Yu☆Gi☆Oh! 5D's


Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's
Synonyms: Yuu Gi Ou: Duel Monsters 5DS, Yugioh 5 D's
Japanese: 遊☆戯☆王5D's(ファイブディーズ)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 154
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2008 to Mar 30, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2008
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 18:00 (JST)
Producers: Nihon Ad Systems
Licensors: 4Kids Entertainment
Studios: Gallop
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, GameGame, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.431 (scored by 4919649,196 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #17982
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1358
Members: 95,132
Favorites: 1,287
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 14, 2008
Grimmm (All reviews)
Preliminary
Edited this entire review. I'm watching this subbed and I recommend you do the same. I've seen a few episodes of the dub and they've completely butchered it.

It's that time again: when one Yugioh series comes to an end and we get a fresh start with new characters. Comparing to it's past series, 5D's definitely takes on a more mature feeling. Not just because the characters are older and more serious, but not everything is a ray of sunshine for our protagonist this time around if you catch my drift. ;]

Story - Well, the story was a bit different. It is set many years read more
Dec 3, 2008
FlashFlare11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
When Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters GX began airing, I thought that it was going to follow in the footsteps of Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters. That was not the case. However, I feel that Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D's brings back what everyone loved about the Yu-Gi-Oh! Duel Monsters, and a few extra things along with it.

Story:
The story of this series is far more fast-paced and exciting that either of it's two predecessors. If even one episode is missed, it feels as though you've missed a lot. Almost every, if not, every episode ends with a cliffhanger. The plot is amazing. It still has the read more
Feb 4, 2015
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
take the scenario from Terminator + tons of mindless violence + card games on motorcycles (that are surprisingly good) + a badass protagonist: Welcome to 5ds!

5ds revitalized the game when it needed it most. Konami created new types of cards (synchros) and introduced them through an anime so good that people actually got over the fact that Konami was creating new rules again (The same tactic was repeated quite successfully with Arc V and completely failed with Zexal). The duels suddenly became A LOT faster and more enjoyable and the game that was going downhill until then suddenly stepped up.

For starters FINALLY we're through with read more
Apr 6, 2015
We_EGAO_now (All reviews)
When looking at a series, is it better to start strong but end weak or start weak but end strong? I believe a strong finish is better than a strong start because while it won't hook people immediately, it will allow for people to have something to look forward to while watching. The problem with 5D's is that it follows the latter, being a disappointment after the first season, which ends at the end of the dark signer arc. The unfortunate truth behind this is that the director for the fortune cup arc left to work on Symphogear, leaving behind notes for the dark signer read more
Jul 28, 2015
ShadowSkiel (All reviews)
5D's, my favorite show of all time. This show is a beautiful work of art, with some of the most real characters I have ever experienced. However, between Dark Signers and Pre-WRPG there is a huge shift, however I personally adore season 2 for there depiction of the main threat of the series, Yliaster.

-Art-
The art is beautiful, and the monsters are some of the most beautiful we've gotten yet. The Signer Dragon's complexity could make them hard to look at if your use to the original, but once adjusted they are some of the best designed monsters in the franchise. The Earthbound Immortals could read more
Mar 30, 2011
Lilyvess (All reviews)
CHILDREN’S CARD GAMES ON MOTORCYCLES!!!!

Ok, now that everyone has gotten that out of their system we can enter the world of high speed action that is Yugioh 5d’s

The third series of the Yugioh Franchise is marked by breaking away from many of the tropes that had plagued the other two, in particular the previous series Yugioh Gx. Rather than being built upon a tournament or school structure system, 5d’s manages to create its own almost post futuristic world. The setting of this world is the best developed in all of Yugioh history.

Our cast for this series is slightly different from the usual Yugioh read more
Nov 8, 2008
webkid94 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, now is time for another exciting sequel to the ever popular Yu-Gi-Oh! franchise.

