I★Chu: Halfway Through the Idol

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: アイ★チュウ HALFWAY THROUGH THE IDOL

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2021 to Mar 24, 2021
Premiered: Winter 2021
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Licensors: Muse Communication
Studios: Lay-duce
Source: Game
Genres: ComedyComedy, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Themes: MusicMusic, SchoolSchool
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.561 (scored by 29942,994 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #57932
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4763
Members: 12,977
Favorites: 107

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 8, 2021
Yasika (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review in this site but that doesn't mean this anime is my all-time favorite one, I just wanted to make a review because it's super underrated and one of the anime series that I really enjoy watching. It literally deserves so much more love especially if you're into music and comedy. This series has great songs that are worth listening to over and over again haha. I don't really have any cons to say abt this anime but for the story, I think it could use more drama but I mean, it's already pretty good so I'm not mad. The characters read more
Mar 27, 2021
PyraXadon (All reviews)
I find it mildly amusing that the anime idol industry is just as saturated as the actual idol industry. I mean there has to be an extent to which too much is too much, right? Maybe I’m just thinking too hard about this; let’s just talk about pretty anime boys singing.

Story:

The I-Chu academy is a prestigious idol school that ‘s known to deliver some of the most promising boy group idols that (apparently) the world has ever seen. Here we’re introduced to the newest groups of I-chu, one of which being Fire Fenyx, a group of three hopefuls who hope to stake their claim in read more
Mar 24, 2021
KANLen09 (All reviews)
Here we go again: Japan loves its idol business quite a lot, and no matter, because it's quite the popularity over there. Sadly, trying to invest those types of anime adaptations anywhere outside the Land of the Rising Sun is bound to be overshadowed, and I★Chu is no different.

Being a Liber Entertainment game adaptation, the one series that I can immediately infer to is the A3! series with all of its seasonal troupes and what-nots. Though I★Chu came first before A3!, I'd infer that the latter proves to be more popular (as per the Studio 3Hz x P.A. Works anime adaptation) and more grounded, and read more
Mar 17, 2021
R0LAN (All reviews)
Preliminary
Is this review going to be bias? - Probably, because I've played the original game from launch till closed from 2015-2019. And I am still playing its new game, Etoile Stage which came out in 2020. And i have quite a collection of their song CDs at home stored nicely on my shelf and ripped into my Spotify account.

Spoiler free? - YES. No spoilers in review.

I-Chu: Halfway Through the Idol is an I-chu anime adaption from the game "I-chu: Etoile Stage", which is an idol manager game. I-chu was originally a rhythm mobile game which came out in 2015, and ceased servers mid-2019. If you read more
May 17, 2021
animeshitha (All reviews)
I don't normally watch idol anime.

Somehow I decided to stick with this one. Look, its super mediocre, and it's really not that great. But still, I give it props for keeping me watching.
The characters were so so so normal. I mean, I still didn't know their names and couldn't even tell most of them apart even at the end, except for the main 3.
The only interesting group was Kokoro's, and THAT's because she was a cross-dresser. They were all either ridiculously sunshiny or over passion-driven (the I-will-sing-till-I-die-kind, you now what I mean).

I guess the only thing that kept me watching was the "competition" read more
Mar 30, 2021
CurryxSake (All reviews)
I-CHU is mediocre. It is not the worst, but it's definitely below average. Although it gave me a positive first impression, it steadily declined with each episode. For a story about students training to become idols, none of those students were likeable or memorable in any way. They often stick to archetypes and the way the show handles their screen time made it even harder to know them better outside of their "idol gimmick". The show couldn't even express their struggles in a way that makes me remotely care about them. The only idol group who I remember the most fondly was ReBeserk. Maybe it's read more
Aug 16, 2021
Frying-_-Pan (All reviews)
[This review is spoiler free!] TL;DR: You'll only enjoy it as much as you like the music.

I only discovered this anime after one of its songs came on in one of my playlists. The song was cute, catchy, and I found myself falling in love with it. I instantly googled it, and eventually found my way to the anime.

I'm not an idol anime aficionado, but for what it was, I Chu was decent.

Individually, the characters were bland and lackluster. However!!! Their group concepts were all mildly interesting. From a band of crossdressers to a band with members all across the globe to a group read more