Granbelm

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: グランベルム

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2019 to Sep 27, 2019
Premiered: Summer 2019
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Nexus
Source: Original
Genres: FantasyFantasy, MagicMagic, MechaMecha
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.771 (scored by 1293912,939 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #45892
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2485
Members: 41,034
Favorites: 133
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 27, 2019
phiraeth (All reviews)
"I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. For the creation waits in eager expectation for the children of God to be revealed. For the creation was subjected to frustration, not by its own choice, but by the will of the one who subjected it, in hope that the creation itself will be liberated from its bondage to decay and brought into the freedom and glory of the children of God."

- Romans, 8:18

Have you ever wondered why you’re alive? It seems like such a silly question, one that a lot of people wouldn’t really read more
Sep 27, 2019
Fircoal (All reviews)
The problem with anime and edge is that so often you get edge for the sake of edge rather than edge as the result of well thought out ideas and the natural conclusion of events. And while Granbelm tries to be interesting with its edge, it fails massively and comes off as yet another edgefest that has no idea how to write its ideas well.

The biggest rub is that Granbelm does have some good ideas. There is intrigue in a competition where girls compete to be the sole magical entity in the world. The premise is a bit forced but there is a lot to read more
Sep 27, 2019
Pipe (All reviews)
When I was beginning to watch Granbelm, I thought another generic series with an average plot and awful characters. Well, this is the time to retract and eat my own words. Granbelm is a good show, underestimated and hated by anime enthusiasts for no reason; One cause cannot be that the director of Granbelm is the same as Re: Zero. Besides, a score below 7.0 is not valid for a series that has some substance, emotion, an acceptable story, and some charming characters.

From my perspective, Granbelm's story is the strongest point in the series. The plot configures two worlds where all the characters interact. These read more
Aug 24, 2019
FuchsiaFree (All reviews)
Preliminary
Granbelm is your latest creatively bankrupt seasonal anime featuring bright haired anime girls with tragic backstories in chibi mecha. In essence, this work, by the director of the infamous Re:Zero, is an isekai (sort of) magical girl mecha battle royale where the last mage standing will get the mysterious macguffin that grants wishes. We are introduced to the protagonist Mangetsu who is your usual "do-no-wrong" character who mysteriously ends up in the Magical World despite only those with mage ancestry being able to, and totally does not have a super power lying dormant within her because plot twist plot twist plot twist. Mangetsu becomes aware read more
Aug 3, 2019
imSOunique (All reviews)
Preliminary
The dark magical girl genre has been around ever since Madoka, so close to a decade. One could think everything has already been done before, but no, every once in a while a new one comes around that still has something new to show.
Granbelm is one of these series. It came up with an impressive combination, it is some sort of a dark magical girl mech battle royale show, something like a Holy Grail War but instead of masters and servants, with magical girls and mechs.

The dark magical girl part speaks for itself, if you like the genre you probably will enjoy Granbelm too. By read more
Sep 27, 2019
AdolZeppeli (All reviews)
Granbelm was a really misunderstood anime, many people didn't give it the chance it deserved, quickly digging a grave for it and was left forgotten until Granbelm started to stand by itself, and surprisingly, Granbelm managed to exceed my expectations, being one of the best this season. (Warning, slight spoilers ahead)

Granbelm starts as Fate~ish battle royale with taints of Madoka Magika, employing mechas that are called Armanox, where Mangetsu (our MC) suddenly gets warped into another dimension (If you ask, this isn't an isekai, it's just an alternate reality that takes place each full moon, where our girls will fight) And gets targeted by other read more
Sep 27, 2019
KANLen09 (All reviews)
I simply have NO words to describe the season's (based on MAL) top underrated, most criminally overlooked, least-watched show. All I can say is: pure adrenaline and non-stop anger and excitement stemming from the show from start to finish, and before you cry foul at this show, hear me out. And before you ask, I highly request that you DO NOT USE the "3 episode rule" as that will seriously detriment the entire show's overall imparting values and purposes.

The dark fantasy genre stems as far as Madoka Magica, and Granbelm matches it in the same atmosphere. Combine that with the mecha genre of it being read more
Sep 27, 2019
Zerity (All reviews)
[Spoiler Warning]

Granbelm shouldn't be a bad anime at all. The premise even though it seems overused actually felt original and with the different twists every now and then it shouldn't have had this low of a score. However while watching it I just felt cringe and disappointment.

As I stated the premise for this show is quite good even though there is a bunch of shows already with a similar vibe to it, cute girls doing really messed up shit, but I still was semi excited to watch it. However, after watching the first episode I was quickly turned off with how bad it was read more
Sep 27, 2019
Cosmic_Penguin (All reviews)
What a ride this is for my first ever seasonal anime that I followed live throughout the weeks instead of binge watching!

Buried way under several major battle shounen anime series and other larger titles of Summer 2019 is an original work sadly completely overlooked by anime communities around the world. Granbelm, a story about magical girls driving mecha in a Battle Royale competition on nights of Full Moon, turns out to be a fantastic work from a lean yet experienced staff team that combines delicately written characters, excellent mecha animations and a thrilling roller coaster story plot.

