Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shokugeki no Souma: Shin no Sara


Alternative Titles

English: Food Wars! The Fourth Plate
Synonyms: Shokugeki no Soma 4th Season
Japanese: 食戟のソーマ 神ノ皿

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 12, 2019 to Dec 28, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Genres: EcchiEcchi, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 5908459,084 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8022
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #639
Members: 172,973
Favorites: 916

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 5, 2019
eyx5329 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This season is such a disappointment I created an account just to post about it. I have watched every other season of Food Wars and enjoyed them thoroughly, but this is nothing in comparison.

To put it bluntly, everything feels rushed. A good show, and especially a tournament arc, is addicting because there's tension and real weight behind failure. Here, so much is packed into one episode and lines of dialogue are crammed so tightly together that there's no space for tension to be built. It almost feels like a show recap, but the recap pace is the entire episode.

This is also reflected in the animation, read more
Dec 27, 2019
TuyNOM (All reviews)
It is obvious that after 60 episodes, as a viewer, our expectations change according to the story, the characters and their development, their evolution. The first seasons were entertaining with its intense battles, its appetizing dishes which always made you want to snack and of course the famous foodgasm. But does the series still manage to satisfy spectators four seasons later?

This season continues the battle between the Tootsuki rebels and the Elite Ten led by Azami Nakiri. It is obvious the main characters are affected by this confrontation, in particular Erina who decides to firmly oppose her father since the last season. Regarding Erina, I read more
Dec 27, 2019
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Another Plate, another panning shot yet the culmination of one of the best character arcs yet!.

So Shokugeki no Souma Shin no Sama leaves off right where the Totsuki Ressha-hen season in where the tournament for the fate of the rebels contines and well it's roughly what you'd expect but LA will note this season did improve slightly even if they continue to use panning shots though utlize it when they can't think of any new way of showing the transitions which is most of the time unfortunately.

The 4th Plate visually is the same with some flourishes in the Shokugeki's here and there but where it read more
Nov 1, 2019
Ahrumesti (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me be frank: This show is not worth your time. If you feel watching it is the only way you'll enjoy the story then by all means, go ahead and do so. In my opinion, however, it'd be much easier to read the manga. "Easier?" you may ask yourself, "Why would it be easier? Surely the anime can be accessed with the same ease as the manga?". Well, dear reader, it would be correct to say that both are equally accessible, but that is not what I mean. In this case, easier means easier on the eyes. Put bluntly, the show is headache-inducing (more read more
Dec 27, 2019
Cdynamo (All reviews)
Out of all the anime that have come out this year, I think this was the biggest disappointment for me. After 3 seasons of slowly diminishing quality, I was worried that this season was going to be a slog to get through. When I say that though, I was still hopeful. I mean, they were going to tackle an arc from which I had heard was a decent arc. It could've been good but J.C Staff really went out of their way to make this one of the cheapest and lazy productions I've seen in a while. I hate saying that for a show I read more
Dec 27, 2019
ShukugawaMeguri (All reviews)
War for the elite ten seats has continued. As we know, Yukihira Souma and her friends now have to fight the central members to fight over their obligations as totsuki school students. As you sow, so shall you reap. That adage is suitable for this season, a group of students who want to know the wider culinary world ... They are a polar star residence.

This season took a long time to reach the point where Yukihira Souma achieved her ambitions. We already know that now the polar star residence must fight Azami's ideology of food that it does not recognize is read more
Nov 16, 2019
SakuraFrost (All reviews)
Preliminary
Keeping this short and precise.

The hate towards this season is unreasonable. Just because there isn't as many 'cute' or explicitly detailed areas as the previous seasons, the show is still great and should remain to be appealing to most viewers. The show features a lot more straight forward and climactic moments than usual, which also isn't necessarily a great thing, is also beneficial to people who want to see more action and less kawaii parts. Although the art does appear to be rather rushed, it is still enough for viewers to get the main point, and the anime imo never happens to seem melodramatic.
Dec 24, 2019
ORT3GA (All reviews)
Preliminary
Welcome to the Fourth season of Food Wars, or better said, Food Fetish. The best culinary school in Japan just had a change in directors and things are facing an impending revolution. Last season, we saw how the new director is gonna revolutionize the gourmet world by snatching the freedom of chefs and making them adhere to strict defined rules of elite cooking. Our heroes strongly value their ability to experiment on food and strive to achieve new heights of culinary greatness. So, in order to protet themselves and their new tsundere comrade from get stripped of their freedom, they form a rebel group. In read more
Nov 17, 2019
YeeYeeAss (All reviews)
Preliminary
This straight up starts with some good action which is nice.
It picks up straight where last season ended and did not start with pointless filler like MHA did.
So far the food has looked delicious and the cook offs have been epic. Every fight I am on the edge of my seat rooting for the rebels while some of them fail miserably.
Finally we get to see Tsukasas and Rindos cooking and oh boy are they good.
This show still delivers good fan service and of course foodgasms.
They do like to use some still images instead of proper animation but I really dont care read more
Dec 27, 2019
Horn_dawg_2019 (All reviews)
Ok so the 4th plate has ended, and it looks like the 5th plate won't be far behind as soon as Erina meets the new antagonist that will challenge them new Elite 10.


So:

Story:

Pros: New food were being introduce, that teases our gastronomical senses

Cons: To simply put it , the story plot was still them same and yes it was still on that Shokugeki thing where only this time them rebels were battling for their survival and it was way too predictable.