Story:
I immediately connected to the plot, a whole new twist on the card game: D-Wheelers. I have to say, they did a better job with 5D's then GX (GX felt like Emo school drama :P).

Art:
The designs are top-notch, IMO. Especially the fact that it's being aired in HD. Aki's appearance reminds me of another character i love, but other than that, i give the Art a 9/10.

Sound:
The OP/ED themes really give 5D's its edge. It's not too annoying, not to bland, just perfect. The dueling music has also improved from read more
Mar 19, 2009
OtakuFreak (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, what is there to say about an Anime about trading cards....hmmmm. Nothing, that's really it. It's a bunch of prepubescent kids, battling out with cards. We all know that this series is a sequel to the Original Series, we've seen some different reviews of people who hated it or those who simply love it. It's now my turn to throw down....a face down.

The story of the series is supposed to take place in a distant future of Yugi's home town, Domino City. There have been some freaky things going on that made Domino split into two parts; an Island called Satellite, and the main read more
Mar 21, 2010
Ran_chan (All reviews)
Preliminary

The first time I heard about the issuance of a new series of Yu-Gi-Oh! i was Happy even though I did not like Yu-Gi-Oh! GX and I did not watch it
but I was happy because I generally like the series Yu-Gi-Oh!

And when I saw the Yu-Gi-Oh!5D' I found it very interesting
maybe one of the reasons is that I love the series Yu-Gi-Oh!
but the idea here is new and there are different way duels, on the motorcycle or without it.


Story

Very wonderful and mysterious in the beginning, I liked the distinction that made between Satellite and the city's people read more
Aug 16, 2008
inkphoenix (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's my first review 55+ It's a bit strange and not good english but I'll try the best.(I repair my score because It's awesome enough for 10 now ^_^)

Story
It's the best point of this show.You didn't hear wrong. It's true.
Within 20 episodes I think the plot is awesome. Many secret of dragon marker and signer concern with the past and development of main character.
That's enough for me. But This show make me surpised !
It's built many great event include with plot-driving every episode. Most of event I didn't expect. It's make this show exiciting more and more!

Art
the Animation is okay for me.But I think read more
May 29, 2015
funland (All reviews)
This is my personal favorite entry into the yugioh franchise of the 3 that I have watched (Duel Monsters, GX, and 5Ds). This brings us a fairly different take on some duels in the form of riding duels while still keeping the heart of the yugioh franchise alive.

Story (8/10):
As with any yugioh series, the story follows a series of adventures our heroes must take on against antagonists to save the world. How do they do it? In a series of card games, of course. However, I feel like the in-depth plot development of these arcs were very well-done. The audience was given a chance to read more
Jan 28, 2011
BloodyRoseWitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is seriously one of the best I've ever watched. I love it to pieces. And by this, I am referring to the Japanese version, because the dub is just plain terrible. -_- It's a lot more mature than it's predecessors, DM and DMGX, so it's characters are older. The main character, Yusei Fudo, is an 18-year-old who lives in the slums of the Satellite, a poor city which only exists to serve the rich, upperclass residents of Neo Domino City. Much darker, no? I love this anime because the story, the art, the characters-they're all outstanding. Wow, that doesn't really say anything. read more
Nov 2, 2019
onat (All reviews)
CaRd GaMeS oN mOtOrCyClEs! While this idea sounded like an awful addition to the series back in 2008, the show has proven itself worthy throughout its 3-year run. It definitely is my favorite Yugioh spin and one of my top3 shows of all time.

Here's a spoiler-free review!

**Story - 10/10

Okay, our main character is some guy called Yusei Fudo. Cool guy. The story takes place in a harsh world, where there are two cities called Satellite and Neo Domino. Satellite is the aftermath of a big explosion where the peasants and workers live, while Neo Domino is a place of luxury where rich people thrive. read more
Oct 26, 2020
Mat (All reviews)
Let's talk about Yugioh 5d's.
If you've ever heard about the monstrous discrepancy between the Japanese Yu-Gi-Oh anime and the smoothed anime by 4kids (talking about Dual Monsters), well, it's even worse. 5d's is the moment when a real director tried to make something out of the Yu-Gi-Oh franchise by putting it in a futuristic dystopian context.

