Seihou Bukyou Outlaw Star


Outlaw Star

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Future Hero Next Generation Outlaw Star, Starward Warrior Knight Outlaw Star
Japanese: 星方武侠アウトロースター
English: Outlaw Star
Spanish: Outlaw Star
French: Outlaw Star
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 1998 to Jun 26, 1998
Premiered: Winter 1998
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:15 (JST)
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Theme: SpaceSpace
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.851 (scored by 5560155,601 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1302
Members: 135,808
Favorites: 1,918

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 4, 2009
Crofty (All reviews)
This anime is a rare piece of genius, across 26 episodes it ranges from light-hearted humour to dark philosophical questioning, with neither ever seeming out of place. The premise is a young man, Gene Starwind, and his friend and business partner Jim Hawking, who run a business best described as a jack-of-all-trades operation, including bounty hunting, bodyguard work, anything that will pay. At the arrival on their planet of Hilda, a mysterious outlaw who frees Melfina, an amnesiac girl, from the clutches of pirates, they get caught up in events far beyond their understanding, and Gene chooses to follow his dream of freedom as an read more
Aug 4, 2009
thekindamad (All reviews)
I remember awhile back, I use to come home from school and watch this on Toonami. This and DBZ were the highlights of the few hours I spent watching TV before getting to homework.
I just recently found Outlaw again and decided to rewatch the series again, since it had been years since I watched it last.

It was not as good as I had remembered... it was 10x better! I enjoyed it from beginning to end, and I wasn't bored... once. And if your able to keep my attention for 26 episodes straight, then your doing something right.

I'll start with the story. It was very read more
Sep 6, 2015
BioChuck (All reviews)
What a let down this anime was, don't get me wrong i was really amazed for the first 4 episodes and i had my favorite character already, yeah Hilda, just 4 episodes and she had better development than Gene in all the other 22 eps. and not just that, the episodes were packed with action, interesting plot and a story that could be really great for the next eps. but that wasn't the case and i love 90's anime but the art style on this was bad, getting worse every episode.

Story
The story is interesting for what it could be not for what it is, after read more
Jun 24, 2009
JesuOtaku_ (All reviews)
On the technical side of things, Outlaw Star has aged incredibly well. While not a fossil by any means, this show is at least old enough to have hand-painted cels instead of being digitally painted like what new fans are used to, giving it a classic texture. Don’t let the aged appearance fool you, though, because the action sequences in Outlaw Star are caster-tastic. There are zero corners cut in the space battles or hand to hand combat and there are often numerous fights per episode to pop your peepers at.

The music is pretty low-key unless there’s a grappler duel a brewin’, but it’s read more
Sep 16, 2008
Maur (All reviews)
So I started watching Outlaw Star again, and I'm glad I did.

First off I'd say, right away, Outlaw Star does a fantastic job of painting a beautiful world of good vs. evil and those inbetween, the outlaws. The characters are all solid, but I particularly love that the main character is so... human. He's morally complex (and sexually deviant). I find something about his character so... believable, if not relatable. I hate it when characters, main ones in particular, are so pristine or so caught up in idyllic optimism that they just come across as naively romantic. In that sense, I guess I prefer realistic, read more
May 20, 2021
84DaysWithout (All reviews)
Of the space exploration anime, Outlaw Star is among the best ever at crafting a massive, engaging universe while also not overbearing the viewer with tedious expository information. OLS strikes this balance by maintaining a consistent tone of "fun" - the episodes are throughly focused on action, adventure and character interactions -- more so than narration or some long winded monologue that takes us out of the element.

Now, saying that OLS curbs the exposition isn't to say that the series is without such. What it does is give the viewer background info about a planet, region, species, culture or faction at the very start of read more
Oct 30, 2007
Huntsman (All reviews)
It had the unfortunate time of coming out the same time as Cowboy Bebop.

Outlaw star is a great anime, it just had the unfortunate time of coming out the same time as Cowboy Bebop. I hear and read people saying it's a rip off of Cowboy Bebop, but it's not. First the tone of the shows were different. Cowboy Bebop was more of a action/Drama and Outlaw Star was a action/adventure. The animation styles were different. Cowboy bebop was darker in tone while Outlaw Star was lighter in tone. The stories were completely different. Cowboy Bebop was more condensed in broadness of the show, instead read more
Aug 13, 2007
LivingAlchemist (All reviews)
Like most anime fans, you probably believe that Japan invented pulp fantasy. After all, the only places that science fiction exist today are in movies, video games, and the memories of people who read Flash Gordon, Lucky Starr, and watched something called Star Wars.

Outlaw Star is based on all of those adventures that people used to read about, back when people tried to masquarade adventure fiction as scientific. A young man, without any direction in life, finds a way to escape to the stars to find adventure. Gene Starwind is the kind of pulp hero that you want to read about, the read more
May 1, 2018
TakaTempest (All reviews)
Ahh Sunrise you have made such beautiful and enjoyable series over the years.

You gave us such classics such as Cowboy Bebop, Code Geass, Gundam 00, U.C Gundam and much more and today I will be reviewing an another classic but this time it’s from the 90s. That anime is Outlaw Star.

Hello, everyone, this is Shawn aka PhantomKurata and welcome to my review of Outlaw Star and with that said let’s get started.

