Haikyuu!!: Riku vs. Kuu

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Haikyuu!! Jump Festa 2020 Special, Haikyuu!! OVA, Haikyuu!!: Land vs Sky, Haikyuu!!: The Volleyball Way, Haikyuu!!: Ball no Michi
Japanese: ハイキュー!! 陸VS空

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 2
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 22, 2020
Producers: TOHO animation, Shueisha
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Genres: ComedyComedy, SportsSports, DramaDrama, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 9970999,709 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8202
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #891
Members: 175,989
Favorites: 522
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 12, 2020
Safoe (All reviews)
Imagine your first review on MAL being about Haikyuu can't get better than this.

Anyway these OVA's were in my opinion pretty enjoyable to watch, even though it was pretty short it just worked. And like its Haikyuu so it was bound to be good.

Plot;

These are basically the events that happened, before the 4th season of Haikyuu. So I guess you could say it is important to watch.
We follow Kenma and his team play a match against Fukurodani. And well that was pretty entertaining to see I sure laughed a lot. Especially because of one of my favorite characters (Bokuto).

I won't really spoil read more
Jan 22, 2020
abystoma2 (All reviews)
To clarify right at the start, I find real life sports boring and I think watching real life sports is one of the least entertaining things people do for entertainment. However, anime has ways to convert this boredom and to hype it up to the levels that make your blood boil with excitement. Sadly, not every attempt at this is succesfull.

Watching this Haikyuu OVA felt like watching a regular sports match. Though I get that it's not that easy to make valleyball exciting, as it's already not interesting even for sports standards. Sure, some might find the realistic feel attractive, but when the original lacks read more
Jan 11, 2020
_cjessop19_ (All reviews)
For anyone who's planning on watching season four of Haikyuu!!, I would suggest (and recommend) watching this two-episode OVA special to get back into the groove of Haikyuu!!, and to get hyped up for 'Haikyuu!!: To the Top' as it's been over 3 years now since season 3 last aired.

There wasn't much added to the story since there are only 2 episodes and that this focused on the two games in the qualifiers. There weren't many key moments (mainly being a certain person's injury, not naming names, and who qualified for the tournament). You could probably mistake this for a filler episode(s) if you think read more
Jan 11, 2020
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
Alright, listen, I understand that I can't expect a perfect ten out of a couple of episodes, but if I left it at that, what would there be to review? So, I'm gonna go over why these OVA episodes could've done a bit better regardless of the fact that they were still awesome.

With Haikyuu!! I'm used to experiencing amazing scores of music because that's what the standard has been so far. During these episodes, though, I don't know that I necessarily felt that. The music didn't hit me like it has in the past, which is unfortunate. Similarly, the voice acting wasn't quite as read more
Jan 11, 2020
JojOo517 (All reviews)
Story

Don't pass by them ! You should watch them before beginning the S4 ! Yes it's not Karasuno, and it's not the main characters, and that's why it's interesting. It's basically the story of two Nekoma team matches , on their way to the nationals. So, the major part of the OVA is playtime. But that's not all, the true goal of these episodes is to develop the characters from Nekoma, their personal side, but also their relationship with the other members of the team, and also with their enemies like Fukurodani. We also meet a new team, the Nohebi team. It's not the most read more
Jan 11, 2020
DillonA (All reviews)
So Haikyuu came out and made a second ova known as Land vs Sky!! It’s pretty decent considering it’s an OVA but it definitely has its fair share of problems ranging from minor to major.

If your looking for a quick summary:
Story:6/10 Art:8/10 Sound:3/10 Characters:8/10 Enjoyment:6/10 Overall:6/10
If your looking for an explanation read the rest of the review down below. Sorry for any spelling or grammar mistakes.

The story revolves around Nekomas journey to nationals set at the same time as Shitoriiwaza vs Karasuno season. They face Bokuto and Furokadani and a new team who’s name I forgot to get there. I’m not gonna spoil anything but read more
Jan 11, 2020
inuokkotsu (All reviews)
Even though I have some pretty high rankings for the story, art, sound, character, and enjoyment, I still gave this an 8.

This was done amazing, in my opinion.

I love the storyline since I love watching these characters playing volleyball.

I love how well they followed along with Furudate's newly improved art style. Everything looks so smooth.

I loved the sound they used, and I was a fan of the audio they chose during some fast-moving scenes.

I love all the characters. I don't think there's a single one that I'm not a fan of.

I loved the OVA in general. It had its moments read more
Jan 12, 2020
Traxdize (All reviews)
I really liked Nekoma High. So personally this OVA has story that I really like. This story tells the journey of Nekoma High through the preliminaries, something that I want to see animated for quite a long time. I just love Nekoma High's hustle play. Although they aren't the best they want to win. Also some backstory. The art is regular Haikyuu. The usual one, just perfect for Haikyuu. Not stiff yet not smooth. Sound is also same as usual. Although there's no notable BGM this time around. The volleyball sound effects are always satisfying to hear. As I said earlier, I really like Nekoma read more
Jan 11, 2020
BobToronja338 (All reviews)
Well, its difficult to make the people feel so excited with this ova like they do with the last season with Karasuno against Shiratorizawa, but instead this is a good ova with great moments, but dont have a great number of epic scenes like other math, may be its because this time we see the Nekoma team, but i dont believe that´s it i think something is gone this time with haikyuu. The music themes are amazing as usual with this serie but in the art and the moves i dont feel it like the best thing we have seen of haikyuu isnt even near. read more
Feb 13, 2021
LightScaryRobo (All reviews)
This shows what happens right before Haikyuu!!: To the Top and Nekoma going through National Qualifiers with Fukurodani High School, Nohebi Academy, and Itachiyama Academy.


They changed up the art style in 2020... and I am really not sure how I feel about it. Whilst it looks a bit cleaner, the design that has stuck throughout just feels off and strays quite a bit from the series that I have grown accustomed to.


Not much to say about the sound for this. They play songs at the end but even though they are good - they are not anything I would go out of my way to read more
Jan 20, 2021
MassacredSoul (All reviews)
(Quick Review)

This OVA was more of a side story for Nekoma High team and I really enjoyed it. The first episodes show the battle of Nekoma vs Fukurodani and their win against them then we see how on the second episode was the match of Nekoma vs Nohebi and how each match was hard for them but was able to succeed. The art seemed to be the new design from the new seasons and I really like the art from those new seasons and the sound effects and voices actors were fine. Nekoma is one of my favourite teams from Haikyuu so that's why I read more
Oct 30, 2020
anon-minmin (All reviews)
I don't want to complain about the new art style because I knew it was coming, and it is good to see the unique manga style animated, but as anime watcher only it was quite a shock after seasons 1-3. The art itself wasn't too bad but the animation was somehow a bit lazy and the crazy impact of match points lacked greatly. The music has been big part of the mood but here the soundtrack wasn't strong. The ova was all over the place due squeezing matches in 40 minutes so most of the time I was just confused because everything happened too fast. read more
Jan 16, 2021
thestarsailor (All reviews)
Cats, owls, snakes, and boars. Lions, tigers, and bears oh my! (There was an actual lion moment in this OVA so the comparison is warranted)

This is basically fun times with Nekoma, specifically Lev and Kuroo and with Fukurodani in the first episode, and was pretty funny given how brief the jokes need to be set up and paid off. The Nohebi guys are interesting given how they play up the psychological advantages to aid them on the court, which is fine and interesting by sports standards even if it can be annoying to be an opponent.

This does feel understandably rushed, with less time on audience read more