Somali to Mori no Kamisama


Somali and the Forest Spirit

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Somali and the Forest Spirit
Japanese: ソマリと森の神様

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2020 to Mar 27, 2020
Premiered: Winter 2020
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Satelight, HORNETS
Source: Web manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, DemonsDemons, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.821 (scored by 8007580,075 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #757
Members: 214,318
Favorites: 1,170
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2020
bend_over (All reviews)
A cute girl? You got that here.
A depressed story? You'd be crying twice.
Interesting characters? Without any doubt.
A good father figure? Better than mine (kidding).
Thoughtful moments? It's deeper than you think.

This anime is everything you could wish for. From the character gimmicks to the grandiose story. You wouldn't immediately think about any of this at first as it has a slow start but when it starts for real it goes at 360 in 6 seconds and you can not go back. Oh no you can't, and that's a good thing. Why go back when you can experience such a thing in the first place? Its something read more
Mar 26, 2020
RPWPA (All reviews)
Somali to Mori no Kamisama is a masterpiece of storytelling. It is a great adventure that displays the different ideologies of creatures, their lives and how going through life changes you as a person.

From the start, the anime tells you that you are about to embark on a journey and to get ready for the different ideas you will find.

I think the 2 biggest reasons that affect how much I rate an anime are how much I enjoy the anime and how great the characters are. Of course an anime about going into the unknown and exploring what the world has to offer read more
Mar 26, 2020
Shingster (All reviews)
Please note this review is intended to be read by those that have watching Somali To Mori Na Kamisama and while care has been taken to minimise story related spoilers there may still be spoilers within character analysis. You have been warned.

Based off a popular web manga of the same name Somali To Mori No Kamisama otherwise better known by its English title of Somali and the forest spirit is an adventure, drama and fantasy genre anime, that gives us the unique opportunity to see what will happen if one day a human child were to one day encounter and adapt the first read more
Jan 30, 2020
YeeYeeAss (All reviews)
Preliminary
Jotaro is finally a good dad!

This anime is very beautiful. All the visuals and character designs are neat. The characters are interesting, at least the Golem. The backgrounds are nicely created and they look real good. The animation is good even though it really does not need much. The opening is surprisingly good. The music is quite weird but catchy as well. The visuals in the opening are beautiful. The ending is also cool looking. The song is sung by Somalis voice actor. For some reason the ending is CG but the anime doesn't have or use CG

Story: We start off by Golem finding a read more
May 8, 2020
AurumGG (All reviews)
*spoiler warning*

Hot take: Somali to Mori no Kamisama is not primarily about the relationship between a father and daughter but Golem discovering humanity through his relationship with Somali. When I say “humanity,” I am not talking about the human race; Golem is finding his human spirit: empathy, love, purpose, etc. At the beginning of the anime, Golem states his species live exactly a millennia, and the time he has left is a little over a year. Through the first half of the show, he gives the exact amount of days he has left to live. Eventually he stops giving specifics, instead broad estimations such as read more
Mar 10, 2020
iorn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Terminator 2 is a story about a young boy name john conne- Sorry I shouldn't compare this story to something with thought and effort put into it.

Somali and the Forest Spirit is by far one of the most painfully stupid anime I've watched period. So stupid that I was actually angry that a story this poorly written could be published to any capacity and get a rating above 6.

With that said not everything I have to say about the show is negative but the majority of it is... So I'll start off with the positive.

The animation and art direction are quite nice read more
Jan 30, 2020
MayuTheUndead (All reviews)
Preliminary
A very heartfelt story with amazing visuals, and captivating character designs, and a world that keeps on expanding, if you're a fan of series like Made in Abyss or Mahoutsukai no Yome, then you're even more sure to love this one.

Story: 8

Seeing how the series revolves around Somali and her travels together with Golem, you can expect to meet lots of different characters, in various types of environments, and the journey is full of emotion, and suspense, and a looming sense of despair. Despite the overall cute appearance of this show, don't let it deceive you, it's out to rip your heart straight out of read more
Jan 30, 2020
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is honestly the best anime of this season for me. I look forward to it each and every week. Here is why!

The opening is just so peaceful. It's the kind of tone that's relaxing and great honestly. A opening I could listen to for hours. But that goes for the show too! The way the show presents itself, it's charming, peaceful, beautiful. All of the above. From not just the sound, the story, the characters, but it's art too. It's really beautiful.

Speaking of the story, I honestly feel tears are going to be flowing down my face by the end of this with what read more
Mar 26, 2020
Stark700 (All reviews)
Somali to Mori no Kamisama has a love to exercise its genres by perfecting storytelling through its world of beauty. This is the type of show you get when a creator not only wants you to experience their fantasy world but also be part of it. Somali to Mori no Kamisama (Somali and the Forest Spirit) is the anime adaptation of the same name that made me believe Fantasy-Drama shows in this decade can still work wonderfully with the right set of tools.

Once you’re thrown into the Forest Spirit world, it’s easy to get lost in its spellbinding aura. The mystifying backgrounds will suck you read more
Apr 2, 2020
ajaxdin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Somali to Mori no Kamisama could have been pretty good fantasy version of "Lone dude takes care of small child" troupe but it is let down by poor writing and lazy world building.

See this type of shows largely bank on viewers to feel empathy and affection towards cute defenseless child. So wherever or not you will enjoy the show.

Reason this show failed to captivate me was becuase it writing was shallow , it just did bare minimum to check all "Small child, scary world" boxes.

