No Guns Life

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: No Guns Life
Japanese: ノー・ガンズ・ライフ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 11, 2019 to Dec 27, 2019
Premiered: Fall 2019
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:28 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, DramaDrama, SeinenSeinen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.911 (scored by 4498744,987 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #39632
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1022
Members: 135,668
Favorites: 217
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 31, 2019
Krunchyman (All reviews)
Preliminary
If ‘No Guns Life’ (NGL) were an American cartoon, they could have called it, ‘Second Amendments Life.’ Imagine the liberals attempting to ban guns, and then Juzo filibustering their candy assess because that would infringe upon his right to life. Then, after winning the case, he could slap Ted Cruz in the face, and claim he has really bad aim with his high-fives.

NGL is a dynamic anime where the main character, Juzo Inui, kills various villains on his quest toward determining who turned him into an ‘extended’ (cyborg designed for war). The dark, murky atmosphere is a nice lure to pull in read more
Oct 31, 2019
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Preliminary
No guns life does three things right that really draw you in. Those three things being.

An interesting world that makes you want to see more of what it is, what it holds, and what other characters roam such a world. As you can see with the description. I'm quite interested to see what other extends there are. As it's quite amazing how different each one is looking and the abilities they have.

The main characters personalities and who they are in general are great too. Who would've thought a guy with a gun for a head would have such an interesting background haha. But I find read more
Dec 27, 2019
Skarvalin (All reviews)
No Guns Life shines brighter than most of its surrounding competition thanks to its central themes of corruption and dehumanization, strengthened by it’s gritty noir style. But the execution casts a strong shadow on the whole show, loaded with mediocrity.

It has a good foundation to improve from though. Most of the 1st season is used for world-building and does it modestly well. But it often felt like it went all over the place and never really resolved many of the plot threads that it had built up. The characters especially took a bullet due to this. Most of them were blander than stale bread because read more
Dec 26, 2019
Stark700 (All reviews)
Walking down the dark metropolis is a man with a gun head. A man without conviction. A man filled with righteous. A man with unrivaled pride in his work. From the cyberpunk world where cyborgs exists, this man is a private detective and resolves to rid of it of corruption. He is Juzo Inui, a gun head who is here to help the helpless.

Mangaka Tasku Karasuma is not fairly well known to most audiences although some of his work incorporates the usage of futuristic worlds and science fiction. No Guns Life is no exception as we are introduced to a cyberpunk setting. Humans are now read more
Dec 26, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
I don't really get it why uninnovative cyberdunk dystopian stories always get the flak of it being unimaginative and impromptu of its massive storytelling coupled with world-building, but I'd can say that while No Guns Life is one of the more uninspired stories out there in a sea of mech stories both old and new, it's slow-burn and the entire plot universe around it is what keeps me glued to this show of infinite proportions of its many directions it could head towards, and it's sad that not as many people are as intrigued to the settings and such, and heck, this show still has read more
Dec 29, 2019
theRealGuyFieri (All reviews)
No Guns Life? Yes, no guns should ever be brought to life.

Spoiler warning but I'll just give you one small one, it's not good. Don't bother watching this series because it is downright awful. I know for a fact that at face value this show seems 'cool' and 'radical' with the main character having a head of a revolver and the world taking place in the future. I know this because that was my initial thoughts when going into this show, honestly, the show was fine until everything changed when that Tetsurou annoyance entered the scene. Right away that kid alone just place this show read more
Oct 31, 2019
Tachik0ma (All reviews)
Preliminary
No Guns Life is a cyberpunk/noir set in a post-war world where soldiers underwent cybernetic enhancements reminiscent of Ghost in the Shell. The MC is a huge, morally gray, dark and broody guy with a giant revolver for a freaking head. The show has a noir aesthetic resulting in a dark, dim, and gloomy color palette that perfectly matches the theme of dark-underbelly-of-a-rotting-city reminiscent of Watchmen. The main antagonist is this embodiment of the military industrial complex that uses people as tools and discards them when no longer useful, sort of like Google with Guns with the motto: Be evil.

Though the prevailing theme of the read more
Nov 8, 2019
KamisamaHatatan (All reviews)
Preliminary
No Guns Life is the anime adaptation for the original Manga by Karasuma Tasuku and brings us a mix of Cyberpunk, Mystery, Crime and a protagonist with a gun for a head. I've heard from a few people they felt the anime was ridiculous because of the superficial look of the main character, but I decided to let this show have an impact on me as I watch it.

The most stellar feature of the show is that the world-building creates a setting that draws you into the story. You wonder what kind of wacky combinations of humanoid robots they can come up with and how read more
Nov 10, 2019
Issmail22Lawfy (All reviews)
Preliminary
the most underrated anime this season is this one for sure .
i will start with my personal experience with this show , at first i didn't care about this anime at all , i was just ignoring it but one day i felt that i need to see something different, so i started watching this anime , and boy i was surprised with the quality of the show.
story 8/10 : i liked how the story isn't just about one character but 3 character and every episode we see things from the perspective of one of them and sometime they change the perspective in the same read more
Jan 5, 2020
LordLight6 (All reviews)
No Guns Life is a good anime... that's all.

It's not great, it's not bad, just good. The writing and execution is alright, but there's that sense that it has potential for a lot more, and it's a bit of a shame. Still, I enjoyed watching this the whole way through, and I'm willing to concede this slow start for a strong comeback in the form of season two.