Story.
The story of Outlaw Star follows Gene Starwing and Jim Hawking who run a small business called Starwing and Hawking enterprises who they do odd jobs.
One day they meet a mysterious woman named Hilda read more
Feb 19, 2021
SkyeAerrow (All reviews)
Sunrise Studio always managed to come up with interesting shows during the early 90's going on up into the early 2000's; Outlaw Star was no exception. The story starts out simple enough at first, with a twenty-one year old chronic flirt named Gene Starwind and the brains of the outfit pal and frustrated kiddo Jim Hawking. I had no idea that the burgeoning story involving one woman's mission to the Galactic Leyline would spurn the story into such a unique and fun adventure though! Throughout the entirety of this 24 episode series you are left to wonder what the end game is to any of read more
Aug 25, 2012
rydia91 (All reviews)
I watched this on Toonami when I was a kid and I used to think this was the best show ever. As I re-watched the first 3 episodes, I was faced with action, adventure, and the introduction of dynamic characters. I should have stopped watching right there. My favorite character was Hilda. After those episodes, I watched believing that the plot was going to come together into something deep and exciting. It didn't. After some lolly-gagging around in space and meeting some cool characters, the protagonists take up boring jobs for far too many episodes. The climax of the show was lackluster. Also, I HATED read more
Aug 9, 2008
SunoharaMaster90 (All reviews)
The good days of old anime, ahh yes, I remember in my younger times watching many great shows such as this. But not too long ago i bought myself the complete dvd set, and the memories came back. All old-school and mecha fans should give this anime a look as soon as they possibly can, trust me as this is one you will not regret missing out on.

-Story-
It begins with two out of the three cast members Gene and Jim who run their own shop, but their lives are changed when they encounter Hilda, a pirate that helps to start their journey into space as read more
May 14, 2020
UnluckyCat13 (All reviews)
Outlaw Star is one of the greatest Anime ever put out. It is easy to argue how something is not perfect, because nothing is perfect. Where some things are bogged down or made up of their flaws though, Outlaw Star puts such loving effort into every single piece of it. The art, the characters, the sound, the story, in such a way that flaws are merely additional character to the production.

There are certainly rough edges to things, particularly due to being a product of its time. There are moments where the art dips in detail, however you can find that in any modern anime read more
Mar 27, 2009
kaigen (All reviews)
outlaw star, is an excellent watching experience, I'm know for deeply analyzing story's, I try to pull out as much out of scope information as i can, from what I'm watching "meta-story" if you will. outlaw star has always been an anomaly as far as my rubric is concerned, analyzing it just doesn't get me any where. It is just a fun watching experience, not to say it is with out is certain complexity's.

characters:
An out right 10 by my standers they are unique while remaining very easy to relate to, the young boy Jim is useful with out being annoying and Gene is read more
Nov 5, 2009
Sonicdahedgie (All reviews)
Outlaw Star - A man named Gene Starwind happens across the fastest ship in the galaxy and claims it as his own. Hilarity and action ensues.

Story
The story, like all aspects of Outlaw Star, is almost great, but somehow comes up drastically short. Everything is there, and you know what's happening, but it's all executed improperly. Part of this is because of the characters (I'll explain later), but it's really because of the directors. You constantly find that dramatic scenes are cut down to size, losing the tense air that's supposed to surround them. Romantic sub-text is established early on, but after that you're supposed read more
Nov 15, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

This late 90's anime is often seen as the forgotten member of the Space Western Trilogy that also included Trigun and Cowboy Bebop. Although it never gained the fame and fandom of the other 2 series, Outlaw Star was fun, had great characters, had an interesting story, and didn't take itself too seriously. If you have some time to kill, I would recommend cracking open a couple beers or whatever your drink of choice is and watching Outlaw Star.


Story: 8/10

Outlaw Star chronicles the many adventures of a ship of "Outlaws", which are mercenaries belonging to neither the official guild of space pirates read more
Jul 3, 2019
Sigilmancy (All reviews)
Maybe it's a bit of the nostalgia hitting, but man do I love this anime. I grew up on it airing on Toonami way back in the day, and honestly I have never been a fan of sci-fi but this just did it so, so well.

The story is stellar (pun intended) with plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing and the fabled Galactic Leyline at the end of it to make you wonder just what is there. Going back to watch it as an adult instead of my pre-teen self I do feel that some of the world building is lacking, such as read more
Sep 19, 2020
B2Reviews (All reviews)
One of those "first wave" titles that got me hooked on anime and made me want to see more. I've even heard some fellow fans prefer it over Bebop, and I can't argue that. The praise and love for Outlaw Star is well deserved.

A great space adventure with a perfect blend of action and humor, a rocking soundtrack, beloved heroes, wicked villains, and a lot of intrigue. The universe we see in Outlaw Star is one we could easily lose ourselves in, space race or grappler battle. A timeless scifi that should be shared with fans and curious alike.


Lastly, Joss Whedon can read more
May 17, 2014
KorvenKuningas (All reviews)
Featuring a wealth of imagination and creativity, ‘Outlaw Star’ is a triumph of 90s anime that provides a thoroughly entertaining action-adventure story that’s not only visually awesome, but surprisingly thought provoking.

Following the exploits of self-confessed outlaws and bounty hunters, Gene Starwind and Jim Hawking, their lives are changed forever when they decide to accept an offer from ‘Hot Ice’ Hilda, an infamous criminal who’s fleeing from an interstellar gang of pirates. Together the trio hijack an experimental spaceship along with its resident android, Melfina. Determined to find the Galactic Leyline, which is rumoured to hold a legendary treasure and the key to Melfina’s existence, their read more
Apr 14, 2009
walla (All reviews)
Outlaw Star was the show that got me into anime. Sure, I liked Pokemon, but it wasn't until I caught Outlaw Star on Toonami one day that I thought 'Wow, there could be something TO this anime stuff!' It had everything... a ninja, and alien catgirl, guns that shot magic, a spaceship controlled by a naked woman... my teenage mind exploded. Where had these things been my entire life?! XD I bought the DVD immediately.

Both the plot and setting are complex and interesting, with lots of neat ideas, such as the casters, grappler ships, etc. The cast of heroes is diverse and likeable, a bizarro read more