1. Characters are horribly written. Somali isn't much of character, just an object viewers to read more
Jan 30, 2020
Kyaanime (All reviews)
Preliminary
Introduction:
• Somali to Mori no Kamisama is an emotional and adventurous anime that stems off of a wholesome premise, the bond between parent and child. Throughout the anime we are exposed to various themes such as loss, discrimination, and bonding.

Story (7):
• The story is focused on our two travelers, Somali and the Golem. Due to certain circumstances, the Golem is watching over Somali as her father figure while they search for her real parents. A premise that is not very unique on it's own but is enhanced by the odd combination of human and golem.
• As mentioned, Somali is a human in a world filled read more
Mar 27, 2020
Iaitoxm (All reviews)
Somali to Mori no Kamisama - Somali and The Forest Spirit.

THERE WILL BE SPOILERS IN THE CHARACTER SECTION.

If, by any means you're reading this and haven't seen the anime yet, here's my conclusion: it is cute, it is beautiful, definitely, so if that's what you like, serve yourself, is shows plenty of cute and a cute father-daughter relationship, but you shouldn't expect much more than that.

This is a review from someone who didn't enjoy nor like much of this show, therefore, expect a grain of salt.

Story (6)
In a fantasy world, we follow the story of a child and a father, well, that might be a read more
Mar 30, 2020
NisemonoDesu (All reviews)
Somali and the Forest Spirit is a show that takes a familiar premise and executes it in a familiar (and slightly uninspired) way. The formula of an emotionally distant person being thrust into the role of father-figure and learning to adapt along the way can be an emotionally gripping one, if it’s told with care. Somali and the Forest Spirit adds a ticking-clock element and fantastical world to create a nice inoffensive story about parenthood.

To begin with positives, the art style of this show is beautiful. Each environment has a sort of watercolor aesthetic to it, making for rich backgrounds that compliment the wonderful character read more
Apr 15, 2020
scojbo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Frankly I watched this show, because the opening song was so perfect. The staccato notes perfectly encapsulate the childlike wonder, and the 2 main characters' whole backstory and emotional connection is conveyed. And lets be real, the art is gorgeous. I have been perfectly primed to feel that gentle sense of wonder and exploration.

Unfortunately, the show fails to deliver this, and its failures pile upon themselves making the show worse and worse as it progresses.

I have 3 big problems with Somali to Mori no Kamisama:
1) The premise of the show is supposed to be machine-dad-learns-to-have-feelings, but instead we get the read more
Apr 1, 2020
Agent_Redacted (All reviews)
"So what did you do on the first day of April?"

I watched a show about some living rock and a loli.

Story : 10/10

This show is hands down the saddest anime of Winter 2020. It resolves around a golem and a loli adventuring together with the goal to find humans.

Art : 10/10

For a studio that made Fairy Tail.. I am quite impressed that they pulled this off.

Sound : 10/10

Chill. Very chill. One problem is Somali's voice but all kids voice are slightly retarded so that won't count as a con.

Character : 10/10

The golem undergoes Violet Evergarden's empathy read more
Apr 10, 2020
YunYinYan (All reviews)
I never watch something so beautiful

A pure bond between father and daughter from a different race
Beautiful Art, sound, and the character design

a Golem can turn to be a protective father and understand a human feeling
a human and other race can befriend

I love the opening and ending song, I love the art and coloring, and the voice actors are just perfectly fit their roles

I love the character design especially Somali, a little girl with short black hair and orange eyes

I recommend this for anyone looking for a wholesome anime

never thought a relationship between Golem and a little girl can make me cry, laugh, happy, and read more
Feb 3, 2020
Cneq (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never write reviews but I just had to say something. This show feels seriously underrated right now and it's honestly such a special and enjoyable little series that it needs more attention.

If you enjoy stuff like Made in Abyss, Magus Bride or enjoy anime with good heartwarming parenting themes this is definitely something you should check out.

I've only seen 4 episodes so far so I can't say much but if the quality stays the same throughout this is easily anime of the season material.

Art and music wise so far has been great as well, there's a lot of variation with the character designs read more
Apr 19, 2020
Disfemisef (All reviews)
So, this anime follows Somali, a little girl who finds herself in a forest and is taken in by the forest's guardian, who is a golem. Consequently, the Golem takes Somali on a journey in search of other humans and in the process discovers what it is to have a heart and emotions. The Golem takes care of Somali as a father and the two develop a touching relationship.The world of Somali to Mori is one in which humans are almost extinct and they are also prey to the other spicies that occupy the world. Due to this, Somali's journey with the Golem is fraught read more
Mar 26, 2020
Jus1294 (All reviews)
Somali was too darn sweet and comfy for its own good. There's something that draws me into these stories of "things that typically don't have emotions develop feelings for a human being". Without further ado, here's my review (yay first of 2020!) of Somali and the Forest Spirit.


The story of this particular series is absolutely nothing revolutionary, but it doesn't need to be. The whole thing is pertaining to the adventure and growth of the two main leads: Somali and Golem. Along the way we get to see these two grow together and watch Golem develop a soft spot for a small, abandoned girl that read more
Mar 26, 2020
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
Somali really arrived out of nowhere and became one of my fave shows of winter 2020.

I’m a sucker for well written, wholesome and cute shows and that’s what somali was through and through. The story of a girl abandoned in the forest who’s adopted by a “golem” and travels with him across the world seeking answers for humanity’s disappearance.

From a narrative perspective, the show focuses on golem’s emotional development. Initally like his name suggests, he is unable to understand human emotions. Through his meeting and bonding with Somali, Golem slowly becomes more and more human and learns what it means to be a parent. read more