I personally really enjoyed it, even if I know it's only a 7/10 at best. It's hard to describe, but I managed to stay engaged and interested the whole way through. I think people should eventually watch it, read more
Apr 9, 2020
ktulu007 (All reviews)
No Guns Life is an anime from last year. The manga started in 2014 and is still ongoing. The anime version came from Madhouse. Let's just hope it came from their division that works on quality projects instead of their one that makes complete tripe.

Story:

Inui Juuzou is an Extended. Which is basically the term this series uses for cyborgs. He has a gun for a head and is able to function in normal society solely through cooperating with the authorities and he makes a living by taking on jobs involving other cyborgs. The anime basically covers a series of these jobs and Juuzou's struggles with read more
Jan 2, 2020
mkzxwing (All reviews)
Does not contain spoilers

So, as you can see i gave this a rather mediocre score, therefore, let's start with the good, especially since there's not that much of it. Its studio madhouse. That's good i guess. The drawing is their iconic style, which looks great, especially on the main character, although weirdly enough, in this show even that style doesn't seem to be able to fill the picture with anything to stop it from feeling lacking. The design of the cyborgs is pretty neat. Overall picture (but not animation) quality is decent. Sound's good, the opening's great... That's about it really.

What's the rest then? Dreadful. read more
Dec 1, 2019
Lime1028 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Underrated would be an understatement. While some of the early reviews for this show may not have been stellar, I can tell you that it picks up as it progresses. The story becomes deeper, darker and more multifaceted and despite what others have said, the show isn't based on some pro or against gun philosophy, it has nothing to do with guns really.

The real moral battle of the show is between humans, war, technology, and what it truly means to be human.

We get a wide cast of interesting characters each with their own backstory, though most are not yet explored in depth, i can tell read more
Jul 8, 2020
xx_ibrahimd_xx (All reviews)
Okay, I'm not writing a full review. People judge this anime way too harsh because it's a MADHOUSE anime. I'll tell you one thing, this was a very low budget anime and the manga source they had was not good enough to make a usual MADHOUSE performance anime. Despite that MADHOUSE managed to make it decent. This anime is one of the most underrated anime I've ever watched and it doesn't deserve the current score it has. If you ask me it probably deserves like a 7.6 at least. (High emphasis on the at least)

That's all I have to say. Ignore the god damn rating...
Feb 2, 2020
Demundo (All reviews)
This review contains heavy spoiler, but more like half way spoiler so not much is going to be spoiled.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can only say: This series tries too hard to look hard boiled and grim.

Summing it up, it's a post specially modified soldier from a great war being the main character. And he has a revolver for a head. Not a bad setting, if I got anything to say about it at all.

However, it went off with too many themes after that. And spoiler alert, those are basically: victims of some overshadowing corporates, a ghost of old war, people trying hard to live but place the read more
Jan 25, 2020
inknote (All reviews)
I thought this was gunna be some edgy bs, but its actually great! A hard-boiled detective type who plays the straight man, but makes gun puns and is absolutely hilarious without ever acting as if he did anything funny. There are very few times he emotes (and only then in the form of a flustered, chibi-style face), but the acting is so well done, and the animation so excellent, that he never felt like a stiff character. Great female characters, interesting episodes, though the over-arching plot left some to be desired. The last two episodes are my favorite for this season, not because they're plot read more
Jan 11, 2020
ajaxdin (All reviews)
No Guns life and its universe show great potential to develop in something great and truly meaningful. Potential on its own can't justify show short coming , its is important to keep big picture in mind.


On surface it can be seen and watched as action packed, noir show about Dude with gun on his head, beating up bad guys and being overall awesome and cool. If someone sees this show like that, its fine cause thats what show is about.

However it can also be seen as gruesome depiction of late-state capitalism where everything and everyone is a product. Extension read more
Dec 28, 2019
Marinate1016 (All reviews)
No Guns Life is a series that I am grateful to have discovered. It's not a show that I normally would watch and had I not been introduced to it by a friend one night, probably never would have seen it.

I'm not normally a person who watches hard broiled detective series or movies, however I am a sucker for a good story and when I go into evaluating any anime/manga/LN I prioritise the story and world building. No Guns Life excels in that department and even if you aren't a person who normally likes this genre, you'll most likely enjoy the show because of the read more
Dec 26, 2019
_not_in_use_ (All reviews)
-No Guns Life (first part ) "different is good".-

This anime was different from everything i had seen before.
It has a good story, the animation is not that average type of animation but is good( it felt kinda strange for me at the beginning because i didnt watch animes like this before, but that wont stop you from enjoying the show at all).
Watching this anime kinda gives you a relaxed sensation(at least for me it did)maybe because of the animation, dark themes and it's flow.
This is one of the few animes that is "safe" to watch in public(this was my "BUS anime", every friday i read more
Dec 26, 2019
MacerV (All reviews)
Preliminary
No Guns Life is an anime about a guy with a gun for a head. If you need any more of a primer for watching the show, then I guess read on.


Story & Character: 7/10

Our story explores a dystopian future where using technological enhancements (extensions) is rather commonplace. Juuzo, an ex-gunner slave soldier, runs a consulting firm dealing with extended individuals and is essentially a bodyguard/detective.

Progressing from the rescuing of Tetsurou to an investigation of the history behind the first extended solders, the plot takes an unfortunate turn in the third act of the series and doesn't go anywhere. The last episode is fine read more