Far away from the age of the Heart of the Cards, the fancy millennium items and championships for titles, the card game in 5D's has become the social norm for settling anything and everything. It's become a kind of ultra-popular, over-mediated sport. The rich own the rare cards and read more
Oct 25, 2014
Skeletonxf (All reviews)
I wouldn't recommend this to any people that aren't familiar with Yu Gi Oh because they would struggle to follow the duels that make up far more than who wins. Lots of character development is tied into the dueling and play styles reflect characters.

For people that can follow the dueling, the start of all these Yu Gi Oh animies tend to start slowly with bad duels but they duels themselves get much better later in.

The character development is superb and arcs well throughout.

My main complaint would be the dubbing US company cut out around 20 episodes at the end and literally changed the ending. The read more
Dec 20, 2018
SupremeLord (All reviews)
Around the time GX was ending, Konami introduced a new set of Monsters into the game: Synchro Monsters, which I presume were made so that kids would get better in math (Okay, I’m kidding, but I just had to make that joke). As a result, a new series was a no brainer.

What Konami probably didn’t expect, however, is that said series, Yu-Gi-Oh! 5D’s (5D’s standing for 5 Dragons), would be the single darkest Yu-Gi-Oh! Anime to date. However, does being dark equal being good? Let’s find out:

1st Arc: Fortune Cup Arc (Episodes 1-26):

Much like GX, the show establishes its tone right off the bat. Unlike read more
Sep 12, 2018
Elfezen (All reviews)
Yu-Gi-Oh! 5DS is the most favorable Yu-Gi-Oh! series and one of the most wonderful anime from all aspects. The design and development of the protagonist Yusei Fudo, the formation of the 5DS team through the bonds with the nakama, the epic storyline and antagonists in every arc, the amazing Stardust Dragon which is the signature monster of 5DS together with its upgrade Shooting Star Dragon along with the beautiful soundtracks that play throughout the setting, the very satisfying ending and the overall aspects of the setting are so perfectly combined and laid out that give a wonderful feeling. This series of 5DS have marked themselves read more
Jun 11, 2011
Rainbow67737 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yu-Gi-Oh 5D's, while certainly not without its flaws, is the third addition to the Yu-Gi-Oh anime franchise (not counting the one by Toei) and is quite possibly the most intriguing of the bunch. As you should know by now, in this series the card games are played on motorcycles, or "D-Wheels" (Duel Runners if you're watching the dub, but really, the dub is so bad it's laughable, so the Japanese version is recommended in this case). I'm sure everyone had the initial "Card Games on Motorcycles?!?!" reaction upon coming across this show, myself included. But really once you think about it, GX read more
Feb 19, 2009
ChibiCrow (All reviews)
Preliminary
Yuugiou 5D's is, honestly, the best Yuugiou series out of Generation Next and Duel Monsters. I know we all got irratated with Yuugiou thanks to GX, but after watching the first episode, 5D's, like DM, even though it may look sort've weird and outlandish, it manages to suck you into watching it.

Story: 10/10
At first, the storyline may seem a little weird. Well, due to the fact the story line actually varies, yes. It does seem weird. But you'll grow to like it and love it even.

Art: 8/10
Honestly, if the animation wasn't so weird at random intervals, I could have given this a 10/10 also. read more
Apr 8, 2011
Tsuntenshi (All reviews)
This is my first review ... so bare with me as im typing this all on spot off the top of my head

The series has come to an end and what an end it was. Upon the end of GX the world got a glimpse of the new era of YGO and its safe to say we all had our doubts about card games being played on motorcycles.

Story:

You start the story off with our not so young protagonist Fudo Yusei who appears to be in the outskirts of the city, Neo Domino City, the outskirts was know as Satelittle. After being betrayed by his former read more