Verdict: 5 over 10.

Art:

Pros: More fanservices were introduce, in fact this was the only sequel where studio J.C. Staff didn't pull any punches read more
Dec 20, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd like to start of this review by saying I can see why some are not liking this season compared to other seasons. As other seasons allowed us more lightheartedness in terms of story, and I guess freedom. While here we're thrown into a heated battle for a number of episodes, which can seem a bit of a chore to get through if you just want to go back to them having fun in class or back in homeroom.

But does it mean this season is a drag? Not at all! The cooking is as visually stunning as it normally is. Along with many lovely dishes read more
Dec 31, 2019
HalloBruce (All reviews)
I had to make sure I wasn't crazy.

I re-watched several episodes from the first season. The introduction of the Aldini brothers in the training camp arc... The one where Soma and his dad have an early-morning cook-off in the Polar Star dormitory... The one where Megumi stands against the fearsome Legumes Magician, and saves herself from expulsion with some wholesome veggie magic of her own.

This series is EXCITING. Fast-paced cuts of frenetic food-flinging; a soundtrack hot enough to simmer your soy sauce; gorgeously-drawn dishes that could hop off the screen and into your gullet; and of course, over-the-top ecchi foodgasms that make you wish you read more
Nov 17, 2019
Abo-senpai (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've loved the entirety of this show from the start but this season so far is quite average at this point. If I were doing reviews for the previous seasons I would have given them an average overall of 8 up until the moment that change this show for the worst; Sanzaemon asking Souma to help Nakiri. I am absolutely sure that this fun and interesting show took a tonal hit when the Nakiri arc was introduced and it hasnt been able to recover since. Most the interesting characters like Alice, Hayama, Kurokiba and Mito are almost relagated to the background characters to make way read more
Nov 10, 2019
luccaleonmachad (All reviews)
Preliminary
I usually do not write before I finish watching a series with totality, or at least a full season, but I have been in need of writing about this 4th season of Shokugeki No Souma because I am not agreeing with the ones they are publishing and see necessary give my point of view on it.
First it is necesary to clarify nobody has to tell them what to see and what not, that is a matter of each one, those who write here try to guide so that people have a different opinion or just one more. No one can come to impose their authority read more
Jan 3, 2020
Dunhill122 (All reviews)
I don't get why people are being annoying about this season. To me, this season was just like every other Food Wars season. I heard the ending isn't very good, but complain when the actual ending gets out, not now. If you like Food Wars for being Food Wars you get what you want. Of course, I will admit that the 11th episode of the season felt like a final episode, with the 12th being like an epilogue. I would like to see more Food Wars content, but if it is going to end in the next season maybe they'll change it up
Dec 30, 2019
anniemeaddict (All reviews)
Characterization: 3/5
A stretch, here. The characters in the series have brought me many laughs over the years, and their individual quirks often make me smile. But I've generally found character development with the female cast instead of the males. Erina and Megumi are the highlights.

Plot: 2/5
None of us came into Food Wars! for the plot. And tbh, I don't think we're really staying for it, either, because it's pretty dull. This season is all about our rebels cooking against the elite ten to win back their school. My problem is with the last episode.

Realism & Authenticity: 1/5 
I'm beyond disappointed for this point. I loved the first read more
Dec 14, 2019
zack_synder (All reviews)
Preliminary
the show is about cooking and that's pretty much it. with such bland and uninspired characters with such a awful story and such hit or miss art to accompany it. the ''jokes'' are about as funny as you discovering you have cancer. just another shounen that doesn't add anything new to the pot.

Every characters feels so carbon copy from other animes. Unfortunately, every season after that just continues to go down hill. It's more like a porno by season four, but it's not really written funny, the series just relies on a lot of overused anime tropes and funny faces more so than anything else.

The read more
Nov 27, 2019
alkga (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall this season is very good, but for some reason i can predict the winner everytime the shokugeki began, very easy to see the winner when you already watch from previous season.
I mean the pattern for this anime is very common, you only enjoy this anime because of how they make the food not for how they must win for the competition between them.
For example, when you watch 1st season this anime you might be very excited with the story they build, souma need to learn with food, he need experience with various kinds of customers, he need to adapt with new kitchen everything he read more
Nov 14, 2019
SammyAnthony (All reviews)
Preliminary
The art in this fourth season is crave-worthy as ever! But I'm not going to miss this constructive criticism here, as the plot setting in the arena of Shokugeki is a lot off. I can't feel its massive surroundings, the thrill when they cook, let alone when they serve the dishes and getting scored. Ecchi-ness of the seiyuu's effort is still there even though it gets wishy-washy and I can't tell the difference in-between the moans for all dishes. Felt like it's just existed for the sake of the formula, but it's getting dull overtime.

Worst part of this season is the stagnancy of the story. read more
Jan 3, 2020
JaxOtakuLord (All reviews)
Here's a problem with adapting a manga like Shokugeki no Soma into an anime: it drags out horrendously. Seriously! The manga goes by quickly, obviously, because it's a manga. But since this anime models its source material almost perfectly, a lot of time is wasted on things that take less time in the manga. In the manga, some food battles are 6 chapters long, but that's okay because it takes around 3-5 minutes to finish each chapter. Average that out to 4, 4 * 6 = 24. 24 minutes! That's the length of a single anime episode! However, this anime manages to stretch it out read more