Housekishou Richard-shi no Nazo Kantei
The Case Files of Jeweler Richard
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: The Case Files of Jeweler Richard
Japanese: 宝石商リチャード氏の謎鑑定

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2020 to Mar 26, 2020
Premiered: Winter 2020
Broadcast: Thursdays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Shuka
Source: Novel
Genres: DramaDrama, MysteryMystery, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: None

Statistics

Score: 7.101 (scored by 55845,584 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #32522
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3021
Members: 23,477
Favorites: 97

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 1, 2020
shadowshounen (All reviews)
Preliminary
A short note : I would say you would enjoy this anime very much if you don't come with an expectation for something specific, rather the best way to be entertained would be to just observe and let it make an impression on you.

If you still find yourself unimpressed by episode 3 It's better to move on with something you'd like.


Overall : 8

Story : 10
It's rare to find an anime with the topic of gemstones that relates to peoples emotions, struggles and bond. I loved how the show portrays each story with something humane and relatable.

Art: 8
The art suits it's purpose, Richard read more
Mar 26, 2020
RPWPA (All reviews)
Housekishou Richard-shi no Nazo Kantei is a very good anime. What I thought from the first look was going to be a shounen-ai type of anime turned out to be nothing like that. The anime has a great story and great characters and you should definitely watch it.

Housekishou is an episodic SOL anime about the adventures of 2 men, Richard and his friend Seigi. Each episode has a new character with each of them having a new story to tell. Stories about love, gratitude and betrayal. You discover each of them and see our characters grow as they meet different people and how even read more
Jan 30, 2020
SeijiSensei (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show has more in common with iyashikei stories than it does with detection. The whole structure reminds me of Bartender where a customer comes in with an emotional problem, and the problem is resolved via gemstones or alcoholic beverages. I can appreciate stories with lots of action, and I can appreciate stories like this where not much happens except for the character interactions. Also like Bartender Jeweler Richard provides a brief history and background on the jewel of the week. I like these educational interludes, but not everyone will.

Stellar cast of actors with Sakahiro Takurai as Richard, Uchida Yuuma as Seigi, and Kanazawa Hana read more
Mar 27, 2020
xfleetingflash (All reviews)
First of all, this show isn't BL, so if you're expecting to get that kind of content here, I am already telling you to back away. I'll go back to this bit of info later on because I think it's kind of important. I actually am pretty much making this review mainly to criticize that issue.

Anyways, I'll make the review quick, and start off with the characters. Both main characters are very much likable, and one can easily see the the chemistry that builds between them as you watch through the show. The story is decent at best. Having it revolve around mineralogy made it read more
Feb 14, 2020
Clairefairy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found this anime while browsing CR to find anything to watch at all. And since I'm a sucker for bishounens, this one got me good. Tbh when I first glanced at the poster I was somehow expecting this to be a shounen-ai of sorts, but other than that, no expectations at all. And I was pleasantly surprised by how much of a good story this series has.


I absolutely love these "story behind the things" styles, where each episode focuses on one particular object, spirit or creature and how people were involved with it. It reminds me of Natsume Yuujinchou and Mushishi, two of my read more
Mar 26, 2020
KANLen09 (All reviews)
“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”

It's a sad, sad justice that not very often, we get niche shows like this that break the monotony of seasonal shows, providing stories and insights through objects (in this case, gemstones and their representation on human personality and behaviour), and having character interactions play out the drama in its mysterious shroud whilst keeping the slice-of-life elements intact. These elements when combined together doesn't seem promising, but this show made it all good. 2018's Holmes of Kyoto did that with the various "case files" and things of value, and this premise is no different here.

“Justice, like beauty, is read more
Mar 26, 2020
ai_ere (All reviews)
All in all this anime is a masterpiece. I enjoyed it to the max.

The art is just so spirit-lifting, it heals your soul. It brights my day seeing their faces, like totally not exaggerating. I love this style of art and the colors are so cheerful.

For the story? It's easy to understand and original, I didn't watch other than one anime with a similar idea, which is also pretty cool!! I love that each episode has a moral and I lowkey ship Richard x Seigi

The ending and the opening are gold, they make my day and I can't skip them, like never ever!