Story abstract: On a night of the Full Moon, read more
Sep 27, 2019
emilyck (All reviews)
Studio Nexus' love letter to the dying art of the 2D Mecha, Granbelm, is one of the most interesting rides an anime has taken me on in years. There's a lot that could reasonably scare a person away from this series, including a jarring 1st episode that intentionally makes itself hard to follow, aesthetic choices that lean very heavily on the series' influences, and a hook that can't really be explained without meta spoilers. However, the series' artistic merit shines through with an incredibly wonderful cast of characters, some of the best sound design I've ever heard in an anime, and a very tightly written read more
Aug 25, 2019
PinkDandere (All reviews)
Preliminary
Granbelm is an interesting, original mecha show from the director of Re;Zero. TL;DR of the premise is effectively many girls put into a mecha battle royale to battle it out for the chance to become a mage. The 2d mech animation is wonderful and the 3d cg mech animation doesn't exist. The first thing that stood out to me about this show is of course, the mecha designs. They've been squished and rounded out compared to the giant hulking behemoths we're all used to. However, with this comes the amazing blessing of not having to deal with random cuts to CG to completely pull you read more
Sep 27, 2019
JCas38 (All reviews)
To be frank, I was brought onto this anime when I had heard the character designer from Re: Zero was a part of the crew. Twelve weeks later, and I'm left fairly impressed with how this project panned out.

The show is very much divided into two parts; the fights and the spaces of time between said fights. These intermittent periods are the show's bread and butter, as each girl has a fleshed out reason as to why you'd want to root for them. (My favorite would have to go to Nene- the 20 something year old middle schooler). Granbelm is a show with REAL STAKES, read more
Oct 3, 2019
Fate25 (All reviews)
If you are reading this review, stop right now and go watch Granbelm, buy the blu ray set or something. Really, its that good!

Ok, now if you are still reading this. Its now to state my opinions on why I find it so great.

As you probably already read the synopsis, Granbelm is a magical girls' Battle Royale. And much like the currently popular Battle Royale games like PUBG, Fortnite, Apex Legends, the winner gets the big chicken dinner. In this case the chicken dinner is becoming the Princeps Magician, and having all the magical power in the world to do as they wish.

The read more
Sep 27, 2019
AnimeBW (All reviews)
When it comes to Granbelm, I feel like you fall into one of two camps: you either get it, or you don’t.

I realize that’s a pretty vague and unhelpful statement, so let me clarify. To some extent, your ability to enjoy any piece of media is determined by how well you connect with its specific wavelength. The subtle differences in cinematography, dialogue, visual aesthetic, themes and so on can make all the difference in the world in determining why, for example, I dislike the Haruhi franchise, yet I love a show that starts from pretty much the exact same premise, Chuunibyou. If you can latch read more
Sep 28, 2019
jimfaindel (All reviews)
Suppose you were born with a blessing countless girls before and around you all struggled and suffered trying to attain. Suppose you witnessed as one by one those you loved lost everything and made the ultimate sacrifice in pursuit of this blessing, all failing and disappearing in the end, surviving only as a lingering shadow burdened with regret within your own heart. Would you be willing to sacrifice your blessing if it meant sparing others from the same cruel fate? Would you be willing to pay that price if it also meant condemning those precious ghosts within your soul to fade as well? Would you, read more
Sep 27, 2019
Akantor36 (All reviews)
This is my first review so bear with me.

My first impression was it seems interesting but also lacking of information. In the first episode you are thrown into the show with little to no knowledge of what’s going on. I honestly thought about giving up on watching; BUT I decided I was still interested and gave it a chance, and I’m glad I did. Because as stated in a review I read from someone else, you are thrown into the events of the story with no knowledge of what’s going on because the main character has no idea either what’s going on. All the read more
Sep 27, 2019
La_minore (All reviews)
The first few episode are regarded as underwhelming by some people, and a big reason why so many dropped it. But those episodes do not speak for the whole anime at all. They are necessary to set up the story, to build up the actual intense plot that follows up. After watching the whole anime, the first half become absolutely relevant, and all pieces of the puzzle fall into places beautifully, like true magic!

The second half is what gave me a 10/10 rating. Things take a turn drastically, even though there were foreshadowing before, I was still shocked and deeply impressed by the various read more
Sep 27, 2019
war0blade (All reviews)
People say: Don't judge a book by it's cover. Granbelm says: Don't judge an anime by the synopsis + half of the episodes...

At first glance, the show looks completely unoriginal and uninspiring; a quick cash grab trying to bait fans of more popular genres: magical girl and mecha series into a show which has both of these elements combined into one and placed in a battle royal setting. Granbelm however, proved it's something more. Unfortunately, it only picks up speed in the latter half of the show. If you dropped this series after trying the first few episodes, I don't blame you. It was one read more
Sep 28, 2019
youdeli2 (All reviews)
GRANBELM was my very first mech anime, that I can remember anyway (Im sure I watched episodes of Gundam here and there growing up, but don't remember any of it very clearly). For me personally, I don't consider myself to be much of a mech type anime fan, but this was pretty solid. I have my gripes, but, it was a show I looked forward to regularly.

Story: The story follows Mangetsu and Shingetsu, and their parts in a magical mech battle that occurs every full moon, until there's only one person remaining. At that time, the winner has their wish granted. This is called GRANBELM. read more
Sep 11, 2019
auroraloose (All reviews)
Preliminary
Granbelm is interesting because it's not normal.

When it tells you what it's going to do, Granbelm goes all-in and is over-the-top. When it doesn't tell you what it's going to do, and you try to guess based on the genre and anime logic you're used to, you end up wrong.

I'm not all that enthused by the plot (though depending on what happens in the last few episodes that may change), as Granbelm leans on several standard tropes. That said, Granbelm's execution of said tropes is always excellent: we know exactly what has to happen in episode 7 with angry girl, but the show read more