opposed to creating a new villain, they once again fight Zanafarr. He was already killed once! So, for that matter, was Rezo.

While it was funny the first time the chief inspector shows up to arrest Lina, it gets old VERY fast. And the first episode is just terrible. At least it seems that the people of their read more
Jun 17, 2010
Neferius (All reviews)
All I can say for this show is,
Way to make a come-back! :) bd

After what must have been a Decade, the good folks at FUNimation™ decided to resurect one of the greatest titles of the Anime genre.
I must say I really enjoyed seeing all my favourite Characters again, seemingly unchanged by the passage of time. Even the seyuu's (voice actors) were exactly the same as I remembered them.

Considering that this particular title was one of my childhood-favourites, I can safely say that Justice has been done to the Series, as "Slayers - Rvolution" follows the show's recepy of 3-parts Comedy, 2-parts Mayham and Destruction read more
Jan 17, 2011
DarkDendra (All reviews)
So another season of Slayers came out and I decided to watch it and now that I finished it I have . . . not much to say but then a lot to say at the same time.

I gave a 9 / 10 for the story , the story was a enjoyable but I have to say , I liked the old seasons of Slayers more then this one. Not that this one was horrible it just seemed like it was too short and they could have gone more in depth with it then the short , quick , and easy way. Like how the read more