Characters are read more
Feb 4, 2020
prrgangsta (All reviews)
Preliminary
The anime has an interesting idea but not very entertaining it is mostly just sitting at a table in one room and talking. There isn't really any mystery or at least one worthy of getting interested in. These 'mysteries' wouldn't exist if the parties involved just talked to each other, especially in ep 3.

The story and art aren't bad but nothing to write home about either. Sound is kind of not really something that is really focused on here.

The characters are kind of boring Richard is bland and uninteresting, Seigi has his moments and is probably only a bit more interesting than Richard at least.

Enjoyment: read more
Mar 26, 2020
Horn_dawg_2019 (All reviews)
Housekishou Richard-shi no Nazo Kantei or The Case Files of Jeweler Richard, ok now that has ended, pretty much entertaining that one would forget about the lockdowns that has grapple the entire Asian countries.

so:

Story:

Pros: The genres Drama, Mystery, Slice of Life, really did played well, it wasn't that boring and it wasn't that gay......(much). The plot really was a breath of fresh air.

Cons: It does have that subtle yaoi element that disgust me.

Verdict (8/10)

Art:

Pros: Pretty much decent, that there wasn't any sex to be sold around here.

Cons: Don't even expect to see a Tanimoto fanservice around here.

Verdict (4/10)

Sound:

Pros: Characters voices were pretty much real read more
Mar 13, 2020
Deleb (All reviews)
Preliminary
I added this anime to my plan to watch list when i've seen it in the news section because the art style looked pretty good and the mystery of jewel-cases caught my interest. This review contains my opinion about the first 10 episodes.

Story: First 3~ episodes are pretty good for a start, but not so special, probably that's why people dropped the series, BUT i'm really glad i continued the anime, i was sure the anime won't be like that every episode. Beside the jewels cases there is a lot of background story for Richard and development for both of them, but the general idea read more
Mar 26, 2020
Wallanimx (All reviews)
I put this in my list not expecting much from it honestly. But man, did it break my expectations in a good way!

Its based in a jewelry store that just popped up in a certain area in Japan. Seigi comes by trying to sell his grandmother's jewel and soon enough finds himself a part time work at Richard's store.

Yeah the main characters are handsome but its their personalities that really shine through in this series. Their personal struggles, determination, suave, kindness, and just their unwavering friendship is one thing that made me appreciate this series.

But the main thing that did so was the read more
Mar 26, 2020
zimmercj (All reviews)
Story: 9/10
I feel like the story for this anime was really strong, but it suffered from two main things that dropped it down from a 10. The first is that the first three or four episodes felt really disconnected from each other, and more of a "gem of the week" type of series. This was fixed as the series continued, but it could be a hurdle for people wanting to get into this series that they have to watch half of it before they can see the connected plot line. The other issue I found with the story was that like anything based on books, read more
Mar 17, 2020
Acchya (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't usually write reviews, I don't like it, but I made an exception just for this one. I won't make spoilers so rest assured. Right now I just watched episode 10 and I'm astonished by how much a plot could be so BADLY WRITTEN. Everything they say it's like the "family friendly" version of BL (and be careful, I'm a HUGE FAN of Boys Love but this is just, let me say it, bullshit. I did not watch this expecting a good romance, I just wanted to enjoy a good plot with some interesting characters), but this story its clearly aiming to that read more
Mar 29, 2020
karnevalchen (All reviews)
This is a good anime if you're looking for a chill, slice-of-life show to watch in between the more action-packed, drama filled anime's out right now. The two main characters, Seigi and Richard, have good chemistry and while the story is simple (picks up in drama near the later episodes though) I came into wanting to watch something light and simple.

I do like the characters, though I wish Richard was a bit more expressive like his light novel and manga counterpart. I also recommend reading the light novel and manga as the anime does leave out certain plot points which in turn messes with the read more
Mar 27, 2020
Irishchatter (All reviews)
I gotta say this was the most interesting anime series I've ever watched this year! The main things I really liked about this series was Richard and Seigi's relationship together as colleagues in a Jewellery shop, as well as describing different types of diamonds out there that I have never even heard of before!

I also liked the fact they interacted with different types of people who bring different jewellery and share their own personal stories behind the jewels. Then of course Richard like the dashing English Prince type that he is, comes to the rescue and sorts their issues out! His shop should be read more